Islamabad confronts the United States with a difficult choice

Islamabad confronts the United States with a difficult choiceWhen last week Pentagon chief L. Panetta and Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Admiral M. Mullen talked about the possibility of American military operations in Pakistan at Senate hearings about the possibility of US military operations in Pakistan, this was scandalous in Islamabad. This relationship between the two countries did not know ...

The theme of cooperation between the Pakistani Interdepartmental Intelligence (ISI) and the powerful Afghan terrorist organization, the Haqqani Network, based on Pakistani territory, was launched. American patience snapped after they intercepted telephone conversations of ICI operatives with terrorists who were preparing an attack on the American embassy in Kabul. According to M. Mullen, the Americans have other irrefutable evidence of the cooperation of the Pakistani authorities with terrorists.


The Haqqani network today has up to 15 thousands of militants, keeps control of the situation in Kabul and its environs, as well as in the southern provinces of Afghanistan. The Haqqani militants, responsible for hundreds of American deaths in Afghanistan, are gradually crowding out local power and seizing where the shooting subsides. These people are replacing the Americans. “No matter who is in power in Kabul, he will not be able to ignore the presence of Haqqani,” said former CIA officer Mark Sageman. “We will leave there and the Afghans will remain.” And they know it. ”

The Pakistani authorities not only cooperate with this organization, but also make certain bets on it. They fear that after the withdrawal of the occupying troops from Afghanistan, this country will become the field of a new clash of interests, in which Islamabad, due to tensions with Kabul, will not be able to take advantageous positions. For example, Indian business, which has long been waiting for an opportunity to restore the transport corridor through Afghanistan to Southeast Asia, will be able to oust Pakistanis from Afghanistan. In addition, the developed Indian jewelry industry has long been eyeing the possibilities of obtaining precious and semi-precious stones from Afghanistan, which are in great demand in the Asian market. This business is controlled by the Haqqani clan.

In geostrategic terms, Islamabad fears that, having penetrated into Afghanistan, India will take Pakistan “into ticks” from two sides - from the east and from the west.

For Washington, leaving Afghanistan to the people of Haqqani means recognizing the loss of the entire Afghan enterprise. Therefore, there are ideas of organizing American raids into Pakistan.

Experts in Washington, analyzing the actions of the Haqqani Network, are surprised that the US State Department has not yet included it in the list of terrorist organizations. There is a clear duality: Washington announces far-reaching intentions regarding a terrorist organization that does not appear on its lists.

As if pushing the Americans to take action, immediately after L. Panetta’s formidable statement, the terrorists launched an attack on the CIA representation in the most protected area of ​​Kabul and, apparently, will act in this direction and further. They clearly play to the deterioration of relations between Washington and Islamabad, finding in the person of the Americans a suitable partner.

Pakistani authorities are seriously beginning to fear a raid by American special forces in North Waziristan and warn that they should not do this, strongly denying that ICI is helping the Haqqani Network to carry out terrorist attacks against military personnel. Islamabad is willing to risk even a conflict with America, which provides Pakistan with billions of dollars in military and economic assistance. Pakistani Prime Minister Yusuf Gilani stated: “We reject the US accusations of having links to Haqqani and conducting a hidden war through them. These accusations betray the confusion of the American government in its Afghan war. ”

Chief ICI General Kiyani says that the charges of his service are unfounded and unfair. Defense Minister Ahmad Mukhtatr stressed that Pakistan is a sovereign country that cannot be intimidated. Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani Khar warned that if the Americans tried to humiliate Pakistan, "they will have to pay for it." And the former Pakistani ambassador to the US, Malea Lodhi, says: “Relations will come closer to a break if the US does not stop combining threats with accusations. And does Washington have a plan “B” in case of an open break with Pakistan? ”

However, the Americans, they say, bit the bit. They gave a leak to the press, which was withheld from 2007, when Pakistani military attacked a group of American officers in the border town of Ter Mangal. The Americans met there with representatives of the Afghan authorities to resolve border issues, and after the meeting they were shot at by Pakistanis. Then one American officer died and three were injured. A joint investigation was conducted in full compliance with the conspiracy, and today история got going in the media. In Islamabad, they regard this as fomenting public opinion before a military operation. And, apparently, the Americans have no other way.

The Haqqani network has sprouted into the official structures of Pakistan, and all the attempts of Americans to chop off these connections have failed. “Over the past ten years, opportunities to change the strategic direction of thinking in Pakistan have been completely exhausted,” said Tom Crossby, a former senior adviser to the commander-in-chief of the US forces in Afghanistan. Today, the organization, headed by two sons of Haqqani, even more irreconcilable than their father, reached the height of its power, and it would not be easy for the Americans to bargain between the Haqqani and Karzai clans before the withdrawal of US troops from Afghanistan. In recent days, Haqqani representatives have let them know that they are ready to talk, but on their own terms. A former CIA officer who collaborated with Haqqani back in the 80s, said he would not be surprised if collaboration resumed.

In any case, Washington’s choice is small: either to attack the Haqqani bases in Pakistan, unleashing a grand military-political conflict with unwarranted results, or negotiate with terrorists about the future of Afghanistan, forgetting that the whole war there was supposedly to eradicate terrorism.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Исламабад ставит США перед сложным выбором

Исламабад ставит США перед сложным выборомКогда на прошлой неделе на слушаниях в Сенате США глава Пентагона Л. Панетта и председатель Объединенного комитета начальников штабов адмирал М. Маллен заговорили о возможности американских военных операций на территории Пакистана, в Исламабаде восприняли это как скандал. Такого отношения между двумя странами ещё не знали…

Зазвучала тема сотрудничества пакистанской Межведомственной разведки (ИСИ) с мощной афганской террористической организацией Сеть Хаккани, базирующейся на пакистанской территории. Терпение американцев лопнуло после того, как они перехватили телефонные переговоры оперативных сотрудников ИСИ с террористами, готовившими нападение на американское посольство в Кабуле. По заявлению М. Маллена, у американцев имеются и другие неопровержимые доказательства сотрудничества пакистанских властей с террористами.


Сеть Хаккани насчитывает сегодня до 15 тыс. боевиков, держит под контролем ситуацию в Кабуле и окрестностях, а также в южных провинциях Афганистана. Боевики Хаккани, ответственные за сотни американских смертей в Афганистане, постепенно вытесняют власть на местах и овладевают положением там, где стрельба стихает. Эти люди идут на смену американцам. «Кто бы ни был у власти в Кабуле, он не сможет игнорировать присутствие Хаккани, – говорит бывший сотрудник ЦРУ Марк Сагеман.- Мы оттуда уйдем, а афганцы останутся. И они знают это».

Пакистанские власти не только сотрудничают с этой организацией, но и делают на нее определенные ставки. Они опасаются, что после вывода оккупационных войск из Афганистана эта страна станет полем нового столкновения интересов, в котором Исламабаду, в силу напряженных отношений с Кабулом, не удастся занять выгодные позиции. К примеру, вытеснить пакистанцев из Афганистана сможет индийский бизнес, который давно ждет возможности восстановить транспортный коридор через Афганистан в Юго-Восточную Азию. Кроме того, развитая индийская ювелирная промышленность давно присматривается к возможностям получения из Афганистана драгоценных и полудрагоценных камней, пользующихся большим спросом на азиатском рынке. Этот бизнес контролируется как раз кланом Хаккани.

В геостратегическом плане Исламабад опасается, что, проникнув в Афганистан, Индия возьмет Пакистан « в клещи» с двух сторон - с востока и с запада.

Для Вашингтона же оставить Афганистан людям Хаккани – значит признать проигрыш всего афганского предприятия. Поэтому и возникают идеи организации американских рейдов на территорию Пакистана.

Экспертов в Вашингтоне, анализирующих действия Сети Хаккани, удивляет, что государственный департамент США до сих пор не включил её в список террористических организаций. Возникает явная двойственность: Вашингтон оглашает далеко идущие намерения в отношении террористической организации, которая не фигурирует в списках ей подобных.

Как бы подталкивая американцев к активным действиям, сразу после грозного заявления Л.Панетты террористы устроили нападение на представительство ЦРУ в наиболее охраняемом районе Кабула и, судя по всему, будут действовать в этом направлении и дальше. Они явно играют на ухудшение отношений между Вашингтоном и Исламабадом, находя в лице американцев подходящего партнера.

Пакистанские власти всерьез начинают опасаться рейда американского спецназа в Северный Вазиристан и предупреждают, что делать это не следует, решительно отвергая обвинения в том, что ИСИ помогает Сети Хаккани проводить теракты против военнослужащих. Исламабад готов рисковать даже конфликтом с Америкой, предоставляющей Пакистану миллиарды долларов военной и экономической помощи. Пакистанский премьер-министр Юсуф Гилани заявил: « Мы отвергаем обвинения США в связях с Хаккани и проведении через них скрытой войны. Эти обвинения выдают растерянность американского правительства в его афганской войне».

Шеф ИСИ генерал Кияни говорит, что обвинения его службы лишены оснований и несправедливы. Министр обороны Ахмад Мухтатр подчеркнул, что Пакистан является суверенной страной, которую нельзя запугать. Министр иностранных дел Хина Раббани Хар предупредил, что если американцы попытаются унизить Пакистан, «им придется за это платить». А бывший посол Пакистана в США Малеа Лодхи говорит: «Отношения приблизятся к разрыву, если США не прекратят сочетать угрозы с обвинениями. И есть ли у Вашингтона план «Б», на случай открытого разрыва с Пакистаном?»

Однако американцы, что называется, закусили удила. Они дали в прессу утечку информации, которая утаивалась с 2007 года, когда пакистанские военнослужащие напали на группу американских офицеров в пограничном местечке Тер Мангал. Американцы встречались там с представителями афганских властей для разрешения пограничных вопросов, а после встречи были обстреляны пакистанцами. Тогда один американский офицер погиб и трое были ранены. Совместное расследование велось при полном соблюдении конспирации, а сегодня история получила хождение в СМИ. В Исламабаде расценивают это как нагнетание общественного мнения перед военной операцией. И, видимо, другого пути у американцев нет.

Сеть Хаккани проросла в официальные структуры Пакистана, и все попытки американцев обрубить эти связи результата не дали. «За последние десять лет возможности изменить стратегическое направление мышления в Пакистане полностью исчерпаны», – считает Том Кроссби, бывший старший советник при главнокомандующем американскими частями в Афганистане. Сегодня организация, возглавляемая двумя сыновьями Хаккани, ещё более непримиримыми, чем их отец, достигла апогея своего могущества и американцам выторговать перемирие между кланами Хаккани и Карзая до ухода войск США из Афганистана будет непросто. В последние дни представители Хаккани дали знать, что они готовы разговаривать, но - на собственных условиях. Бывший офицер ЦРУ, который сотрудничал с Хаккани ещё в 80-х годах, говорит, что не удивится, если сотрудничество возобновится.

В любом случае выбор у Вашингтона невелик: либо атаковать базы Хаккани в Пакистане, развязав грандиозный военно-политический конфликт с негарантированными результатами, либо договариваться с террористами о будущем Афганистана, забыв, что вся война там была затеяна вроде бы для искоренения терроризма.
Автор:
Дмитрий Седов
Первоисточник:
http://www.fondsk.ru/news/2011/09/28/islamabad-stavit-ssha-pered-slozhnym-vyborom.html
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти