Laser can be a climate weapon.



Scientists from Switzerland are sure that if you illuminate the clouds, you can control the weather.


Researchers at the University of Geneva for the first time showed their own way in the laboratory. They used short pulses from lasers in order to condense the moisture that was in the air into thick, visible clouds. As a result, the air temperature was minus 24 degrees Celsius.

If we try to conduct this test in real conditions, it could start to rain, says Jer Kasparyan, head of the experiments.

Jer Kasparyan explains this by saying that a laser beam can knock electrons out of atoms, as a result of which hydroxyl radicals can occur. They contribute to the fact that oxides of nitrogen and sulfur condenses moisture.

Researchers from Switzerland were the first who wanted to try to influence the weather with a laser. The Japanese had previously learned how to use a laser beam to make lightning appear from clouds, but did not try to cause rain.

Without a doubt, cloud precipitation can be caused. To do this, sprinkle clouds with silver nitrate or dry ice (these methods are very expensive) or cement (very cheap). Particles of these substances can become centers in which moisture condenses. However, the result is not always possible to achieve. Rain sometimes falls and sometimes it does not fall, but it may not start where it should be. Swiss scientists claim that the laser effect will always work. It is possible that a laser may help to cause snow, but researchers have so far failed to achieve this.

Now you need to try the laser effect on the open area to confirm the prospects, which the researchers said.

About a year ago, scientists tried to thicken clouds over Germany. Special equipment, lidars were able to fix the following results: the number of drops of moisture in the atmosphere increased and their sizes became larger. Jer Kasparyan assured that the effect of the laser effect can be well discerned.

Recently, scientists have re-conducted research in the area of ​​the Rhone River, near Lake Geneva. In this place the air is more humid. The researchers brought a large, powerful laser that irradiated the atmosphere for 133 hours. As a result, only clouds appeared, the drops swelled, but the rain did not start.

Currently, scientists are trying to improve the method. To do this, they change the intensity of the beam, the duration of the pulse, which is sent by the laser, as well as the wavelength. Researchers really want to learn how to cause rain at any moment.

The following test should take place in the Alps region, where there are ascending streams that are already saturated with moisture.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Лазер может стать климатическим оружием



Ученые из Швейцарии уверены, что, если облучать облака, то можно управлять погодой.


Исследователи Университета Женевы впервые показали собственный способ в лаборатории. Они использовали короткие импульсы от лазеров для того, чтобы конденсировать влагу, которая была в воздухе, в густые, заметные облака. В итоге температура воздуха составила минус 24 градуса Цельсия.

Если данное испытание попробовать провести в реальных условиях, то мог бы начаться дождь, считает Джер Каспарян, руководитель экспериментов.

Джер Каспарян объясняет это тем, что лазерный луч может вышибать электроны из атомов, в результате чего могут возникать гидроксильные радикалы. Они способствуют тому, что окислы азота, а также серы конденсируют влагу.

Исследователи из Швейцарии стали первыми, кто захотел попробовать воздействовать на погоду с помощью лазера. Японцы до этого научились использовать лазерный луч для того, чтобы из туч появлялись молнии, но не старались вызывать дождь.

Вне всяких сомнений, осадки из туч можно вызывать. Для этого облака нужно посыпать азотнокислым серебром или сухим льдом (данные методы стоят очень дорого) либо цементом (очень дешево). Частицы данных веществ могут становиться центрами, в которых конденсируется влага. Однако результата не всегда удается достигнуть. Дождь иногда выпадает, а иногда – не выпадает, но может начаться не там, где нужно. Швейцарские ученые уверяют, что лазерное воздействие будет работать всегда. Возможно, что лазер может помогать вызывать снег, но исследователи пока этого не смогли добиться.

Теперь необходимо пробовать лазерное воздействие на открытой местности, чтобы подвердить перспективы, о которых заявили исследователи.

Примерно год назад ученые пытались сгустить тучи над Германией. Специальная аппаратура, лидары смогла зафиксировать следующие результаты: количество капель влаги в атмосфере увеличилось и их размеры стали больше. Джер Каспарян уверял, что эффект воздействия лазера можно хорошо различить.

Недавно ученые повторно провели исследование в районе реки Рона, рядом с Женевским озером. В этом месте воздух – более влажный. Исследователи привезли большой, мощный лазер, который облучал атмосферу на протяжении 133 часов. В итоге появились только тучи, капли набухли, но дождь так и не начался.

В настоящее время ученые стараются усовершенствовать метод. Для этого они меняют интенсивность луча, продолжительность импульса, который посылается лазером, а также длину волны. Исследователи действительно хотят научиться в любой момент вызывать дождь.

Следующее испытание должно пройти в районе Альп, где есть восходящие потоки, которые уже насыщены влагой.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти