Military Review

The master of the seas: nuclear submarines of Russia and the USA

6


Sea creatures are larger than residents of land - this rule applies to military equipment. If any titan caught a submarine of the Shark project from the ocean and laid it on the ground, it would reach the height of an 8-storey building, and it would cover a whole block at a length.

This is not an exaggeration: the width of the hull of these giants reaches 23,3 m, and the length - 172 m. By displacement, each such submarine surpasses even the heavy aircraft carrier “Admiral Gorshkov”.

The first boat of the 941 project (“Shark”) was launched in the same 1981, and it was the same TK-208 that today, after modernization, is called “Dmitry Donskoy” and on which promising Bulava missiles are being tested . In the rest of the “Sharks” everything was more tragic. Three of them have been disposed of, or have already been transferred for recycling. The remaining two have been withdrawn to the reserve and are awaiting their fate - if funds are found, they will be upgraded using the same project 941 UM, for which everything has managed with “Dmitry Donskoy”.

The problem is the lack of suitable weapons. These submarines were designed to carry Variant ballistic missiles (P-39), powerful (range up to 8250 km and drop weight 2,25 T, 10 100 kiloton warheads) and heaviest (90 T starting mass) among all sea-based ballistic missiles . Every submarine cruiser carried 20 such monsters, which is why they turned out so huge.

Today, these missiles are no longer being produced, and those placed in service have exhausted the time reserve. For "Sharks" simply do not have the appropriate weapons. The planned Bark missiles, which could be placed on these colossal ships and were supposed to deliver up to 3 tons per 9 thousand km, were never created. And the Bulava, chosen instead, has not yet completed the testing process.

And if it is finally adopted, Sharks will need to be deeply modernized, and another big question is how necessary it is when they are replaced by the newest project of the Borey 955 submarine cruisers.

But in itself, the 941 “Shark” project became interesting not only because of the gigantic size of submarines. So, they have such a large reserve of buoyancy (31,3%) that when the submarine gets the ballast water for diving, it accounts for exactly half the displacement - for this reason, these ships received the nickname “water carriers”. But such a reserve of buoyancy allows the boat, ascending, to break through the ice to 2,5 m thick, which means to keep combat duty far in the cold Arctic.

Reliability to the whole colossus is given by a unique combination of cases: five strong are located inside the external lung. Two of them run along the submarine in parallel, like a catamaran. In the gap between them, in the front part are rocket mines. The remaining durable airtight compartments are torpedo, mechanical (in the stern) and command. This is the holy of holies of the ship, here is the commander’s chair. By the way, no one should board it, except the commander of the submarine - neither the officials visiting her, nor even the commander fleet or to the Minister of Defense.

It is today that the “Sharks” remained “without teeth” - that is, without rockets. And 20 years ago, they seemed like a rather terrible argument in the Cold War. In 1982, the head of the operational department of the Northern Fleet headquarters, Lebedko, said about them: “If this boat is put up in Moscow somewhere near Tsar Cannon, then, looking at it, humanity will consciously and voluntarily refuse to wage any wars forever” .



It is believed that it was Sharks that largely convinced the United States to compromise, and they soon concluded the SALT-2 agreement with the USSR, which, in particular, refused to develop a new generation of submarines and allocated funds for the disposal of the Sharks. The result of the disposal is already clear, but today's Russia’s hopes are now pinned on the newest submarines of the Borey 955 project.

The development of the 941 nuclear submarines in the USSR began in 1972, as a response to the similar American program Ohio (Ohio) - such submarines form the basis of the naval component of the US nuclear forces, and although the first of them was launched in 1981, their service life was extended to 2026. In total, the US Navy has 18 nuclear submarines of the Ohio project, whereas in the USSR “Sharks” only 6 was built. Yes, and their fate was not so long.
6 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Esso
    Esso 10 May 2011 18: 53
    +4
    A smart boat. The Americans called it Typhoon. It carries a nuclear reactor of 100 thousand horsepower and 20 ICBMs. A weighty argument. Even if you re-equip the 3 remaining ones to the mace. Pendos will think for a long time before attacking. I hope the Kremlin will allocate money to re-equip another 2 Sharks. These boats should be on duty constantly. Shark and 2 Borea to escort. One group to the North Ocean, and the second to the Antarctic. 3 on reserve. Then this American chicken will cover its beak for a long time.
    1. svvaulsh
      svvaulsh 22 August 2011 16: 30
      +1
      Why cover the bomber with other bombers? For this, fighters exist.
  2. olifus
    olifus 10 May 2011 19: 26
    +5
    Quote: Esso
    Shark and 2 Boreas accompanied.

    you very much say, any of these boats needs to be accompanied by such boats as the Cheetah, as cover hunters, but no shark, accompanied by the barmen)))
    Quote: Esso
    I hope the Kremlin will allocate money for the re-equipment of another 2 Sharks

    it is necessary to allocate money for the re-equipment of all three boats, since Dmitry Donskoy underwent a partial modernization for testing the Bulava and he re-equipped 2 or 3 mines, the rest with the old harness.
    1. Esso
      Esso 10 May 2011 19: 56
      -1
      Perhaps there will not be enough escort for all boats, that's for sure. Well, how will we not know for sure. Such groups should have been secretly on duty. At the expense of cheetahs, you may be right, how much will there be?
      Dmitry Donskoy underwent a partial modernization under the tests of the Mace and he re-equipped 2 or 3 mines, the rest with the old harness.
      Well, if it’s so bad, then the question may hang in the air for a long time. One would be sorted out.
  3. Michael
    Michael 10 May 2011 22: 37
    +2
    And on the American boats there will be women serving - an underwater brothel with whores such as canalise surise. The horror is quiet.
    http://oko-planet.su/politik/politikarm/68025-vpervye-v-istorii-zhenschin-pustya
    t-sluzhit-na-subvodnye-lodki.html
  4. CARTRIDGE
    CARTRIDGE 22 August 2011 16: 16
    -1
    The development of nuclear submarines of Project 941 in the USSR began in 1972 as a response to a similar US program, Ohio - such submarines form the basis of the naval component of the US nuclear forces, and although the first of them was launched back in 1981, their service life was extended until 2026. In total, the US Navy has 18 nuclear submarines of the Ohio project, we concluded a good agreement, now we don’t have these 6 submarines either, but the amers are usually won, their boats of this project remain in service. We are closed eyes do we sign such contracts?

Хозяин морей: атомные подлодки России и США

Хозяин морей: атомные подлодки России и США


Морские создания крупнее жителей суши – это правило относится и к военной технике. Если бы какой-нибудь титан выловил из океана подводную лодку проекта «Акула» и положил на землю, борт ее достигал бы высоты 8-этажного дома, а в длину она накрыла бы целый квартал.

Это не преувеличение: ширина корпуса у этих гигантов достигает 23,3 м, а длина – 172 м. По водоизмещению каждая такая подлодка превосходит даже тяжелый авианесущий крейсер «Адмирал Горшков».


Первая лодка проекта 941 («Акула») была спущена на воду в том же 1981 г., и это была та самая ТК-208, которая сегодня, после модернизации, называется «Дмитрий Донской» и на которой теперь испытываются перспективные ракеты «Булава».У остальных «Акул» все сложилось трагичнее. Три из них утилизированы, или уже переданы на утилизацию. Оставшиеся две выведены в резерв и ожидают своей участи – если найдутся средства, они будут модернизированы по тому же проекту 941 УМ, по которому все обошлось и с «Дмитрием Донским».

Проблема состоит в отсутствии подходящего вооружения. Подлодки эти проектировались, чтобы нести баллистические ракеты «Вариант» (Р-39), мощные (дальность до 8250 км и забрасываемый вес 2,25 т, 10 боеголовок по 100 килотонн) и самые тяжелые (90 т стартовой массы) среди всех баллистических ракет морского базирования. Каждый подводный крейсер нес 20 таких монстров, именно поэтому они получились такими громадными.

Сегодня эти ракеты уже не выпускаются, а поставленные на службу исчерпали резерв времени. Для «Акул» просто нет подходящего вооружения. Планировавшиеся ракеты «Барк», которые могли размещаться на этих колоссальных кораблях и должны были доставлять до 3 т на 9 тыс км, так и не были созданы. А выбранная вместо них «Булава» до сих пор не завершила процесс испытаний.

Да и если она будет принята, наконец, на вооружение, «Акулы» потребуется глубоко модернизировать, и еще большой вопрос, насколько это необходимо, когда на смену им идет уже новейший проект подводных крейсеров 955 «Борей».

Но сам по себе проект 941 «Акула» стал интересным не только благодаря исполинским размерам подводных лодок. Так, запас плавучести у них такой большой (31,3%), что, когда подлодка для погружения набирает балластную воду, на нее приходится ровно половина водоизмещения – по этой причине эти корабли получили прозвище «водовозов». Зато такой запас плавучести позволяет лодке, всплывая, проламывать лед до 2,5 м толщиной, а значит – нести боевое дежурство и далеко в холодной Арктике.

Надежность всему колоссу придает уникальная комбинация корпусов: внутри внешнего легкого расположены пять прочных. Два из них проходят вдоль подводной лодки параллельно, как у катамарана. В промежутке между ними, в передней части располагаются ракетные шахты. Остальные прочные герметичные отсеки – торпедный, механический (в корме) и командный. Это – святая святых корабля, здесь находится и кресло командира. Кстати, садиться в него не положено никому, кроме командира подводной лодки - ни посещающим ее официальным лицам, ни даже командующему флотом или министру обороны.

Это сегодня «Акулы» остались «без зубов» - то есть, без ракет. А 20 лет назад они показались достаточно грозным доводом в Холодной войне. В 1982 г. начальник оперативного управления штаба Северного флота Лебедько сказал про них так: «Если эту лодку выставить в Москве где-нибудь рядом с Царь-Пушкой, то, смотря на нее, человечество осознанно и добровольно навсегда откажется вести какие-либо войны».



Считается, что именно «Акулы» во многом убедили США пойти на компромисс, и вскоре они заключили с СССР договор ОСВ-2, по которому, в частности, отказывались от разработки нового поколения подлодок и выделяли средства на утилизацию «Акул». Результат утилизации уже ясен, но надежды сегодняшняя Россия связывает теперь с новейшими подводными лодками проекта 955 «Борей».

Разработка ядерных подлодок проекта 941 в СССР началась в 1972 г., как ответ на аналогичную американскую программу Ohio ("Огайо)– такие подлодки составляют основу морской составляющей ядерных сил США, и хотя первая из них была спущена на воду еще в 1981 г., срок службы их продлен до 2026 г. Всего у американских ВМС имеется 18 атомных подводных лодок проекта Ohio, тогда как в СССР «Акул» было построено лишь 6. Да и судьба у них оказалась не столь долгая.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 6
  1. Esso 10 мая 2011 18:53
    Шикарная лодка.Американцы прозвали ее Тайфун.Атомный реактор в 100тыс лошадиных сил и 20 МБР несет она.Весомый аргумент.Даже если переоснастить 3 оставшиеся на булаву. Пендосы надолго задумаются, прежде чем нападать.Надеюсь в Кремле выделят деньги на переоснащение еще 2 Акул.Эти лодки должны дежурить постоянно.Акула и 2 Борея в сопровождение.Одну группу в Северный океан,а вторую в антарктику..3 на резерве.Тогда эта американская курица прикроет свой клюв на долго.
    Esso
    1. svvaulsh 22 августа 2011 16:30
      Зачем прикрывать бомбардировщик другими бомбардировщиками? Для этого истребители существуют.
      svvaulsh
  2. olifus 10 мая 2011 19:26
    Цитата: Esso
    Акула и 2 Борея в сопровождение.

    вы очем говорите, любая из этих лодок нуждается в сопровождении такими лодками как Гепард, в качестве охотников-прикрытия, но ни как не акула в сопровождении бареев)))
    Цитата: Esso
    Надеюсь в Кремле выделят деньги на переоснащение еще 2 Акул

    выделять деньги необходимо на переоснащение всех трех лодок, так как Дмитрий донской прошел частичную модернизацую под испытания Булавы и у него переоснащены 2 или 3 шахты, остальные со старой обвязкой.
    olifus
    1. Esso 10 мая 2011 19:56
      Возможно,на все лодки не хватит сопровождения,это точно.Ну как будет мы точно не узнаем.Такие группы должны были скрытно дежурить.На счет гепардов вы может и правы,тока сколько их будет?
      Дмитрий донской прошел частичную модернизацую под испытания Булавы и у него переоснащены 2 или 3 шахты, остальные со старой обвязкой.
      Ну раз так плохо,то вопрос может повиснуть в воздухе на долго.С одной бы разобраться.
      Esso
  3. Михаил 10 мая 2011 22:37
    А на гамериканских лодках будут бабы служить - подводный бордель с блядинками типа кандализы срайс. Ужас тихий.
    http://oko-planet.su/politik/politikarm/68025-vpervye-v-istorii-zhenschin-pustya
    t-sluzhit-na-podvodnye-lodki.html
    Михаил
  4. ПАТРОН 22 августа 2011 16:16
    Разработка ядерных подлодок проекта 941 в СССР началась в 1972 г., как ответ на аналогичную американскую программу Ohio – такие подлодки составляют основу морской составляющей ядерных сил США, и хотя первая из них была спущена на воду еще в 1981 г., срок службы их продлен до 2026 г. Всего у американского ВМФ имеется 18 атомных подводных лодок проекта Ohio-хороший договор мы заключили,сейчас у нас и этих 6 подлодок нет,а амеры как обычно в выйгрыше,у них лодки этого проекта остаются в строю.Мы как закрытыми глазами такие договоры подписываем?
    ПАТРОН

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня