The US Navy conducted a failed test missiles RIM-161 Standard Missile 3 for missile defense system

The US Navy conducted a failed test of an interceptor missile, which should become one of the elements of the missile defense system (PRO), Reuters reports. "The new version of the interceptor missile RIM-161 Standard Missile 3 (SM-3) was launched from the board of the missile cruiser Lake Erie, but it was never able to hit the target missile launched from the Hawaiian island of Kauai," - said in a statement. This was the first test of the new version of the interceptor. According to representatives of the US Missile Defense Agency, following the results of today's tests, an investigation will be conducted that will help to establish the reasons for the unsuccessful launch.

The interceptor missile, which today was unable to hit the target, is designed to destroy short-range ballistic missiles. She will be based on warships.


The previous version of the rocket - SM-3 Block 1A is already in service. In addition, it was this rocket that destroyed the US-193 American satellite that descended from orbit. On board, it was 454 kg of poisonous fuel and the US authorities were afraid that it could cause serious environmental damage if it fell to the ground.
Recall 21 February 2008, the SM-3 rocket was launched from the same Lake Erie and at the height of 247 km destroyed the satellite, which was the size of a large bus. The Russian government then accused the United States of testing weapons in the interests of creating a missile defense system capable, including, of destroying foreign satellites.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

16 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

ВМС США провели неудачные испытания ракеты RIM-161 Standard Missile 3 для системы ПРО

Американские военно-морские силы провели неудачные испытания новой ракеты-перехватчика, который должен стать одним из элементов противоракетной обороны (ПРО), передает Reuters. "Новая версия ракеты-перехватчика RIM-161 Standard Missile 3 (SM-3) была запущена с борта ракетного крейсера Lake Erie, однако она так и не смогла поразить ракету-мишень, выпущенную с гавайского острова Кауаи", - говорится в сообщении. Это было первое испытание новой версии перехватчика. Как заявляют представители американского Агентства противоракетной обороны, по итогам сегодняшних испытаний будет проведено расследование, которое поможет установить причины неудачного пуска.

Ракета-перехватчик, которая сегодня не смогла поразить мишень, предназначена для уничтожения баллистических ракет малой дальности. Она будет базироваться на военных кораблях.


Предыдущая версия ракеты - SM-3 Block 1A уже стоит на вооружении. Кроме того, именно эта ракета уничтожила сошедший с орбиты американский спутник USA-193. На его борту было 454 кг ядовитого топлива и власти США испугались, что он может нанести серьезный экологический ущерб, если упадет на землю.
Напомним, 21 февраля 2008 г. ракета SM-3 была запущена с борта все того же Lake Erie и на высоте 247 км уничтожила спутник, который был размером с большой автобус. Российское правительство тогда обвинило США в проведении испытаний оружия в интересах создания системы ПРО, способной, в том числе, уничтожать иностранные спутники.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

16 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти