The first "Stinger"

6
The first "Stinger"

President Reagan believed: once the Russians are bogged down in Afghanistan, this should be used. The United States began to actively help the Mujahideen. Our soldiers in the Afghan mountains had to be the first to accept the challenge.

Meltanay Gorge

“In January, 1987 th major Evgeny Sergeev was the deputy for combat training of the commander of the 186 th separate detachment of special purpose GRU GS. But in Afghanistan, the detachment for camouflage was called simply: the 7 Battalion. Engaged in the interception of Dushman caravans. And senior lieutenant Vladimir Kovtun is the most effective team commander. Sergeev had long planned to set up an ambush in the remote Melanai Gorge, a district of Kandahar. And so they flew there for reconnaissance - Sergeyev, Kovtun and a group of senior lieutenant Cheboksarov (the Kovtun guys were preparing to leave for this ambush, and Cheboksary with their own were at hand).

It was as follows: the special forces on two Mi-8 helicopters and two Mi-24 escorts. Sergeev and Kovtun - in the head Mi-8, Sergeev - at the site of the arrow. He was the first to notice a group of armed men downstairs; he gave a line-up from a course gun — indicated a target. Bottom in response - two smoke trails: fired. And at that moment, ours did not understand that this was a “stinger”, they decided simply to carry out a grenade launcher — they were going low, and the “stinger” did not capture low-flying targets. Well ... Escort vehicles remain in the air and take dushmans into the bag with fire, Mi-8 go to the ground. Special Forces landed - and fell under dagger fire. But it was obvious - the "spirits" still caught off guard. The battle began.

Sergeyev commanded - and very efficiently. "Perfume" began to depart. Kovtun noticed how one of them jumped out of hiding and, shooting back, ran along the bed of a dried up stream. Something he was unusual - a strange pipe behind his back, in his hand - an incomprehensible object. Vladimir pulled after him. The gap, however, was very large, the "spirit" could go. And Kovtun is a master of sports in shooting. Vskinul machine. The bullet hit the "spirit" in the back of the head. Kovtun ran up, collected trophies. I already understood that the pipe was from MANPADS ... And the thing that the dead man was holding in his hands was a fashionable briefcase-diplomat. It was impossible to linger, he returned to the helicopter. In the meantime, the fighters found two more such pipes on the ground. In the helicopter, Vladimir carefully examined the pipes, opened the diplomat. On the pipes there is a trademark marking, in a diplomat - the whole set of instructions for combat use ... “Zhenka! This is a “stinger”! - shouted to Sergeev. He turned around, broke into a smile: “Congratulations!” A few months ago, an order was read out in front of the line: those who were the first to capture the Stinger would receive the Hero of the Soviet Union. ”

Unfulfilled promises

I am quoting a tape recording of a conversation with Yevgeny Loginov, the author of the script for the documentary film “Star for Stinger” (AB-TV, directed by A. Miloslavov; the film is scheduled to be broadcast on Zvezda on October, October). From the same screen history tell Vladimir Kovtun himself and the then commander of the 22 th brigade of special forces of the GRU General Staff, lieutenant-general retired Dmitry Gerasimov. The first stinger in Afghanistan and everything that happened around it is the subject of the picture.

The “special importance trophy” was immediately demonstrated at the press conference of the Afghan Foreign Ministry in Kabul as clear evidence of US intervention in Afghanistan. That same night I flew to Moscow to understanding people who had long dreamed of an American novelty to make out to the screw, to study, to compare. Kovtun and Sergeyev presented to the Hero.

But they did not receive the Hero. Why? Today we can only guess. Perhaps someone else decided to get on the lists, but did not work out - “so don't you get to anyone!”. Perhaps the candidates seemed controversial: the special forces - people are sharp, undiplomatic, because of what happens, all sorts of situations happen. The same Sergeev, for example, has an unredeected party search - how is the Hero to give here?

Vladimir Kovtun and Yevgeny Sergeev continued to fight. And then what happened happened - with the army and with the country.

Colonel of the GRU General Staff Reserve V. Kovtun is now a farmer in the Vladimir region. Yevgeny Sergeev died in 2008: old wounds, heart. He was 54 of the year. In memory of Sergeev film and dedicated.

About the history of the capture of the first "stinger" wrote more than once, there is a feature film "Hunters for caravans." So people who are familiar with the Afghan-Special Forces theme, we are now hardly said anything new. But, first, in spite of all the publications, the participants in the operation are still not truly rewarded. To correct an unworthy situation, it is necessary to remind and remind about it. And secondly…

From that side

We repeat - there is a specific story, and there is a background against which it occurred.

This is today Yevgeny Loginov - documentary script writer. In general, he is a reserve colonel, a military translator from Dari, one of the main Afghan languages. Accordingly, from 1987 to 1989, in Afghanistan. For him, the arrival in the documentary film began with participation in various TV shows - at first he was invited as an expert on Afghan topics. Naturally, working on a picture, relied on his knowledge, connections, and opportunities. Therefore, many people from the other side are involved in the film - former Afghan warlords Haji Sadar Aka and Muhamad Aref, CIA officer in 1985 – 1989, Nick Pratt, German cameraman Dittmar Haq, who walked with caravans across the Pakistani border and shot fights with ours. Questions are answered calmly, frankly - so many years have passed, so what!

Therefore, “AN” was interesting to talk with Yevgeny Loginov not only as one of the film’s creators, but also as an Afghan specialist.

- Yevgeny Leonidovich, remember the American movie “Charlie Wilson's War”? A certain congressman, a reveler and a yanker suddenly become imbued with the idea of ​​helping the unfortunate occupied Russian Afghans and spinning a cunning intrigue in order to supply the dushmans with "stingers". And now, Soviet helicopters are falling, blazing, - and there is the end of the war. “Charlie did it!” ...

- I saw a movie, read a book, on which it was shot. The usual Hollywood "fantasy on themes." Yes, it was Wilson - one of the many involved in the story with the "stingers". Yes, the Stingers seriously complicated the flights in the Afghan sky. But in general…

"Stinger" (eng. FIM-92 Stinger) is an American portable anti-aircraft missile system designed to destroy low-flying air targets. Developed by General Dynamics. Adopted in 1981 year. Lightweight and relatively easy to use, the Stinger fires ground-to-air missiles and is in service with almost 30 states.


Before and after

- When we entered 1979 in September in Afghanistan (remember, really at the request of the then Afghan government!), US President Carter said: this is a threat to the world. Reagan, who came to replace him, suggested: since the Russians are there, let's make the war as dear and exhausting for them as possible. The long-term operation "Cyclone" began: financing, supply and training of militants. Materials on it in the US are still classified, but there is literature that can be trusted - for example, the memoirs of Muhamad Yusuf, the former deputy chief of Pakistani intelligence (formally, everything was done with her hands), books by American military expert Lester Grau ... General Yusuf, we By the way, they wanted to take it off - but he died the day before, he was already elderly. But they shot Nick Pratt. This is the person who was directly responsible for the combat training of the Mujahideen. Pratt says bluntly: The Soviets acted in Yemen, Ethiopia, because of you, we had problems in Nicaragua and Granada, you helped the Vietnamese - well, there was a chance to be counted.

“But now the Taliban are beating out of those Stingers on American helicopters ...”

- Well, suppose those “stingers” have long been unsuitable for. They have a two-year battery, and then with proper storage. In general, while reliable facts of the use of MANPADS in Afghanistan have not been recorded. The “Chinook” with the “fur seals” that destroyed Bin Laden, apparently, was shot down from an ordinary grenade launcher. Another thing is that the Americans MANPADS are really very afraid. It is declared to the population: we are ready to buy them from you. They give that kind of money that Afghans simply cannot resist.

- The very fact doesn’t cause you to involuntarily gloating: did the Americans then help the strangers, and now they themselves are stuck in Afghanistan?

- gloating - in relation to whom? To their soldiers and officers? No, it does not. I, while in Afghanistan, met with them. Really sincerely convinced that they are giving freedom to the Afghans. You can shrug, but ... I'm a military man, they are military. A military man will be ordered - he goes where he is told. What gloating here?

Everything is more complicated. Of course, you involuntarily draw parallels. Our army did not lose that war: the troops were solving the assigned tasks, the situation was under control. But the economy of the USSR really could not bear the load. According to my calculations, Afghanistan cost us 33 billion of foreign currency rubles. The dollar then, we recall, cost 60 – 70 cents. Americans now have similar problems. More than a trillion dollars have long been spent on fighting in Afghanistan and Iraq (for them this is a common operation), the Pentagon is asking for billions and billions more! Already calculated: this is the most expensive war in US history after World War II.

But what is significant. A large part of American spending is actually different forms of payments to US citizens (military personnel, etc.) who are there. That is, indirectly, this money will still be returned to the USA. In our country, the lion’s share of billions left was investment in the development of Afghanistan. We were accused of occupation - only the occupation was strange: where did you see the invaders build more 140 objects in the occupied territory? And what! House-building plants, industrial production ... Such is the difference of approaches. Is it good or bad? Let's think.

But what is definitely bad is to forget people like Kovtun and Sergeyev. They did their work honestly.
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +1
    23 September 2011 09: 59
    But they did not receive the Hero I suppose the political officer has advised
  2. panzersoldat
    0
    23 September 2011 11: 08
    Good article, correct.
    1. LESHA pancake
      +1
      23 September 2011 13: 47
      Bravo OUR Special Forces!
  3. 0
    24 December 2012 11: 05
    While there were no Stingers in Afghanistan, our helicopters quietly flew at altitude, without entering the DShK destruction zone.
  4. +15
    30 October 2017 21: 28
    10 year movie was good
  5. 0
    April 10 2018 00: 05
    February 15, 2018, died Cheboksarov Vasily Agafonovich,
    31 years ago, a group of fighters led by Vasily Cheboksarov captured the Stinger man-portable air defense systems. These were precisely those American MANPADS with which the Afghan Mujahideen shot down Soviet aircraft in Afghanistan and for the capture of which the command of the 40th Army promised the title of Hero of the Soviet Union. Two days after the battle, Vasily Agafonovich was presented to the title “Hero of the Soviet Union” with the award of the Order of Lenin. But he never received the promised high reward:
    http://dvvedomosti.com/2018/03/01/герой-без-звани
    I am a hero /

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Первый «Стингер»

Первый «Стингер»

Президент Рейган считал: раз уж русские завязли в Афганистане – это нужно использовать. США начали активно помогать моджахедам. Нашим солдатам в афганских горах пришлось первыми принимать вызов.

Мельтанайское ущелье

«В январе 1987-го майор Евгений Сергеев был замом по боевой подготовке командира 186-го отдельного отряда специального назначения ГРУ ГШ. Но в Афганистане отряд для маскировки назывался просто: 7-й батальон. Занимались перехватом душманских караванов. А старший лейтенант Владимир Ковтун – командир группы, самой результативной. Сергеев давно планировал устроить засаду в труднодоступном Мельтанайском ущелье, это район Кандагара. И вот полетели туда на рекогносцировку – Сергеев, Ковтун и группа старшего лейтенанта Чебоксарова (ковтуновские ребята готовились к выходу на эту засаду, а Чебоксаров со своими оказались под рукой).


Шли так: спецназовцы на двух вертолетах Ми‑8 и два Ми-24 сопровождения. Сергеев и Ковтун – в головном Ми-8, Сергеев – на месте бортстрелка. Он первым заметил внизу группу вооруженных людей, дал очередь из курсового пулемета – указал цель. Снизу в ответ – два дымовых следа: обстреляли. Причем в тот момент наши не поняли, что это «стингер», решили просто гранатомет – шли низко, а «стингер» низколетящие цели не захватывал. Что ж… Машины сопровождения остаются в воздухе и огнем берут душманов в «мешок», Ми-8 идут к земле. Спецназ высадился – и попал под кинжальный огонь. Но было очевидно – «духов» все же застали врасплох. Начался бой.

Командовал Сергеев – и очень эффективно. «Духи» начали отходить. Ковтун заметил, как один из них выскочил из укрытия и, отстреливаясь, побежал по руслу высохшего ручья. Чем-то он был необычен – странная труба за спиной, в руке – непонятный предмет. Владимир рванул за ним. Разрыв, однако, был очень велик, «дух» мог уйти. А Ковтун – мастер спорта по стрельбе. Вскинул автомат. Пуля попала «духу» в затылок. Ковтун подбежал, собрал трофеи. Уже понял, что труба – от ПЗРК… А предмет, что убитый держал в руках, – модный чемоданчик-дипломат. Задерживаться нельзя было, вернулся к вертолету. Тем временем бойцы нашли на местности еще две такие же отстрелянные трубы. В вертолете Владимир внимательно осмотрел трубы, открыл дипломат. На трубах – фирменная маркировка, в дипломате – весь набор инструкций по боевому применению... «Женька! Это «стингер»! – крикнул Сергееву. Тот обернулся, расплылся в улыбке: «Поздравляю!» Несколько месяцев назад перед строем зачитывался приказ: те, кто первыми захватят «стингер», получат Героя Советского Союза».

Невыполненные обещания

Я цитирую диктофонную запись беседы с Евгением Логиновым – автором сценария документального фильма «Звезду за «стингер» (телекомпания «АБ-ТВ», режиссер – А. Милославов; 25 октября фильм планирует показать телеканал «Звезда»). С экрана ту же историю рассказывают сам Владимир Ковтун и тогдашний командир 22-й бригады спецназа ГРУ ГШ генерал-лейтенант в отставке Дмитрий Герасимов. Первый добытый в Афганистане «стингер» и все, что происходило вокруг него, – тема картины.

«Трофей особой важности» был немедленно продемонстрирован на пресс-конференции афганского МИДа в Кабуле как наглядное доказательство вмешательства США в дела Афганистана. В ту же ночь улетел в Москву к понимающим людям, которые давно мечтали американскую новинку разобрать до винтика, изучить, сравнить. Ковтуна и Сергеева представили к Герою.

Но Героя они не получили. Почему? Сегодня можно лишь гадать. Возможно, кто-то еще решил попасть в списки, а не вышло – «так не доставайся же ты никому!». Возможно, кандидатуры показались спорными: спецназовцы – люди резкие, недипломатичные, из-за чего, бывает, всякие ситуации случаются. У того же Сергеева, например, неснятое партвзыскание – как тут Героя давать?

Владимир Ковтун и Евгений Сергеев продолжили воевать. А потом случилось то, что случилось – с армией и со страной.

Полковник запаса ГРУ ГШ В. Ковтун ныне фермер во Владимирской области. Евгений Сергеев умер в 2008-м: старые раны, сердце. Ему было 54 года. Памяти Сергеева фильм и посвящен.

Про историю захвата первого «стингера» писали не раз, есть художественный фильм «Охотники за караванами». Так что людям, знакомым с афганско-спецназовской темой, мы сейчас вряд ли сказали что-то новое. Но, во-первых, несмотря на все публикации, участники операции так до сих пор по-настоящему и не награждены. Чтобы исправить недостойную ситуацию, о ней надо напоминать и напоминать. А во-вторых…

С той стороны

Повторим – есть конкретная история, и есть фон, на котором она происходила.

Это сегодня Евгений Логинов – сценарист-документалист. А вообще он полковник запаса, военный переводчик с дари – одного из главных афганских языков. Соответственно с 1987 по 1989 г. – в Афганистане. Для него и приход в документальное кино начался с участия в различных телепередачах – приглашался поначалу именно как эксперт по афганской тематике. Естественно, работая над картиной, опирался на свои знания, связи, возможности. Потому в фильме участвует много людей «с той стороны» – бывшие афганские полевые командиры Хаджи Садар Ака и Мухамад Ареф, сотрудник ЦРУ в 1985–1989 годах Ник Пратт, немецкий кинооператор Диттмар Хак, ходивший с караванами через пакистанскую границу и снимавший бои с нашими. На вопросы отвечают спокойно, откровенно – столько лет прошло, чего уж!

Потому «АН» было интересно поговорить с Евгением Логиновым не только как с одним из создателей фильма, но и как со специалистом-афганистом.

– Евгений Леонидович, помните американский фильм «Война Чарли Уилсона»? Некий конгрессмен, гуляка и поддавала внезапно проникается идеей помощи несчастным оккупированным русскими афганцам и закручивает хитрую интригу, чтобы снабдить душманов «стингерами». И вот уже падают, пылая, советские вертолеты, – а там и конец войне. «Это сделал Чарли!»…

– Видел я фильм, читал книгу, по которой он снят. Обычная голливудская «фантазия на темы». Да, был Уилсон – один из многих причастных к истории со «стингерами». Да, «стингеры» серьезно осложнили полеты в афганском небе. Но в целом…

«Стингер» (англ. FIM-92 Stinger) — американский переносной зенитно-ракетный комплекс, предназначенный для поражения низколетящих воздушных целей. Разработан компанией «Дженерал Дайнемикс». Принят на вооружение в 1981 году. Легкий и относительно простой в использовании, «стингер» стреляет ракетами класса «земля-воздух» и состоит на вооружении почти 30 государств.


До и после

– Когда в сентябре 1979-го мы вошли в Афганистан (напомню – действительно по просьбе тогдашнего афганского правительства!), президент США Картер заявил: это – угроза миру. Пришедший ему на смену Рейган предложил: раз уж русские там – давайте сделаем войну максимально дорогой и изнурительной для них. Началась многолетняя операция «Циклон»: финансирование, снабжение и обучение боевиков. Материалы по ней в США засекречены до сих пор, но есть литература, которой можно доверять, – например, мемуары Мухамада Юсуфа, бывшего заместителя начальника пакистанской разведки (формально все делалось ее руками), книги американского военного эксперта Лестера Грау… Генерала Юсуфа, мы, кстати, хотели снять – но он накануне умер, пожилой уже был. Зато сняли Ника Пратта. Это человек, который непосредственно отвечал за боевую подготовку моджахедов. Пратт прямо говорит: Советы действовали в Йемене, Эфиопии, из-за вас у нас были проблемы в Никарагуа и на Гранаде, вы помогали вьетнамцам – что ж, появился шанс посчитаться.

– Зато сейчас по американским вертолетам талибы бьют из тех «стингеров»…

– Ну, положим, те «стингеры» давно уже небоепригодны. У них батарея на два года рассчитана, да и то при надлежащем хранении. Вообще пока достоверных фактов применения ПЗРК в Афганистане не зафиксировано. «Чинук» с «морскими котиками», уничтожившими бен Ладена, судя по всему, сбили из обычного гранатомета. Другое дело, что американцы ПЗРК действительно очень боятся. Населению объявлено: мы их у вас готовы покупать. Дают такие деньги, что афганцы просто не в силах устоять.

– У вас не вызывает невольного злорадства сам факт: тогда американцы помогали душманам, а сейчас сами в Афганистане завязли?

– Злорадства – по отношению к кому? К их солдатам и офицерам? Нет, не вызывает. Я, бывая в Афганистане, с ними встречался. Действительно искренне убеждены, что несут афганцам свободу. Можно пожать плечами, но… Я военный, они военные. Военному человеку прикажут – он едет, куда велено. Какое тут злорадство?

Все сложнее. Конечно, невольно проводишь параллели. Наша армия ту войну не проиграла: войска решали поставленные задачи, ситуация была под контролем. Но экономика СССР действительно нагрузки уже не выдерживала. По моим подсчетам, Афганистан нам обошелся в 33 миллиарда инвалютных рублей. Доллар тогда, напомним, стоил 60–70 копеек. У американцев сейчас – схожие проблемы. На боевые действия в Афганистане и Ираке (для них это общая операция) уже давно потрачено более триллиона долларов, Пентагон просит еще миллиарды и миллиарды! Уже подсчитано: это самая дорогостоящая война в истории США после Второй мировой.

Но что существенно. Немалая часть американских трат – фактически разные формы выплат гражданам США (военнослужащим и др.), там находящимся. То есть опосредованно эти деньги в США все же вернутся. У нас же львиную долю ушедших миллиардов составляли вложения в развитие Афганистана. Нас обвиняли в оккупации – только странная была оккупация: где вы видели, чтобы оккупанты на занятой территории построили более 140 объектов? И каких! Домостроительные комбинаты, промышленные производства… Такая вот разница подходов. Хорошо это или плохо? Давайте думать.

Но что однозначно плохо – забывать таких людей, как Ковтун и Сергеев. Они-то свое дело делали честно.
Первоисточник: http://www.argumenti.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. Vadivak 23 сентября 2011 09:59
    Но Героя они не получили небось замполит подсуетил
  2. panzersoldat 23 сентября 2011 11:08
    Хорошая статья ,правильная.
    panzersoldat
    1. ЛЕХА блин 23 сентября 2011 13:47
      браво НАШЕМУ СПЕЦНАЗУ!
      ЛЕХА блин
  3. копарь 24 декабря 2012 11:05
    Пока в Афгане не было Стингеров,наши вертолеты спокойно летали на высоте,не входя в зону поражения ДШК.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня