Unusual tanks of Russia and the USSR. BT IS 1936 year

Tanks BT series, built in series in the 30s of the last century, as you know, were designed on the basis of the Christie 1930 machine by the American engineer Walter Christie, acquired by the USSR, since the domestic production of tanks in our country was at a rather low level in these years compared with global manufacturers such as England, France and the United States of America. Having high speed characteristics, this tank successfully fit into the military doctrine of a deep breakthrough that prevailed at that time in the country's top military leadership.


As sang in one of the songs of the time:
"And in enemy land, we will crush the enemy
Little blood, a mighty blow ... "


We must pay tribute to the engineer Walter Christie, his tank turned out really fast, but he could develop high speed only on roads and solid ground, but the fighting, as a rule, is not carried out on the roads. In the event of a deeply echeloned enemy defense, with a firmly and well-established enemy, before the attack of the main units, artillery preparation is usually carried out, which turns the area into a "lunar surface", and in such a "landscape design" tank formations with the support of infantry had to go into the breakthrough. This is where the advantage of BT tanks, which seemed to give them high speed and maneuverability, was kept to a minimum. As a light infantry support tank, he could not perform such tasks. This did not suit many military engineers and designers. It was necessary to develop and create not only a high-speed and maneuverable tank, but also having high maneuverability. One of such tanks was designed by a talented self-taught engineer, military technician 2-rank N.F. Tsyganov was to become a BT-IS tank (IS-Joseph Stalin).

Work on the creation of this tank began at the end of 1935, a group of engineers led by N.F. Tsyganov, on behalf of the commander of the UVO I.E. Yakira As a result of painstaking and hard work, in April 1935, drawings of the new machine, BT-2 IC, as well as its model on the scale of 1: 5, were developed. According to calculations N.F. The Gypsy tank had to reach a speed of more than 100 km / h. It was incredible for that time, to have a small (not more than 6 meters) turning radius and a smooth ride. The main changes affected the chassis and armor booking, the weapons were planned to remain the same. The main feature of the car was equipping with three pairs of leading rollers, new driving wheels of the tracked propulsion unit and completely modified suspension elements. It is also worth mentioning the installation of additional fuel tanks on the tank, which significantly increased the power reserve. In the summer of 1936, the testing of the new machine began, where it showed excellent results and surpassed serial samples by five (!) Times. People's Commissar of Defense K.E. Voroshilov ordered the continuation of work on the project BT-2 IS. However, the leadership of the Kharkov Locomotive Plant, where the project was carried out, sabotaged its progress in every possible way, and soon all work on it was stopped.

Unusual tanks of Russia and the USSR. BT IS 1936 year

N.F. Tsyganov far left, while working on the project



BT-2 IC during testing


But soon N.F. Tsyganov returned to the idea of ​​increasing the maneuverability of the BT series of tanks, and at the beginning of 1936, work began on a new project, BT-5 IS. As part of this project, it was planned to change the undercarriage of the new BT-5 tank, as well as the BT-2 IS, to equip it with three pairs of driving wheels for better maneuverability, increase the power reserve by installing an additional fuel tank in the rear part of the vehicle and Increase body bookings. What was done by the fall of 1936, all on the same KhPZ. On tests, the car developed the speed of 80 km per hour on wheels on hard ground, easily overcome lifting more than 23 °, the estimated cruising range, thanks to additional tanks of more than 600 liters, was 260 and 450 km with tracked and wheeled movement, respectively.


Transmission scheme BT-5 IC

But again, the internal intrigues and the reluctance of the KhPZ management to improve the production tanks led to the fact that the BT-5 project did not receive IP further development. N.F. Tsyganov wrote a letter in which he described the situation around his project, here are a few lines of it: “The pest Firsov, the former head of the design bureau at the KhPZ plant, where it was transferred by the pest Neiman, the former chief of Spetsmashrestt, at the plant number 48 (Kharkov ) where those. the director was the Simsky pest-fascist, who dragged fascist Gakkel to plant No. 48 and put him in charge of the production of BT-IS. ... Farmanyants - Deputy Head of 8 th Chapter. Exercise NKOP tried to disrupt the release of BT-IS ". After this letter, work on the project was continued, and by the end of 1936 of the year, 10 BT-IS machines were manufactured on the basis of the BT light tank. In March, the 1937 of the year, the vehicles entered military tests, during which more than 1500 km was completed, and here the BT-5 IS tank showed good results. The machine remained mobile even if one of the tracks was damaged and two rollers were lost.


BT-5 IC during testing


According to the commission, which monitored the test, the BT-5 IS tank should be put into service. G.G. Bokis, at that time the head of the ABTU RKKA, issued an order: "... I order the Kharkov Steam Building Plant to manufacture five cars during the 1937 year, to eliminate the deficiencies identified during the military tests for further launching into mass production." Work was also carried out to install an improved chassis on the new BT-7 tank, but at the beginning of the 1938 year, N.F. Tsyganov was arrested, and all work on the project was curtailed.
Author:
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vadivak 13 October 2011 10: 40 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Through the article, the theme of sabotage of the plant’s management goes through a red thread, but it seems that Tsygankov disappeared

    internal intrigues and unwillingness of the KhPZ management to improve serial tanks

    N.F. Tsyganov wrote a letter and not to anyone else as indicated in the pack, but to Voroshilov personally, and it was called "On pests in the manufacture of BT-IS," sent October 28, 1937

    “The pest Firsov, the former head of the design bureau at the KhPZ plant, where it was transferred by the pest Neiman, the former head of Spetsmastrest, at the factory number 48 (Kharkov), where those. The director was the wrecker-fascist Simsky, who dragged the fascist Gakkel to plant No. 48 and placed him at the head of BT-IS production. ... Farmanyants - Deputy Head of the 8th Ch. Control NKOP tried to disrupt the release of BT-IS "

    there isn’t enough ending of the letter- Deputy. Chief of the 8th Ch..Upr.NKOP - tried to disrupt the release of BT-IS. Your intervention is needed. "

    However, the leadership of the Kharkov Locomotive Plant, where the project was being implemented, sabotaged its progress in every way, and soon all work on it was stopped.

    About the machine as such, you can add
    With the loss of the track of one of the sides, the car could continue moving to the other - at a speed of up to 17 km / h and a distance of up to 190 km.
    Tests of the machine with shelling and mine blasting showed that, with partial destruction of the chassis, the BT-5-IS tank remains mobile, in order to protect the chassis units and the additional transmission from being hit by armor-piercing bullets of DT and DK machine guns, as well as from shelling small-caliber guns introduce armored caps on the hubs of all wheels, and armor plates on the outer disks of the steered and drive wheels. A successful decision to increase the protection of the tank due to the rational tilt of the armor plates formed the basis not only leduyuschego created on the base of the tank BT-7 Tsyganov experienced tank (BT-SV), but also tactical and technical requirements for the development of job UMM new light tank BT-20, who appeared a prototype of the legendary "Thirty"
    1. Net
      Net 13 October 2011 16: 10 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      This is by the way the question of the number of pests at that time. How so, if the People’s Commissar of Defense Kliment Voroshilov gives a direct order, and the KhPZ leadership explicitly sabotages him. And they plant after that - the designer of the machine.

Необычные танки Росcии и СССР. БТ-ИС 1936 год

Танки серии БТ, строившиеся серийно в 30-х годах прошлого века, как известно, были спроектированы на основе машины «Christie 1930» американского инженера Уолтера Кристи, приобретенной СССР, так как собственное производство танков в нашей стране в эти годы находилось на довольно низком уровне по сравнению с мировыми производителями, такими как Англия, Франция и Соединённые Штаты Америки. Имея высокие скоростные характеристики, этот танк удачно вписывался в военную доктрину глубокого прорыва, преобладавшую в то время в высшем военном руководстве страны.

Как пелось в одной из песен того времени:
«И на вражьей земле мы врага разгромим
Малой кровью, могучим ударом…»



Надо Надо отдать должное инженеру Уолтеру Кристи, его танк получился действительно быстроходным, но высокую скорость он мог развивать лишь по дорогам и твердому грунту, однако боевые действия, как правило, ведутся не на дорогах. При прорыве глубоко эшелонированной неприятельской обороны, с прочно и грамотно укрепившимся противником, перед атакой основных частей обычно проводится артподготовка, которая превращает местность в подобие «лунной поверхности», и по такому «ландшафтному дизайну» танковые соединения при поддержке пехоты должны были идти в прорыв. Вот тут преимущество танков БТ, которое, казалось бы, давала им высокая скорость и маневренность, сводилось к минимуму. Как лёгкий танк поддержки пехоты, он никак не мог выполнять такие задачи. Это не устраивало многих военных инженеров и конструкторов. Нужно было разработать и создать не только быстроходный и маневренный танк, но и обладающий высокой проходимостью. Одним из таких танков по замыслу талантливого инженера-самоучки, воентехника 2-го ранга Н.Ф. Цыганова должен был стать танк БТ-ИС (ИС-Иосиф Сталин).

Работы по созданию этого танка начались в конце 1935 года группой инженеров под руководством Н.Ф. Цыганова, по поручению командующего УВО И.Э. Якира. В результате кропотливого и напряженного труда в апреле 1935 года были разработаны чертежи новой машины, БТ-2 ИС, а также её модель в масштабе 1:5. По расчетам Н.Ф. Цыганова танк должен был развивать скорость более 100 км/ч., это было невероятным для того времени, иметь небольшой (не более 6 метров) радиус поворота и плавный ход. Основные изменения коснулись ходовой части машины и бронирования корпуса, вооружение планировалось оставить прежним. Главной особенностью машины было оснащение тремя парами ведущих катков, новыми ведущими колёсами гусеничного движителя и полностью изменёнными элементами подвески. Также стоит упомянуть об установке на танк дополнительных топливных баков, что существенно увеличивало запас хода. Летом 1936 года начались испытания новой машины, где она показала отличные результаты и превзошла по проходимости серийные образцы в пять(!) раз. Нарком обороны К.Е. Ворошилов отдал приказ о продолжении работ по проекту БТ-2 ИС. Однако руководство Харьковского паровозостроительного завода, на котором осуществлялся проект, всячески саботировало его продвижение, и вскоре все работы по нему были прекращены.

Необычные танки Росcии и СССР. БТ-ИС 1936 год

Н.Ф. Цыганов крайний слева, во время работ над проектом


Необычные танки Росcии и СССР. БТ-ИС 1936 год
Необычные танки Росcии и СССР. БТ-ИС 1936 год

БТ-2 ИС во время испытаний


Но вскоре Н.Ф. Цыганов вернулся к идее увеличения проходимости танков серии БТ, и в начале 1936 года начались работы над новым проектом БТ-5 ИС. В рамках этого проекта планировалось изменить ходовую часть поступившего на вооружение нового танка БТ-5, так же, как и БТ-2 ИС, оснастить его тремя парами ведущих колес для повышения проходимости, увеличить запас хода путём установки дополнительного топливного бака в кормовой части машины и увеличить бронирование корпуса. Что и было сделано уже к осени 1936 года всё на том же ХПЗ. На испытаниях машина развивала скорость 80 км в час на колёсах по твердому грунту, с лёгкостью преодолевала подъём более 23°, расчетный запас хода, благодаря дополнительным бакам объёмом более 600 литров, составил 260 и 450 км при гусеничном и колесном движении соответственно.

Необычные танки Росcии и СССР. БТ-ИС 1936 год
Необычные танки Росcии и СССР. БТ-ИС 1936 год

Схема трансмиссии БТ-5 ИС

Но опять-таки внутренние интриги и нежелание руководства ХПЗ заниматься усовершенствованием серийных танков привели к тому, что дальнейшего развития проект БТ-5 ИС не получил. Н.Ф. Цыгановым было написано письмо, в котором он описывал ситуацию, сложившуюся вокруг его проекта, вот несколько строк из него: «Вредителя Фирсова, бывшего начальника КБ на заводе ХПЗ, куда оно было передано вредителем Нейманом, бывшим начальником Спецмаштреста, на заводе № 48 (Харьков), где тех. директором был вредитель-фашист Симский, который перетащил на завод № 48 фашиста Гаккеля и поставил его во главе производства БТ-ИС. …Фарманьянц - Замначальника 8-го Гл. Упр. НКОП пытался сорвать выпуск БТ-ИС». После этого письма работы над проектом были продолжены, и к концу 1936 года было изготовлено 10 машин БТ-ИС на базе лёгкого танка БТ. В марте 1937 года машины вышли на войсковые испытания, в ходе которых было пройдено более 1500 км, и здесь танк БТ-5 ИС показал неплохие результаты. Машина сохраняла подвижность даже при повреждении одной из гусениц и потере двух катков.

Необычные танки Росcии и СССР. БТ-ИС 1936 год
Необычные танки Росcии и СССР. БТ-ИС 1936 год
Необычные танки Росcии и СССР. БТ-ИС 1936 год

БТ-5 ИС во время испытаний


По мнению комиссии, следившей за ходом испытаний, танк БТ-5 ИС должен быть принят на вооружение. Г.Г. Бокисом, в то время начальником АБТУ РККА, было отдано распоряжение: «… приказываю, Харьковскому паравозостроительному заводу изготовить пять машин в течение 1937 года, устранить выявленные в ходе войсковых испытаний недостатки для дальнейшей возможности запуска в серийное производство». Также проводились работы по установке усовершенствованной ходовой части на новый танк БТ-7, но в начале 1938 года Н.Ф. Цыганов был арестован, и все работы в над проектом были свёрнуты.
Автор: Макс Беляев


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 2
  1. Vadivak 13 октября 2011 10:40
    Через статью красной нитью проходит тема саботажа руководства завода , но сгинул похоже именно Цыганков

    внутренние интриги и нежелание руководства ХПЗ заниматься совершенствованием серийных танков

    Н.Ф. Цыгановым было написано письмо и не кому нибудь как не указывается в стаье а лично Ворошилову и называлось оно «О вредителях при изготовлении БТ-ИС», отправлено 28 октября 1937

    «Вредителя Фирсова, бывшего начальника КБ на заводе ХПЗ, куда оно было передано вредителем Нейманом, бывшим начальником Спецмаштреста, на заводе № 48 (Харьков), где тех. директором был вредитель-фашист Симский, который перетащил на завод № 48 фашиста Гаккеля и поставил его во главе производства БТ-ИС. …Фарманьянц - Замначальника 8-го Гл. Упр. НКОП пытался сорвать выпуск БТ-ИС»

    тут не хватает оконцовки письма- Зам. начальника 8-го Гл.Упр.НКОП — пытался сорвать выпуск БТ-ИС. Необходимо ваше вмешательство»

    Однако руководство Харьковского паровозостроительного завода, на котором осуществлялся проект, всячески саботировало его продвижение, и вскоре все работы по нему были прекращены.

    О машине как таковой можно добавить,
    При потере гусеницы одного из бортов машина могла продолжать движение на другой — со скоростью до 17 км/ч и на расстояние до 190 км.
    Испытания машины обстрелом и подрывом на мине показали, что при частичном разрушении ходовой части танк БТ-5-ИС сохраняет подвижность, для защиты узлов ходовой части и дополнительной трансмиссии от поражения бронебойными пулями пулеметов ДТ и ДК, а также от поражения снарядами пушек малого калибра необходимо на ступицы всех колес ввести броневые колпаки, а на наружные диски управляемых и ведущих колес — броневые накладки.Удачное решение повышения защищенности танка за счет рационального наклона броневых листов легло в основу не только следующего созданного на базе танка БТ-7 Цыгановым опытного танка (БТ-СВ), но и тактико-технических требований на разработку по заданию УММ нового легкого танка БТ-20, явившегося прообразом легендарной «тридцатьчетверки"
    1. Netto 13 октября 2011 16:10
      Это кстати к вопросу о количестве вредителей в то время. Как так, если нарком обороны Климент Ворошилов дает прямой приказ, а руководство ХПЗ его явным образом саботирует. И садят после этого - конструктора машины.
      Netto

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня