Military Review

De Lisle Commando Carbin

16
De Lisle Commando Carbin



One of the best examples of "silent" weapons The period of the Second World War is considered to be the British "De Lysle Commando Carbin" (De Lisle Commando Carbin - remember that the units of the English "Commandos" began to form in 1940). It is interesting that this carbine was developed on a proactive basis by a private person. William Godfrey De Leisl worked in the British Ministry at the beginning of World War II aviation. Even at the age of 16, carried away by weapons, he and his friends developed the design of a silencer for a sports rifle under a 5,6-mm .22 LR ring-ignition cartridge. With the outbreak of war, he returned to his idea and proposed a “silent” 5,6-mm weapon based on a self-loading Browning carbine. In 1943, already working as an engineer at the Ministry of Aviation Industry, he patented a silencer for a 5,59-mm rifle. This attracted the attention of the military to the idea of ​​using silent weapons during commando raids, which were carried out on various sections of the coast of occupied Europe.



Aware of the low penetration and slaughter effect of a small-caliber cartridge at ranges of the carbine, De Lisle experimented for a while with the pistol 9-mm cartridge “Parabellum”, but the best result was obtained with the American cartridge .45 АСР (11,43 x 23) - its bullet with 14,9 g weight It had an initial speed of 260 m / s (noticeably lower than the speed of sound) and a transverse load of 14,5 g / cm 2. This allowed her to maintain lethal force at a sufficiently long range. As a result, 11,43-mm magazine “De Lisle Carbine” appeared, which interested the British ODR. The De Lisle design was a combination of the butt, bolt and trigger of a standard Lee-Enfield magazine rifle Mk III, a shortened barrel of a Tompson machine gun, a Colt M 1911 pistol and an original De Leisle silencer. The butterfly valve interlocked with the receiver box with two lugs, had a flat notched trigger and a comfortable, recessed handle, the fuse mounted on the receiver. The barrel was attached to the receiver thread. The pipe (casing) of the integrated muffler, the longitudinal axis of which was below the axis of the bore, was fastened to the front ledge of the receiver. The “asymmetrical” position of the muffler casing allowed to “lay down” the weapon in small dimensions and not to lift unnecessarily sighting devices over the butt.















Inside, the silencer was divided into two parts - a separator was located in the front, the rear, surrounding trunk formed a single expansion chamber. The expansion of powder gases was carried out as if in several stages. On the muzzle of the barrel was screwed coupling. Gases were discharged from the barrel through four rows of holes made along the bottom of the rifling, first into the space between the barrel and the coupling, and from there into the rear chamber of the muffler. Before the muzzle of the barrel, the coupling formed a bell that promoted the expansion of most gases, both leading the bullet and those following it and not retracted through holes in the barrel walls. These gases entered the separator, which was a series of split copper washers, put on two longitudinal rods and forming a series of chambers. Cuts of the washers were made at the top, and the edges of the cut were bent in different directions. This not only opened the way to the pool, but also contributed to the "twisting" of gases, their deceleration and diversion to the periphery of the chambers. The separator could be removed from the muffler for cleaning or replacement. Although the replacement of washers in the process of service would hardly be needed - they could withstand shots up to 4500, which was, by the way, a noticeable advantage over silencers with rubber washers. This scheme made the silencer very effective - according to English data, the sound of the shot was very difficult to see even at night at a distance of 50 yards (about 46 m). With an aimed shooting range of up to 200-275 yards (183-251 m), this was an excellent indicator. According to the statement, the loudest sound source was a strike on the cartridge primer.













True, the knock of parts when reloading was as loud as that of a regular rifle, so the shooter had to count on hitting the target from the first shot. But a comfortable butt with a protrusion of the neck, the descent with a “warning” and a relatively long barrel for this cartridge contributed to the accuracy of shooting. In order to “make no noise” when preparing the shot, the shooter could wear a carbine with a cartridge in the chamber and the safety lock turned on. Before the shot, the fuse was turned off, and the shutter trigger was manually pulled back, cocking the drummer. To install the pistol magazine, the lower window of the receiver was covered with a special lid with an insert, the store latch was reworked. A store for 11 cartridges was also developed, but it turned out to be almost twice as long as a regular pistol and did not go into the series.





A wooden fore-end and front swivel were fastened to the muffler from below, and the base of the front sight and block sector sight were mounted on top. The sight bar had notches from “1” to “6”. The replaceable front sight was fastened at the bottom to a “dovetail”, its rear section prevented glare in the direction of the sight and ensured a clear view of the front sight in any direction of illumination (except for “back light”, of course).







The first batch of 17 carbines was released by Ford-Dagenham. Serial production was supplied by Sterling Armament Company, which manufactured 500 pieces. Sterling (Sterling, ibid. In Dagenham) introduced a number of changes to the design: replaced the steel casing of the muffler with aluminum to reduce weight, eliminated the front casing sleeve, performed the notch of the sight in yards - 50, 100, 150 and 200 (around 45.5, 91.5, 137 and 183 m). A small number of carbines for the commandos parachutists were supplied with a pistol grip and a folding butt, in accordance with this, the front strap for the belt was transferred to the left side of the weapon. It is curious that the design of the folding butt was similar to the Sterling submachine gun, which was only developed during this period (later Sterling itself received a silencer according to the “De Lisle Carbine” scheme). Details of the carbines were ordered to individual London firms.
In terms of the degree of silencing of the sound of a shot, accuracy of fire, and the striking effect of a bullet, the De Lisle carbine exceeded such weapon types for commandos as the “silent” submachine gun “STEN” Mk2S and Mk6. However, he demanded careful processing and fitting of parts.
For wartime, this was a serious drawback, so the release turned out to be small - in any case, the carbines were made smaller than STEN Mk2S.
Industrial production of De Lisla carbines began in the middle of 1944, when the Allied invasion of Europe had already taken place. When the British troops were “behind the channel,” the need for special weapons for commandos disappeared and the order was canceled. By that time, about 130 weapons had been released.



“De Lisle” carbines were practically not used in Normandy - the need for “silent” weapons turned out to be small here. But for them there was a job in the jungle of Southeast Asia. For example, in Burma, “commandos”, penetrating into the depths of the Japanese defense, fired on transport columns and convoys from “silent” carbines. In Malaysia, carbines were useful in operations against the insurgent local population. Soon after the war, most of the "De Lisle" was destroyed - the British authorities feared that in the post-war confusion such an effective weapon could fall into criminal hands. As a result, a little bit of “De Lisle Commando Carbine” has survived to this day. True, at the beginning of 80-x their release tried to revive. For example, Low Enforcement International Ltd., along with other samples of “silent” weapons, introduced the models “De Lisle” Mk3 and Mk4 under the chambered NATO 7.62x51 with a corresponding redesigned silencer and magazine, gate and trigger type “Lee-Enfield” 4, as well as with a bracket for installing an optical sight. Although such a weapon was proposed for “special operations forces”, it was intended more for modern collectors - good, with a small issue of “De Lisle” managed to gain considerable fame. The changes made to the design, apparently, are not accidental. First, it is no longer pure "plagiarism"; secondly, with rifle cartridges, the “silencer” becomes rather a “lowering” of the sound level of the shot, which means that the weapon may be allowed for commercial sale; thirdly, accuracy and accuracy of shooting increased slightly, which gives the weapon a “sporting” interest.

Originator:
http://liveguns.ru
16 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. alex-cn
    alex-cn 12 October 2013 09: 14 New
    +2
    But it turns out a distant relative of our BCC, only the performance of the 40's.
    1. Assistant
      Assistant 15 October 2013 00: 33 New
      +1
      In general, yes. But he was not “C,” that is, he was not self-loading. The ammunition used was not armor-piercing, and if against manpower it didn’t have much importance due to the near-zero prevalence of PPE at that time, then it was difficult to disable enemy equipment. So up to some characteristics of the BCC, determining its uniqueness, a subject as before a famous celestial body in a famous Ukrainian car.
  2. avt
    avt 12 October 2013 10: 30 New
    -2
    The article is good and solidly illustrated + But the sample itself was not impressive, it’s really a purely English invention - somehow everything is elaborate and the weapon as a whole is not thought out.
  3. aszzz888
    aszzz888 12 October 2013 10: 46 New
    +1
    And the stub on the entire trunk, as an integrated ...
    1. vanaheym
      vanaheym 14 October 2013 10: 53 New
      +1
      And it is integrated, with ports in the trunk.
  4. Admiral 013
    Admiral 013 12 October 2013 11: 04 New
    -2
    An impressive vidok! Like a killer hunting rifle, to hunt elephants.
    1. Ilya Mikhalych
      Ilya Mikhalych 12 October 2013 17: 29 New
      +1
      Are you kidding me? Only go to the raven with him.
      1. vanaheym
        vanaheym 14 October 2013 10: 55 New
        0
        Well, yes .45ACP caliber carbine (11.43mm) - just go to the raven and walk.
  5. kirpich
    kirpich 12 October 2013 11: 56 New
    +2
    Quote: alex-cn
    But it turns out a distant relative of our BCC, only the performance of the 40's.


    Rather grandfather wink But, after all, we all had ancestors yes
  6. Dezzed
    Dezzed 12 October 2013 14: 19 New
    -2
    may have missed but with what cartridge does the agrigate stand? what muzzle bullet speed?

    if the muzzle velocity is higher than the speed of sound, then Comrade Lislet could set how many heche washers. overcoming the sound barrier is impossible to drown out.

    if the muzzle speed is lower then how could the aiming range be 183-251 meters? (and what on 100 already beat badly?
    1. Okuscher
      Okuscher 12 October 2013 18: 43 New
      +2
      but the best result was obtained with the American cartridge .45 ACP (11,43 x 23) - its bullet with a mass of 14,9 g had an initial speed of 260 m / s (noticeably lower than the speed of sound) and a transverse load of 14,5 g / cm2. This allowed her to maintain destructive power at a sufficiently long range.
      yeah, you can say a lot of things, and you’re not even correctly formulating them, but you haven’t even learned to read them properly :)
      1. Bear52
        Bear52 12 October 2013 23: 01 New
        0
        I support. And in general, IMHO, DeLisle .... wink
    2. carbofo
      carbofo 12 October 2013 21: 23 New
      +1
      Quote: DezzeD
      Dezzed

      De Laysl experimented with the Parabellum 9-mm pistol cartridge for some time, but the best result was obtained with the American .45 ACP cartridge (11,43 x 23) - his bullet with an 14,9 g mass had an initial speed of 260 m / s (significantly lower than the speed of sound) and lateral load 14,5 g / cm2. This allowed her to maintain destructive power at a sufficiently long range.
  7. Ols76
    Ols76 13 October 2013 07: 50 New
    0
    Carabiner "De Lisle"



    1. DuraLexSedLex.
      DuraLexSedLex. 13 October 2013 18: 31 New
      0
      In the video, the man does not know the caliber of the carbine))) And then he tries to stick the cartridge through the cartridge ejection window, well, it would be clear if he was single-shot, but he inserted the store from the Colt)))) the Americans are burning.
  8. 505506
    505506 14 October 2013 05: 59 New
    0
    The article is good, and the photos are simply excellent, which is very rare. And who is the author?

De Lisle Commando Carbin

De Lisle Commando Carbin


Одним из лучших образцов «бесшумного» оружия периода Второй мировой считается британский «Де Лайсл Коммандо Карбин» (De Lisle Commando Carbin — вспомним, что отряды английских «коммандос» начали формироваться уже в 1940 г.). Интересно, что разработан этот карабин был в инициативном порядке частным лицом. Уильям Годфрэй Де Лайсл к началу Второй мировой работал в британском министерстве авиации. Еще в 16 лет увлекшись оружием, он вместе с друзьями разработал конструкцию глушителя для спортивной винтовки под 5,6-мм патрон .22 LR кольцевого воспламенения. С началом войны он вернулся к своей идее и предложил «бесшумное» 5,6-мм оружие на основе самозарядного карабина Браунинга. В 1943 г, уже работая инженером министерства авиационной промышленности, он запатентовал глушитель к 5,59-мм винтовке. Это привлекло внимание военных к идее применения бесшумного оружия в ходе рейдов коммандос, которые проводились на различных участках побережья оккупированной Европы.

De Lisle Commando Carbin



Осознавая невысокое пробивное и убойное действие малокалиберного патрона на дальностях применения карабина, Де Лайсл некоторое время экспериментировал с пистолетным 9-мм патроном «Parabellum», но лучший результат получился с американским патроном .45 АСР (11,43 x 23) — его пуля при массе 14,9 г имела начальную скорость 260 м/с (заметно ниже скорости звука) и поперечную нагрузку 14,5 г/см2. Это позволяло ей сохранять убойную силу на достаточно большой дальности. В результате появился 11,43-мм магазинный «De Lisle Carbine», заинтересовавший британское УСО. Конструкция «De Lisle» представляла собой сочетание приклада, затвора и спускового механизма штатной магазинной винтовки «Lee-Enfield» Мк III, укороченного ствола пистолета-пулемета «Tompson», магазина пистолета Colt M 1911 и оригинального глушителя Де Лайсла. Поворотный затвор сцеплялся со ствольной коробкой двумя боевыми выступами, имел плоский насеченный курок и удобную, отклоненную книзу рукоятку, предохранитель монтировался на ствольной коробке. Ствол крепился в ствольной коробке резьбой. На передний выступ ствольной коробки также резьбой крепилась труба (кожух) интегрированного глушителя, продольная ось которой находилась ниже оси канала ствола. «Асимметричное» положение кожуха глушителя позволило «уложить» оружие в небольшие габариты и не поднимать излишне прицельные приспособления над прикладом.

De Lisle Commando Carbin


De Lisle Commando Carbin


De Lisle Commando Carbin


De Lisle Commando Carbin


De Lisle Commando Carbin


De Lisle Commando Carbin


De Lisle Commando Carbin


Внутри глушитель разделялся на две части — в передней располагался сепаратор, задняя, окружающая ствол, образовывала единую расширительную камеру. Расширение пороховых газов производилось как бы в несколько ступеней. На дульную часть ствола навинчивалась муфта. Газы отводились из ствола через четыре ряда отверстий, выполненных по дну нарезов, сначала в пространство между стволом и муфтой, а оттуда в заднюю камеру глушителя. Перед дульным срезом ствола муфта образовывала раструб, способствовавший расширению большей части газов, как опережающих пулю, так и следующих за ней и не отведенных через отверстия в стенках ствола. Эти газы попадали в сепаратор, представлявший собой ряд разрезных медных шайб, надетых на два продольных стержня и образующих ряд камер. Разрезы шайб были выполнены вверху, причем края разреза отгибались в разные стороны. Это не только открывало путь пуле, но и способствовало «закручиванию» газов, их торможению и отводу к периферии камер. Сепаратор мог извлекаться из глушителя для чистки или замены. Хотя замена шайб в процессе службы вряд ли понадобилась бы — они выдерживали до 4500 выстрелов, что было, кстати, заметным преимуществом перед глушителями с резиновыми шайбами. Такая схема делала глушитель весьма эффективным — по английским данным, звук выстрела был очень трудно различим даже ночью на дальности 50 ярдов (около 46 м). При дальности прицельной стрельбы до 200-275 ярдов (183-251 м) это был отличный показатель. Как утверждают, самым громким источником звука был удар бойка по капсюлю патрона.

De Lisle Commando Carbin


De Lisle Commando Carbin


De Lisle Commando Carbin


De Lisle Commando Carbin


De Lisle Commando Carbin


De Lisle Commando Carbin


Правда, стук деталей при перезаряжании был столь же громким, как у штатной винтовки, так что стрелку приходилось рассчитывать на поражение цели с первого выстрела. Но удобный приклад с выступом шейки, спуск с «предупреждением» и сравнительно длинный для данного патрона ствол способствовали меткости стрельбы. Чтобы «не шуметь» при подготовке выстрела, стрелок мог носить карабин с патроном в патроннике и включенным предохранителем. Перед выстрелом предохранитель выключался, а курок затвора вручную оттягивался назад, взводя ударник. Для установки пистолетного магазина нижнее окно ствольной коробки перекрывалось специальной крышкой с вкладышем, переделывалась защелка магазина. Был разработан также магазин на 11 патронов, но он оказался почти вдвое длиннее штатного пистолетного и не пошел в серию.

De Lisle Commando Carbin


De Lisle Commando Carbin


Снизу к глушителю крепились деревянное цевье и передняя антабка, сверху — основание мушки и колодка секторного прицела. Планка прицела имела насечки от «1» до «6». Сменная мушка крепилась в основании на «ласточкин хвост», ее задний срез не допускал бликов в сторону прицела и обеспечивал четкую видимость мушки при любом направлении освещения (кроме «контрового света», разумеется).

De Lisle Commando Carbin


De Lisle Commando Carbin


De Lisle Commando Carbin


Первую партию в 17 карабинов выпустила фирма «Форд-Дагенхэм». «Серийное» производство поставила «Стерлинг Армамент Компани», изготовившая 500 штук. «Стерлинг» ( «Sterling», там же в Дагенхэме) внесла в конструкцию ряд изменений: заменила стальной кожух глушителя алюминиевым для снижения веса, исключила переднюю втулку кожуха, насечку прицела выполнила в ярдах — 50, 100, 150 и 200 (около 45.5, 91.5, 137 и 183 м). Небольшое количество карабинов для «коммандос»-парашютистов снабдили пистолетной рукояткой и складным прикладом, в соответствии с этим антабки для ремня перенесли на левую сторону оружия. Любопытно, что конструкция складного приклада была аналогична пистолету-пулемету «Стерлинг», который в этот период был только разработан (позже уже сам «Стерлинг» получил глушитель по схеме «De Lisle Carbine»), Детали карабинов заказывались отдельным лондонским фирмам.
По степени глушения звука выстрела, кучности стрельбы, поражающему действию пули карабин «De Lisle» превосходил такие образцы оружия для «коммандос», как «бесшумные» пистолеты-пулеметы «STEN» Mk2S и Мк6. Однако он требовал тщательной обработки и пригонки деталей.
Для военного времени это было серьезным недостатком, поэтому выпуск и оказался небольшим — во всяком случае, карабинов изготовили меньше, чем «STEN» Mk2S.
Промышленный выпуск карабинов Де Лайсла начался в середине 1944 г., когда вторжение союзников в Европу уже осуществилось. Когда британские войска оказались «за каналом», нужда в специальном оружии для коммандос отпала и заказ аннулировали. К тому времени выпустили примерно 130 экземпляров оружия.

De Lisle Commando Carbin


Карабины «De Lisle» практически не применялись в Нормандии — потребность в «бесшумном» оружии оказалась здесь невелика. Зато для них нашлась работа в джунглях Юго-Восточной Азии. Например, в Бирме «коммандос», просачиваясь в глубину обороны японцев, обстреливали из «бесшумных» карабинов транспортные колонны и конвои. В Малайзии карабины пригодились при операциях против восставшего местного населения. Вскоре после войны большая часть «De Lisle» была уничтожена — британские власти опасались, что в послевоенной неразберихе столь эффективное оружие может попасть в преступные руки. В результате до наших дней дожило немного «De Lisle Commando Carbine». Правда, в начале 80-х их выпуск попытались возродить. Так, «Лоу Энфорсмент Интернэшнл Лтд.» наряду с другими образцами «бесшумного» оружия представила модели «De Lisle» Мк3 и Мк4 уже под патрон 7.62x51 НАТО с соответственно переделанным глушителем и магазином, затвором и спусковым механизмом по типу «Lee-Enfield» №4, а также с кронштейном для установки оптического прицела. Хотя такое оружие и предлагалось для «сил специальных операций», оно было рассчитано скорее на современных коллекционеров — благо, при малом выпуске «De Lisle» сумел снискать себе немалую известность. Внесенные же в конструкцию изменения, видимо, неслучайны. Во-первых, это уже не чистый «плагиат»; во-вторых, при винтовочных патронах «глушитель» становится скорее «снижателем» уровня звука выстрела, а значит, оружие может быть разрешено для коммерческой продажи; в-третьих, несколько возросла меткость и кучность стрельбы, что придает оружию и «спортивный» интерес.

De Lisle Commando Carbin
Первоисточник: http://liveguns.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 16
  1. алекс-сп 12 октября 2013 09:14
    А ведь получается дальний родственник нашей ВСС, только исполнение 40-х годов.
    1. Assistant 15 октября 2013 00:33
      В целом, да. Но он не был "С", то есть не был самозарядным. Используемый боеприпас не был бронебойным, и если против живой силы это особого значения не имело ввиду близкой к нулю распространённости СИЗ в то время, то вывести им из строя вражескую технику было тяжеловато. Так что до некоторых характеристик ВСС, определяющих её уникальность, сабжу как до известного небесного тела на известном автомобиле украинского производства.
  2. avt 12 октября 2013 10:30
    Статья хорошая и проиллюстрирована добротно + А вот сам образец не впечатлил ,вот уж действительно чисто английское изобретение - как то все накручено вычурно и оружие в целом не продумано .
    avt
  3. a.s.zzz888 12 октября 2013 10:46
    И глушак на весь ствол, как интегрированный...
    1. vanaheym 14 октября 2013 10:53
      А он и есть интегрированный, с портами в стволе.
      vanaheym
  4. Адмирал 013 12 октября 2013 11:04
    Внушительный видок! Как убойное охотничье ружье, на слонов охотиться.
    Адмирал 013
    1. Илья Михалыч 12 октября 2013 17:29
      Шутите ? С ним только на ворон ходить .
      1. vanaheym 14 октября 2013 10:55
        Ну да, карабин калибра .45ACP (11.43мм) - только на ворон и ходить.
        vanaheym
  5. kirpich 12 октября 2013 11:56
    Цитата: алекс-сп
    А ведь получается дальний родственник нашей ВСС, только исполнение 40-х годов.


    Скорее дедушка wink Но,ведь у всех у нас были предки yes
  6. DezzeD 12 октября 2013 14:19
    может пропустил но каким патроном стляет агригат? какая дульная слкорость пули?

    если дульная скорость выше скорости звука то товарищ Лисле мог ставить сколко хече шайб. преодоление звукового бариера заглушить невозможно.

    если ниже дульная слкорости звука то как прицелная дальность могла быть 183-251 метров? (и что на 100 метров уже плохо била?
    DezzeD
    1. Okuscher 12 октября 2013 18:43
      но лучший результат получился с американским патроном .45 АСР (11,43 x 23) — его пуля при массе 14,9 г имела начальную скорость 260 м/с (заметно ниже скорости звука) и поперечную нагрузку 14,5 г/см2. Это позволяло ей сохранять убойную силу на достаточно большой дальности.
      нда, сказать много-чего можешь, и то не правильно даже формулируешь, а вот даже читать толком, и не научился :)
      1. Bear52 12 октября 2013 23:01
        Поддерживаю.и вообще,ИМХО,ДеЛизл.... wink
    2. carbofo 12 октября 2013 21:23
      Цитата: DezzeD
      DezzeD

      Де Лайсл некоторое время экспериментировал с пистолетным 9-мм патроном «Parabellum», но лучший результат получился с американским патроном .45 АСР (11,43 x 23) — его пуля при массе 14,9 г имела начальную скорость 260 м/с (заметно ниже скорости звука) и поперечную нагрузку 14,5 г/см2. Это позволяло ей сохранять убойную силу на достаточно большой дальности.
  7. Ols76 13 октября 2013 07:50
    Карабин «De Lisle»



    1. DuraLexSedLex. 13 октября 2013 18:31
      На видео мужик не знает какго калибра карабин)))А потом пытается всовывать патрон через окно выбрасывания гильз,ну было бы понятно будь он однозарядным, но он сам магазин от кольта вставил))))американцы жгут.
      DuraLexSedLex.
  8. 505506 14 октября 2013 05:59
    Статья хорошая, а фото просто отменные, что большая редкость. А кто автор?

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня