Russia and the intensification of the Syrian issue

Russia and the intensification of the Syrian issue Against the backdrop of increased violence in Syria, Russia is beginning to sag under pressure from the West. Earlier, Russia invariably blocked the adoption of the UN resolution on Syria. Although Russian President Dmitry Medvedev, after meeting with British Prime Minister David Cameron (12 September), has already said that Russia will support the resolution if it is addressed to both parties to the internecine conflict.

Now the representative of Russia in the UN, Vitaly Churkin, declared that Moscow could support the Syrian resolution. According to him, the main thing is to “stop the violence and start a political process,” which will lead to the reform of the system and calm the people.


The West demands a resolution that will condemn violence. Thus, French Foreign Minister Alain Juppe believes that the Syrian regime of Bashar al-Assad has completely lost its legality and was late in reforming the country.

Currently there are two draft resolutions on Syria - proposed by Paris, London, Berlin, Lisbon and the second, softer, Russian. The European option offers a condemnation of violence and the imposition of sanctions if violence in the country is not stopped. Moscow supports only the call for an immediate cessation of violence, but not the imposition of sanctions in any volume against Syria.

Beijing supports the position of Russia, considering that unilateral sanctions against Syria may contribute to the development of events according to the Libyan scenario.

Increased violence in Syria

- On September 26, several soldiers were killed and 14 captured army officers, they were ambushed in the town of Kusayr near the Syrian-Lebanese border. This city is located in the region of Homs, which for Syria in recent months has become the scene of the fiercest clashes between demonstrators and law enforcement forces. According to the Syrian government, there are “armed gangs” of Islamist rebels in this province who are planning to build an Islamic state in Syria. The Syrian opposition claims that armed soldiers and officers who deserted from the army have armed resistance to government troops because they do not want to kill their fellow citizens and have gone over to the side of the rebels for the sake of protecting civilians.

- Colonel of the Syrian Air Force Riyadh Musa Asad announced the creation of the “Free Army of Syria”, which will lead the armed struggle for the liberation of the state from the regime of Bashar al-Assad. According to him, the basis of the rebel army will be deserters, Sunni soldiers who fled from the Syrian armed forces in protest against the use of violence against fellow citizens.

- For several days now there has been a military operation in the city of Rastan (the city was surrounded on September 26): the army is trying to crush the resistance of deserters from the Khalid bin Walid brigade. According to the opposition, up to a thousand people put up armed resistance, government troops inflict artillery strikes and use helicopters, air strikes.

“According to Al-Arabia, the command of the Syrian army brigade, Al-Kharmush, has taken over the opposition. The rebels reported the murder of 80 people from various power structures of the country - the General Directorate of Security, from the Shabiha units (these are pro-government Alawite militias).
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Россия и активизация сирийского вопроса

Россия и активизация сирийского вопроса На фоне активизации насилия в Сирии, Россия начинает прогибаться под давлением Запада. Раньше Россия неизменно блокировала принятие резолюции ООН по Сирии. Хотя российский президент Дмитрий Медведев, после встречи с британским премьером Дэвидом Кэмероном (12 сентября), уже говорил о том, что Россия поддержит резолюцию, если она будет адресована обеим сторонам междоусобного конфликта.

Теперь представитель России в ООН Виталий Чуркин заявил, что Москва может поддержать сирийскую резолюцию. По его словам, главное «прекратить насилие и начать политический процесс», который приведёт к реформированию системы и успокоению народа.


Запад же требует резолюцию, которая осудит насилие. Так, министр иностранных дел Франции Ален Жюппе, считает, что сирийский режим Башара Асада полностью утратил законность и опоздал с реформирование страны.

В настоящее время есть два проекта резолюции по Сирии – предложенный Парижем, Лондоном, Берлином, Лиссабоном и второй, более мягкий, российский. Европейский вариант предлагает осуждение насилия и ввод санкций, если насилие в стране не будут прекращено. Москва поддерживает только призыв к немедленному прекращению насилия, но не введение санкций против Сирии в любом объёме.

Пекин поддерживает позицию России, считая, что односторонние санкции против Сирии могут способствовать развитию событий по ливийскому сценарию.

Активизация насилия в Сирии

- 26 сентября было заявлено о гибели нескольких солдат и пленении 14 армейских офицеров, они попали в засаду в городе Кусайр у сирийско-ливанской границе. Этот город расположен в области Хомс, которая для Сирии в последние месяцы стала ареной наиболее ожесточённых столкновений демонстрантов с правоохранительными силами. По данным сирийского правительства, в этой провинции действуют «вооруженные банды» мятежников-исламистов, которые планируют построить в Сирии исламское государство. Сирийская оппозиция утверждает, что вооруженное сопротивление правительственным войскам оказывают бывшие солдаты и офицеры, дезертировавшие из армии, так как не хотят убивать своих сограждан и перешедшие на сторону мятежников ради защиты мирных граждан.

- Полковник сирийских ВВС Рияд Муса Асад заявил о создание «Свободной армии Сирии», которая будет вести вооруженную борьбу за освобождение государства от режима Башара Асада. По его словам, основу повстанческой армии составят дезертиры, военнослужащие-сунниты, бежавшие из вооруженных сил Сирии в знак протеста против применения насилия против сограждан.

- Уже несколько дней идёт военная операция в городе Растан (город был окружён 26 сентября): армия пытается подавить сопротивление дезертиров из бригады «Халид бен Валид». По данным оппозиции, вооруженное сопротивление оказывает до тысячи человек, правительственные войска наносят артиллерийские удары и применяют вертолёты, удары с воздуха.

- По сообщению телеканала «Аль-Арабия» на сторону оппозиции перешло командование сирийской армейской бригады «Аль-Хармуш». Мятежники сообщили об убийстве 80 человек из различных силовых структур страны - Главного управления безопасности, из отрядов «Шабиха» (это проправительственные алавитские военизированные подразделения).
Автор:
Самсонов Александр
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

7 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти