Orbital trash can make space flight impossible

Imagine a situation when, taking the garbage out of the house, you dump it right there - right at the entrance. You have a broken refrigerator - you throw it right out the window. Products, so to speak, active life, also merge right at the facade. Over time, the plot adjacent to your house will turn into a real dustbin, which you yourself will not allow to continue living in your house.


The situation similar to the described apocalyptic plot also takes shape in near-earth orbit. During the time since the launch of the first satellite, so much garbage has accumulated in the space closest to our planet that it may threaten the safety of further flights. Back at the end of 70, NASA scientist Don Kessler said that the garbage problem in orbit would soon threaten humanity. Since that time, a little more than 30 years have passed, and Kessler's words are beginning to take real shape. So last summer, the crew of the ISS was forced to take emergency measures and change to a so-called emergency spacecraft due to the fact that at a distance of three hundred meters from the station a large piece of metal construction flew by.

The calculations of scientists show that the number of debris and fragments of old satellites, parts of spacecraft, elements of space stations "multiply" in orbit, not even in arithmetic, but in the geometric progression itself. If you look at a photograph of the planet Earth in a particular private range, you can see that millions of small and large particles of space debris are flying around it. If humankind doesn’t bother with this problem in the near future, then in 20-30 years it will be possible to forget about the take-off of spacecraft from the Earth’s surface. Any person who is at least in general terms familiar with the laws of physics, understands that at high speed even a tiny metal fragment can simply break off the skin of a spacecraft or cause irreparable damage to a satellite. Many people still remember the terrible catastrophe of the American shuttle, which was completely destroyed only due to the fact that a piece of insulating foam had come off its skin. At a speed of several hundred meters per second, even such soft material turns into a real shell. What then to say about multi-metal metal fragments of rockets that remain in space ...

Not only that space debris that has accumulated in orbit, now interferes with the flights of spacecraft, it can cause the scattering of sunlight. So, if the amount of debris and other debris above the Earth’s surface in near space grows 30 times, which can happen within the next 10 years, then our planet may face a decrease in temperature by almost 0,5 degrees Celsius. At first glance, this figure seems insignificant, but for some organisms that inhabit the Earth, even this may be enough for complete extinction. Space debris will simply redirect heat flows from the Sun, which will lead to a decrease in temperature on the surface of our planet.

In addition, the greater the amount of space debris accumulated in near space, the more expensive the flights to the same ISS will be, because engineers will have to solve the problem aimed at increasing the safety of spacecraft.

That is why many scientists are already urging to start a program to clean up near-earth orbits from accumulated debris. To do this, allocate huge funds. The US Congress is not in a hurry to remove foreign exchange reserves from the bins of the US steeped in debt. But if the world community ignores the problem of space debris now, then in the future money will have to be spent much more.
In addition to the situation with the "cleaning" of space, you need to develop a strategy that would allow you to automatically dispose of debris, fragments and waste at the very moment when they appear in space. This is a very difficult task, but the decision cannot be postponed for a minute.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Volkhov
    Volkhov 6 September 2011 10: 54 New
    • -1
    • 0
    -1
    There is no need to worry, after a year the pulsation will burn up both garbage and satellites, only meteorites will fly (but there are many) and guests who are not afraid of garbage.
    1. Delta 6 September 2011 18: 41 New
      • -1
      • 0
      -1
      something in a year?
      1. Volkhov
        Volkhov 6 September 2011 20: 46 New
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        A flash in the center of the Earth with unpleasant consequences of the "biblical" type.
        Because of it, the American elite is moving to Afghanistan, and "ours" arranged an amazing expansion of Moscow to the Kaluga region - above the tunnel to the transport aviation airport. Electorate - stage. The technical description of the process is a small book, if I want to help myself and others, I can send it. You can’t take a steam bath for power - they leave on their own.
        1. pavelk
          pavelk 7 September 2011 03: 36 New
          • 0
          • 0
          0
          Wow!!!!

          What are we smoking 8)))
  2. Gonoriy 10 February 2013 23: 58 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    the problem is clear. But how to collect this garbage and where to put it is not clear.
  3. studentmati 11 February 2013 00: 30 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    The problem is solvable. The severity of the problem is not yet so great that it would take radical steps. As long as it is possible to deviate from the trajectory, we will deviate.

Орбитальная помойка может сделать космические полеты невозможными

Орбитальная помойка может сделать космические полеты невозможнымиПредставьте себе ситуацию, когда, вынося мусор из дома, вы сваливаем его тут же – у самого входа. У вас сломался холодильник - вы выбрасываете его прямо из окна. Продукты, так скажем, активной жизнедеятельности, тоже сливаете прямо у фасада. Со временем прилегающий к вашему дому участок превратится в настоящую помойку, которая вам самим не даст дальше жить в своем доме.

Похожая на описанный апокалиптический сюжет ситуация складывается и на околоземной орбите. За время, прошедшее с момента запуска первого ИСЗ, в ближайшем к нашей планете космическом пространстве скопилось столько мусора, что это может грозить безопасности дальнейших полетов. Еще в конце 70-х ученый NASA Дон Кесслер говорил, о том, что «мусорная» проблема на орбите вскоре будет угрожать человечеству. С того времени прошло чуть больше 30-ти лет, а слова Кесслера начинают обретать реальную форму. Так уже минувшим летом экипаж МКС был вынужден принимать экстренные меры и пересаживаться в так называемый чрезвычайный космический корабль в связи с тем, что на расстоянии трех сотен метров от станции пролетел крупный обломок металлической конструкции.

Расчеты ученых показывают, что количество обломков и осколков старых спутников, деталей космических кораблей, элементов космических станций «плодятся» на орбите даже уже не в арифметической, а в самой что ни на есть геометрической прогрессии. Если посмотреть на фотографию планеты Земля в особом частном диапазоне, то можно увидеть, что вокруг нее летают миллионы мелких и крупных частиц космического мусора. Если в течение ближайшего времени человечество не озаботится этой проблемой, то уже лет через 20-30 можно будет забыть о взлетах космических кораблей с поверхности Земли. Любой человек, который хотя бы в общих чертах знаком с законами физики, понимает, что на большой скорости даже крошечный металлический обломок может просто разорвать обшивку космического корабля или нанести непоправимый ущерб ИСЗ. У многих до сих пори в памяти остается страшная катастрофа американского шаттла, который был полностью разрушен только лишь из-за того, что от его обшивки оторвался кусок теплоизоляционной пены. На скорости несколько сотен метров в секунду даже такой мягкий материал превращается в самый настоящий снаряд. Что тогда говорить о металлических многометровых обломках ракет, которые остаются в космосе…


Мало того, что космический мусор, накопившийся на орбите, уже сейчас мешает полетам космических кораблей, он может вызывать рассеяние солнечных лучей. Так, если количество обломков и другого мусора над поверхности Земли в ближайшем космосе вырастет в 30 раз, что может произойти уже в течение ближайших 10 лет, то нашей планете может грозить понижение температуры почти на 0,5 градуса по шкале Цельсия. На первый взгляд эта цифра кажется незначительной, но для некоторых организмов, населяющих Землю, даже этого может хватить для полного вымирания. Космический мусор будет попросту перенаправлять тепловые потоки, идущие от Солнца, что и приведет к снижению температуры на поверхности нашей планеты.

Кроме того, чем больший объем космического мусора будет накапливаться в ближнем космосе, тем дороже будут стоит полеты к той же МКС, ведь инженерам придется решать задачу, направленную на увеличение безопасности космических аппаратов.

Именно поэтому многие ученые уже сейчас призывают приступить к реализации программы по очистке околоземных орбит от накопившегося мусора. Для этого нужно выделять огромные средства. Американский Конгресс пока не торопится вынимать из закромов погрязших в долгах США валютные запасы. Но если мировое сообщество оставит проблему космического мусора без внимания сейчас, то в дальнейшем средств придется тратить гораздо больше.
Помимо ситуации с «уборкой» космоса нужно выработать стратегию, которая бы позволила автоматически утилизировать обломки, осколки и отходы уже в тот самый момент, когда они появляются в космосе. Это очень трудная задача, но решение ее нельзя откладывать ни на минуту.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. Волхов 6 сентября 2011 10:54
    Не стоит беспокоиться, через год пульсация, сгорит и мусор, и спутники, летать будут только метеориты, (зато много) и гости, которым мусор не страшен.
    Волхов
    1. Delta 6 сентября 2011 18:41
      чего-чего через год?
      1. Волхов 6 сентября 2011 20:46
        Вспышка в центре Земли с неприятными последствиями "библейского" типа.
        Из-за неё американская элита перебирается в Афганистан, а "наша" устроила удивительное расширение Москвы до Калужской области - над туннелем к аэродрому транспортной авиации. Электорату - эстрада. Техническое описание процесса - небольшая книга, если есть желание помочь себе и другим - могу прислать. За власть можно не париться - они уезжают сами.
        Волхов
        1. pavelk 7 сентября 2011 03:36
          Ух-ты!!!!

          Чего мы такое курим 8)))
          pavelk
  2. Gonoriy 10 февраля 2013 23:58
    проблема ясна.Но как этот мусор собирать и куда складывать непонятно.
  3. studentmati 11 февраля 2013 00:30
    Проблема решаема. Острота проблемы ещё не столь велика, что бы предпринимать радикальные шаги. Пока есть возможность отклониться от траектории, будем отклоняться.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня