Laser will find explosives

Laser will find explosives


American scientists have designed a device for detecting traces of explosives using a laser, which is comparable in efficiency with an ordinary laser pointer.


“60% of military casualties in the Iraqi and Afghan wars were the victims of improvised explosive devices or mines hidden along roads, in front of bridges or in buildings. Unfortunately, it’s not easy to find mines. Unlike sterile laboratory conditions, there are a lot of chemical compounds in a normal natural environment that mask exactly those explosive molecules, ”says Dr. Chemistry of the Michigan State Institute (MSU), founder of BioPhotonic Solutions, Marcos Dantus.

In his research, he and his colleague used a laser that emits coherent waves. That, in turn, causes vibrations at the molecular level, and then the resonance is “heard”. This kind of spectroscopy makes it possible to determine the type of explosive even at very low concentrations (up to 10 nanograms) in the environment.

The main advantage of this development is that the inspection is carried out from a safe distance, a positive result is guaranteed and does not cause an explosion. “Initially, this technique was developed for microscopes,” notes Marcos Dantus, “but in the course of the research and experiments it turned out that this technique could have more practical and extensive use.”

The journal “Applied Physics Letters” on its pages published the results of research. Now researchers are looking for additional funds that are necessary for testing in the field.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Лазер найдет взрывчатку

Лазер найдет взрывчатку


Американские ученые спроектировали устройство обнаружения следов взрывчатых веществ при помощи лазера, который по своей эффективности сравним с обыкновенной лазерной указкой.


«60% пострадавших военных в Иракской и Афганской войнах стали жертвами самодельных взрывных устройств или мин, скрытых вдоль дорог, перед мостами или в зданиях. К сожалению, места закладки мин обнаружить не так просто. В отличие от стерильных лабораторных условий, в обычном природном окружении находится очень много химических соединений, которые маскируют именно те взрывоопасные молекулы», – рассказывает доктор химии Института штата Мичиган (MSU), основатель компании «BioPhotonic Solutions» Маркос Дантус.

Он и его сослуживец в своих исследованиях использовали лазер, испускающий когерентные волны. Тот в свою очередь вызывает вибрации на молекулярном уровне, а потом «прослушивается» резонанс. Такая разновидность спектроскопии дает возможность определять тип взрывчатки даже при очень малой ее концентрации (до 10 нанограмм) в окружающей среде.

Основное достоинство этой разработки заключается в том, что осмотр осуществляется с безопасного расстояния, гарантируется положительный результат и не приводит к взрыву. «Поначалу эта методика разрабатывалась для микроскопов, – отмечает Маркос Дантус, – однако в ходе проведенных исследований и опытов оказалось, что данная методика может получить более практическое и обширное применение».

Журнал «Applied Physics Letters» на своих страницах опубликовал результаты исследований. Сейчас исследователи занялись поиском дополнительных средств, которые необходимы для испытаний в полевых условиях.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти