Assault Brno and Pratzen Heights

Second stage of the operation


The retreat of the German troops turned into a real flight. The number of defectors grew every day, especially many of them were among the militias. As a result, the German command allowed the officers to apply extreme measures to deserters. Oblavnye team combed the rear. In the order of the commander of the German army 6 th General of the tank forces Hermann Balck said that "deserters expect death and shame."

Adolph Hitler, enraged by the defeat of the Wehrmacht in Hungary, in the Carpathians and in the Bratislava region, on April 6 replaced its commander O. Völler with L. Rendulich. Lothar Rendulich led German troops in Yugoslavia, Norway and Finland, was the commander of Army Groups North and Kurland in the Baltic States, commanded a new Army Group North, transformed from the Center group. Rendulich distinguished himself in a number of operations and was considered to be specialists in defensive operations. In addition, the German commander was born in Austria, began serving in the Austro-Hungarian army, after the collapse of Austria-Hungary, served in the Austrian army and knew the theater of military operations. The German command hastily hurried reinforcements and hoped to stop the Soviet troops at the serious natural turn - the Morava River. To obstruct the advance of the Red Army, all the bridges on the river were destroyed.

After being defeated near Bratislava, the German divisions, under pressure from the troops of the 2 of the Ukrainian Front, retreated further west and north-west. However, the operation has not yet been completed. Before the Soviet troops found mountains and water barriers, fortifications behind which was the most important industrial center of Czechoslovakia - Brno. The capture of Brno, along with the storming of Vienna, became the immediate task of our troops. Brno was an important communications hub, administrative and industrial center where the Škoda and Zbroevka military factories were located, and a large arsenal.

The swift advance of our troops did not allow the Germans to consolidate on the Morava. Already on 5 on April, the 25-I Guards Rifle Division from the 7-th Guards Army of Shumilov forced this water barrier along the way and captured the bridgehead on the west bank. April 7 riders Pliev took another bridgehead near the city of Břeclav. On April 12, in the Hodonín area, the 53-I army of Managarov came out to Morava. On the same day, she crossed the Morava River and seized the beachhead. The next day, the army Managarova took the city of Hodonin. German troops made desperate counterattacks, trying to push our troops across the river, but without success. By mid-April, the German line of defense on the Morava River finally collapsed. As a result, the prerequisites for the liberation of the Brno Industrial Area were created.



The city of Brno decided to take mobile tank and cavalry units in combination with the frontal offensive of combined arms units. On April 16, after the victorious completion of the Vienna operation, Malinovsky was returned to the 6th Guards Tank Army Kravchenko. The decisive role in the operation to capture Brno was to be played by the 53rd Army of Managarov, the 6th Guards Tank Army Kravchenko and the Guards Horse-Mechanized Group Pliev. These formations constituted the front's strike force. Managarov’s army was strengthened by two rifle corps - the 18th Guards and 50th Rifle Corps, the 1th Mechanized Corps was included in the 7st Guards KMG Pliev. Kravchenko’s tank army was strengthened by the 2nd Guards Mechanized Corps and the 83rd Marine Corps.

The Soviet command linked major strategic plans with the capture of Brno. The Red Army received the possibility of a wide maneuver to defeat the remaining enemy forces. So the 2-th Ukrainian front could reach the flank and rear of the 1-th German tank army in the region of Olomouc and, in cooperation with the troops of the 4-th Ukrainian front, destroy it. And most importantly, with the capture of Brno, opened a direct path to Prague.

The German command, after losing the Moravian frontier, in an effort to keep the Brno industrial area at all costs, created additional defensive lines and resistance nodes. The banks of the Svratka and Svitava rivers, which covered Brno from the south-east, south and south-west directions, were fortified. For the defense of the city were allocated large forces: two tank, motorized, several infantry and cavalry divisions. The garrison reinforced armored vehicles and artillery. From the air the city was covered by fighters.

Initially, the 6-I Kravchenko Guards Tank Army acted on the left flank of the 2-th Ukrainian Front, advancing in the direction of the city of Znojmo. For three days, the tankers fought hard against the enemy in conditions of very rough terrain, where there were many settlements that were turned into strongholds. The tank army got involved in protracted battles for enemy strongholds, which deprived it of its main trump card - maneuverability. Over the three hard battles 6-I Guards Tank Army advanced only 15-20 kilometers.

As a result, Kravchenko decided to transfer the tank army to the aid of the 53-th army of Managarov and the 1-th Guards Mounted-Mechanized Pliev group. The forces of Managarov and Pliev at that time successfully broke into the enemy's defenses in the Brno area and were already 20 kilometers from the city. On April 21, the tank army was instructed to withdraw from the battle and secretly regroup for the two days the offensive of the 53 Army. Soviet troops were preparing for a decisive blow to Brno, which was scheduled for April 23. Kravchenko's 6-I Guards Tank Army was supposed to bypass the city from the southeast, and Pliev's horse-mechanized group would cover Brno from the south-west.

Managarov's 53 Army attacked the city from the south. At the center of its military formations was 18-th Guards Rifle Corps, General I. M. Afonin. It was a tried and tested military unit, which went through a glorious military way from Kursk, Kiev and the Dnieper to the storming of Budapest and the liberation of Vienna. By April 20, the guards were transferred from the Vienna area to Czechoslovakia. For the assault on the city, the Afonin Guard Corps was reinforced by two breakthrough artillery divisions, two mortar and one anti-tank brigade, two regiments of guard mortars. On the right wing of the 53 Army, east of the Svratka River, the 49 Infantry Corps of Major General N. N. Terentyev was advancing on Slavkov and the forest north-east of Brno. On the left wing of the army, between the Svratka and Jihlava rivers, the 50 Infantry Corps was moving towards the western outskirts of Brno. 6-th Guards Tank Army planned to enter into battle in the offensive zone of the 18-th Guards and 49-th corps.

On the morning of April 23, at the observation post of the commander of the 18th Guards Rifle Corps, which was located near the front line, Malinovsky Commander arrived, with Fomin, chief of artillery of the front, Seleznev, chief of staff of the 5th Air Army, and other commanders. They had to coordinate the interaction of the troops. At 10 a.m. hit the Katyusha and thousands of guns and mortars of various calibers. The artillery and aviation training. Soviet attack aircraft and bombers in large groups of 20-40 aircraft attacked enemy positions. Then, with the support of the tanks, the infantry marched forward.

The front edge of the enemy defense quickly crushed. However, in the depths of the defensive orders the Germans put up stubborn resistance. The remaining firing points fired. In some places the German infantry went up to counterattacks. By the middle of the day, the entire tactical zone of the enemy defense was broken. Brno's outer defense ring was hacked. Malinovsky introduced the 6 th Guards Tank Army into the breakthrough. In the first echelon, the 2 and 9 th Guards Mechanized Corps attacked, in the second echelon the 5 Guards Tank Corps. Around 120 tanks and self-propelled guns went ahead, breaking the resistance of the enemy.

On the morning of April 24, Soviet tankers reached the nearest approaches to the city. The second echelon of the army - 5-Guards Tank Corps, began the battle for the eastern and south-eastern outskirts of Brno. The battle was fierce. The Germans, relying on a developed suburban, urban and industrial infrastructure, put up fierce resistance. German troops turned into counterattacks, threw into the battle all the remaining reserves, including tank cadets, clung to each position, height. The fighting did not stop even at night. On the outskirts of Brno, the Guards Tank Army lost a quarter of its vehicles. The army command regrouped and created a new strike force from parts of the 5 tank and 9 mechanized corps.

Meanwhile, the 1-I Guards Horse-mechanized group Plieva successfully developed the offensive and bypassed Brno. 25 April, the 18-th Guards Rifle Corps came to the city. Assault groups broke into the outskirts of Brno, and violent urban fighting began. Soviet infantry went to the Svitava River. With the help of improvised means, the fighters of the 109 th rifle division forced the river, behind it the 317 th, 52 th and 243 th division were crossed Svitava.

April 26 Soviet tankers and infantry broke through to the city center. Meanwhile, the 2 Guards Mechanized Corps of the Kravchenko Army advanced to the northeastern outskirts of Brno, and Pliev’s cavalry-mechanized group to the southwestern and western margins of the city. As a result, our troops cut off the enemy’s escape route from Brno. By the end of the day the city was completely cleared of the Nazis.

Moscow celebrated this victory with a solemn salute, and Rodion Malinovsky was awarded the highest Soviet commander of the Order of Victory. The title of Hero of the Soviet Union was received by the commander of the front artillery Fomin, commanders Managarov, Goryunov, corps commanders Afonin, Grigorovich, Ostashenko, Sviridov, Akhmanov.

Assault Brno and Pratzen Heights

Troops of the 2 of the Ukrainian Front in the liberated city of Brno

The battle in the direction of Olomouc

After the storming of the city, units of 53 and 6 of the Guards Tank Army were withdrawn from the city and on April 27 they launched an offensive against Olomouc, towards the troops of the 4 of the Ukrainian Front. The strike force of the 2 of the Ukrainian Front was to take Olomouc by May 2 and go to the flank and rear of the 2 of the German Tank Army. In the Olomouc direction, the fighting continued until May 5.

German troops, retreating from the Brno area, took up defenses north and northeast of the city. The German command concentrated additional forces on the Olomouc direction in order to prevent the troops of the 2 and 4 of the Ukrainian fronts from joining and retaining the important communications hubs of Olomouc, Prosteev, Vyskov. Through these cities passed important roads along which the Wehrmacht could carry out a maneuver with forces. In order to stop and bleed our troops, the Germans hastily prepared new defensive lines, built fortifications along rivers, on the heights, mined roads, bridges, defiles, and created anti-tank obstacles. Localities prepared for defense. A serious line of defense of the enemy took place in the area of ​​Pratzen Heights, which once became famous for the “Battle of the Three Emperors” (the Battle of Austerlitz). In addition, the most important role in the defense of the enemy was played by the city of Slavkov (formerly Austerlitz), which protected Olomouc.

The assault on the Pratzen Heights began with the 24 th Bratislava Guards Rifle Corps under the command of Major General A.Ya. Kruze. The Bratislava Corps 26 of April was transferred from the 7-th Guards Army of Shumilov to the 53-th Army of Managarov. After the 30-minute artillery preparation, our troops launched an assault on enemy positions. During the stubborn battle, beating off enemy counterattacks, our troops broke through the German defenses on Pratzen heights and by the end of April 27 took Slavkov.

On April 28, two mechanized corps of the Kravchenko 6 Guards Tank Army were introduced into the breakthrough. However, the corps of the tank army had a large shortage of tanks, which dramatically reduced the strike power of the Kravchenko army. This affected subsequent events in a negative way. The Soviet tank crews had to fight hard with the enemy, who constantly counterattacked in an effort to prevent the 2 tank army from encircling east of Olomouc. The German command constantly strengthened the defenses of the Olomouc direction.

1 May Kravchenko brought the third army corps into battle - the 5-th Guards Tank Corps. Our troops took the city Vyshkov. The German command also introduced additional forces into the battle - two tank and two infantry divisions, strengthening the defense of the tank and training infantry divisions that had already fought on this sector.

Thus, the 6-I Guards Tank Army was tied up by heavy fighting in very rough terrain. It became clear that its use is inexpedient. The headquarters ordered the withdrawal of Kravchenko’s army from the battle. She was supposed to take part in the Prague operation. 6-I Guards Tank Army on the night of May 6 surrendered their positions rifle compounds. However, she fulfilled her role by opening the way to Prostejov and Olomouc. The strike of the Kravchenko and Managarov armies allowed the 4-th Ukrainian Front to successfully complete the Moravian-Ostrava operation. This operation was completed.


27 Guards Rifle Corps Evgeny Stepanovich Alyokhin

Results

As a result of the operation, the troops of the 2 of the Ukrainian Front won a complete victory. Our troops broke through the enemy defenses at the borders of the Hron, Nitra, Vah and Morava rivers, moving forward 200 kilometers. Important industrial regions were liberated - the Bratislava and Brno industrial areas. The Soviet armies completed the liberation of Slovakia, freeing its capital - Bratislava. The troops of the 2 of the Ukrainian Front contributed to the successful offensive of the neighboring 4 of the Ukrainian Front by their actions.

The victory of the Soviet troops in the Vienna and Bratislava-Brnovskoy operations led to the collapse of the entire strategic southern flank of the Wehrmacht. Our troops opened the way to the central regions of Czechoslovakia, to Prague. The troops of the 2 and 4 of the Ukrainian fronts, who advanced deep into Czechoslovakia, created a threat to the encirclement of the German Army Group Center.

During this operation, the Red Army lost about 80 thousand people, of which irrecoverable losses - about 17 thousand people. Among the dead was the commander of the 27-th Guards Rifle Corps Yevgeny Stepanovich Alekhin. He was fatally wounded on April 22 1945 during an enemy air raid. The losses of the German troops are unknown. 9 of enemy divisions was defeated.


Officers of the 604 th communications battalion of the 227 rifle division in the city of Brno on Victory Day
Author:
Articles from this series:
Part 1. Sturm Bratislava
Part 2. Assault Brno and Pratzen Heights
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik 26 March 2015 07: 33 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    Thank! Remember! We are proud!
  2. Doomph 26 March 2015 08: 05 New
    • 7
    • 0
    +7
    My grandfather in Brno ended the war. Bright memory to him (he died in 2005).
  3. Zheka40 26 March 2015 10: 01 New
    • 7
    • 0
    +7
    In the last photo, the second left in the upper row, my mother’s uncle, Captain Kaplenko Grigory Nikitich. Later he was the commandant of Brno.
  4. xan
    xan 26 March 2015 11: 01 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Pracene heights, so this is from the battle of Austerlitz, the Napoleonic Wars. Kutuzov came down from them on the orders of Alexander 1, and Napoleon split the Allied army into two.
    The outstanding military history of Russia. Everywhere we took part, everywhere we noted who needed to be weighed, and who didn’t succeed right away — then they returned the favor, like Yapam. Still need to return to some, the memory is good.
  5. semirek 26 March 2015 13: 37 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    Many thanks to the author for the next article! I want to add --- the Soviet (Russian troops) reached the highest peak of their military development, undoubtedly there is a high cohesion of the fronts, armies and corps, which made it possible to minimize staff coordination and crush the enemy in a short time. My father - - ended the war in 46, with the rank of captain, in Transylvania in the city of Cluj. He spoke a little about Czechoslovakia and Hungary.

Штурм Брно и Праценских высот

Второй этап операции

Отступление немецких войск превратилось в настоящее бегство. Число перебежчиков росло с каждым днем, особенно много их было среди ополченцев. В результате немецкое командование разрешило офицерам применять крайние меры к дезертирам. Облавные команды прочесывали тылы. В приказе командующего 6-й немецкой армией генерала танковых войск Германа Балька говорилось, что «дезертиров ожидает смерть и позор».

Адольф Гитлер, разгневанный поражением вермахта в Венгрии, в Карпатах и в районе Братиславы, 6 апреля сменил её командующего О. Велёра на Л. Рендулича. Лотар Рендулич руководил немецкими войсками в Югославии, Норвегии и Финляндии, был командующим группами армий «Север» и «Курляндия» в Прибалтике, командовал новой группой армий «Север», преобразованной из группы «Центр». Рендулич отличился в ряде операций и считался специалистов в оборонительных операциях. Кроме того, немецкий полководец родился в Австрии, начал службу в австро-венгерской армии, после развала Австро-Венгрии служил в австрийской армии и хорошо знал театр боевых действий. Немецкое командование спешно стягивало подкрепления и надеялось остановить советские войска на серьёзном естественном рубеже — реке Морава. Чтобы затруднить продвижение Красной Армии все мосты на реке были уничтожены.


Потерпев поражение под Братиславой, немецкие дивизии под давлением войск 2-го Украинского фронта отступали дальше на запад и северо-запад. Однако операция ещё не была завершена. Перед советскими войсками находили горы и водные преграды, укрепления за которыми находился важнейший промышленный центр Чехословакии — Брно. Взятие Брно наряду со штурмом Вены стало ближайшей задачей наших войск. Брно был важным узлом коммуникаций, административным и промышленным центром, в котором располагались военные заводы «Шкода» и «Зброевка», и большой арсенал.

Стремительное наступление наших войск не позволило немцам закрепиться на Мораве. Уже 5 апреля 25-я гвардейская стрелковая дивизия из состава 7-й гвардейской армии Шумилова с ходу форсировали эту водную преграду и захватили плацдарм на западном берегу. 7 апреля конники Плиева заняли ещё один плацдарм в районе города Бржецслав. 12 апреля в районе Годонина к Мораве вышла 53-я армия Манагарова. Она в этот же день форсировала Мораву и захватила плацдарм. На следующий день армия Манагарова взяла город Годонин. Немецкие войска предпринимали отчаянные контратаки, пытаясь отбросить наши войска за реку, но без успеха. К середине апреля немецкий рубеж обороны на реке Морава окончательно рухнул. В результате были созданы предпосылки для освобождения Брненского промышленного района.

Штурм Брно и Праценских высот


Город Брно решили взять подвижными танковыми и кавалерийскими соединениями в сочетании с фронтальным наступлением общевойсковых соединений. 16 апреля, после победного завершения Венской операции, Малиновскому вернули 6-ю гвардейскую танковую армию Кравченко. Решающую роль в операции по взятию Брно должны были сыграть 53-я армия Манагарова, 6-я гвардейская танковая армия Кравченко и гвардейская конно-механизированная группа Плиева. Эти соединения составили ударную группировку фронта. Армия Манагарова была усилена двумя стрелковыми корпусами — 18-м гвардейским и 50-м стрелковыми корпусами, в 1-ю гвардейскую КМГ Плиева включили 7-й механизированный корпус. Танковую армию Кравченко укрепили 2-м гвардейским механизированным корпусом и 83-й бригадой морской пехоты.

С взятием Брно советское командование связывало крупные стратегические планы. Красная Армия получала возможность широкого маневра по разгрому оставшихся вражеских сил. Так 2-й Украинский фронт мог выйти во фланг и тыл 1-й немецкой танковой армии в районе Оломоуца и во взаимодействии с войсками 4-го Украинского фронта уничтожить её. А главное, с захватом Брно, открывался прямой путь на Прагу.

Германское командование после потери Моравского рубежа, стремясь любой ценой удержать Брненский промышленный район, создало дополнительные оборонительные рубежи и узлы сопротивления. Были укреплены берега рек Свратка и Свитава, которые прикрывали Брно с юго-восточного, южного и юго-западного направлений. Для обороны города были выделены крупные силы: две танковые, моторизованная, несколько пехотных и кавалерийская дивизии. Гарнизон усилил бронетехникой и артиллерией. С воздуха город прикрывали истребители.

Первоначально 6-я гвардейская танковая армия Кравченко действовала на левом фланге 2-го Украинского фронта, наступая в направлении города Зноймо. В течение трёх дней танкисты вели тяжелые бои с противником в условиях сильно пересеченной местности, где было много населенных пунктов, превращенных в опорные пункты. Танковая армия ввязалась в затяжные бои за опорные пункты врага, что лишило её главного козыря — маневренности. За три упорных боев 6-я гвардейская танковая армия продвинулась всего на 15-20 километров.

В результате танковую армию Кравченко решили перебросить на помощь 53-й армии Манагарова и 1-й гвардейской конно-механизированной группе Плиева. Войска Манагарова и Плиева в это время успешно взламывали оборону противника на брненском направлении и были уже в 20 километрах от города. 21 апреля танковой армии дали указание выйти из боя и в течение двух дней скрытно перегруппироваться в полосу наступление 53-й армии. Советские войска готовились к решающему удару на Брно, который наметили на 23 апреля. 6-я гвардейская танковая армия Кравченко должна была обойти город с юго-востока, а конно-механизированная группа Плиева охватить Брно с юго-запада.

53-я армия Манагарова наступала на город с юга. В центре её боевых порядков был 18-й гвардейский стрелковый корпус генерал И. М. Афонин. Это было испытанное боевое соединение, которое прошло славный боевой путь от Курска, Киева и Днепра до штурма Будапешта и освобождения Вены. К 20 апреля гвардейцев перебросили из района Вены в Чехословакию. Для штурма города гвардейский корпус Афонина подкрепили двумя артиллерийскими дивизиями прорыва, двумя минометными и одной истребительно-противотанковой бригадами, двумя полками гвардейских минометов. На правом крыле 53-й армии, восточнее реки Свратка, на Славков и лес северо-восточнее Брно наступал 49-й стрелковый корпус генерал-майора Г. Н. Терентьева. На левом крыле армии между реками Свратка и Йиглава в направлении на западную окраину Брно двигался 50-й стрелковый корпус. 6-ю гвардейскую танковую армию планировали ввести в бой в полосе наступления 18-го гвардейского и 49-го корпусов.

Утром 23 апреля на наблюдательный пункт командира 18-го гвардейского стрелкового корпуса, который располагался около переднего края, прибыл комфронта Малиновский, с начальником артиллерии фронта Фоминым, начальником штаба 5-й воздушной армии Селезневым и другими командирами. Они должны были координировать взаимодействие войск. В 10 часов 30 минут ударили «катюши» и тысячи орудий и минометов различных калибров. Началась артиллерийская и авиационная подготовка. Советские штурмовики и бомбардировщики большими группами по 20-40 машин наносили удары по вражеским позициям. Затем при поддержке танков вперед пошла пехота.

Передний край обороны противника быстро смяли. Однако в глубине оборонительных порядков немцы оказали упорное сопротивление. Оставшиеся огневые точки вели огонь. Местами немецкая пехота поднималась в контратаки. К середине дня вся тактическая зона вражеской обороны была прорвана. Внешнее кольцо обороны Брно было взломано. Малиновский ввел в прорыв 6-ю гвардейскую танковую армию. В первом эшелоне наступали 2-й и 9-й гвардейские механизированные корпуса, во втором — 5-й гвардейский танковый корпус. Около 120 танков и самоходок шли вперед, ломая сопротивление врага.

Утром 24 апреля советские танкисты вышли на ближние подступы к городу. Второй эшелон армии — 5-и гвардейский танковый корпус, начал сражение за восточную и юго-восточную окраину Брно. Сражение было ожесточенным. Немцы, опираясь на развитую пригородную, городскую и промышленную инфраструктуру, оказывали яростное сопротивление. Немецкие войска переходили в контратаки, бросали в бой все оставшиеся резервы, включая танкистов-курсантов, цеплялись за каждую позицию, высоту. Бои шли не прекращались и ночью. На подступах к Брно гвардейская танковая армия потеряла четверть машин. Командование армии провело перегруппировку сил и создало новый ударный кулак из частей 5-го танкового и 9-го механизированного корпусов.

Тем временем 1-я гвардейская конно-механизированная группа Плиева успешно развивала наступление и обходила Брно. 25 апреля к городу вышел 18-й гвардейский стрелковый корпус. Штурмовые группы ворвались на окраину Брно, начались жестокие городские бои. Советская пехота вышла к реке Свитава. С помощью подручных средств реку форсировали бойцы 109-й стрелковой дивизии, за ней Свитаву пересекли 317-я, 52-я и 243-я стрелковые дивизии.

26 апреля советские танкисты и пехота прорвались к центру города. Тем временем 2-й гвардейский мехкорпус армии Кравченко вышел к северо-восточной окраине Брно, а конно-механизированная группа Плиева на юго-западную и западную окраины города. В результате наши войска отрезали врагу пути отхода из Брно. К концу дня город был полностью очищен от гитлеровцев.

Москва отметила эту победу торжественным салютом, а Родиона Малиновского наградили высшим советским полководческим орденом Победы. Звание Героя Советского Союза получили командующий артиллерией фронта Фомин, командармы Манагаров, Горюнов, командиры корпусов Афонин, Григорович, Осташенко, Свиридов, Ахманов.

Штурм Брно и Праценских высот

Войска 2-го Украинского фронта в освобожденном городе Брно

Сражение на оломоуцком направлении

После штурма города части 53-й и 6-й гвардейской танковой армии вывели из города и 27 апреля они начали наступление на Оломоуц, навстречу войскам 4-го Украинского фронта. Ударная группировка 2-го Украинского фронта должна была к 2 маю взять Оломоуц и выйти во фланг и тыл 2-й немецкой танковой армии. На оломоуцком направлении боевые действия продолжались до 5 мая.

Немецкие войска, отступившие из района Брно, заняли оборону севернее и северо-восточнее города. Германское командование сосредоточило на оломоуцком направлении дополнительные силы, чтобы не дать войска 2-го и 4-го Украинских фронтов соединиться и сохранить за собой важные узлы коммуникаций Оломоуц, Простеев, Вышков. Через эти города проходили важные дороги, по которым вермахт мог проводить маневр силами. Чтобы остановить и обескровить наши войска немцы в спешном порядке готовили новые оборонительные рубежи, строили укрепления по берегам рек, на высотах, минировали дороги, мосты, дефиле, создавали противотанковые препятствия. Населенные пункты готовили к обороне. Серьёзный рубеж обороны противника проходил в районе Праценских высот, которые когда-то прославились «Битвой трех императоров» (битва под Аустерлицем). Кроме того, важнейшую роль в обороне противника играл город Славков (бывший Аустерлиц), который прикрывал Оломоуц.

Штурм Праценских высот начал 24-й гвардейский Братиславский стрелковый корпус под командованием генерал-майора А. Я. Крузе. Братиславский корпус 26 апреля передали из состава 7-й гвардейской армии Шумилова в 53-ю армию Манагарова. После 30-минутной артподготовки наши войска пошли на штурм вражеских позиций. В ходе упорной битвы, отбивая вражеские контратаки, наши войска прорвали немецкую оборону на Праценских высотах и к исходу 27 апреля взяли Славков.

28 апреля в прорыв ввели два механизированных корпуса 6-й гвардейской танковой армии Кравченко. Однако корпуса танковой армии имели большой некомплект в танках, что резко уменьшило ударную мощь армии Кравченко. Это сказалось на последующих событиях отрицательным образом. Советским танкистам пришлось вести тяжелые бои с врагом, который непрестанно контратаковал, стремясь не допустить окружения своей 2-й танковой армии восточнее Оломоуца. Немецкое командование постоянно усиливало обороны оломоуцкого направления.

1 мая Кравченко ввел в бой третий корпус армии — 5-й гвардейский танковый корпус. Наши войска взяли город Вышков. Немецкое командование также ввело в сражение дополнительные силы — две танковые и две пехотные дивизии, укрепив оборону уже сражавшихся на этом участке танковой и учебной пехотной дивизий.

Таким образом, 6-я гвардейская танковая армия была связана тяжелыми боями в сильно пересеченной местности. Стало ясно, что такое её использование нецелесообразно. Ставка приказала вывести армию Кравченко из сражения. Она должна была принять участие в Пражской операции. 6-я гвардейская танковая армия в ночь на 6 мая сдала свои позиции стрелковым соединениям. Однако свою роль она выполнила, открыв путь на Простеев и Оломоуц. Удар армий Кравченко и Манагарова позволил 4-му Украинскому фронту успешно завершить Моравско-Остравскую операцию. На этом операция была завершена.

Штурм Брно и Праценских высот

27-го гвардейского стрелкового корпуса Евгений Степанович Алёхин

Итоги

В результате операции войска 2-го Украинского фронта одержали полную победу. Наши войска прорвали оборону противника на рубежах рек Грон, Нитра, Ваг и Морава, продвинувшись вперед на 200 километров. Были освобождены важные индустриальные регионы — Братиславский и Брненский промышленные районы. Советские армии завершили освобождение Словакии, освободив её столицу — Братиславу. Войска 2-го Украинского фронта своими действиями способствовали успешному наступлению соседнего 4-го Украинского фронта.

Победа советских войск в Венской и Братиславско-Брновской операциях привели к крушению всего стратегического южного фланга вермахта. Наши войска открыли путь в центральные районы Чехословакии, на Прагу. Продвинувшиеся вглубь Чехословакии войска 2-го и 4-го Украинских фронтов создали угрозу окружения немецкой группы армий «Центр».

В ходе этой операции Красная Армия потеряла около 80 тыс. человек, из них безвозвратные потери — около 17 тыс. человек. Среди погибших был командир 27-го гвардейского стрелкового корпуса Евгений Степанович Алёхин. Он получил смертельное ранение 22 апреля 1945 г. во время налета вражеской авиации. Потери немецких войск неизвестны. Было разгромлено 9 вражеских дивизий.

Штурм Брно и Праценских высот

Офицеры 604-го батальона связи 227-й стрелковой дивизии в городе Брно в День Победы
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Статьи из этой серии:

Часть 1. Штурм Братиславы
Часть 2. Штурм Брно и Праценских высот

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 5
  1. parusnik 26 марта 2015 07:33
    Спасибо! Помним! Гордимся!
  2. Думф 26 марта 2015 08:05
    У меня дед в Брно войну закончил. Светлая ему память (умер в 2005 году).
  3. Жека40 26 марта 2015 10:01
    На последней фотографии, второй слева в верхнем ряду, дядя моей мамы, Капитан Капленко Григорий Никитич. Позже был комендантом г.Брно.
  4. xan 26 марта 2015 11:01
    Праценские высоты, так это же из битвы при Аустерлице, Наполеоновские войны. Это с них по приказу Александра 1 сошел Кутузов, и Наполеон расколол союзную армию на две части.
    Выдающаяся военная история России. Везде поучаствовали, везде отметились, кому надо отвесили, а кому не получилось сразу - потом должок вернули, как япам. Еще вернуть кое-кому надо, память хорошая.
    xan
  5. semirek 26 марта 2015 13:37
    Автору громадное спасибо за очередную статью!Хочу добавить---советские (русские войска) достигли наивысшего пика своего военного развития,несомненно налицо,высокая слаженность фронтов,армий и корпусов,что позволяло минимизировать штабные согласования и громить противника в сжатые сроки.Мой отец ---закончил войну в 46 году ,в звании капитана, в Трансильвании в городе Клуж.О Чехословакии и Венгрии немного рассказывал.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня