KH-9 HEXAGON - a huge Cold War spy satellite

This spy satellite HEXAGON for over ten years has been observing America’s likely adversaries during the Cold War, dropping very high-quality photographs taken from space to Earth. The length of this satellite is about 18 meters, and it is longer than a regular bus. For a very long time, only very few people saw these satellites live. And now, after the US government has declassified the data of this spyware program, anyone can see this satellite.


KH-9 HEXAGON - a huge Cold War spy satellite

During the period from 1971 to 1986, the US Department of Intelligence launched the launch of XEXUMX satellites HEXAGON. The first of these satellites was launched into orbit by the Titan III carrier rocket. The main "eye" of the satellite HEXAGON was a huge camera with a focal length 20 centimeters. This camera took pictures on the photographic plate, the size of 195 centimeters. On each such plate from the height of space an image was placed, about 15 in size. The high quality of the photographic material used and the optics of the camera made it possible to look at the details of the size of half a meter on the pictures taken.


In those days, there was still no reliable means of fast data transmission over radio frequency channels, and the satellite camera was an ordinary camera, not a digital camera. Therefore, a rather original method was used to deliver satellite images to the Earth. After the satellite camera took a series of shots, the taken photographic plates were automatically immersed in a container protected from external influences, which was then dropped to the ground. In total, the satellite had four containers, so its work resource was very short, which explains the large number of such satellites launched into space.


Naturally, before dropping the container with the images to the Earth, a reconnaissance plane was lifted from the ground, equipped with a special device that patrolled at a high altitude near the point of entry of the container into the atmosphere. After the radar of the aircraft detected the falling container, the aircraft approached the calculated point and caught this container as if caught with a butterfly net. I wonder what happened if the pilot of the plane slightly missed?
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

20 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. ramin_serg 26 October 2013 10: 10 New
    • 5
    • 0
    +5
    I must admit that in terms of the number and quality of satellites, Americans have gone far ahead
    1. Turik
      Turik 27 October 2013 10: 17 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Expensive, but not very reliable.
  2. datur 26 October 2013 10: 10 New
    • 7
    • 0
    +7
    After the aircraft radar detected a falling container, the aircraft approached the calculated point and caught this container as they catch a butterfly net. I wonder what happened if the pilot missed the plane a bit? --- then the jolly then came !! probably all the CIA personnel were looking for this container !!!!! wink laughing
    1. Ascetic 26 October 2013 13: 06 New
      • 6
      • 0
      +6
      Quote: datur
      After the aircraft radar detected a falling container, the aircraft approached the calculated point and caught this container as they catch a butterfly net. I wonder what happened if the pilot missed the plane a bit? --- then the jolly then came !! probably all the CIA personnel were looking for this container !!!!!


      The Americans were not laughing, Until 1972, all the keyhole photo-reconnaissance satellites (literally keyhole) were equipped with drop-down capsules for photographic film, i.e. the capsule descended by parachute in a given area of ​​the Pacific Ocean .. In 1972. The project, which was called the Crown with a series of Kihouls, was stopped due to the discovery of a Soviet submarine waiting in the area for splashing capsules with photographic film in the Pacific Ocean. Therefore, in the following Kihouls, and in particular in KN-9, the scheme of "catching butterflies from an airplane" was implemented. The captured film for processing and analysis from the satellite was sent back to Earth in returning capsules by parachute to the Pacific Ocean, where C-130 military aircraft caught them using a special trawl. In the picture below, such a trawl.
      In my time of service in the Strategic Missile Forces, the data from KN-11, which replaced Hexagon and monitored the PGRK position areas, were already transmitted through the Satellite Data System owned by the US armed forces, which greatly accelerated the identification of our complexes by American analysts, unless of course they came to the camera during his flight. Of course, the time of their flight was known and taken into account, and all position changes were usually carried out at night and must be agreed with the military counterintelligence agencies.

      Trapping the descent capsule Discoverer 14 special aircraft C-119 "Flying Boxer".
      1. ivanovbg 26 October 2013 18: 08 New
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        Just imagine - somewhere in the sky-high heights of the stratosphere, American planes catch the descent capsules of their top-secret reconnaissance satellites. And Soviet submarines spin under them and look with hope at the anti-aircraft periscopes - all of a sudden something will fall over to them too.



        And you say - not funny :) I laugh, I can not :)
        1. Ascetic 26 October 2013 21: 48 New
          • 4
          • 0
          +4
          Quote: ivanovbg
          Just imagine - somewhere in the sky-high heights of the stratosphere, American planes catch the descent capsules of their top-secret reconnaissance satellites. And Soviet submarines spin under them and look with hope at the anti-aircraft periscopes - all of a sudden something will fall over to them too.


          Well, firstly, not in the stratosphere, and secondly Americans are not funny
          Quote: Ascetic
          The Americans weren’t laughing,

          Read carefully. Well, on the submarine, they were probably having fun reining in from the depths of the ocean for this process. Probably they even made a bet to catch or not to catch, well, and the swimmers were ready for them, too, probably there was no laughing matter.
  3. pensioner 26 October 2013 10: 27 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    I wonder what happened if the plane pilot missed a little bit?

    Nothing special. Just a container fell a little on the Earth ... repeat
    1. smirnov 27 October 2013 19: 02 New
      • -1
      • 0
      -1
      Probably more correct in the ground laughing
  4. StolzSS
    StolzSS 26 October 2013 11: 05 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    After the aircraft radar detected a falling container, the aircraft approached the calculated point and caught this container as they catch a butterfly net. I wonder what happened if the plane pilot missed a little bit?

    Yes, no, just the whole staff, starting with the pilot, got a good portion of bananas in the anus wassat

    Well, as a result, we now see bananas in the anus, the main educational event in the USA, it is now everywhere laughing Human progress you know gee gee bully
    1. AX
      AX 26 October 2013 13: 15 New
      • 2
      • 0
      +2
      And like a "banana" in the ass, they have a detailed map of the USSR ....
  5. Know-nothing 26 October 2013 11: 23 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    Therefore, for the delivery of satellite images to Earth, a rather original method was used. After the satellite camera took a series of images, the photographic plates taken were automatically immersed in a container protected from external influences, which was then dropped to the ground.

    What is original in it? Russia still uses ("Cobalt-M"), in 2013 DOES NOT HAVE ANALOGUES IN THE WORLD, you can be proud.
    1. roial
      roial 26 October 2013 14: 00 New
      • 2
      • 0
      +2
      Russia still uses ("Cobalt-M"), in 2013 DOES NOT HAVE ANALOGUES IN THE WORLD, you can be proud.


      Are you seriously???

      The captured images are delivered to the Earth in special capsules, which after landing will be delivered for processing to the Space Intelligence Center. About a month passes between photography and capsule descent, which significantly reduces the value of the images.
      The term of active existence is up to 120 days.

      The last launch was a YEAR ago.
      1. Know-nothing 26 October 2013 16: 18 New
        • 1
        • 0
        +1
        Yes, they will probably launch next year.
        1. roial
          roial 26 October 2013 17: 08 New
          • 2
          • 0
          +2
          images are delivered to Earth in special capsules


          About a month passes between taking a picture and launching a capsule,


          DOES NOT HAVE ANALOGUES IN THE WORLD - JOKE ????
          1. Know-nothing 26 October 2013 22: 06 New
            • 1
            • 0
            +1
            Even China does not use film and capsules. You can read http://www.gazeta.ru/science/2013/02/27_a_4990217.shtml for example.
  6. ivanovbg 26 October 2013 11: 53 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    What a fantastic cost of the most highly skilled work, and even in secret mode and expensive materials, because the carrier is disposable, and the satellite itself is four-time, just for four series of pictures.
  7. makarov
    makarov 26 October 2013 12: 39 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    "..I wonder what happened if the pilot of the plane missed a little? .."
    A member of the crew jumped after the capsule, and held it in his teeth until landing on the ground. After which he turned his head for a long time (examining the space) and, gritting his teeth, said: “Yes-ah-a, there was a noble landing.” The epilogue was the awarding of the congressional medal to the ubiquitous space jumper.
  8. Freelancer7 26 October 2013 18: 51 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Good optics - interesting, but didn’t try to “refuel” (with containers)?
  9. Kowalsky
    Kowalsky 26 October 2013 23: 18 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    To be honest, the "technological" delivery process is amazing. Yes, and in the eighties, the shuttles flew with might and main. They certainly were more effective than these satellites. True, it’s more expensive at times, but information was also collected many times more. Perhaps the appointment of the Hexagons is not only and not so much reconnaissance? What prevented in the same way from dropping miniature nuclear charges (without parachutes already) or just rockets? No matter how powerful the charge. Unlike ICBMs, launching nuclear weapons would be impossible to detect. This means that there is no suspicion about the outbreak of war until it explodes over a dozen critical goals (such as Moscow and Leningrad). And, most importantly, such weapons do not fall under the limitations of the laws on the demilitarization of space. Try to prove that at some point the Hexagon took off with a bomb instead of a film.
  10. nod739 26 October 2013 23: 38 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    Quote: Dunno
    What is original in it? Russia still uses (Cobalt-M),

    as a person a little versed in photographic equipment .. matrices only just caught up in detail with amateur films, 60 mm amateur film is several times better in detailing ordinary 35 mm,
    In 80m or in 81m, if I’m not mistaken, a series of photos from outer space was published in TM - a general view of the continent, a city, a city in a park, a lawn in a park, a man on a lawn, his hand, a clock on his hand - you can see time on the edge of clarity on the dial !!!. (of course, under ideal conditions, the atmosphere is removed, and processed by Photoshop at that time - retouched)
    optics are now better than 30 years ago, of course you can make a matrix of super kooker, but it will cost three times more than the satellite itself
    I think such archaisms are used just where ultra-high detail is needed, and a 15-cm plate is worth a penny, unlike a matrix that can (and can?) give the same detail, and the Cobalt-M satellite just gives 30 cm, or maybe less- who will advertise it? this is a fresh satellite - first launch in 2004

    though there is such an opinion:
    to achieve a detail of less than 20-30 cm is almost not realistic, and not because the aberration, flare, etc. in optics do not correspond to the task, but because the jitter of unevenly heated air almost does not allow to achieve a higher result
  11. nod739 26 October 2013 23: 58 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    By the way, our PERSON satellite, which has a matrix and a radio channel for transmission, costs almost 10 times more expensive than Cobalt-M, although the term of its operation is several years against 3 months with cobalt
  12. ImPerts 27 October 2013 17: 08 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    On a specialized site dedicated to astronautics, there was a conversation about 15 cm maximum. And this is under ideal conditions. That's when they learn to disperse clouds from space, then 15-20 cm will be the standard. But this is the future and at the same time no one bothers to set smoke screens, and in large areas. Or shine from the ground. Our Sary-Shagan shuttle managed to highlight.
  13. studentmati 27 October 2013 22: 26 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Like it or not, at that moment we are again in a column of catching up.
  14. Asan Ata
    Asan Ata 27 October 2013 23: 25 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    To come up with this - everyone would take for a fool, but no, it works and flies.
  15. The comment was deleted.

KH-9 HEXAGON - огромный спутник-шпион времен Холодной войны

Это спутник-шпион HEXAGON более десяти лет вел наблюдения за вероятными противниками Америки во времена холодной войны, сбрасывая на Землю очень качественные фотоснимки, сделанные из космоса. Длина этого спутника составляет около 18 метров, и это длиннее, чем обычный автобус. В течение очень долгого времени эти спутники видели вживую только очень немногие люди. И теперь, после того, как американское правительство рассекретило данные этой шпионской программы, увидеть этот спутник может любой желающий.

KH-9 HEXAGON - огромный спутник-шпион времен Холодной войны

За период с 1971 по 1986 год Управление разведки США осуществило запуск в космос 20 спутников HEXAGON. Первый из этих спутников был выведен на орбиту ракетой-носителем Titan III. Основным "глазом" спутника HEXAGON была огромная фотокамера с фокусным расстоянием 195 сантиметров. Эта камера делала снимки на фотопластины, размером 15 сантиметров. На каждую такую пластину с высоты космоса помещалось изображение, размером около 600 километров. Высокое качество используемого фотоматериала и оптика камеры позволяли рассмотреть на сделанных снимках детали, размером от полуметра.

KH-9 HEXAGON - огромный спутник-шпион времен Холодной войны


В те времена еще не было надежных средств быстрой передачи данных по радиочастотным каналам, да и камера спутника была обычной камерой, а не цифровой камерой. Поэтому для доставки отснятых спутником снимков на Землю использовался достаточно оригинальный метод. После того, как камера спутника делала серию снимков, снятые фотопластины автоматически погружались в защищенный от внешних воздействий контейнер, который затем сбрасывался на землю. Всего у спутника было четыре контейнера, поэтому его ресурс работы был весьма непродолжителен, что и объясняет большое количество таких спутников, выведенных в космос.

KH-9 HEXAGON - огромный спутник-шпион времен Холодной войны

Естественно, что перед тем как сбросить контейнер со снимками на Землю, с земли поднимался самолет-разведчик, снабженный специальным приспособлением, который барражировал на большой высоте близ точки входа контейнера в атмосферу. После того как радар самолета обнаруживал падающий контейнер, самолет приближался к расчетной точке и ловил этот контейнер как ловят сачком бабочек. Интересно, что происходило, если пилот самолета чуть-чуть промахивался?
Первоисточник: http://www.dailytechinfo.org


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 20
  1. ramin_serg 26 октября 2013 10:10
    Надо признать что по количеству и качеству спутников американцы ушли далеко вперед
    1. Турик 27 октября 2013 10:17
      Дорого, но крайне не надежно.
      Турик
  2. datur 26 октября 2013 10:10
    После того как радар самолета обнаруживал падающий контейнер, самолет приближался к расчетной точке и ловил этот контейнер как ловят сачком бабочек. Интересно, что происходило, если пилот самолета чуть-чуть промахивался?---вот тогда веселуха то наступала!! наверное весь личный состав цру искал этот контейнер!!!!! wink laughing
    1. Аскет 26 октября 2013 13:06
      Цитата: datur
      После того как радар самолета обнаруживал падающий контейнер, самолет приближался к расчетной точке и ловил этот контейнер как ловят сачком бабочек. Интересно, что происходило, если пилот самолета чуть-чуть промахивался?---вот тогда веселуха то наступала!! наверное весь личный состав цру искал этот контейнер!!!!!


      Американцам было не до смеха, До 1972 все спутники фоторазведки серии «Key hole» (буквально замочная скважина) были оснащены спускаемыми капсулами для фотопленки, Т.е. капсула спускалась на парашюте в заданном районе Тихого океана.. В 1972г. проект который назывался Корона с сериями Кихоулов был остановлен в связи с обнаружением советской подводной лодки, ждущей в районе приводнения капсул с фотоплёнкой в Тихом океане. Поэтому в следующих Кихоулах и в частности в КН-9 и была реализована схема "ловли бабочек с самолета". Отснятая фотоплёнка для обработки и анализа с борта спутника отсылалась назад на Землю в возвращаемых капсулах на парашютах в Тихий океан, где с помощью специального трала их подхватывали военные самолёты C-130.На картинке у самолета внизу такой трал.
      В мое время службы в РВСН данные с КН-11,который заменил Гексагон и следил за позиционными районами ПГРК передавались уже через спутниковую систему передачи данных (Satellite Data System), принадлежащую вооружённым силам США, что значительно ускоряло идентификацию американскими аналитиками наших комплексов если конечно они попадали на камеру во время его пролета.Конечно время их пролета было известно и учитывалось, а все смены позиций проводились как правило в ночное время и обязательно по согласоваеию с органами военной контрразведки.

      Улавливание спускаемой капсулы Discoverer 14 специальным самолетом С-119 "Летающий боксер".
      1. ivanovbg 26 октября 2013 18:08
        Только представте себе - где-то в заоблачных высотах стратосферы американские самолеты ловят спускаемые капсулы своих сверхсекретных разведспутников. А под них крутятся советские подлодки и с надеждой постматривают в зенитные перископы - вдруг им тоже что-либо перепадет.



        А Вы говорите - не смешно :) Ржу, не могу :)
        1. Аскет 26 октября 2013 21:48
          Цитата: ivanovbg
          Только представте себе - где-то в заоблачных высотах стратосферы американские самолеты ловят спускаемые капсулы своих сверхсекретных разведспутников. А под них крутятся советские подлодки и с надеждой постматривают в зенитные перископы - вдруг им тоже что-либо перепадет.


          Ну во-первых не в стратосфере, во-вторых американцам не смешно
          Цитата: Аскет
          Американцам было не до смеха,

          Читайте внимательно. Ну а на подлодке наверное веселились вовсю подсматпивая из океанских глубин за этим процессом. Наверное пари даже заключали поймает или не поймает, ну и пловцы были наготове им тоже наверное не до смеха было.
  3. пенсионер 26 октября 2013 10:27
    Интересно, что происходило, если пилот самолета чуть-чуть промахивался?

    Ничего особенного. Просто контейнер немножко падал на Землю... feel
    1. smirnov 27 октября 2013 19:02
      Наверное, правильнее в землю laughing
  4. StolzSS 26 октября 2013 11:05
    После того как радар самолета обнаруживал падающий контейнер, самолет приближался к расчетной точке и ловил этот контейнер как ловят сачком бабочек. Интересно, что происходило, если пилот самолета чуть-чуть промахивался?

    Да нет просто весь личный состав начиная с пилота получал бананов в задний проход хорошую порцию wassat

    Ну и как результат мы видим теперь бананы в задний проход основное воспитательное мероприятие в США оно там теперь везде laughing Прогресс общечеловеков понимаешь гы гы bully
    StolzSS
    1. ТОПОР 26 октября 2013 13:15
      И как "банан" в задницу ,они имеют подробнейшую карту СССР....
  5. Незнайка 26 октября 2013 11:23
    Поэтому для доставки отснятых спутником снимков на Землю использовался достаточно оригинальный метод. После того, как камера спутника делала серию снимков, снятые фотопластины автоматически погружались в защищенный от внешних воздействий контейнер, который затем сбрасывался на землю.

    Что в нем оригинального? Россия до сих пор использует ("Кобальт-М"), в 2013 НЕ ИМЕЕТ АНАЛОГОВ В МИРЕ, можно погордиться.
    1. roial 26 октября 2013 14:00
      Россия до сих пор использует ("Кобальт-М"), в 2013 НЕ ИМЕЕТ АНАЛОГОВ В МИРЕ, можно погордиться.


      Вы серьезно???

      Отснятые снимки доставляются на Землю в специальных капсулах, которые после приземления будут доставлены для обработки в Центр космической разведки. Между фотосъемкой и спуском капсулы проходит приблизительно месяц, что существенно снижает ценность снимков.
      Срок активного существования — до 120 суток.

      Последний запуск был ГОД назад.
      roial
      1. Незнайка 26 октября 2013 16:18
        Да, в следующем году вероятно запустят.
        1. roial 26 октября 2013 17:08
          снимки доставляются на Землю в специальных капсулах


          Между фотосъемкой и спуском капсулы проходит приблизительно месяц,


          НЕ ИМЕЕТ АНАЛОГОВ В МИРЕ - ШУТИТЕ????
          roial
          1. Незнайка 26 октября 2013 22:06
            Даже Китай не использует пленку и капсулы. Можете почитать http://www.gazeta.ru/science/2013/02/27_a_4990217.shtml например.
  6. ivanovbg 26 октября 2013 11:53
    Какие фантастические затраты самого высококвалифициранного труда, да еще в секретном режиме и дорогущие материалы, ведь носител одноразовый, а сам спутних - четырехразовый, всего лишь для четырех серии снимок.
  7. makarov 26 октября 2013 12:39
    "..Интересно, что происходило, если пилот самолета чуть-чуть промахивался?.."
    Член экипажа самолета прыгал вслед за капсулой, и держал ее в зубах до посадки на землю. После чего долго вертел головой (осматривая пространство)и клацая от переживания зубами говорил: "Да-а-а-, знатная была посадка". Эпилогом было награждение медалью конгресса "вездесущему прыгуну космоса".
    makarov
  8. Freelancer7 26 октября 2013 18:51
    Хоршая оптика - интересно, а "дозаправить" (контейнерами) их не пробовали?
  9. Kowalsky 26 октября 2013 23:18
    Если честно, "технологичность" процесса доставки поражает. Да и в восьмидесятые шатлы летали вовсю. Уж они-то точно были эффективнее этих спутников. Правда дороже в разы, но ведь и информации собирали тоже в разы больше. Может, назначение "Гекссагонов" не только и не столько разведывательное? Что мешало таким же способом сбрасывать миниатюрные ядерные заряды (уже без парашютов) или просто ракеты? Не важно, насколько мощный заряд. В отличие от МБР, запуск ЯО засечь было бы невозможно. А значит, никаких подозрений о начале войны до тех пор, пока над десятком важнейших целей (вроде Москвы и Ленинграда) одновременно не рванет. И, самое главное, такое оружие не попадает под ограничения законов о демилитаризации космоса. Попробуй докажи, что в какой-то момент "Гексагон" взлетел с бомбой вместо пленки.
    Kowalsky
  10. nod739 26 октября 2013 23:38
    Цитата: Незнайка
    Что в нем оригинального? Россия до сих пор использует ("Кобальт-М"),

    как человек немного разбирающийся в фототехнике.. матрицы только только сравнялись по детализации с любительскими пленками, пленка 60 мм любительская в разы лучше по детализации обычной 35 мм,
    В 80м или в 81м году, если не ошибаюсь, в ТМ была опубликована серия фотографий из космоса - общий вид континента, город, в городе парк, в парке газон, на газоне человек, его рука, на руке часы- на гране четкости видно время на циферблате!!!.(конечно при идеальных условиях атмосферы снято, да и обработано фотошопом того времени - подретушировано)
    оптика сейчас получше чем 30 лет назад, можно конечно и матрицу супер кукер сделать, но она будет стоить в три раза дороже самого спутника
    думаю такие архаизмы используют как раз там где нужна сверхвысокая детализация, а 15-см пластинка стоит копейки в отличии от матрицы которая сможет (а сможет ли?) дать такую же детализацию, и спутник Кобальт-М как раз дает 30 см, а может и меньше- кто афишировать то будет? это свежий спутник- первый запуск в 2004 году

    правда есть и такое мнение:
    добиться детализации менее чем 20-30 см почти не реально, и не от того что аберрация, засветки и прочее в оптике не соответствуют задаче, а от того что дрожание не равномерно нагретого воздуха почти не позволяет достичь результата выше
  11. nod739 26 октября 2013 23:58
    кстати, наш же спутник ПЕРСОНА, что имеет матрицу и радиоканал для передачи стоит почти в 10 раз дороже чем Кобальт-М, правда и срок его работы -несколько лет против 3х месяцев у кобальта
  12. ИмПерц 27 октября 2013 17:08
    На специализированном сайте, посвящённом космонавтике, шёл разговор о 15 см максимум. И это при идеальных условиях. Вот когда научатся из космоса облака разгонять, то 15-20 см будет стандартом. Но это будущее и при этом никто не мешает дымовые завесы ставить, причём на больших площадях. Или засвечивать с земли. Умудрились же наши с Сары-Шаган шаттл подсветить.
  13. studentmati 27 октября 2013 22:26
    Как не крути, на тот момент мы снова в колонне догоняющих.
  14. Асан Ата 27 октября 2013 23:25
    Придумать такое - все бы приняли за дурака, ан нет, работает и летает.
    Асан Ата
  15. Комментарий был удален.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня