Algeria faces war on two fronts

Algeria faces war on two fronts Algeria continues to be one of the Islamic states that has been sentenced to "modernization." This proves a number News from the borders of this North African country. In late August, Libyan rebels announced that they were at war with the Algerian state, after the military forces of Algeria conducted a series of operations in the border regions of Libya, trying to prevent the penetration of Islamists and weapons on its territory.


On 2 of September, news came from the Algerian-Libyan border that a Chinook military transport helicopter was shot down there. According to one version, the helicopter was shot down in Libya, fighters of Western private military companies (PMCs) were sent to it behind the backs of Gaddafi’s supporters, and according to other sources, British SAS special forces. According to the second version, the defeat of the Western Coalition helicopter occurred on the territory of the Algerian People's Democratic Republic. There is no reliable data on exactly who shot down the helicopter. But, it is clear that in the future this incident can be used against Algeria.

An indirect confirmation of the death of British special forces on the Algerian-Libyan border, was the message of the English military expert Peter Beinchley, who referred to sources in the Special Airborne Service. According to the expert, “the official loss figures are not disclosed. But, according to various sources, this is from 21 to 35 military personnel. ” These are Tripoli who died in the assault and were in a fallen helicopter. The remaining 173 fighter of the elite 22 regiment of the SAS (the regiment specializes in offensive-assault operations, anti-revolutionary and anti-terrorist actions) must return to their homeland. The British command recognized the losses they suffered during the war in Libya, unacceptable.

Another point that causes the anger of the Libyan rebels is that the Algerian authorities contributed to the escape of the closest relatives of the leader of the Jamahiriya, and then began to harbor on their territory the remnants of the broken units of the supporters of Gaddafi. Thus, on August 31, up to five hundred Tuareg crossed the Algerian border, and the Algerian authorities refused to extradite them. The Algerian authorities justify their actions with considerations of mercy and humanity, since a large proportion of refugees, women and children. The rebels claim that most of the fugitives are “war criminals”.

It is clear that the Algerian authorities were not “fans” of Gaddafi, but they did not need the power of the Islamists in the neighborhood. The country just recently experienced a bloody civil war in which government forces opposed the Islamists. The war went on for a decade (1992-2002) and claimed tens of thousands of lives. The victory of al-Qaeda in Libya will lead to a new round of confrontation. The Libyan war has already caused the intensification of the Islamist underground, the attacks of the radicals from Mali.

Algerian actions are dictated by their own interests. Abdelaziz Bouteflika is a realist and well aware that the territory of Algeria is one of the key goals of the Western world in terms of global "modernization" and redrawing the map of Islamic countries. And that the Tunisian, Egyptian and Libyan "democratization" should inevitably be followed by a similar attempt in relation to the Algerian state. The script will work regardless of the behavior of the leadership of Algeria.

Beginning in April, a country whose leadership several times solemnly announced its victory over the terrorists, faced a new surge of terror. In total, since the beginning of the “Arab Spring”, Islamic militants, according to various sources, killed more than 200 Algerian security officials (for comparison, in Syria, which attracts the attention of the world media, more than 500 police and military were killed by “peaceful demonstrators”. And the authorities are still not able to neutralize the Islamic radicals that have become active in the east of the state.

The situation for the Algerian leadership is complicated by the fact that they have to strengthen the protection of not only the border with Libya, but also the border with Mali. Islamic radicals (Al-Qaeda in the Maghreb countries) are also strengthening their position in this country. Thus, one of the leaders of the Tuareg ag Bakhang was recently killed there. According to the Algerian newspaper Al-Vatan, the Tuareg leader was killed while attempting to intercept a caravan of weapons that was traveling from Libya to the area of ​​the city of Timbuktu, the famous stronghold of Islamist militants.

Apparently, this Tuareg has interacted with both Gaddafi and Algerians, who have long been trying to prevent the radicals from turning Mali into their rear base. The territory of Mali is actively used for attacks on Algerian territory. Thus, recently, militants attacked a gendarmes unit in the Tamanrasset area, according to official data, the loss of security forces made 11 people killed.

Algeria significantly strengthened the protection of the south-eastern and south-western borders, but so far there has been little progress in the fight against the Islamists. Moreover, a dangerous situation is created when Algerian law enforcement forces have to confront a mobile, well-armed enemy on two fronts, the Malian and Libyan. And they are both very long, they are almost impossible to block completely. If the pressure of the Western world is added to this, the situation will become even more complicated.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vadivak 9 September 2011 12: 33 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Algeria holds the 14th place in the world in oil reserves, hang on guys!
    1. His
      His 9 September 2011 23: 11 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Algeria is most prepared for war, from North Africa
  2. MKALEKSEY
    MKALEKSEY 9 September 2011 13: 46 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    You have not been "optimized" yet? Then we go to you))
  3. figwam 9 September 2011 18: 16 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Algeria acts quite adequately, it is a pity that he rejected our MIGs and did not buy, trusting France.
    1. Vadivak 9 September 2011 18: 49 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Well now everyone understood how much trust in NATO costs
    2. Rustam 9 September 2011 19: 48 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      rejected because they had defective and non-original blocks, but I bought 20 su-30mka to the existing 28

      regarding the modernization of the regime, the Algerian army is a hundred times more efficient and trained than the Libyan, to the same place with 92 all the time in combat clashes with the Islamists
      Yes, unlike Gaddafi, who propagated demagogy, trying to clash the interests of our military-industrial complex and the western without making significant purchases
      Algeria since 2006 only received from and will receive

      44-su-30 mca
      16-yak-130
      4 divisions s-300 pmu-2
      38-carapace 1s
      180 T-90CA tanks
      200-BMP2M with a complex of berezki
      100 complexes-Cornet-e
      small arms, communication systems, radars, etc., etc.

      so that NATO will try to repeat the same scenario as they did in Libya
      1. figwam 9 September 2011 20: 07 New
        • 1
        • 0
        +1
        Yes, they have plenty of weapons, but they must be able to use them and they must be combat-ready. Good training for the West in counteracting Soviet-Russian weapons.
        1. Vadivak 9 September 2011 22: 23 New
          • 1
          • 0
          +1
          Do not forget about "unacceptable losses"
        2. Ivan35
          Ivan35 9 September 2011 22: 31 New
          • 3
          • 0
          +3
          I agree - it is necessary to be 100% sure that Algerians are trained and trained. It would be useful to conduct air defense exercises with the presence of Russian experts - as well as conduct an urgent re-certification of officers and soldiers serving equipment
          It’s only a pity - you see - they beat everyone individually. There was a center under the USSR - which brought together and coordinated the potential victims of aggression (remember what the Pendos “ran into” in Korea and Vietnam - or Cuba) - and now there is confusion - today is Libya - tomorrow Algeria will then Syria can Venezuela - and then they will get to Iran- and then we will stay
          Nobody knows where to turn for help - where they will run into - Iran "pokes" at us and in return something vague - and they took money and didn’t put it in 300 ..
          Now we must recognize the time of the United States - we have broken up - and China is not ready yet.
          1. Vadivak 9 September 2011 23: 10 New
            • 2
            • 0
            +2
            It’s logical, without a trainer, the technician is a piece of metal, but I doubt about China that he is vulnerable to nuclear weapons, the concentration of the population, the dam, and the monkey’s policy on the mountain watching the tigers fight
      2. Cvetluy 9 September 2011 20: 15 New
        • 1
        • 0
        +1
        It would be nice if the anti-aircraft weapons arrived already and the NATO is aware of this, and so will the next "democratization" bully
  4. cVM
    cVM 9 September 2011 22: 31 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    yes the trouble is for those who have oil, if there was little oil in Libya, then there are a lot of them in Algeria, probably Sarkozy will think over a plan and demand that they begin to act for the democratization of Algeria

Алжиру грозит война на два фронта

Алжиру грозит война на два фронта Алжир продолжает оставаться одним из исламских государств, которое приговорили к «модернизации». Это доказывает ряд новостей с границ этой североафриканской страны. Ещё в конце августа ливийские повстанцы объявили о том, что они находятся в состоянии войны с алжирским государством, после того, как военные силы Алжира провели ряд операций в приграничных районах Ливии, стараясь не допустить проникновения исламистов и оружия на свою территорию.

2 сентября с алжирско-ливийской границы поступила новость о том, что там был сбит военно-транспортный вертолет «Чинук». По одной версии, вёртолёт был подбит в Ливии, на нём в тыл сторонников Каддафи направлялись бойцы западных частных военных компаний (ЧВК), а по другим данным — спецназовцы британской SAS . По второй версии, поражение вертолета Западной коалиции произошло на территории Алжирской Народно-Демократической Республики. О том, кто именно сбил вертолёт, достоверных данных пока нет. Но, понятно, что в будущем этот инцидент смогут использовать против Алжира.

Косвенным подтверждением гибели британских спецназовцев на алжиро-ливийской границе, стало сообщение английского военного эксперта Питера Бейнчли, который сослался на источники в Специальной Авиадесантной службе. По словам эксперта, «официальные цифры потерь не раскрываются. Но, по различным данным, это от 21 до 35 военнослужащих». Это погибшие в штурме Триполи и бывшие в упавшем вертолёте. Остальные 173 бойца элитного 22-го полка SAS (полк специализируется на наступательно-штурмовых операциях, антиреволюционных и антитеррористических акциях) должны вернуться на родину. Британское командование признало потери, понесенные ими во время войны в Ливии, неприемлемыми.


Еще один момент, который вызывает гнев ливийских повстанцев — то, что алжирские власти способствовали бегству ближайших родственников лидера Джамахирии, а затем стали укрывать на своей территории остатки разбитых подразделений сторонников Каддафи. Так, 31 августа до пяти сотен туарегов пересекли алжирскую границу, и власти Алжира отказались их выдать. Алжирские власти оправдывают свои действия соображениями милосердия и гуманности, т. к. значительная часть беженцев, женщины и дети. Повстанцы утверждают, что большая часть беглецов это «военные преступники».

Понятно, что власти Алжира не были «поклонниками» Каддафи, но власть исламистов по соседству им не нужна. Страна совсем недавно пережила кровавую гражданскую войну, в которой правительственные силы противостояли исламистам. Война шла десятилетие (1992-2002) и унесла десятки тысяч жизней. Победа «Аль-Каиды» в Ливии приведёт к новому витку противостояния. Ливийская война уже вызвала активизацию исламистского подполья, вылазкам радикалов из Мали.

Действия Алжира продиктованы сугубо своими интересами. Абдельазиз Бутефлика — реалист и прекрасно понимает, что территория Алжира является одной из ключевых целей Западного мира в плане глобальной «модернизации» и перекройки карты исламских стран. И что за тунисской, египетской и ливийской «демократизацией» неизбежно должна последовать подобная попытка в отношении алжирского государства. Сценарий будет работать вне зависимости от поведения руководства Алжира.

Уже начиная с апреля, страна, чье руководство уже несколько раз торжественно объявляло о своей победе над террористами, столкнулась с новым всплеском террора. Всего же, начиная с начала «арабской весны», исламские боевики, по различным данным, убили более 200 алжирских силовиков (для сравнения, в Сирии, которая приковывает внимание мировых СМИ, «мирными демонстрантами» убито более 500 полицейских и военных). И властям до сих пор не удаётся нейтрализовать активизировавшихся на востоке государства исламских радикалов.

Ситуация для алжирского руководства осложняется тем, что им приходится усиливать охрану не только границы с Ливией, но и границу с Мали. В этой стране также укрепляют позиции исламские радикалы («Аль-Каида» в странах Магриба). Так, там недавно был убит один из вождей туарегов аг Баханга. По мнению алжирской газеты «Аль-Ватан», вождь туарегов погиб при попытке перехвата каравана с оружием, который следовал из Ливии в район города Томбукту, известного оплота исламистских боевиков.

Видимо, этот туарег взаимодействовал как с Каддафи, так и с алжирцами, которые уже давно пытаются помешать радикалам превратить Мали в свою тыловую базу. Территорию Мали активно используют для вылазок на алжирскую территорию. Так, недавно боевики напали в районе Таманрассета на подразделение жандармов, по официальным данным, потери силовиков составили 11 человек убитыми.

Алжир значительно усилил охрану юго-восточной и юго-западной границы, но пока большого прогресса в борьбе с исламистами добиться не удается. Более того, создается опасная ситуация, когда алжирским правоохранительным силам приходится противостоять мобильному, хорошо вооруженному противнику сразу на двух фронтах, малийском и ливийском. И они оба весьма протяженные, их почти невозможно блокировать полностью. Если к этому добавиться давление Западного мира, ситуация ещё более осложнится.
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 12
  1. Vadivak 9 сентября 2011 12:33
    По запасу нефти Алжир занимает 14-е место в мире, держитесь ребята!
    1. Свой 9 сентября 2011 23:11
      Алжир наиболее подготовлен к войне, из стран северной Африки
  2. MKALEKSEY 9 сентября 2011 13:46
    Вас еще не "оптимизировали" ?Тогда мы идем к вам ))
    MKALEKSEY
  3. фигвам 9 сентября 2011 18:16
    Алжир действует совершенно адекватно,жаль что он наши МИГи забраковал и не купил,доверившись Франции.
    1. Vadivak 9 сентября 2011 18:49
      Ну теперь все поняли сколько стоит доверие к НАТО
    2. Рустам 9 сентября 2011 19:48
      забраковал-потому что в них были бракованные и неоригинальные блоки-зато дозакупил 20 су-30мка к имеющимся 28

      по поводу модернизации режима-Алжирская армия в сто раз боеспособней и обученнее ливийской,к таму же с 92 все время в боевых столкновениях с исламистами
      да в отличии от каддафи который разводил демагогию-пытаясь столкнуть интересы нашего впк и западного не делая значимых закупок
      алжир с 2006 года только от на получил и получит

      44-су-30 мка
      16-як-130
      4 дивизиона с-300 пму-2
      38-панцирь 1с
      180 танков Т-90СА
      200-БМП2М с комплексом бережок
      100 комплексов-корнэт-э
      стрелковое оружие,системы связи,радары и тд и тп

      так что НАТО наврятли попробует повторить тот же сценарий какой они проделали в ливии
      1. фигвам 9 сентября 2011 20:07
        Да вооружения у них полно,но надо уметь им пользваться и оно дожно быть боеготовым.Хорошая тренеровка для запада по противодействию советско-российскому оружию.
        1. Vadivak 9 сентября 2011 22:23
          Не забывайте про "неприемлимые потери"
        2. Иван35 9 сентября 2011 22:31
          Согласен - необходимо быть 100% уверенными что алжирцы обучены и натренированы. Было бы полезно провести учения ПВО с присутствием российских экспертов - а также провести срочную переаттестацию офицеров и солдат обслуживающих технику
          Одно только жалко - вы видите - они по одиночке всех и бьют. При ссср существовал центр - который объединял и координировал потециальные жертвы агрессии (вспомните на что "нарвались" пендосы в корее и вьетнаме - или кубу)- а сейчас разброд - сегодня ливия - завтра алжир потом сирия может венесуэла - а потом и до Ирана доберутся- а потом мы останемся
          Никто не знает куда обратиться за помощью - куда приткнутся - вот Иран в нас "тыкается" а в ответ что то неопределенное - и еще взяли деньги и с 300 не поставили ..
          Сейчас надо признать время сша - мы распались - а китай еще не готов.
          Иван35
          1. Vadivak 9 сентября 2011 23:10
            Логично, без инструкторов техника кусок металла, но насчет Китая сомневаюсь уж слушком он уязвим для ТЯБ, концетрация населения, плотины, да и политика обезьяны на горе наблюдающей за дракой тигров
      2. Cvetluy 9 сентября 2011 20:15
        Хорошо бы, если зенитное оружие поступило уже и об этом известно натовцам, а так будет очередная "демократизация" bully
  4. cVM 9 сентября 2011 22:31
    да беда тем у кого есть нефть если в ливии было нефти мало то в алжире их много вот наверно саркози обдумает план и будет требовать чтоб они начали действовать за демократизацию алжира
    cVM

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня