Israeli designers are working to create a "unique" system of self-defense helicopters

Israeli designers are working to create a "unique" system of self-defense helicoptersIsrael. 15 September 2011, the company ELTA Systems, a unit of Israel Aerospace Industries, announced the start of work on the creation of a radar capable of detecting enemy fire. The technical details of the new system are still unknown. IAI also refuses to report the dates when the system will be created.

The new system will be installed on helicopters and airplanes, and will be able to determine the exact distance and direction to the point on earth from which the fire is fired. The device, so necessary for aviation, received the name - OTHELLO. As indicated in the message, first of all, the system will be used for self-defense of aircraft and helicopters flying at low altitude and at low speed.


According to IAI, this system will be able to determine the launch points of rocket-propelled grenades, anti-tank missiles and artillery with extremely high accuracy. Proceeding from the name of the device - the optical hostile fire locator - it will use optical sensors. The basic principle of the system at the moment is not specified. It is known only that after the detection of enemy fire, information about the place from which the shooting is carried out will immediately be transmitted to all sorts of weapon systems installed on the aircraft themselves.

A similar self-defense system designed for aircraft is currently being developed not only in Israel, but also in the United States. The first field tests of a similar device, called the Guardian, were carried out in the early spring of 2011. The Guardian complex includes a laser tracking and guidance system and a UV receiver to prevent launching missiles. The Guardian is designed to detect anti-aircraft missiles, as well as air-to-air missiles equipped with infrared homing heads.

But is this system so unique? A year ago, at the international arms salon Eurosatory-2010 in Paris, the design bureau Zenit from Zelenograd near Moscow demonstrated the work of the active protection of helicopters against modern anti-aircraft anti-aircraft missile systems (MANPADS), including President-S ". More details about this system can be found here: "Stinger" went crazy
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Израильские конструкторы работают над созданием "уникальной" системы самозащиты вертолетов

Израильские конструкторы работают над созданием "уникальной" системы самозащиты вертолетовИзраиль. 15 сентября 2011 года, компания ELTA Systems, входящая в подразделение Israel Aerospace Industries, объявила о начале работ по созданию радара способного обнаруживать огонь противника. Технические подробности новой системы пока остаются неизвестны. IAI также отказывается сообщать о сроках, в которые система будет создана.

Новая система будет устанавливаться на вертолетах и самолетах, и сможет определять точное расстояние и направление до точки на земле, с которой ведется огонь. Столь необходимое для авиации устройство получило имя - OTHELLO. Как указано в сообщении, прежде всего система будет задействована для самозащиты самолетов и вертолетов, летящих на малой высоте и с небольшой скоростью.


По данным IAI, указанная система сможет с предельно высокой точностью определять точки запуска реактивных гранат, противотанковых ракет и артиллерийского огня. Исходя из названия устройства - оптический локатор огня противника (optical hostile fire locator) - в нем будут применяться оптические сенсоры. Основный принцип работы системы на данный момент не уточняется. Известно, только то, что после обнаружения огня противника, информация о месте, откуда ведется стрельба, немедленно будет передаваться всевозможным оружейным системам установленных на самих воздушных аппаратах.

Похожая система самозащиты, предназначенная для летательных аппаратов, разрабатывается в настоящее время не только в Израиле, но и в США. Первые полевые испытания подобного устройства, получившего имя Guardian, были проведены в начале весны 2011 года. В комплекс Guardian входят лазерная система слежения и указания и ультрафиолетовый приемник предупреждения запуска ракет. Guardian призвана выявлять зенитные ракеты, а так же ракеты "воздух-воздух" оборудованные инфракрасными головками самонаведения.

Но на столько ли уникальна эта система? Ещё год назад на международном салоне вооружений Eurosatory-2010 в Париже конструкторское бюро "Зенит" из подмосковного Зеленограда продемонстрировала работу системы активной защиты вертолетов от современных противовоздушных зенитно-ракетных комплексов (ПЗРК), в том числе от "Стингеров" под название "Президент-С". Более подробно о этой системе можно прочитать здесь: "Стингер" сошел с ума
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

7 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти