Turkey entered the energy war with Russia on the side of the EU

Turkey entered the energy war with Russia on the side of the EU

Ankara refused to renew the contract with Moscow for the supply of natural gas in the so-called. "Western route" - through the territory of Ukraine, Moldova, Romania and Bulgaria. This was stated by the Turkish Minister of Energy and Natural Resources Taner Yildiz. It was the oldest agreement that is currently implemented by Gazprom, it was concluded before the creation of this monopoly. The contract was signed in 1986 year - in annual volumes 6 billion cubic meters, the term expires in December 2011 year. The main volumes of natural gas that enter the Turkish state via the “western route” satisfy the needs of northwestern Turkey, and above all Istanbul's 12-million (former capital, the largest Turkish city and one of the largest cities on the planet). Then, Ankara signed a contract for the supply of Russian natural gas through the Blue Stream trans-Black Sea gas pipeline.

According to Interfax, the decision of the Turkish state is connected with the fact that the Russian Federation refused to give Turkey a discount on gas in the amount requested by the Turks.


In 2010, Ankara purchased 18 billion cubic meters of natural gas, although it planned 30 billion (14 billion via the Trans-Balkan gas pipeline and 16 billion via the Blue Stream). Due to the effects of the economic crisis, the minimal volumes of purchases by the Turkish state of natural gas were established, and also the right of the Turkish company Botas to reduce the selection of “blue fuel” flowing through the offshore gas pipeline to three-quarters without sanctions from Russia. Currently, the energy balance of Turkey to 64% depends on Russian hydrocarbons. Other suppliers are Iran and Azerbaijan.

Earlier, Ankara has already expressed its desire to adjust the price of gas imported from the Russian Federation, but the parties have not reached an agreement. In March, Russian President Dmitry Medvedev met with Turkish Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan, who did not give positive results.

Last week, the Turkish Minister of Energy has already talked about the possibility of not renewing the contract. At the same time, Yildiz said that other agreements with Russia for the supply of natural gas through other transport corridors remain in force. According to him, 3-4 agreements have been concluded with Russia, one will not be extended and “it will not cause problems”. The private sector, which makes part of the purchase of natural gas, if it wants, can negotiate with Russia itself, and the state "no longer wants to do it."

Almost simultaneously with the statement of the Turkish Minister of Energy, since 1 of October 2011, the Turkish company Botas has increased the price of "blue fuel" for the population of the country by 12,28% - 14,35%. And for industrial enterprises, the cost is increased by 13,70% - 14,30%. The Turkish company explained this increase in the price of natural gas by a global increase in the cost of hydrocarbons, as well as a weakening of the Turkish national currency, the lira, Reuters reported.

It should be noted that before the statements of the Turks, on Tuesday and Wednesday, large-scale searches were conducted in the offices of companies associated with Gazprom in 10 European countries. One of the reasons for such actions is that oil has risen in price, and according to the long-term contracts of the Russian state monopoly with consumers, now after the “black gold” natural gas should also become more expensive. These actions were related to the investigation of potential “anticompetitive practices” in the field of Russian gas supplies to countries entering Central and Eastern Europe. In a statement, the European Commission said that such actions do not mean automatic recognition of the guilt of these companies.

According to political analyst Alexander Rahr, given the previous aggressive criticism from the European Commissioner for Energy Gunther Oettinger, the South Stream project, "nerves of the officials in Brussels are passing away." In the European Union, they do not want to depend on Russian gas supplies, the dominance of the Russian Federation on the European energy market, and they are persistently trying to push the Nabucco project. And the Russian Federation "will try to limit all sorts of measures."
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

15 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Турция вступила в энергетическую войну с Россией на стороне ЕС

Турция вступила в энергетическую войну с Россией на стороне ЕС

Анкара отказалась продлевать договор с Москвой на поставку природного газа по т. н. «западному маршруту» - через территории Украины, Молдавии, Румынии и Болгарии. Об этом заявил турецкий министр энергетики и природных ресурсов Танер Йылдыз. Это было самое старое соглашение, который в настоящее время исполняет «Газпром», его заключили еще до создания этой монополии. Контракт был подписан в 1986 году - в ежегодных объемах 6 млрд. кубометров, срок действия истекает в декабре 2011 года. Основные объемы природного газа, которые поступают в турецкое государство по «западному маршруту», удовлетворяют потребности северо-запада Турции, и прежде всего 12-миллионного Стамбула (бывшая столица, крупнейший турецкий город и один из самых больших городов планеты). Затем с Анкарой был подписан контракт о поставках российского природного газа через трансчерноморский газопровод «Голубой поток».

По сообщению «Интерфакс», решение турецкого государства связано с тем, что Российская Федерация отказалась предоставить Турции скидку на газ в том размере, который запросили турки.


В 2010 году Анкара закупила 18 млрд. кубометров природного газа, хотя планировала 30 млрд. (14 млрд. по Трансбалканскому газопроводу и 16 млрд. по «Голубому потоку»). Из-за последствий экономического кризиса были установлены минимальные объемы закупки турецким государством природного газа, а также предусмотрено право турецкой компании Botas уменьшать отбор «голубого топлива», поступающего по морскому газопроводу, до трех четвертей без санкций со стороны России. В настоящее время энергобаланс Турции до 64% зависит от российских углеводородов. Другие поставщики – Иран и Азербайджан.

Ранее Анкара уже заявляла о своем желании скорректировать цену на импортируемый из Российской Федерации газ, но стороны так и не пришли к соглашению. В марте произошла встреча российского президента Дмитрия Медведева и турецкого премьер-министра Реджепа Тайипа Эрдогана, которая не дала положительных результатов.

В минувшую неделю турецкий министр энергетики уже говорил о возможности отказа от продления договора. При этом Йылдыз говорил, что другие соглашения с Россией на поставку природного газа по другим транспортным коридорам остаются в силе. По его словам, с Россией заключено 3-4 соглашения, одно не будет продлено и «проблем это не вызовет». Частный сектор, который осуществляет часть закупок природного газа, если захочет, может сам договариваться с Россией, а государство «больше не хочет заниматься этим».

Практически одновременно с заявлением турецкого министра энергетики, с 1 октября 2011 года турецкая компания Botas повысила цены на «голубое топливо» для населения страны на 12,28% - 14,35%. А для промышленных предприятий стоимость повышена на 13,70% - 14,30%. В турецкой компании объяснили это повышение цен на природный газ общемировым повышением стоимости углеводородов, а также ослаблением национальной турецкой денежной единицы - лиры, сообщило Reuters.

Надо отметить, что до заявления турков, во вторник и среду сразу в 10 европейских государствах прошли масштабные обыски в офисах компаний, связанных с «Газпромом». Одна из причин таких действий в том, что нефть подорожала, а согласно долгосрочным контрактам российской госмонополии с потребителями, теперь вслед за «чёрным золотом» должен подорожать и природный газ. Эти действия были связаны с расследованием потенциальной «антиконкурентной практики» в сфере поставок российского газа в страны входящие Центральную и Восточную Европу. В заявлении Еврокомиссии говорилось, что подобные действия не означают автоматического признания виновности этих компаний.

По мнению политолога Александра Рара, учитывая предыдущую агрессивную критику – со стороны европейского комиссара по энергетике Гюнтера Эттингера, проекта «Южный поток», «у чиновников в Брюсселе сдают нервы». В Европейском Союзе не хотят зависеть от поставок российского газа, доминирования РФ на европейском энергетическом рынке и упорно пытаются проталкивать проект «Набукко». А Российскую Федерацию «будут пытаться ограничивать всевозможными мерами».
Автор:
Самсонов Александр
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

15 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти