Algeria: exercises with NATO, readiness of the Air Force and Air Defense for war


Interestingly, despite the aggravation in 2011 of relations with the West and NATO countries over Libya, the Algerian authorities do not intend to suspend their participation in the annual defense exercise "5 + 5" with the North Atlantic Alliance in the future.


So, in September, military maneuvers took place, in which the Air Force of eight states, including Algeria, were involved. From France, three Mirages participated in the exercises, from Spain, two F-18s, and Algeria set out two Su-30 ICAs, one MiG-29 and one MiG-25. In the course of the exercise, French and Spanish planes worked out the tasks of detecting and intercepting air targets over French territory. Similar problems were solved, and the Algerian Air Force in the region of Oran.

The Algerian Air Force was created in 1962 right after the proclamation of the independence of the state. The country's air forces took little part in the 1967 and 1973 Arab-Israeli wars. Algeria bought aircraft from the Soviet Union, therefore, all combat aircraft and most helicopters of Soviet and Russian production. And now Algeria continues military-technical cooperation with Russia. Thus, a new batch of Su-30MKA multi-purpose fighters (16 units) was purchased.

The basis of the Algerian Air Force comprise: 25-27 multirole MiG-29S (according TSAMTO, delivered in early 1990- 2000-'s Belarus and Ukraine), 28 multipurpose fighters Su-30MKA, 22-24 Su (bombers and reconnaissance) 11 MiG - 25 (fighter-interceptor, reconnaissance), there are several multi-purpose fighter MiG-23. The number of air force and air defense forces - 10-14 thousand people.

That is, technically, the Algerian air forces are among the strongest on the Black Continent. In addition, there are plans to strengthen them, the Algerian military are thinking of buying the latest Russian MiG-35 and Su-35 aircraft. But their problem is a weak level of training (50 flight hours per year), which is typical of Arab countries.

The truth with the air defense situation is worse: 3 air defense artillery brigade, 3 anti-aircraft missile regiment, armed with 140 launchers S-75, C-125, Cube, Osa, Strela-1, Strela-10 ". Approximately about 200 MANPADS and 900 anti-aircraft artillery barrels. That is, the air defense of Algeria does not differ much for the better from the former defense of Libya. Of the new products, only one C-300 division (up to eight launchers), and 1-n complex is not able to cover even one major city. True, the Algerian authorities are expecting to receive a second C-300 division soon. Although this is not enough, to cover only the capital - the city of Algeria, you need at least 5 divisions. In addition, 38 units of the Pantir-S1E short-range anti-aircraft missile-cannon complex (height up to 15 km, range up to 20 km) were ordered. They are thinking about buying "Bukov", an additional batch of C-300.

Another weakness of the Algerian air defense is the lack of a unified integrated electronic warfare system (EW) with the enemy’s combat units and the electronic protection of its electronic facilities and control systems for military units and weapons.

Such exercises are beneficial for the West, they allow for a good monitoring of the combat readiness of the Armed Forces of Algeria.

And the Algerian authorities, apparently, are hoping that the holding of such military exercises will help keep the peace. Although, in itself, the fact of the maneuvers is not a guarantee of security. With the same Libya, in the 2010 year, the North Atlantic Alliance conducted the defense 5 + 5 exercises.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. подводник 9 October 2011 08: 29 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    The author wanted to say: "former air defense of LIVIA."
  2. PSih2097 9 October 2011 08: 37 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    Here I recall the case of the Varshavyanka during maneuvers in the Mediterranean Sea ...
    Such exercises are beneficial for the West, they allow for a good monitoring of the combat readiness of the Armed Forces of Algeria.

    Is Algeria waiting for the fate of Libya?
  3. подводник 9 October 2011 08: 59 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Dear PSih2097!
    And can you find out the details of the "case"?
    1. PSih2097 10 October 2011 15: 48 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      This is when the Algerian submarine surfaced where, according to the American Moreman, it should not be, namely in the AUG order ...
  4. strictly prohibited
    strictly prohibited 9 October 2011 09: 47 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Enough to whine, Enough
  5. bashkort 9 October 2011 12: 11 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    That’s enough for the neighbors, and NATO, of course, will roll out their Air Force and Air Defense in a day ...
  6. Rustam 9 October 2011 22: 51 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Algeria's Air Force is based on: 65 MiG-29SMT multi-role fighters (along with combat training)
    ______________
    the inequality is not a single MIG-29SMT as part of the Algerian air force !!! (all of them together with the training only 34 units) the first 14 units were returned to Russia, the rest arrived from the factory a moment before they had time to get to Algeria !! at the moment we entered service with our air force
    40 MI-29 units in version with
    shipments will soon begin 16-yak-130 and 18 su-30 MKA
    S-300, 2 divisions and not one
    A contract for the supply of 36 units of shell1s-5 has already been signed in Algeria
    1. Don
      Don 10 October 2011 13: 46 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Yes, not the MiG-29SMT, but the MiG-29S, which Ukraine and Belarus delivered.
  7. Anatoly
    Anatoly 10 October 2011 01: 01 New
    • -1
    • 0
    -1
    Libya is oil. And Algeria? .... I doubt that this is a suitable target for NATO.
    1. Don
      Don 10 October 2011 13: 47 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Algeria is a member of OPEC, there are significant reserves of oil and gas.
  8. Dovmont
    Dovmont 10 October 2011 16: 57 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Libya was also considered a sufficiently strong regional state - as a result, the Libyans worked for the NATO people even worse than the Serbs.

Алжир: учения с НАТО, готовность ВВС и ПВО к войне

10

Интересно, что, несмотря на обострение в 2011 году отношений с Западом и странами НАТО по поводу Ливии, алжирские власти не намерены в будущем приостанавливать своё участие в ежегодных военных учениях «Оборона 5+5» с Северо-Атлантическим Альянсом.

Так, в сентябре прошли военные маневры, в которых были задействованы Военно-воздушные силы восьми государств, в том числе и Алжира. Со стороны Франции на учениях участвовали три «Миража», со стороны Испании — два F-18, а Алжир выставил — два Су-30 МКА, один МиГ-29 и один МиГ-25. В ходе учений французские и испанские самолёты отрабатывали задачи по обнаружению и перехвату воздушных целей над французской территорией. Аналогичные задачи решали, и алжирские ВВС в районе Орана.

Алжирские ВВС были созданы в 1962 году сразу после провозглашения независимости государства. Военно-воздушные силы страны принимали незначительное участие в арабо-израильских войнах 1967 и 1973 годов. Алжир закупал авиатехнику у Советского Союза, поэтому все боевые самолёты и большинство вертолётов советского и российского производства. И в настоящее время Алжир продолжает военно-техническое сотрудничество с Россией. Так, закуплена новая партия многоцелевых истребителей Су-30МКА (16 единиц).

Основу ВВС Алжира составляют: 25-27 многоцелевых истребителей МиГ-29С (по данным ЦАМТО, поставлены в 1990- начале 2000- х годов Белоруссией и Украиной), 28 многоцелевых истребителей Су-30МКА, 22 Су-24 (фронтовых бомбардировщиков и разведчиков), 11 МиГ – 25 (истребителей-перехватчиков, разведчиков), есть несколько многоцелевых истребителей МиГ-23. Численность ВВС и войск ПВО – 10-14 тыс. человек.

То есть в техническом плане ВВС Алжира являются на Чёрном континенте одними из сильнейших. К тому же есть планы их усиления, алжирские военные подумывают о покупке новейших российских самолётов МиГ-35 и Су-35. Но их проблема – это слабый уровень подготовки (50 часов лётной подготовки в год), что характерно для арабских стран.

Правда с ПВО ситуация хуже: 3 бригады зенитной артиллерии, 3 зенитно-ракетных полка, на вооружении около 140 пусковых установок ЗРК С-75, С-125, «Куб», «Оса», «Стрела-1», «Стрела-10». Ориентировочно около 200 ПЗРК и 900 стволов зенитной артиллерии. То есть Противовоздушная оборона Алжира не отличается намного в лучшую сторону от бывшей ПВО Ливии. Из новинок только один дивизион С-300 (до восьми пусковых установок), а 1-н комплекс не способен прикрыть даже один крупный город. Правда, алжирские власти ожидают вскоре получить второй дивизион С-300. Хотя и этого мало, чтобы прикрыть только столицу – город Алжир, надо не менее 5 дивизионов. Кроме того, заказаны 38 единиц зенитного ракетно-пушечного комплекса ближнего радиуса действия Панцирь-С1Э (по высоте до 15 км, по дальности до 20 км). Подумывают и о покупке «Буков», дополнительной партии С-300.

Ещё одна слабость алжирской ПВО - отсутствие единой комплексной системы радиоэлектронной борьбы (РЭБ) с боевыми единицами противника и радиоэлектронной защите своих радиоэлектронных объектов и систем управления военными частями и оружием.

Западу выгодны подобные учения, они позволяют проводить хороший мониторинг боевой готовности Вооруженных сил Алжира.

А алжирские власти, судя по всему, надеются на то, что проведение подобных военных учений поможет сохранить мир. Хотя, сам по себе факт проведения манёвров еще не является гарантией безопасности. С той же Ливией еще в 2010 году Северо-Атлантический Альянс проводил учения «Оборона 5+5».
    Наши новостные каналы

    Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

    10 комментариев
    Информация
    Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
    1. +2
      9 октября 2011 08:29
      Автор хотел сказать:"бывшей ПВО ЛИВИИ".
    2. +3
      9 октября 2011 08:37
      Тут вспоминается случай с "Варшавянкой" на маневрах в Средиземном море...
      Западу выгодны подобные учения, они позволяют проводить хороший мониторинг боевой готовности Вооруженных сил Алжира.

      Алжир ждет судьба Ливии?
    3. +1
      9 октября 2011 08:59
      Уважаемый PSih2097!
      А можно узнать подробности "случая"?
      1. 0
        10 октября 2011 15:48
        Это когда подлодка Алжирцев всплыла там, где по мнению американцких мореманов ее быть не должно, а именно в ордере АУГ...
    4. строго запрещен
      0
      9 октября 2011 09:47
      ХВАТИТ НЫТЬ , ХВАТИТ
    5. +4
      9 октября 2011 12:11
      На соседей и этого хватит, а НАТО, конечно, раскатают их ВВС и ПВО за день...
    6. 0
      9 октября 2011 22:51
      Основу ВВС Алжира составляют: 65 многоцелевых истребителей МиГ-29СМТ (вместе с учебно-боевыми)
      __________________
      неравда ни одного МИГ-29СМТ в составе ввс Алжира нет!!!(все они вместе с учебными всего 34 единицы)возвращены в россию первые 14 единиц,остальные поступили с завода миг так и не успев попасть в Алжир!! на данный момент поступили на вооружение наших ввс
      40 единиц ми-29 в версии с
      скоро начнутся поставки 16-як-130 и 18 су-30 мка
      с-300, 2 дивизиона а не один
      подписан контракт на поставку 36 ед панцирь1с-5 уже в алжире
      1. 0
        10 октября 2011 13:46
        Да не МиГ-29СМТ,а МиГ-29С,которые Украина и Белоруссия поставили.
    7. Anatoly
      -1
      10 октября 2011 01:01
      Ливия - нефть. А Алжир?.... сомневаюсь,что это подходящая мишень для НАТО.
      1. 0
        10 октября 2011 13:47
        Алжир-страна член ОПЕК,там значительные запасы нефти и газа.
    8. Довмонт
      0
      10 октября 2011 16:57
      Ливию тоже считали достаточно сильным региональным государством - в итоге ливийцы отработали по натовцам ещё хуже сербов.

    «Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено), Кирилл Буданов (внесён в перечень террористов и экстремистов Росфинмониторинга)

    «Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев Лев; Пономарев Илья; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; Михаил Касьянов; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»