Military Review

Helium is over: end of the airship boom

12



The new boom in the construction of airships has every chance to end so plainly and not having begun.

The US Army is continuously increasing the number of airships sent to Afghanistan. As a result, the limits of the possibility of industrial production of helium are actually achieved, which casts doubt on the large-scale use of these aircraft.

Airships and balloons are rapidly gaining popularity in the military sphere due to their ability to stay in the air for a long time over enemy territory. Already several dozen airships are in the sky over Afghanistan. By the beginning of next year, the US military intends to send two more really huge aircraft there. In addition, there is an active development of projects for the construction of transport airships for civilians.

According to the Pentagon’s Department of Military Logistics, for the Afghan mission, the demand for helium increased from 49 thousand cubic meters in 2009 to 531 thousand cubic meters in the current year.

Helium is also required for the Northrop Grumman reconnaissance airship "LEMV". Airship developers are already experiencing a shortage of this gas. They do not have enough helium to fill the huge shell of the aircraft. The size of the shell is impressive. It is taller than a seven-story building and longer than a football field.

The amount of helium required for LEMV is huge. This is 22650 cubic meters. To support the Afghan mission, the Pentagon had to face a similar problem. Virtually no company had the opportunity to provide the required volume of gas entirely. The US Defense Department had a chance to purchase helium from a large number of small suppliers practically in bits and pieces. The problem was further complicated by the fact that the industrial production of such a volume of helium requires a lot of time. It should be taken into account that in other areas there is also a demand for helium: in electrical engineering, in medicine, etc.

As a result, over the past four years, the demand for helium has steadily increased by approximately 1-2% per year. And very soon all the reserves of this valuable raw material can be depleted.

However, the Pentagon does not intend to continue to abandon the purchase and operation of airships. The US defense department has signed contracts for the purchase of helium up to 2017. It is not difficult to guess that this may lead to an increase in the cost of already expensive helium. In the future, this will lead to higher prices for all non-military products in which it is used. It is necessary to take into account the fact that the cost of operating the airships will increase. This, in turn, will have a negative impact on the development of commercial development of the airship building and in the future will put an end to the development of affordable transport with a large carrying capacity.
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Volkhov
    Volkhov 29 September 2011 12: 12 New
    0
    This is a war with Shambhala.
  2. zczczc
    zczczc 29 September 2011 16: 11 New
    0
    Indiscreet question - and on which trees helium grows? :)
    What do they get it from?
    1. Foamas
      Foamas 29 September 2011 17: 14 New
      +3
      It is obtained from natural gas by fractional distillation (cooling), but the process is hemorrhoid because the initial concentration is extremely small, for example, at a Russian field (GazpromOrenburg plant), not more than 0,055% of the initial gas volume, and helium is considered to be technically pure at a concentration of 99,985%. In terms of production, Russia is in third place in the world (5,6 million cubic meters), Algeria-16,7, USA-120., While ours is also the most expensive. Canada and China also produce a little, but less than 1 million. for a couple, and so u, there’s nowhere else in the world.
      1. zczczc
        zczczc 29 September 2011 20: 13 New
        0
        I never thought that balloons were inflated with strategic material.
    2. Professor
      Professor 29 September 2011 19: 01 New
      -2
      There is another source of helium, an atomic reactor, as a by-product. So for Russia and the United States there will be no problems with this volatile gas.
      1. Foamas
        Foamas 29 September 2011 20: 36 New
        0
        The product is truly "by-product", consumption is measured in hundreds of millions of cubic meters. France imports from Algeria, although there are enough reactors, and gold can also be mined from water.
  3. Dovmont
    Dovmont 29 September 2011 18: 42 New
    -1
    An urgent need to establish a base on the moon - there is a lot of selenite rich in helium.
  4. APASUS
    APASUS 29 September 2011 19: 25 New
    0
    Here is the problem! Now China will not be offered a lot of money, and the Chinese will blow coal from his lips!
  5. slan
    slan 29 September 2011 20: 18 New
    0
    Too lazy to google, but in my opinion, complete nonsense.
    1. Foamas
      Foamas 29 September 2011 20: 50 New
      +2
      For inflating airships, even with a volume of 22350 m300. helium in the United States is enough for 1 years in advance. Cliffside holds approximately 70 billion cubic meters of strategic reserves in Cliffside. helium with a concentration of XNUMX%.
  6. Superduck
    Superduck 30 September 2011 00: 18 New
    -1
    So let’s run hydrogen, I love fireworks!
  7. Gonoriy
    Gonoriy 16 February 2013 13: 53 New
    0
    Sly Americans still get this gas somewhere.
  8. Alex
    Alex 29 June 2014 18: 10 New
    +3
    Not on one helium the light came together in a wedge. More precisely, not only on helium. It is quite possible to use a mixture of helium and hydrogen in a ratio of about 1: 5. Then helium is needed much less, and hydrogen does not explode (this state is called phlegmatic, the Japanese worked on its problems during WWII) and the lifting force remains quite high. So it’s too early to bury the idea of ​​aeronautics.

Гелий закончился: конец буму дирижаблестроения

Гелий закончился: конец буму дирижаблестроения


Новый бум строительства дирижаблей имеет все шансы закончиться, так толком и не начавшись.

Армия США непрерывно увеличивают количество дирижаблей, отправленных в Афганистан. Как результат, фактически достигнуты пределы возможности промышленного производства гелия, что ставит под сомнение широкомасштабное применение этих летательных аппаратов.


Дирижабли и аэростаты очень быстрыми темпами набирают популярность в военной сфере благодаря своей способности надолго оставаться в воздухе над территорией противника. Уже несколько десятков дирижаблей находятся в небе над Афганистаном. Американские военные к началу следующего года намереваются выслать туда еще два действительно громадных летательных аппарата. Кроме того, идет активное развитие проектов по строительству транспортных дирижаблей для гражданского населения.

Как сообщают в Управлении по военной логистике Пентагона, для афганской миссии спрос на гелий повысился с 49 тысяч кубометров в 2009 году до 531 тыс. кубометров в текущем.

Необходим гелий и для разведывательного дирижабля «LEMV» компании «Northrop Grumman». Разработчики дирижабля уже испытывают дефицит этого газа. Им не хватает гелия для наполнения огромной оболочки летательного аппарата. Размеры оболочки впечатляют. Она выше семиэтажного дома и длиннее футбольного поля.

Количество гелия, необходимое для «LEMV», огромно. Это – 22650 кубометров. Для обеспечения афганской миссии Пентагону пришлось столкнуться с подобной проблемой. Практически ни одна компания не имела возможности предоставить необходимый объем газа целиком. Военному ведомству США довелось практически по крохам приобретать гелий у большого количества мелких поставщиков. Проблема осложнялась еще и тем, что для промышленного производства такого объема гелия необходимо немало времени. Следует учесть и то, что и в остальных областях также существует спрос на гелий: в электротехнике, в медицине и т.д.

Как итог, на протяжении последних четырех лет спрос на гелий стабильно растет приблизительно на 1-2% в год. И совсем скоро могут быть истощены все запасы этого ценного сырья.

Вместе с тем Пентагон не имеет намерения и далее отказываться от закупки и эксплуатации дирижаблей. Оборонное ведомство США заключило контракты на приобретение гелия до 2017 года. Не составит труда догадаться, что это может повлечь за собой в конечном итоге удорожание и без того дорогого гелия. В дальнейшем это приведет к росту цен и на всю невоенную продукцию, в которой он применяется. Следует взять во внимание и то, что возрастет стоимость эксплуатации самих дирижаблей. Это, в свою очередь, негативно отразится на развитии коммерческого развития дирижаблестроения и в дальнейшем поставит крест на разработке доступного транспорта с большой грузоподъемностью.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 12
  1. Волхов 29 сентября 2011 12:12
    Это уже война с Шамбалой.
    Волхов
  2. zczczc 29 сентября 2011 16:11
    Нескромный вопрос - а на каких деревьях растёт гелий? :)
    Из чего его получают, вобщем?
    zczczc
    1. FoMaS 29 сентября 2011 17:14
      Получают из природного газа путём фракционной перегонки (охлаждение), но процесс геморойный, т.к. изначальная концентрация крайне маленькая к примеру на российском месторождение (завод ГазпромОренбург), не более 0,055% от первоначального объёма газа, а технически чистым гелий считается при концетрации 99,985%. По добыче, Россия на третьем месте в мире (5,6млн.куб), Алжир-16,7 , США-120., при этом наш, ещё и самый дорогой. Канада и Китай, тоже немного добывают, но менее 1млн. на пару, а так усё, больше в мире нигде нет.
      1. zczczc 29 сентября 2011 20:13
        Никогда не задумывался, что воздушные шарики надувают стратегическим материалом.
        zczczc
    2. профессор 29 сентября 2011 19:01
      Есть ещё один источник гелия, атомный реактор- как побочный продукт. Так что для России и США проблем с этим летучим газом не будет.
      1. FoMaS 29 сентября 2011 20:36
        Продукт действительно "побочный", потребление измеряется в сотнях миллионв куб.м. Франция импортирует из Алжира, хотя реакторов хватает, а так и золото можно из воды добывать.
  3. Довмонт 29 сентября 2011 18:42
    Срочно надо основывать базу на Луне - там много селенита богатого гелием.
    Довмонт
  4. APASUS 29 сентября 2011 19:25
    Вот проблема! Сейчас Китаю предложат не много денег и китайцы будут его губами из угля выдувать !
  5. slan 29 сентября 2011 20:18
    Лень гуглить, но по моему, ахинея полная.
    slan
    1. FoMaS 29 сентября 2011 20:50
      Для надувания дирижаблей, даже объёмом 22350м.куб. гелия в США хватит на 300 лет вперёд. В хранилищах стратегичиских запасов в Клиффсайд находиться около 1 миллиарда куб.м. гелия с концентрацией 70%.
  6. SuperDuck 30 сентября 2011 00:18
    Так пущай водородом заправляют, люблю фейерверки!
    SuperDuck
  7. Gonoriy 16 февраля 2013 13:53
    Хитрые американцы все равно где нибудь этот газ добудут.
  8. Алекс 29 июня 2014 18:10
    Не на одном гелии свет клином сошёлся. Точнее, не только на гелии. Вполне можно использовать смесь гелия и водорода в соотношении около 1:5. Тогда и гелия надо существенно меньше, и водород не взрывается (такое состояние называется флегматизированным, над его проблемами японцы ещё во время ВМВ работали) и подъёмная сила остаётся достаточно высокой. Так что хоронить идею воздухоплавания пока рано.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня