Meeting with the Taliban was deadly for Rabbani

Burkhanuddin Rabbani, the former president of Afghanistan, was killed on Tuesday as a result of a bomb blast in his house located in the protected "green zone" of Kabul, where foreign embassies are located.

Last October, the current Afghan President Hamid Karzai appointed Rabbani the head of the High Peace Council, whose task is to organize negotiations with the Taliban on the peaceful resolution of the conflict in Afghanistan, ITAR-TASS reports.


According to the BBC, at the time of the explosion, Rabbani met in his Kabul home with two representatives of the Taliban movement. It is not clear whether the members of the Taliban delegation were involved in the attack. According to sources in the Kabul police, as a result of the same terrorist attack, adviser Hamid Karzai Masum Stanekzai was seriously injured.

Burkhanuddin Rabbani, a former professor of theology at Kabul University and a moderate Islamist, was one of the leaders of the Mujahideen who from the end of the 70 to the beginning of the 90 of the war fought the pro-Soviet government of Afghanistan and the Soviet troops.

Rabbani took over as president of Afghanistan in 1992, after the Mujahideen overthrew the government of Mohammad Najibullah. During his presidency in the country, armed clashes continued between various groups of Mujahideen, who fought for control of the country. He held this position until the Taliban came to power in 1996. After the Taliban’s rise to power, Rabbani, a Tajik by birth, became one of the leaders of the anti-Taliban Northern Alliance. After the overthrow of the Taliban government, Rabbani led one of the Afghan parties.
Originator:
http://www.vesti.ru
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Встреча с талибами стала смертельной для Раббани

Бывший президент Афганистана Бурхануддин Раббани погиб во вторник в результате взрыва бомбы в своем доме, расположенном в охраняемой "зеленой зоне" Кабула, где располагаются иностранные посольства.

В октябре прошлого года действующий президент Афганистана Хамид Карзай назначил Раббани главой Высшего совета мира, задачей которого является организация переговоров с движением "Талибан" о мирном разрешении конфликта в Афганистане, передает ИТАР-ТАСС.


По данным Би-би-си, в момент взрыва Раббани встречался в своем кабульском доме с двумя представителями движения "Талибан". Пока неясно, были ли члены делегации талибов причастны к теракту. По словам источников в кабульской полиции, в результате того же теракта был тяжело ранен советник Хамида Карзая Масум Станекзай.

Бурхануддин Раббани, бывший профессор богословия Кабульского университета и умеренный исламист, был одним из лидеров моджахедов, которые с конца 70-х до начала 90-х годов воевали с просоветским правительством Афганистана и советскими войсками.

Раббани занял пост президента Афганистана в 1992 году, после свержения моджахедами правительства Мохаммада Наджибуллы. В период его президентства в стране продолжались вооруженные столкновения между различными группами моджахедов, которые боролись за контроль над страной. Он занимал эту должность до прихода к власти талибов в 1996 году. После прихода к власти движения "Талибан" Раббани, таджик по происхождению, стал одним из лидеров антиталибского Северного альянса. После свержения власти талибов Раббани возглавлял одну из афганских партий.
Первоисточник:
http://www.vesti.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти