China Expansion in the Caribbean

China Expansion in the Caribbean

13-14 September in Trinidad and Tobago (Republic of Trinidad and Tobago - an island nation in the southern Caribbean, near the coast of Venezuela) was held Sino-Caribbean Forum. Its main result was an agreement on the allocation of the PRC to the Caribbean countries about 1 billion dollars in loans to stimulate economic growth in the region. China plans that this money will go to the development of financial institutions, infrastructure and tourism projects. Another important area to be developed is agriculture and fishing.


At the opening of the 3-th Forum of Trade and Economic Cooperation of the People’s Republic of China and the Caribbean, Vice-Premier of the State Council of China, Wang Qishan, said that his country would establish and expand economic cooperation with all the states of the Caribbean region.

According to Wang Qishan, during the 6 years of the forum, the cooperation developed at a very good pace, for example, the annual growth of trade turnover between these countries averaged 24% and in 2010 a year reached the level of 7,2 billion dollars.

And the PRC has already invested 400 million dollars in the economy of the countries of the Caribbean region. And this is not counting the funds that went through the line of gratuitous assistance for the construction of various infrastructure facilities (communication facilities, hospitals, a disaster warning service was created, including earthquakes and tsunamis). Funds were also allocated for the training of personnel of the Caribbean States, for the above facilities. In the near future, more than 2,5 thousand people will be sent to the PRC from the countries of the Caribbean region to enhance their professional training. Beijing makes donations to the Caribbean Community Development Fund (English Caribbean Community, CARICOM).

Reference. Caribbean Community (CARICOM) - This is a trade and economic union of Latin American countries. It includes such small island states as Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Commonwealth of the Bahamas, Grenada, Commonwealth of Dominica, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, Montserrat (overseas territory of the United Kingdom), Federation of Saint Keats and Nevis, Anguilla (self-governing overseas territory of Great Britain), as well as Belize, Guyana (formerly British Guiana), Republic of Suriname. There are associate members - Virgin Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands, 12 Latin American countries are observers (the most active - Venezuela, Mexico, Colombia). Bodies of the Caribbean Community: a conference of heads of state (supreme governing body), the Council of Ministers and the General Secretariat (executive bodies), there are also standing committees and specialized working groups. The headquarters of CARICOM is located in Georgetown (Guyana). Created community in 1973 year.

And all this, as reported by a high-ranking Chinese official, is the result of the already 30-year reforming of China. These reforms not only had a positive effect on the development of China itself, but also "give chances for the Caribbean region and the whole world." Wang Qishan promised that the strengthening of cooperation between the PRC and the Caribbean countries would lead to an economic upturn, improvement in the well-being of the population of the region, development of the integration process and increased influence of the countries of the Caribbean region on the world stage.

The Chinese are very cautious about their investments, so a special agreement was signed with the Caribbean countries regarding the protection of investments.

A special point in the development of economic cooperation of the PRC of the Caribbean countries is the creation of a favorable environment for the interaction of companies. Beijing plays a big role in the development of communications in the region. So, thanks to China, the countries of the Caribbean community received a modern ferry. In addition, the Chinese hold other forums aimed at the development of trade, economic relations.

A sort of springboard for the economic expansion of China in the region was Liberty Island. With Cuba, Beijing established relations in September 1960, almost immediately after the victory of the Cuban revolution. The Chinese supported the Cuban revolution, because at that time they opposed the United States. And Cuba, in turn, was the first of the Latin American countries that officially recognized the PRC. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, it was the Chinese "comrades" who in many ways helped the Fidel Castro regime by helping the Cuban economy, oriented towards the socialist system. Currently, China accounts for more than a quarter of Cuba’s exports (sugar, nickel, tobacco, coffee).

However, at present, China is not limited to ties with Havana. So, according to the IMF: from 1990 to 2008, China’s trade with the countries of the region grew from 20 million to 2 billion US dollars. First place in the list of main trading partners of China is the state of Antigua and Barbuda (it accounted for up to 600 million of goods turnover), Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, the Bahamas and Dominica.

Basically, China exports natural resources from this region. But, on the other hand, the PRC is actively developing the infrastructure of the Caribbean states. So, in 2001, the Chinese company Hutchison Whampoa Limited (it took the ports on the Pacific and Caribbean coast of the Panama Canal into concession) invested in building a port in the Bahamas, its value was 2,6 billion dollars.

Reasons for economic cooperation

The patronage of China is beneficial to the Caribbean countries, most of them are economically weak countries, their infrastructure is very vulnerable to regular natural disasters. Therefore, any help from China is very important for them - investments are being made, the infrastructure of countries is developing, its stability is increasing before the blows of nature. Most of these states fall into the category of "who pays the girl and dances." China "buys" their appreciation: Grenada in 2003 year claimed the stability of relations with Taiwan as a guarantee of prosperity of the two states, but already in 2005, the Grenadian authorities broke off relations with Taipei in favor of mainland China. Beijing paid 6 million dollars in compensation for projects already started with Taiwan, pledged to prepare the cricket stadium for the international championship, build an 2 thousand houses, a hospital, and help in the development of agriculture. Dominica in the 2004 year, as soon as it received a loan from China in the amount of 112 million dollars for 6 years, immediately recognized only one China.

China receives new sources in obtaining natural resources, especially the Chinese are interested in the oil and gas sector. So, in Trinidad and Tobago, oil refineries are developing, which are important in light of the rapid development of cooperation with Venezuela. Previously, this area was almost completely controlled by the United States; now the Chinese are oppressing them.

In addition, China takes into account the strategic importance of the region and approaches the Panama Canal, which is of great importance for the Western Hemisphere. The PRC is leading a real offensive in the economic sphere, crowding the Americans in their former patrimony. And in Beijing they are not going to be limited only to the economy, they plan to develop military-technical cooperation. In November, a white paper was published in China 2008, which dealt with the Chinese long-term strategy for Latin American and Caribbean countries. It openly states that Beijing plans to develop military-technical cooperation with the states of the region, actually in the underbelly of the United States. With the goal of China's national security.

China has a significant advantage in developing relations with the countries of the region over the United States and the countries of the European Union. He does not make a commitment to political commitment, the development of "democracy" as a condition of his investment.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. PSih2097 20 September 2011 10: 28 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Oh, China is slowly wrapping up America ...
    1. Marat
      Marat 20 September 2011 22: 18 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      The dragon (Chinese) is growing and this is alarming on the one hand - we will need to build some new relations with it and not fall victim to it in the future - in any case, we need to become strong and united - then it will be safer to be friends

      But for now, the main evil is pendosy - and I cannot but rejoice at the activity of the Chinese in the region of their sphere of influence. Pendos have already received one splinter from 8 Albanian countries led by Venezuela and Cuba

      If now China also gets in there, then it will be a bigger splinter. In fact, China is starting to do what we did before. While we are lying on our side and are only gathering the Union back — China Iran, the countries of ALBA Syria, etc. practically divert the enemy to themselves — they give us the opportunity, if not to return the USSR, to at least partially assemble the country again. Then maybe we will return with military bases to Cuba.
      1. Vadivak 20 September 2011 22: 39 New
        • 3
        • 0
        +3
        Marat, I also think that China is gradually encircling the United States, but China is a very geographically vulnerable country, one strike by the NSW on the dams and the end of the film, but I think they will simply populate the United States with about 15 million of them there, in my opinion, and they will buy up the border states quietly ( if possible of course) their industry, and even then they will dictate their adamant will to the entire world community ......
        1. Marat
          Marat 20 September 2011 23: 13 New
          • 2
          • 0
          +2
          I agree - I also read about China's vulnerability - but I hope they won’t get to the pendos war - we will win on the one hand - 2 threats will be eliminated - but we will get refugee problems (tens or hundreds of millions with epidemics and other horrors) from China and the economic collapse that it will be difficult to survive

          Let them confront and deal with each other and not with us - it’s already good
          I think your version of "creeping expansion" is likely
  2. Banshee 20 September 2011 10: 44 New
    • 5
    • 0
    +5
    Here another question arises: where is Russia?

    The fact that China is threshing its shock is quiet, but measured, as clear as daylight. And after a while we will wake up and find out that there is only one superpower in the world, which doesn't care about the dollar rate, the American oil market and other jokes. And this is not Russia. Alas.

    China is now not just a lot of money. And they already had fun buying amerovskih enterprises and companies. Now begin to insure themselves just in case. Because it just happens: for example, nationalization. Or power bankruptcy.
    “And why are you our company oppressed? You don’t like it stifles everyone? But this is not democratic! And, democratically, if the state committee thinks so? Okay ... And look there, on Trinidad, what is it? Oil tower? No , not a tower ... This is a rocket "Soaring Eagle" ... or "Fire Dragon".

    In such a spirit. Of course, there are few idiots in the CIA, but the Chinese will come up with something. In the good old days, we took agricultural equipment of vertical takeoff ...

Экспансия Китая в Карибском регионе

Экспансия Китая в Карибском регионе

13-14 сентября на Тринидаде и Тобаго (Республика Тринидад и Тобаго – это островное государство в южной части Карибского моря, поблизости от побережья Венесуэлы) прошёл китайско-карибский форум. Главным его результатом стало соглашение о выделении КНР странам Карибского бассейна около 1 млрд. долларов кредитов для стимулирования экономического роста региона. Китай планирует, что эти деньги пойдут на развитие финансовых институтов, инфраструктурных и туристических проектов. Ещё одна важная сфера, которую будут развивать, – сельское хозяйство и рыболовство.

На открытии 3-го Форума торгово-экономического сотрудничества Китайской Народной Республики и государств Карибского бассейна вице-премьер Госсовета Китая Ван Цишань заявил, что его страна будет налаживать и расширять экономическое сотрудничество со всеми государствами Карибского региона.

По словам Ван Цишаня, за 6 лет работы форума сотрудничество развивалось очень хорошими темпами, так, ежегодный рост торгового оборота между этими государствами составлял в среднем 24% и на 2010 год достиг уровня в 7,2 млрд. долларов.


Причем КНР уже вложил в экономику стран Карибского региона 400 млн. долларов. И это не считая тех средств, которые шли по линии безвозмездной помощи по строительству различных объектов инфраструктуры (коммуникационных объектов, больниц, была создана служба предупреждения о стихийных бедствиях, включая землетрясения и цунами). Средства также выделялись на подготовку персонала карибских государств, для вышеназванных объектов. Уже в ближайшее время в КНР из стран Карибского региона для повышения профессиональной подготовки будет отправлено более 2,5 тыс. человек. Пекин делает пожертвования в Фонд развития Карибского сообщества (англ. Caribbean Community, CARICOM).

Справка. Карибское сообщество (CARICOM) — это торгово-экономический союз стран Латинской Америки. В него входят такие малые островные государства, как Антигуа и Барбуда, Барбадос, Содружество Багамских Островов, Гренада, Содружество Доминики, Сент-Винсент и Гренадины, Сент-Люсия, Тринидад и Тобаго, Ямайка, Монтсеррат (заморская территория Великобритании), Федерация Сент-Китс и Невис, Ангилья (самоуправляемая заморская территория Великобритании), а также Белиз, Гайана (ранее Британская Гвиана), Республика Суринам. Есть ассоциированные члены - Виргинские Острова, острова Тёркс и Кайкос, 12 латиноамериканских государств являются наблюдателями (самые активные – Венесуэла, Мексика, Колумбия). Органы Карибского сообщества: конференция глав государств (высший орган управления), Совет министров и Генеральный секретариат (исполнительные органы), есть также постоянные комитеты и специализированные рабочие группы. Штаб-квартира CARICOM находится в городе Джорджтаун (Гайана). Создано сообщество в 1973 году.

И все это, как сообщил высокопоставленный китайский чиновник, есть результат уже 30-летнего реформирования Китая. Эти реформы не только положительно отразились на развитии самого Китая, но и «дают шансы для Карибского региона и всего мира». Ван Цишань обещал, что усиление взаимодействия между КНР и карибскими государствами приведёт к экономическому подъему, улучшению благосостояния населения региона, развитию интеграционного процесса и увеличению влияния стран Карибского региона на мировой арене.

Китайцы весьма осторожны в своих капиталовложениях, поэтому с карибскими странами было подписано особое соглашение, которое касается охраны инвестиций.

Особенный пункт в развитии экономического сотрудничества КНР стран Карибского бассейна — это создание благоприятной среды для взаимодействия компаний. Большую роль Пекин играет и в развитии коммуникаций стран региона. Так, благодаря Китаю страны Карибского сообщества получили современную паромную переправу. Кроме того, китайцы проводят и другие форумы, направленные на развитие торговых, экономических отношений.

Своего рода плацдармом для экономической экспансии КНР в регионе стал Остров Свободы. С Кубой Пекин установил отношения в сентябре 1960 года, почти сразу после победы кубинской революции. Китайцы поддержали кубинскую революцию, так как в тот период противостояли США. Да и Куба, в свою очередь, стала первым из государств Латинской Америки, которое официально признало КНР. После развала Советского Союза именно китайские «товарищи» во многом помогли режиму Фиделя Кастро, оказав помощь кубинской экономике, ориентированной на социалистическую систему. В настоящее время на Китай приходится более четверти экспорта Кубы (сахар, никель, табак, кофе).

Однако в настоящее время Китай не ограничивается только связями с Гаваной. Так, по данным МВФ: с 1990 года по 2008 год товарооборот Китая со странами региона вырос с 20 млн. до 2 млрд. американских долларов. Первые места в списке главных торговых партнёров Китая занимает государство Антигуа и Барбуда (на него приходилось до 600 млн. долларов товарооборота), Тринидад и Тобаго, Ямайка, Багамские острова и Доминика.

В основном Китай вывозит из этого региона природные ресурсы. Но, с другой стороны, КНР активно развивает инфраструктуру карибских государств. Так, в 2001 году китайская компания Hutchison Whampoa Limited (она взяла в концессию порты на тихоокеанском и карибском побережье Панамского канала) вложила деньги в постройку порта на Багамских островах, его стоимость 2,6 млрд. долларов.

Причины экономического сотрудничества

Покровительство Китая выгодно странам Карибского бассейна, большая часть из них – это слабые с экономической точки зрения страны, их инфраструктура очень уязвима для регулярных стихийных бедствий. Поэтому любая помощь Китая для них очень важна – идут инвестиции, развивается инфраструктура стран, повышается её устойчивость перед ударами природы. Большинство этих государств относятся к категории «кто платит, тот девушку и танцует». Китай «покупает» их признательность: Гренада в 2003 году утверждала о незыблемости отношений с Тайванем, как залога процветания двух государств, но уже в 2005 году гренадские власти разорвали отношения с Тайбэем в пользу материкового Китая. Пекин в качестве компенсации за уже начатые с Тайванем проекты выплатил 6 млн. долларов, взял обязательства подготовить стадион по крикету к международному чемпионату, построить 2 тыс. домов, госпиталь, помочь в развитии сельского хозяйства. Доминика в 2004 году, как только получила от КНР кредит в размере 112 млн. долларов на 6 лет, сразу признала только один Китай.

Китай получает новые источники в получении природных ресурсов, особенно китайцев интересует нефтегазовая сфера. Так, на Тринидаде и Тобаго развивают предприятия нефтепереработки, которые важны в свете быстрого развития сотрудничества с Венесуэлой. Раньше эту сферу почти полностью контролировали США, теперь их теснят китайцы.

К тому же Китай учитывает стратегическую важность региона и подбирается к Панамскому каналу, имеющему огромное значение для Западного полушария. КНР ведёт настоящее наступление в экономической сфере, тесня американцев в их бывшей вотчине. Причём в Пекине не собираются ограничиваться только экономикой, планируют развивать и военно-техническое сотрудничество. В ноябре 2008 года в Китае вышла Белая книга, которая касалась китайской долговременной стратегии в отношении государств Латинской Америки и Карибского региона. В ней открыто сказано о том, что Пекин планирует развивать с государствами региона военно-техническое сотрудничество, фактически в подбрюшье США. С целью национальной безопасности Китая.

Китай имеет значительное преимущество в области развития отношений со странами региона перед США и странами Евросоюза. Он не ставит условием своих инвестиций взятие на себя политических обязательств, развития «демократии».
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. PSih2097 20 сентября 2011 10:28
    О, китай потихоньку обкладывает америку...
    1. Marat 20 сентября 2011 22:18
      Дракон (китайский) растет и это с одной стороны настораживает - нам надо будет выстроить с ним какие то новые отношения и не пасть его жертвой в будущем - в любом случае надо стать сильными и объединенными - тогда и дружить будет безопаснее

      Но пока что главное зло это пендосы - и меня не может не радовать активность китайцев в регионе их сферы влияния. Пендосы уже получили одну занозу из 8 стран алба во главе с Венесуэлой и Кубой

      Если теперь туда еще и китай залезет - то это будет заноза побольше. По сути Китай начинает делать то что раньше делали мы. Пока мы лежим на боку и только собираем Союз обратно - Китай Иран страны АЛБА Сирия и тд практически отвлекают врага на себя - дают нам возможность если не вернуть ссср - то хотя бы частично собрать страну снова. Тогда может и мы вернемся с военными базами на Кубу.
      Marat
      1. Vadivak 20 сентября 2011 22:39
        Марат я тоже считаю что Китай постепенно обкладывает США, но Китай очень географически уязвимая страна, один удар ТЯБ по плотинам и конец фильма, но думаю они просто заселят США их там уже около 15 млн. по моему, и приграничные государства, и втихую скупят (по возможности конечно) их промышленность, а уж тогда будут диктовать свою непреклонную волю всему мировому сообществу......
        1. Marat 20 сентября 2011 23:13
          Согласен - тоже читал об уязвимости Китая - но надеюсь до войны с пендосами у них не дойдет - мы с одной стороны выиграем - 2 угрозы взаимоуничтожатся - но получим проблемы беженцев (десятков или сотен миллионов с эпидемиями и прочими ужасами) из Китая и падение экономики которые пережить будет трудно

          Пусть они противостоят и занимаются друг другом а не нами - уже хорошо
          Думаю ваш вариант "ползучей экспансии" вероятен
          Marat
  2. Banshee 20 сентября 2011 10:44
    Тут другой вопрос возникает: а где Россия?

    То, что Китай молотит свою копну тихо, но размеренно, ясно как белый день. И через некоторое время мы проснемся, и узнаем, что в мире осталась одна сверхдержава, которой наплевать на курс доллара, американский нефтяной рынок и прочии приколы. И это не Россия. Увы.

    У Китая сейчас денег не просто много. И они уже наразвлекались скупкой амеровских предприятий и компаний. Теперь начинают страховать себя на всякий случай. Потому как он всякий бывает: например, национализация. Или силовое банкротство.
    "А чего это вы нашу компанию гнете? Вам не нравится что она всех душит? Но это же не демократично! А, демократично, раз так считает госкомитет? Ладно... А посмотрите там, на Тринидаде, чего это? Вышка нефтяная? Нет, не вышка...Это ракета "Парящий Орел"... или "Огненный Дракон".

    В таком вот духе. Конечно, в ЦРУ идиотов мало, но китайцы что-нибудь да придумают. Возили же наши в старые добрые времена сельхозтехнику вертикального взлета...

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня