Military Review

May 21 in Russia celebrates the day of the military translator

14
Today, 21 May, Russia celebrates the Day of the military translator. This date was chosen for the holiday not by chance. 21 May 1929, Deputy Commissar for Military and Maritime Affairs and Chairman of the Soviet Union Revision Council, Joseph Unshlicht, signed a decree “On establishing the rank for the staff of the Red Army“ Military Translator ”. The order, in fact, legitimized the profession existing for many years. She was in the Russian army for many centuries. In Russia, this holiday began to celebrate the year 2000. The initiators of its establishment were the Alumni Club of the Military Institute of Foreign Languages ​​(VIIA).

May 21 Day deserves the attention of all military translators. And I must stand on a par with professional holidays of servicemen: the Day of the artilleryman, tankman, or representatives of other types of troops. The importance and relevance of the profession of a military translator should not be underestimated. They are needed by any army in the world at any time. Still would! After all, the vast majority of wars in the world stories It was conducted between countries and peoples speaking different languages!

Starting from the era of Ancient Russia, which was located at the crossroads of intercivilizational trade routes, since the organization of the campaigns of the Slavic troops to Byzantium, the Polovtsy and the Pechenegs, our Fatherland possessed enough people who knew the languages ​​and dialects of the peoples bordering on us. In the period of the formation of the Moscow state, tasks in the field of foreign policy were only complicated. The state felt the need for experienced specialists who would not only speak foreign languages, but also know the traditions, customs, customs of certain countries and peoples. History has preserved for us the name of the clerk Dmitry Gerasimov, who was fluent in German, Latin and Greek, taking part in the work of the famous Greek monk Maxim the Greek in translating sacred books into Russian. He showed himself on the diplomatic scene.

May 21 in Russia celebrates the day of the military translator


One of the first institutions in our country that was in charge of international relations was the Ambassadorial Order, which appeared in Russia in the 16 century. The staff of the Ambassadorial Order included translators. At the end of the 17 century, 17 interpreters and 22 translators were on his staff. They were engaged in a wide range of translations of both diplomatic and military nature. Until a certain point in time, this practice was uniform and had no particular differences.

The country's first educational institution, which was engaged in training military linguists, became officer courses, which were opened at the training department of Oriental languages ​​of the Asian department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The courses were open 19 Nov. 1885 of the year. Then they were taught Turkish, Arabic, Persian, Tatar and French, and in 1907, English was added to this set. Such a selection of languages ​​was not accidental. It was associated with the expansion of Russian borders (especially in Central Asia and the Far East). It is worth noting that the courses immediately became quite popular. Sometimes the competition among the officers who wanted to enroll in them reached the 10 people in place. The translating officers who completed these courses went to serve in the Caucasus and in the countries of Asia, and they also served in the territory of the newly annexed territories of the Asian military districts as officers of border guards, bailiffs, heads of counties.

Another major step, which accelerated the formation of a full-fledged personnel reserve of military translators in the country (in connection with the priority direction of the foreign policy of the Russian Empire), was the opening of the Eastern Institute in Vladivostok in 1899. Here, in compulsory French and English, the program for the training of Orientalists included the study of Japanese, Chinese, Korean and other foreign languages, depending on their choice of major specialization. In those years, special courses of foreign languages, which were organized at the headquarters of military districts, made a no less significant contribution to the language training of the personnel of the Russian army.



But the modern history of military translators in our country begins with the Order of the Revolutionary Military Council of the USSR No. 125 of 21 in May 1929 of the year. In addition to the appearance of military translators in the Red Army, this order stipulated the creation in the Soviet Union of a special system for training military linguists. The training of military translators was largely due to the increasing international tension at that time. The training was not in vain. In the years of the Great Patriotic War, a very heavy workload fell on military translators. Specialists of this military profession have participated in all subsequent wars and conflicts that our country has waged, including in recent years.

Nowadays, a military translator is a sought-after and difficult profession. Since, in addition to fluency in a foreign language, it presupposes the presence of deep operational-tactical knowledge, the ability to analyze the evolving situation and draw sound and correct conclusions. Only if these conditions are met can a military translator be able to effectively solve his immediate tasks and conduct interrogation of prisoners of war. In addition, personnel military translators are assigned the task of translating and reading various trophy documents — workers and reporting cards, summaries, orders, orders, soldier’s books and letters from soldiers, as well as various instructions.

Currently, military translators are trained by the Military Institute of Foreign Languages ​​(VIIA), which today is part of the staff structure of the Military University of the Ministry of Defense (VU MO) as faculties.

Based on materials from open sources
Author:
14 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. aszzz888
    aszzz888 21 May 2015 07: 00
    +7
    "And if the translator is a lady,
    Yes, not bad, let's say directly!
    Then write - horrible! "

    Happy holiday of military translators!
  2. uizik
    uizik 21 May 2015 07: 58
    +4
    Very necessary. Praise and honor to them!
  3. Eugene
    Eugene 21 May 2015 08: 02
    +4
    Happy holiday, linguists. My mother was a translator, at the command office of the city of Koenigsbruck (GSVG). She told interesting things. And yet. I recommend the film-Russian translation. 8 episodes. Educational film, in the subject. Happy holiday!
    1. Starover_Z
      Starover_Z 21 May 2015 22: 23
      +1
      Quote: eugene
      I recommend the film-Russian translation. 8 episodes. An educational film, in the subject.

      The film is good, but the book is much stronger. Still, the author, Andrei Bakonin (Konstantinov) is a military translator by training himself and has been on business trips abroad by profession.
      He can be said to reveal the essence of the modern military translator, whose business is not only to deal with simple translations, but also to know the countries, the customs of peoples, their life. To help our military experts in their work abroad, to avoid conflicts in foreign countries and to establish friendly relations!
      Happy holiday, comrades Translators! And good luck in your field !!!
      1. Aleksandr72
        Aleksandr72 22 May 2015 09: 14
        0
        The film is strong, with a well-chosen cast. The book is also very good, unless you remember that this is just the first volume from the cycle of books "Gangster Petersburg", where each subsequent book is worse than the previous one and all together is much worse than the first - about a military translator who later became a journalist. Even before Konstantinov's book, I read a documentary book - the memoirs of a military translator from among the foreign language students sent for an internship. True, this one first ended up in Syria, and then in Ethiopia, but everything is very similar, the same problems, the same simple joys and even the nickname of the advisers is the same - habirs, but there is no excess a little implausible action. Unfortunately, I don't remember the title of the book.
        All military translators - with their professional holiday and a wish to better learn English, especially in combination with Amer army jargon. Time is such that this knowledge can be useful in practice at any time. Well, you understand why wink
  4. Gypsy girl
    Gypsy girl 21 May 2015 09: 51
    +2
    Congratulations on the holiday!
  5. maai
    maai 21 May 2015 10: 16
    +2
    People who know more than one language professionally deserve respect. And good translators are generally a special alloy of skills and qualities.
    Congratulations on the day of the military translator !!! love
  6. yurgis68
    yurgis68 21 May 2015 11: 25
    +1
    A very necessary and heroic profession without exaggeration, the word is a strong weapon. Honor and praise to you military translators are people of word and deed. Happy Holidays and success in your difficult but very necessary work !!! (The film "Russian translation" is my favorite film, but the book is better soldier )
  7. 16112014nk
    16112014nk 21 May 2015 12: 40
    +1
    It’s good to be a military translator in Russia! Igor Ivanovich Sechin can tell you about this and confirm his son Ivan Igorevich Sechin.
  8. Aleks tv
    Aleks tv 21 May 2015 13: 14
    +1
    My congratulations to the polyglot.
    I myself am in a foreign ... well, I remember the interrogation of a prisoner of war, and FSE ...)))
    laughing

    In general, then:
    Let the bourgeoisie teach Russian, it will be easier for them in captivity!
    And then they don’t shoot either cigarettes or ask for a bread really, heartfelt.
    yes

    And inscriptions in Europe are best done just in case in Russian, so as not to rewrite later.

    But seriously - respect for the masters of the language.
    drinks
  9. Thomas
    Thomas 21 May 2015 13: 54
    +2
    Happy Holidays!
    For mutual understanding with our Western "partners"!
  10. 54RG3
    54RG3 21 May 2015 20: 24
    0
    Congratulations to all my colleagues!

    Well, and a professional joke

    Interrogation of a prisoner of war.
    -What yz yer name?
    -John Smith
    (Punch in the teeth with a fist, bloodthirsty everywhere)
    -Watiz yer name? !!
    -John Smith
    (Once again, from shoulder to teeth - on! Teeth, drooling, bloodsucking fly right up to the wall)
    - WAT YZ YOR NAME, damn it? !!!!
    - (all tears, bloodshots and snot) My name is John Smith (sob-sob)
    The officer comes in:
    -What's going on here?
    - Comrade Lieutenant Colonel, he pissed me off - I ask him for the third time "How many tanks do you have", but he does not admit
  11. Oman 47
    Oman 47 21 May 2015 21: 01
    +1
    Gentlemen translators, happy holiday!
    When he served, the head of the RO had a decent knowledge and use of 6 (six) languages, of which 5 were complex eastern
    - Farsi, Pashto, Dari, Urdu, Chinese.
    Thanks to their appearance, everyone recognized for theirs, okromyu Chinese.
    Not everyone is given such a talent.
  12. Oman 47
    Oman 47 22 May 2015 01: 41
    0
    We must congratulate Zhirik - he is from the cohort of translators.

21 мая в России отмечается день военного переводчика

Сегодня, 21 мая, в России отмечается День военного переводчика. Данная дата была выбрана для праздника не случайно. 21 мая 1929 года заместитель наркома по военным и морским делам и председатель РВС Советского Союза Иосиф Уншлихт подписал указ «Об установлении звания для начсостава РККА «Военный переводчик». Приказ, по сути, узаконил существующую долгие годы профессию. Она была в русской армии уже на протяжении многих столетий. В России данный праздник начали отмечать с 2000 года. Инициаторами его установления выступил Клуб выпускников Военного института иностранных языков (ВИИЯ).

День 21 мая заслуживает внимания всех военных переводчиков. И должен встать в один ряд с профессиональными праздниками военнослужащих: Днем артиллериста, танкиста или представителей иных родов войск. Важность и восстребованность профессии военного переводчика не стоит недооценивать. Они нужны любой армии мира и в любое время. Еще бы! Ведь подавляющее большинство войн в мировой истории велось между странами и народами, говорившими на разных языках!

Начиная еще с эпохи Древней Руси, которая располагалась на перекрестке межцивилизационных торговых путей, со времен организации походов славянских дружин на Византию, половцев и печенегов, наше Отечество в достаточном количестве обладало людьми, которые владели языками и диалектами приграничных к нам народов. В период становления Московского государства задачи в области внешней политики только усложнялись. Государство испытывало потребность в опытных специалистах, которые не только владели бы иностранными языками, но и знали традиции, обычаи, нравы тех или иных стран и народов. История сохранила для нас имя дьяка Дмитрия Герасимова, который свободно владел немецким, латинским и греческим языками, принимая участие в работе известного греческого монаха Максима Грека по переводу священных книг на русский язык. Проявил он себя и на дипломатической сцене.


21 мая в России отмечается день военного переводчика


Одним из первых в нашей стране учреждений, которое ведало бы международными отношениями, стал Посольский приказ, который появился в России в 16 веке. В штат Посольского приказа были включены и переводчики. В конце 17-го века в его штате находилось 17 устных и 22 письменных переводчика. Они занимались широкой номенклатурой переводов как дипломатического, так и военного характера. До определенного момента времени такая практика была единой и не имела особых отличий.

Первым в стране учебным заведением, которое занималось подготовкой военных лингвистов, стали офицерские курсы, которые открыли при учебном отделении восточных языков Азиатского департамента МИДа. Курсы были открыты 19 ноября 1885 года. Тогда на них преподавали турецкий, арабский, персидский, татарский и французский языки, в 1907 году к этому набору добавили и английский. Такой подбор языков был не случаен. Он был связан с расширением российских границ (особенно в Средней Азии и на Дальнем Востоке). Стоит отметить, что курсы сразу же стали довольно популярными. Иногда конкурс среди офицеров, которые желали на них поступить, доходил до 10 человек на место. Прошедшие обучение на этих курсах офицеры-переводчики отправлялись для несения службы на Кавказ и в страны Азии, также они несли службу на территории вновь присоединенных территорий азиатских военных округов в качестве офицеров пограничной стражи, приставов, начальников уездов.

Еще одним большим шагом, который ускорил формирование в стране полноценного кадрового резерва военных переводчиков (в связи с приоритетным направлением внешней политики Российской империи), стало открытие в 1899 году Восточного института во Владивостоке. Здесь поимо обязательных французского и английского языков программа подготовки востоковедов предусматривала изучение японского, китайского, корейского и других иностранных языков, в зависимости от выбора ими основной специализации. В те годы не менее весомый вклад в языковую подготовку личного состава русской армии вносили и специальные курсы иностранных языков, которые были организованы при штабах военных округов.

21 мая в России отмечается день военного переводчика


А вот современная история военных переводчиков в нашей стране начинается как раз с Приказа Реввоенсовета СССР за №125 от 21 мая 1929 года. Помимо появления в составе РККА военных переводчиков данный приказ обуславливал создание в Советском Союзе специальной системы подготовки военных-лингвистов. Подготовка военных переводчиков во многом была обусловлена усиливающимся на тот момент международным напряжением. Подготовка специалистов оказалась ненапрасной. В годы Великой Отечественной войны на военных переводчиков лег очень большой груз работы. Специалисты данной военной профессии принимали участие и во всех последующих войнах и конфликтах, которые вела наша страна, в том числе и в последние годы.

В наши дни военный переводчик — это востребованная и непростая профессия. Так как помимо свободного владения иностранным языком она предполагает наличие глубоких знаний оперативно-тактического характера, умения анализировать складывающуюся обстановку и делать обоснованные и правильные выводы. Только при соблюдении этих условий военный переводчик сможет эффективно решать свои непосредственные задачи и вести допрос военнопленных. К тому же на кадровых военных переводчиков возлагается задача по переводу и чтению различных трофейных документов — рабочих и отчетных карт, сводок, приказов, распоряжений, солдатских книжек и писем солдат, а также разнообразных инструкций.

В настоящее время военных переводчиков готовит Военный институт иностранных языков (ВИИЯ), который сегодня входит в штатную структуру Военного университета министерства обороны (ВУ МО) на правах факультетов.

По материалам из открытых источников
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 14
  1. a.s.zzz888 21 мая 2015 07:00
    " А если переводчик дама,
    Да не плохая скажем прямо!
    Тогда пиши - попало!"

    С праздником военных переводчиков!
  2. uizik 21 мая 2015 07:58
    Очень нужные.хвала и честь им!
  3. евген 21 мая 2015 08:02
    С праздником,лингвисты.У меня мать была переводчиком,при комендатуре г.Кенигсбрюк(ГСВГ).Интересные вещи рассказывала.И еще.Всем рекомендую фильм-Русский перевод.8 серий.Познавательный фильм,в тему.С праздником!
    1. Starover_Z 21 мая 2015 22:23
      Цитата: евген
      рекомендую фильм-Русский перевод.8 серий.Познавательный фильм,в тему.

      Фильм хороший, но книга намного сильнее. Всё-таки автор, Андрей Баконин (Константинов) сам военный переводчик по образованию и бывал в заграничных командировках по специальности.
      Он можно сказать раскрыл суть современного военного переводчика, дело которого не только заниматься простыми переводами, но и знать страны, обычаи народов, их жизнь. Чтобы помогать нашим военспецам в их работе за рубежом, избегать конфликтов в чуждых странах и налаживать дружеские отношения !
      С праздником, товарищи Переводчики ! И удачи Вам на вашем поприще !!!
      1. Александр72 22 мая 2015 09:14
        Фильм - сильный, с хорошо подобранным актерским составом. Книга тоже очень хороша, если только не вспомнить о том, что это всего лишь первый том из цикла книг "Бандитский Петербург", где каждая последующая книга хуже предыдущей и все вместе гораздо хуже первой - о военном переводчике, ставшем впоследствии журналистом. Еще до книги Константинова читал документальную книгу - воспоминания военного переводчика из числа студентов иняза, отправленных на стажировку. Правда этот сначала угодил в Сирию, а затем в Эфиопию, а так все очень похоже, те же проблемы, те же нехитрые радости и даже прозвище у советников такое же - хабиры, но нет избытка малость неправдоподобного экшена. Название книги к сожалению не помню.
        Всех военных переводчиков - с их профессиональным праздником и пожелание получше учить английский, в особенности в сочетании с амерским армейским жаргоном. Время такое, что эти знания могут пригодится на практике в любой момент. Ну вы поняли для чего wink
  4. Цыганочка 21 мая 2015 09:51
    Мои поздравления с праздником!
  5. maai 21 мая 2015 10:16
    Люди профессионально знающие не один язык - достойны уважения. А хорошие переводчики, - это вообще особый сплав навыков и качеств.
    Поздравляю с днем военного переводчика!!! love
  6. yurgis68 21 мая 2015 11:25
    Очень нужная и героическая без преувеличения профессия,слово сильное оружие.Честь и хвала Вам военные переводчики- люди слова и дела. С Праздником и успеха в вашем нелегком но очень нужном труде!!! (Фильм "Русский перевод" мой любимый фильм,но книга лучше soldier )
  7. 16112014nk 21 мая 2015 12:40
    Хорошо быть в России военным переводчиком! Про это вам может рассказать Игорь Иванович Сечин и подтвердить его сын Иван Игоревич Сечин.
  8. Aleks тв 21 мая 2015 13:14
    Мои поздравления полиглотам.
    Сам то я в иностранном...ну допрос военнопленного помню, и фсе...)))
    laughing

    А вообще то:
    Пусть буржуины русский учат, им же легче в плену то будет !
    А то ни сигареты стрельнуть, ни хлебца попросить толком не шмогут, сердешные.
    yes

    И надписи в европе лучше делать на всякий случай на русском, чтоб не переписывать потом.

    А если серьезно - уважение мастерам языка.
    drinks
  9. Фома 21 мая 2015 13:54
    С праздником!
    За взаимопонимание с нашими западными "партнерами"!
  10. 54RG3 21 мая 2015 20:24
    Поздравляю всех коллег!

    Ну, и профессиональный анекдот

    Допрос военнопленного.
    -Уот ыз ёр нэйм?
    -John Smith
    (Удар с размаху кулаком в зубы, кровища везде)
    -Уотыз ёр нэйм?!!
    -John Smith
    (Еще раз от плеча в зубы - на! Зубы, слюни, кровища долетают аж до стены)
    - УОТ ЫЗ ЁР НЭЙМ, блин?!!!!
    - (весь слезах, кровище и соплях) My name is John Smith (хнык-хнык)
    Входит офицер:
    -Что тут происходит?
    - Товарищ подполковник, он меня задолбал - я его третий раз спрашиваю "Сколько у вас танков", а он не признается
  11. Оман 47 21 мая 2015 21:01
    Господа переводчики, с праздником!
    Когда служил, у нас начальник РО прилично знал и использовал 6 (шесть) языков, из которых 5 - сложные восточные
    - фарси, пушту, дари,урду, китайский.
    Благодаря внешности все признавали за своего, окромя китайцев.
    Не всем дан такой талант.
  12. Оман 47 22 мая 2015 01:41
    Надо Жирика поздравить - он из когорты переводяг.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня