"Iron Chancellor" Otto von Bismarck

"Iron Chancellor" Otto von Bismarck

200 years ago, 1 April 1815, was born the first chancellor of the German Empire, Otto von Bismarck. This German statesman entered into history as the creator of the German Empire, the "Iron Chancellor" and the actual foreign policy leader of one of the greatest European powers. Politics Bismarck made Germany the leading military and economic power of Western Europe.

Youth


Otto von Bismarck (Otto Eduard Leopold von Bismarck-Schönhausen) was born on 1 on April 1815, at Schönhausen in Brandenburg Province. Bismarck was the fourth child and the second son of a retired captain of a small landowner (they were called Prisoners in Prussia) Ferdinand von Bismarck and his wife Wilhelmina, nee Mencken. Rhode Bismarck belonged to the ancient nobility, descended from the knights, the conquerors of the Slavic lands on Labe-Elbe. The Bismarcks traced their ancestry until the reign of Charlemagne. Schonhausen Manor was in the hands of the Bismarcks family since 1562. True, the Bismarck clan could not boast of great wealth and did not belong to the largest landowners. Bismarcks have long served the rulers of Brandenburg in the peaceful and military fields.

From his father, Bismarck inherited rigidity, determination and willpower. The Bismarck family was one of the three most self-confident Brandenburg families (Schulenburg, Alvenslebena and Bismarck), and Friedrich Wilhelm I called them “nasty, recalcitrant people” in their “Political testament”. Mother was from a family of civil servants and belonged to the middle class. During this period in Germany there was a process of merging the old aristocracy and the new middle class. From Wilhelmina, Bismarck received the vitality of the mind of an educated bourgeois, delicate and sensitive soul. This made Otto von Bismarck a very extraordinary person.

Otto von Bismarck spent his childhood in the Kniphof family estate near Naugard, in Pomerania. Therefore, Bismarck loved nature and retained a sense of connection with it all his life. He received education in the private school of Plaman, the Friedrich Wilhelm gymnasium and the Zum Grauen Kloster gymnasium in Berlin. Bismarck finished his last year of school in 17 years in 1832, passing the exam for the certificate of maturity. During this period, Otto was most interested in history. In addition, he was fond of reading foreign literature, well studied French.

Then Otto entered the University of Göttingen, where he studied law. Study then attracted Otto a little. He was a strong and energetic man, and received the fame of revelers and fights. Otto participated in duels, in various tricks, visited beer houses, dragged himself behind women and played cards for money. In 1833, Otto moved to the New Metropolitan University in Berlin. During this period, Bismarck was mainly interested in, apart from the “tricks,” international politics, and his area of ​​interest went beyond Prussia and the German Union, which limited the thinking of the overwhelming majority of young noblemen and students of that time. At the same time, Bismarck had a high conceit, he saw himself as a great man. In 1834, he wrote to a friend: "I will become either the greatest scoundrel, or the greatest converter of Prussia."

However, good abilities allowed Bismarck to successfully complete training. Before exams he attended tutors. In 1835, he received a diploma and began working in the Berlin Municipal Court. In 1837-1838 served as an official in Aachen and Potsdam. However, being an official quickly bored him. Bismarck decided to leave the public service, which went against the will of the parents, and was the result of the desire for complete independence. Bismarck was generally distinguished by full will. His career as an official did not suit him. Otto said: "My pride requires me to command, and not to execute other people's orders."


Bismarck, 1836 year

Bismarck Landowner

Since 1839, Bismarck has been engaged in arranging his estate Kniphof. During this period, Bismarck, like his father, decided to "live and die in the village." Bismarck independently studied accounting and agriculture. He proved himself to be a skillful and practical landowner, who knew well both the theory of agriculture and practice. The value of Pomeranian estates increased by more than a third in nine years, when they were managed by Bismarck. In this case, three years fell on the agricultural crisis.

However, Bismarck could not be a simple, albeit clever landowner. In it lurked a force that prevented him from living quietly in the countryside. He was still a gambler, sometimes in the evening he let down everything that he had been able to save for months of hard work. He drove a campaign with bad people, drank, and seduced the daughters of the peasants. For his violent temper, he was nicknamed "Mad Bismarck."

At the same time, Bismarck continued self-education, read the works of Hegel, Kant, Spinoza, David Friedrich Strauss and Feuerbach, and studied English literature. Byron and Shakespeare attracted Bismarck more than Goethe. English politics was very interested in Otto. Intellectually, Bismarck was an order of magnitude superior to all the landowners-junkers around him. In addition, Bismarck - a landowner participated in local self-government, was a deputy from the district, deputy landrat and a member of the landtag of the Pomerania province. Expanding the horizons of his knowledge through travel to England, France, Italy and Switzerland.

In 1843, a decisive turn in the life of Bismarck. Bismarck made acquaintance with the Pomeranian Lutherans and met the bride of his friend Moritz von Blankenburg, Maria von Thadden. The girl was seriously ill and dying. The personality of this girl, her Christian convictions, and the persistence of her character during her illness struck Otto to the core. He became a believer. This made him a staunch supporter of the king and Prussia. Service to the king meant service to God for him.


In addition, there was a radical change in his personal life. In Maria, Bismarck met Johann von Puttkamer and asked for her hand. The marriage with Johanna soon became for Bismarck his main life support, until her death in the 1894 year. The wedding took place in 1847 year. Johanna gave birth to Otto two sons and a daughter: Herbert, Wilhelm and Mary. Self-sacrificing spouse and caring mother contributed to Bismarck's political career.


Bismarck and his wife

"Mad deputy"

In the same period, Bismarck comes into politics. In 1847, he was appointed a representative of the Ostellbian knighthood in the United Landtag. This event was the beginning of Otto's political career. His work in the interregional organ of estate representation, which mainly controlled the financing of the construction of Ostban (Berlin-Königsberg road), mainly consisted of making critical speeches against liberals who tried to form a real parliament. Among conservatives, Bismarck enjoyed a reputation as an active defender of their interests, who is able, without particularly delving into substantive argumentation, to arrange “fireworks”, divert attention from the subject of the dispute, and arouse minds.

By opposing the liberals, Otto von Bismarck contributed to the organization of various political movements and newspapers, including the New Prussian Newspaper. Otto became a member of the lower house of Prussia in 1849, and the Erfurt Parliament in 1850. Bismarck was then an opponent of the nationalist aspirations of the German bourgeoisie. Otto von Bismarck saw in the revolution only the "greed of the have-nots". His main task Bismarck considered the need to point out the historical role of Prussia and the nobility as the main driving force of the monarchy, and the protection of the existing socio-political order. The political and social consequences of the 1848 revolution of the year, which covered a large part of Western Europe, had a profound impact on Bismarck and strengthened his monarchical views. In March, 1848 Mr. Bismarck was even going to march to Berlin with his peasants in order to end the revolution. Bismarck occupied the far right, being more radical than even the monarch.

In this revolutionary time, Bismarck acted as an ardent defender of the monarchy, Prussia, and Prussian youth. In 1850, Bismarck spoke out against the federation of German states (with or without the Austrian Empire), since he believed that this union would only strengthen the revolutionary forces. After that, King Friedrich Wilhelm IV, on the recommendation of Adjutant General King Leopold von Gerlach (he was the leader of the ultra-right group surrounded by the monarch), appointed Bismarck as Prussia envoy to the German Union, in the Bundestag sitting in Frankfurt. At the same time, Bismarck also remained a member of the Prussian Landtag. The Prussian conservative was arguing so fiercely with the liberals about the constitution that he even made a duel with one of their leaders, Georg von Wienke.

Thus, in 36 years, Bismarck occupied the most important diplomatic post that the Prussian king could offer. After a short stay in Frankfurt, Bismarck realized that the further unification of Austria and Prussia within the framework of the German Union was no longer possible. The strategy of the Austrian Chancellor Metternich, who is trying to turn Prussia into a junior partner of the Habsburg Empire in the framework of Central Europe, led by Vienna, failed. The confrontation between Prussia and Austria in Germany during the revolution acquired a clear character. Then Bismarck began to conclude that war with the Austrian Empire was inevitable. Only war can decide the future of Germany.

During the Eastern crisis, even before the beginning of the Crimean War, Bismarck, in a letter to Prime Minister Manteuffel, expressed concern that Prussia’s policy, which fluctuates between England and Russia, in case of evasion towards Austria, England’s ally, could lead to war with Russia. “I would be careful,” Otto von Bismarck noted, “in search of protection from the storm, to land our elegant and durable frigate to the old, worm-fed warship of Austria.” He proposed to use this crisis wisely in the interests of Prussia, and not of England and Austria.

After the completion of the Eastern (Crimean) War, Bismarck noted the collapse of the union of the three Eastern powers - Austria, Prussia and Russia - based on the principles of conservatism. Bismarck saw that the gap between Russia and Austria would last for a long time and that Russia would seek an alliance with France. Prussia, in his opinion, should have avoided possible opposing alliances, and not allow Austria or England to engage her in an anti-Russian alliance. Bismarck increasingly held anti-British positions, expressing his distrust of the possibility of a productive union with England. Otto von Bismarck noted: "The security of the island location of England makes it easier for her to abandon her continental ally and allows her to be abandoned, depending on the interests of British politics." Austria, if it becomes an ally of Prussia, will try to solve its problems at the expense of Berlin. In addition, Germany remained an area of ​​confrontation between Austria and Prussia. As Bismarck wrote: "According to the policy of Vienna, Germany is too small for the two of us ... we both cultivate the same arable land ...". Bismarck confirmed his earlier conclusion that Prussia would have to fight against Austria.

As Bismarck perfected his knowledge of diplomacy and the art of public administration, he increasingly moved away from ultraconservatives. In 1855 and 1857 Bismarck paid reconnaissance visits to the French Emperor Napoleon III and came to the conclusion that this was a less significant and dangerous politician than Prussian conservatives believed. Bismarck broke with the entourage of Gerlach. As the future "Iron Chancellor" said: "We must operate with realities, not fictions." Bismarck believed that Prussia needed a temporary alliance with France to neutralize Austria. According to Otto, Napoleon III de facto suppressed the revolution in France and became the legitimate ruler. The threat to other states with the help of the revolution is now "the favorite occupation of England."

As a result, Bismarck was accused of treason with the principles of conservatism and Bonapartism. Bismarck responded to the enemies that “... my ideal politician is impartiality, independence in making decisions of likes or dislikes towards foreign countries and their rulers.” Bismarck saw that stability in Europe was threatened more by England, with its parliamentarism and democratization, than by Bonapartism in France.

Political "study"

In 1858, King Frederick Wilhelm IV’s brother, who suffered from a mental disorder, Prince William, became regent. As a result, the political course of Berlin has changed. The reaction period was completed and Wilhelm proclaimed the “New Era”, defiantly appointing a liberal government. Bismarck’s ability to influence Prussia’s policy plummeted. Bismarck was recalled from the Frankfurt post and, as he himself noted with bitterness, was sent "to the cold on the Neva." Otto von Bismarck became a messenger in Petersburg.

The Petersburg experience greatly helped Bismarck, as the future German chancellor. Bismarck became close with Russian Foreign Minister Prince Gorchakov. Later, Gorchakov will assist Bismarck in isolating, first Austria and then France, which will make Germany the leading power in Western Europe. In St. Petersburg, Bismarck will understand that Russia still holds key positions in Europe, despite the defeat in the Eastern War. Bismarck studied the balance of political forces in the king’s entourage and in the capital’s “light of the world” well, and realized that Prussia’s position in Europe gives an excellent chance, which is very rare. Prussia could unite Germany, becoming its political and military core.

The activities of Bismarck in St. Petersburg was interrupted due to a serious illness. About a year Bismarck was treated in Germany. He finally broke with the extreme conservatives. In 1861 and 1862 Bismarck twice represented Wilhelm as a candidate for the post of Minister of Foreign Affairs. Bismarck outlined his view on the possibility of uniting "non-Austrian Germany." However, William did not dare to appoint Bismarck Minister, as he made a demonic impression on him. As Bismarck himself wrote: "He found me more fanatical than I really was."

But at the insistence of the Minister of War, von Roon, who patronized Bismarck, the king decided to send Bismarck "to study" to Paris and London. In 1862, Bismarck was sent as an envoy to Paris, but did not stay there for long.

To be continued ...
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

18 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

«Железный канцлер» Отто фон Бисмарк

«Железный канцлер» Отто фон Бисмарк

200 лет назад, 1 апреля 1815 года, родился первый канцлер Германской империи Отто фон Бисмарк. Этот германский государственный деятель вошёл в историю как создатель Германской империи, «железный канцлер» и фактический руководитель внешней политики одной из величайших европейских держав. Политика Бисмарка сделала Германию ведущей военно-экономической державой Западной Европы.

Юность


Отто фон Бисмарк (Отто Эдуард Леопольд фон Бисмарк-Шёнхаузен) родился 1 апреля 1815 года в замке Шенхаузен в Бранденбургской провинции. Бисмарк был четвертым ребенком и вторым сыном ротмистра в отставке мелкопоместного дворянина (их в Пруссии называли юнкерами) Фердинанда фон Бисмарка и его жены Вильгельмины, урожденной Менкен. Род Бисмарка принадлежал к старинному дворянству, происходившему от рыцарей-завоевателей славянских земель на Лабе-Эльбе. Бисмарки прослеживали свою родословную вплоть до правления Карла Великого. Поместье Шенхаузен находилось в руках семьи Бисмарков с 1562 года. Правда, род Бисмарков не мог похвастаться большим богатством и не принадлежал к числу крупнейших землевладельцев. Бисмарки издавна служили правителям Бранденбурга на мирном и военном поприщах.

От отца Бисмарк наследовал жесткость, решительность и силу воли. Род Бисмарков входил в число трех наиболее самоуверенных семейств Бранденбурга (Шуленбурги, Альвенслебены и Бисмарки), их ещё Фридрих Вильгельм I в своем «Политическом завещании» назвал «скверными, непокорными людьми». Мать была из семьи государственных служащих и принадлежала к среднему классу. В этот период в Германии шел процесс сращивания старой аристократии и нового среднего класса. От Вильгельмины Бисмарк получил живость ума образованного буржуа, тонкую и чувствительную душу. Это сделало Отто фон Бисмарка весьма неординарной личностью.

Детство Отто фон Бисмарк провел в родовом поместье Книпхоф под Наугардом, в Померании. Поэтому Бисмарк любил природу и сохранил чувство связи с ней всю жизнь. Образование получал в частной школе Пламана, гимназии Фридриха Вильгельма и гимназии Цум Грауэн Клостер в Берлине. Последнюю школу Бисмарк закончил в 17 лет в 1832 году, сдав экзамен на аттестат зрелости. В этот период Отто больше всего интересовала история. Кроме того, он увлекался чтением иностранной литературы, хорошо изучил французский язык.

Затем Отто поступил в Геттингенский университет, где изучал право. Учёба тогда привлекала Отто мало. Он был человеком сильным и энергичным, и получил славу гуляки и драчуна. Отто участвовал в дуэлях, в различных проделках, посещал пивные, волочился за женщинами и играл на деньги в карты. В 1833 года Отто перешёл в Новый столичный университет в Берлине. В этот период Бисмарк интересовался в основном, кроме «проделок», международной политикой, причем область его интересов выходила за пределы Пруссии и Германского союза, рамками которых было ограничено мышление подавляющего большинства молодых дворян и студентов того времени. При этом у Бисмарка было высокое самомнение, он видел себя великим человеком. В 1834 году он писал другу: «Я стану или величайшим негодяем, или величайшим преобразователем Пруссии».

Однако хорошие способности позволили Бисмарку успешно завершить обучение. Перед экзаменами он посещал репетиторов. В 1835 году получил диплом и стал работать в Берлинском муниципальном суде. В 1837-1838 гг. служил чиновником в Аахене и Потсдаме. Однако быть чиновником быстро ему наскучило. Бисмарк решил оставить государственную службу, что шло вразрез с волей родителей, и было следствием стремления к полной самостоятельности. Бисмарк вообще отличался тягой к полной воле. Карьера чиновника его не устраивала. Отто говорил: «Моя гордость требует от меня повелевать, а не исполнять чужие приказания».


Бисмарк, 1836 год

Бисмарк-помещик

С 1839 года Бисмарк занимался обустройством своего поместья Книпхоф. В этот период Бисмарк, как и его отец, решил «жить и умереть в деревне». Бисмарк самостоятельно изучил бухгалтерию и сельское хозяйство. Проявил себя умелым и практичным землевладельцем, который хорошо знал как теорию сельского хозяйства, так и практику. Ценность померанских поместий увеличилась более чем на треть за девять лет, когда ими управлял Бисмарк. При этом три года выпали на сельскохозяйственный кризис.

Однако Бисмарк не мог быть и простым, хоть и умным, помещиком. В нём таилась сила, которая не давала ему спокойно жить в сельской местности. Он по-прежнему картежничал, иногда за вечер спускал всё, что удавалось скопить месяцами кропотливого труда. Водил кампанию с дурными людьми, пил, совращал дочерей крестьян. За буйный нрав его прозвали «бешеный Бисмарк».

Одновременно Бисмарк продолжал самообразование, читал работы Гегеля, Канта, Спинозы, Давида Фридриха Штрауса и Фейербаха, изучал английскую литературу. Байрон и Шекспир увлекали Бисмарка больше, чем Гёте. Английская политика весьма интересовала Отто. В интеллектуальном отношении Бисмарк на порядок превосходил всех окружающих его помещиков-юнкеров. Кроме того, Бисмарк — помещик участвовал в местном самоуправлении, был депутатом от округа, заместителем ландрата и членом ландтага провинции Померания. Расширял горизонты своего знания с помощью путешествий в Англию, Францию, Италию и Швейцарию.

В 1843 в жизни Бисмарка произошёл решительный поворот. Бисмарк свел знакомство с померанскими лютеранами и познакомился с невестой своего друга Морица фон Бланкенбурга, Марией фон Тадден. Девушка была тяжело больна и умирала. Личность этой девушки, ее христианские убеждения и стойкость характера во время болезни поразили Отто до глубины души. Он стал верующим человеком. Это сделало его убежденным сторонником короля и Пруссии. Служение королю означало для него служение Богу.


Кроме того, произошел коренной поворот в его личной жизни. У Марии Бисмарк познакомился с Иоганной фон Путткамер и попросил её руки. Брак с Иоганной вскоре стал для Бисмарка главной его жизненной опорой, вплоть до её смерти в 1894 году. Свадьба состоялась в 1847 году. Иоганна родила Отто двух сыновей и дочь: Герберта, Вильгельма и Марию. Самоотверженная супруга и заботящаяся мать способствовала политической карьере Бисмарка.


Бисмарк с супругой

«Бешеный депутат»

В этот же период Бисмарк приходит в политику. В 1847 году он был назначен представителем остэльбского рыцарства в Объединенном ландтаге. Это событие было началом политической карьеры Отто. Его деятельность в межрегиональном органе сословного представительства, который в основном контролировал финансирование строительства Остбана (дороги Берлин-Кенигсберг), в основном состояла из произнесения критических речей направленных против либералов, которые пытались сформировать настоящий парламент. Среди консерваторов Бисмарк пользовался репутацией активного защитника их интересов, который способен, не особо углубляясь в предметную аргументацию, устроить «фейерверк», отвлечь внимание от предмета спора и возбудить умы.

Противодействуя либералам, Отто фон Бисмарк способствовал организации различных политических движений и газет, включая «Новую прусскую газету». Отто стал депутатом нижней палаты парламента Пруссии в 1849 году и Эрфуртского парламента в 1850 году. Бисмарк тогда был противником националистических устремлений немецкой буржуазии. Отто фон Бисмарк видел в революции лишь «алчность неимущих». Своей главной задачей Бисмарк считал необходимость указывать на историческую роль Пруссии и дворянства как основной движущей силы монархии, и защиту существующего социально-политического порядка. Политические и социальные последствия революции 1848 года, охватившей значительную часть Западной Европы, оказали глубокое влияние на Бисмарка и укрепили его монархические взгляды. В марте 1848 г. Бисмарк даже собирался совершить со своими крестьянами марш на Берлин, чтобы покончить с революцией. Бисмарк занимал ультраправые позиции, будучи радикальнее даже монарха.

В это революционное время Бисмарк выступил в качестве ярого защитника монархии, Пруссии и прусского юнкерства. В 1850 году Бисмарк выступил против федерации германских государств (с Австрийской империей или без неё), так как считал, что это объединение только укрепит революционные силы. После этого король Фридрих Вильгельм IV по рекомендации генерал-адъютанта короля Леопольда фон Герлаха (он был руководителем ультраправой группы в окружении монарха) назначил Бисмарка посланником Пруссии при Германском союзе, в бундестаге, заседавшем во Франкфурте. При этом Бисмарк оставался также депутатом прусского ландтага. Прусский консерватор настолько яростно дискутировал с либералами по поводу конституции, что даже устроил дуэль с одним из их лидеров, Георгом фон Винке.

Таким образом, в 36 лет Бисмарк занял важнейший дипломатический пост, который мог предложить прусский король. После недолгого пребывания во Франкфурте Бисмарк понял, что дальнейшее объединение Австрии и Пруссии в рамках Германского союза больше невозможно. Стратегия австрийского канцлера Меттерниха, пытающегося превратить Пруссию в младшего партнера империи Габсбургов в рамках «Средней Европы» во главе с Веной, провалилась. Противостояние Пруссии и Австрии в Германии во время революции приобрело явный характер. Тогда же Бисмарк начал приходить к выводу, что война с Австрийской империей неизбежна. Только война сможет решить будущее Германии.

Во время Восточного кризиса, ещё до начала Крымской войны, Бисмарк в письме к премьер-министру Мантейфелю высказал опасение, что политика Пруссии, которая колеблется между Англией и Россией, в случае уклонения в сторону Австрии, союзника Англии, может привести к войне с Россией. «Я бы поостерегся, — отмечал Отто фон Бисмарк, — в поисках защиты от бури причалить наш нарядный и прочный фрегат к старому, источенному червями военному кораблю Австрии». Он предлагал разумно использовать этот кризис в интересах Пруссии, а не Англии и Австрии.

После завершения Восточной (Крымской) войны Бисмарк отмечал крах основанного на принципах консерватизма союза трех восточных держав — Австрии, Пруссии и России. Бисмарк видел, что разрыв между Россией и Австрией продлится долго и, что Россия будет искать союза с Францией. Пруссия же должна была, по его мнению, избегать возможных противостоящих друг другу союзов, и не позволить Австрии или Англии вовлечь её в антирусский союз. Бисмарк все более занимал антианглийские позиции, выражая свое недоверие в возможность продуктивного союза с Англией. Отто фон Бисмарк отмечал: «Безопасность островного расположения Англии облегчает ей отказ от континентального союзника и позволяет бросить его на произвол судьбы, в зависимости от интересов английской политики». Австрия же, если станет союзником Пруссии, будет стараться решать свои проблемы за счёт Берлина. Кроме того, Германия оставалась областью противостояния Австрии и Пруссии. Как писал Бисмарк: «Согласно политике Вены, Германия слишком тесна для нас двоих … мы оба возделываем одну и ту же пашню…». Бисмарк подтвердил свой более ранний вывод, что Пруссии придется сражаться против Австрии.

По мере того как Бисмарк совершенствовал свои знания в дипломатии и искусстве государственного управления, он всё больше удалялся от ультраконсерваторов. В 1855 и 1857 гг. Бисмарк нанес «разведывательные» визиты французскому императору Наполеону III и пришел к мнению, что это менее значительный и опасный политик, чем считали прусские консерваторы. Бисмарк порвал с окружением Герлаха. Как говорил будущий «железный канцлер»: «Мы должны оперировать реалиями, а не вымыслами». Бисмарк считал, что Пруссии нужен временный союз с Францией, чтобы нейтрализовать Австрию. По словам Отто, Наполеон III де-факто подавил революцию во Франции и стал легитимным правителем. Угроза же другим государствам с помощью революции — это теперь «излюбленное занятие Англии».

В результате Бисмарка стали обвинять в измене принципам консерватизма и бонапартизме. Бисмарк отвечал врагам, что «… мой идеал политика — непредвзятость, независимость в принятии решений от симпатий или антипатий к чужим государствам и их правителям». Бисмарк видел, что стабильности в Европе больше угрожает Англия, с её парламентаризмом и демократизацией, чем бонапартизм во Франции.

Политическая «учёба»

В 1858 году брат короля Фридриха Вильгельма IV, который страдал расстройством психики, принц Вильгельм, стал регентом. В результате политический курс Берлина изменился. Период реакции был завершен и Вильгельм провозгласил «Новую эру», демонстративно назначив либеральное правительство. Возможности Бисмарка влиять на политику Пруссии резко упали. Бисмарка отозвали с франкфуртского поста и, как он сам с горечью отметил, отправили «на холод на Неве». Отто фон Бисмарк стал посланником в Петербурге.

Петербургский опыт весьма помог Бисмарку, как будущему канцлеру Германии. Бисмарк сблизился с российским министром иностранных дел князем Горчаковым. Позже Горчаков окажет помощь Бисмарку в деле изоляции сначала Австрии, а затем Франции, что сделает Германию ведущей державой в Западной Европе. В Петербурге Бисмарк поймет, что Россия по-прежнему занимает ключевые позиции в Европе, несмотря на поражение в Восточной войне. Бисмарк хорошо изучил расстановку политических сил в окружении царя и в столичном «свете», и понял, что положение в Европе даёт Пруссии отличный шанс, который выпадает очень редко. Пруссия могла объединить Германию, став её политическим и военным ядром.

Деятельность Бисмарка в Петербурге была прервана из-за серьёзной болезни. Около года Бисмарк лечился в Германии. Он окончательно порвал с крайними консерваторами. В 1861 и 1862 гг. Бисмарка дважды представляли Вильгельму как кандидата на пост министра иностранных дел. Бисмарк изложил свой взгляд на возможность объединения «неавстрийской Германии». Однако Вильгельм не решился назначить Бисмарка министром, так как тот производил на него демоническое впечатление. Как писал сам Бисмарк: «Он счел меня более фанатичным, чем я был на самом деле».

Но по настоянию покровительствовавшего Бисмарку военного министра фон Роона король все же решил направить Бисмарка «на учебу» в Париж и Лондон. В 1862 году Бисмарк был направлен посланником в Париж, но пробыл там недолго.

Продолжение следует…
Автор:
Самсонов Александр
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

18 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти