The Soviet-Finnish war was made difficult by the lack of winter shoes for both armies.

The Soviet-Finnish war was made difficult by the lack of winter shoes for both armies.



The Red Army, as is known from stories, It suffered during the Soviet-Finnish war, which preceded the Great Patriotic War. Besides the fact that the fighters prevented the fighters from moving fast into Finland, the bitter cold did not add enthusiasm.

Surprisingly, the Finns themselves suffered from low temperatures no less than the Russians. Finnish soldiers were also not given enough warm clothes, and winter shoes also far from every soldier was available.

One of the veterans of that war, Mr. Perttula, recalls how he was sent to the so-called Mannerheim Line. According to him, the Finnish soldiers fought, in what they did, because the military department did not have enough means to equip each fighter. Even the rifle was sometimes given out, according to Pentti Perttula’s recollection, one for three or four. Even untried youths were sent to fight - ordinary Finnish schoolchildren.

Parts of the Finnish army were sent to the front as if the state decided not to care about the outcome of the battle and the fate of their defenders.

The guys, many of whom were not even sixteen, were carrying heavy machine guns on themselves, because there were no sleighs, or even ordinary drags, to transport them. At the same time, the young fighters sank to the waist in the snow, and their legs were stiff so fast that they had to constantly stop and rub them with their hands. This is understandable: when ordinary rag shoes are on your feet, and on the street everything is 30 Celsius, you will not be able to fight here.

When the first blows of the Red Army followed, the Finnish units thought that the end would come to them in a week or two. In fairness, it must be said that the leadership of the Soviet Union saw the war stretched a maximum of a couple of weeks. But everything turned out quite differently.

At the same time, soldiers on both sides of the front died not so much under enemy bullets as from frostbite and overwork. Suffice it to say that the elite division of the Finnish army - the fourth Jaeger battalion was completely shod with ski boots. You can imagine how the feet of the soldiers froze when they went out at 40 degrees below zero. More fortunate for those who got boots. It was believed that if you got these shoes, then you are already a winner. In boots and in the battle went already with a completely different mood.

Agree, this information hardly fits with our stereotypes about Finland. Prior to receiving such information, it seemed to the majority of Russians that the Finns were superbly equipped fighters who are not afraid of either snow or frost. However, in reality, the 1939-1940 turned out quite differently.
It is possible that the names of the war and influenced the attitude of the Finnish leadership to their fighters. Since then, we have been talking about Finnish winter shoes as the benchmark for quality, reliability and warmth. Today, to buy Finnish shoes for the winter means to solve the main problems with the cold for your feet.

As usual, any nation (not only we, Russians) have to sip their heads before creating truly viable models of technology, weapons and even shoes. The Finnish War is a prime example.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Uhalus 2 October 2011 18: 25 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    The Finnish war was terrible, but it really led to a very serious reform of the supply chain and honey. serving the Soviet Army. That is why in December 41, near Moscow, we were freezing, but not quite deadly, unlike the Germans, for whom the "ingenious" Fuhrer did not even prepare winter clothes. V. Suvorov has his details in the book “Suicide” (I know that a traitor, I treat him very negatively, but he is too much right, you bastard).
  2. kosmos84 2 October 2011 20: 51 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    My great-grandfather went through this war as a WINNER in his 19 years (he died in November 41 near Moscow). Our ancestors of the mid-20 century were winners !!!!!!!!!!
  3. irony
    irony 2 October 2011 21: 10 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Frosts, which are spoken about everywhere when they start talking about the Winter War, are a kind of excuse why they did not win in the allotted two weeks. I came across combat reports for October-November 1940, so the frost in these months only began by the end of November. And the mentioned -30, came only after the New Year. By that time, our troops had practically broken the Finnish resistance. It is very beneficial to justify failures by climatic conditions rather than miscalculations. Almost all divisions were commanded by yesterday's com. battalions, the result of purges. Hence the grossest errors. What is characteristic, by 1941, in the troops stationed in Karelia, there were winter uniforms 200% higher than the normative. Partisans throughout the war did not feel the need for it.
    1. kosmos84 2 October 2011 21: 24 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      In the winter, I worked 2008-2009 in 100 km from Vorkuta, and I didn’t freeze -50
      1. irony
        irony 3 October 2011 00: 39 New
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        My father was on an expedition on the Angara. He also said that they did not notice there - 30. But in Karelia -30 is another thing. Humidity is higher. I myself am from Karelia, I know what I'm talking about.
  4. Priest
    Priest 3 October 2011 00: 18 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    4 people entered the conversation (so I won’t repeat myself) there was no war - there was a winter company (not prepared and not organized)
    kosmos84 - I take off my hat to my grandfather knee-deep, I'm sorry, but I apologize to the others: but my opinion is not based on my great-grandfathers, but on my grandfathers: one died in a Finnish company, the other (having passed and the great Russian) told a lot. (as always the truth is different) - as a rule - comfortable (however, we "eat what we are given").
    1. irony
      irony 3 October 2011 00: 35 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      I agree. I heard about that war from my grandmother. Käsnaselka is located 20 km from the village where she lived. Now there is our cottage. Her father went through that campaign. I didn’t hear from the frost about it. Here in the 41st, in her words, the winter was early and severe.
  5. Head Physician 30 October 2017 21: 35 New
    • 15
    • 0
    +15
    Kindergarten senior group
    In the title - the content of the article is disclosed
    Why, then, the text of the article?

Советско-финскую войну сделала тяжелой нехватка зимней обуви у обеих армий

Советско-финскую войну сделала тяжелой нехватка зимней обуви у обеих армий


Красная Армия, как известно из истории, тяжело пострадала в ходе советско-финской войны, предшествовавшей Великой Отечественной. Кроме того, что бойцам мешали быстро продвигаться вглубь Финляндии финские части, так еще и лютый мороз не прибавлял энтузиазма.

Удивительно, но и сами финны страдали от низких температур не меньше русских. На финских солдат также не выделялось достаточного количества теплой одежды, а зимняя обувь тоже была доступна далеко не каждому солдату.


Один из ветеранов той войны господин Перттула вспоминает, как его направили на так называемую линию Маннергейма. По его словам, финские солдаты воевали, в чем попало, потому что у военного ведомства не хватало средств экипировать каждого бойца. Даже винтовку порой выдавали, по воспоминаниям Пентти Перттула, одну на троих-четверых. Воевать посылали даже необстрелянных юнцов – обычных финских школьников.

Части финской армии направлялись на фронт так, будто государство решило совершенно не заботиться об исходе битвы и о судьбе своих защитников.

Ребята, многим из которых не исполнилось и шестнадцати, тащили на себе тяжелые пулеметы, потому что для их перевозки не было ни саней, ни даже обычных волокуш. При этом молодые бойцы утопали по пояс в снегу, а ноги коченели так быстро, что нужно было постоянно останавливаться и растирать их руками. Это и понятно: когда на ногах обычные тряпичные полуботинки, а на улице все -30 по Цельсию, то здесь особо не повоюешь.

Когда последовали первые удары Красной Армии, то финские части подумали, что конец им придет через неделю-две. Справедливости ради нужно сказать, что и руководство Советского Союза видело войну, растянутой максимум на пару недель. Но вышло все совсем иначе.

При этом солдаты по обе стороны фронта гибли не столько под пулями врага, сколько от обморожения и переутомления. Достаточно сказать о том, что элитное подразделение армии финнов – четвертый егерский батальон был сплошь обут в лыжные ботинки. Можно себе представить, как мерзли ноги у солдат, когда они выходили сорокаградусный мороз. Больше повезло тем, кому доставались валенки. Считалось, что если тебе досталась эта обувь, то ты уже победитель. В валенках и в бой шли уже совсем с другим настроением.

Согласитесь , такая информация с трудом вяжется с нашими стереотипами по поводу Финляндии. Большинству россиян до получения такой информации казалось, что финны – великолепно экипированные бойцы, которым не страшен ни снег, ни мороз. Однако на деле в 1939-1940 вышло совсем иначе.
Возможно, что имена та война и повлияла на отношение финского руководства к своим бойцам. С тех пор мы говорим о финской зимней обуви как об эталоне качества, надежности и тепла. Сегодня приобрести финскую обувь на зиму – значит решить главные проблемы с холодом для своих ног.

Как водится любая нация (не только мы, русские) должны хлебнуть лиха перед тем, как создать по-настоящему жизнеспособные образцы техники, оружия и даже обуви. Финская война тому яркий пример.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7
  1. Uhalus 2 октября 2011 18:25
    Финская война была страшна, но она действительно привела к оч-чень серьёзной реформе снабжения и мед. обслуживания Советской Армии. Именно поэтому в декабре 41-го под Москвой наши мёрзли, но не совсем смертельно, в отличие от немцев, которым "гениальный" фюрер даже не заготовил зимней одежды. Подробности у В. Суворова в книге "Самоубийство" (знаю, что предатель, отношусь к нему весьма негативно, но слишком во многом прав, сволочь).
  2. kosmos84 2 октября 2011 20:51
    Мой прадед прошел эту войну ПОБЕДИТЕЛЕМ в свои 19 лет(погиб в ноябре 41 под Москвой). Наши предки середины 20 века были победителями!!!!!!!!!!
  3. ироня 2 октября 2011 21:10
    Морозы,про которые говорят всюду,когда заговаривают про "Зимнюю войну" - это своего рода оправдание, почему не победили в отведенные две недели. Попадались мне боевые сводки за октябрь-ноябрь 1940,так морозы в эти месяцы начались лишь к концу ноября. А упоминаемые -30,пришли лишь после Нового года. К тому времени наши войска практически сломили сопротивление финнов. Очень выгодно оправдать неудачи климатическими условиями, а не просчетами. Практически всеми дивизиями командовали вчерашние ком. батальонов, результат чисток. Отсюда и грубейшие ошибки. Что характерно, к 1941 году, в войсках,дислоцированных в Карелии, находилось зимнего обмундирования на 200 % свыше нормативного. Партизаны всю войну не испытывали нужды в оном.
    ироня
    1. kosmos84 2 октября 2011 21:24
      Я в зиму 2008-2009 работал в 100 км от Воркуты путейцем и мы -50 не мерзли
      1. ироня 3 октября 2011 00:39
        Отец у меня на Ангаре был в экспедиции. Он тоже говорил,что они там не замечали - 30. Но в Карелии -30 другая штука. Влажность выше. Я сам из Карелии,знаю о чём говорю.
        ироня
  4. Жрец 3 октября 2011 00:18
    В беседу вступили 4-ре человека (поэтому повторятся не буду) войны не было - была зимняя компания (не подготовленная и не организованная)
    kosmos84 - перед твоим дедом снимаю шапку преклонив колено, извини, впрочем извиняюсь и перед остальными : но моё мнение строится не на прадедах, а на дедах : один погиб в финскую компанию, другой (будучи пройдя и великую отечественную) много рассказал . (как всегда правда разная) - как правило - удобная (впрочем мы "едим то что нам дают").
    Жрец
    1. ироня 3 октября 2011 00:35
      Согласен. Я про ту войну слышал от бабушки. Кяснаселька находится в 20 км от деревни,где она жила. Теперь там наша дача. Её отец прошел ту кампанию. Про морозы я от неё не слышал. Вот в 41-ом ,с её слов, зима была ранняя и суровая.
      ироня

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня