For US soldiers, war turns into entertainment.

For US soldiers, war turns into entertainment.


Maximum distance from the enemy (the UAV operator and the enemy is thousands of kilometers apart), a continuous “video game” in virtual reality can cause a serious psychological disturbance, which completely changed the modern look of the war.


The American military no longer distinguishes war from entertainment. Any American soldier can, by pressing the buttons on the control panel of modern high-tech weapons, destroy the Taliban. After this combat duty, the military rest, and then again continue their game with a joystick, killing the enemy in video games this time.

Tyler Sandusky, an 21-year-old American soldier, is already a veteran of the Afghan war. When patrolling the northeastern province of Kunar, Tyler sometimes has to destroy targets located at a considerable distance using the joystick and the CROWS remote module screen with an 12,7 caliber machine gun. “It's pretty funny to watch the Taliban. They are far from you and do not suspect that you are watching them, ”says the soldier. “It feels like video games: you just press a button and the enemy is destroyed.”

Indeed, it’s very similar: the CROWS operator is protected by vehicle armor, the image is displayed on the monitor of the imager both day and night is the same, and the shooting process even up to 2 km is an elementary alignment of the intersection of the sight on the screen and a simple button click on the joystick. As the servicemen expressed, such combat missions are practically the same as the computer shooters before the end of the barracks.

Professor Dean-Peter Baker of the US Navy Academy says that this similarity is not accidental. Manufacturers of modern weapons with might and main use "generation of gamers". But there is also the other side of the medal: remote-controlled CROWS installations and armor significantly increase the soldier’s degree of protection: he no longer needs to lean out of the car and shoot a machine gun when bullets whistle around his head. As a result of such a war, the so-called dehumanization of the enemy occurs: the figures on the CROWS monitor are not perceived as living people. Soldiers have no sense of danger; they cannot see pain, blood, or hear the cries of the dying.

For the operator "CROWS" - only on the screen all the death and pain

The morale of the soldiers plays an ever smaller role in such a “war of gamers”, and the majority of servicemen do not experience any emotional turmoil from participating in the remote destruction of the enemy. This is good, on the one hand, because it reduces the severity and quantity of post-traumatic syndrome, which is associated with contact with death. Although, on the other hand, there is a steady decline in the bar for the use of force. Now a large number of unmanned bombers are completely safe for operators to make daily flights over enemy territories, causing a huge number of civilian casualties. The UN has already expressed some concern that such attacks by UAVs in Pakistan and Afghanistan violate international laws on the use of the death penalty without trial. Such a practice might have been previously described as a usual reprisal, but the highest accuracy of air strikes inflicted and the direct participation of a human operator make it difficult to give a legal definition of such practice.

Psychological changes in the state of military personnel cause apprehensions and, in fact, are signs of new, remote wars. In Afghanistan today, two completely different forces have clashed: US Army soldiers who are “playing war” and the Taliban. They, in turn, sacrifice themselves and see death not through camera lenses.

The war in the XXI century has not become more humane, just the soldiers have moved away from its most unattractive manifestations. Although American officers believe that this is only for the benefit, since the experience of all previous wars shows that terrible atrocities occur when confronting the warring parties. This is evident both in relation to each other, and to the civilian population. But still, the officers came to the conclusion that the "video walks" of the soldiers do not cause rejection, and today it is easy for them to start a war. You are safe behind a video monitor, and after such a “work shift” you can safely relax in a circle of relatives or friends.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Для солдат США война превращается в развлечение

Для солдат США война превращается в развлечение


Максимальная удаленность от врага (оператора БПЛА от противника отделяют тысячи километров), непрерывная «видеоигра» в виртуальной реальности могут вызывать серьезное психологическое нарушение, которое полностью поменяло современный облик войны.


Американские военные уже не отличают войну от развлечения. Любой американский солдат может, нажимая кнопки на пульте управления современного высокотехнологичного вооружения, уничтожать талибов. После этого боевого дежурства военные отдыхают, а затем снова продолжают свою игру при помощи джойстика, убивая на этот раз неприятеля в видеоиграх.

Тайлер Сандаски, 21-летний американский солдат, уже ветеран афганской войны. При патрулировании северо-восточной провинции Кунар Тайлеру приходится иногда уничтожать цели, расположенные на значительном удалении, при помощи джойстика и экрана дистанционного модуля «CROWS» с пулеметом калибра 12,7 мм. «Довольно таки забавно вести наблюдение за талибами. Они от вас далеко и не подозревают, что вы наблюдаете за ними, – рассказывает солдат. – Такие ощущения, как и в видеоиграх: вы только нажимаете на кнопку, и враг уничтожен».

Действительно, очень похоже: оператор «CROWS» защищен броней транспортного средства, на мониторе тепловизора отображается картинка, и днем, и ночью одинаковая, а процесс стрельбы даже до 2 км представляет из себя элементарное совмещение перекрестка прицела на экране и простое нажатие кнопки на джойстике. Как высказались военнослужащие, подобные боевые задания ничем практически не отличаются от компьютерных стрелялок перед отбоем в казарме.

Профессор Дин-Питер Бейкер из Академии ВМС США рассказывает, что подобное сходство связано с этим не случайно. Производители современного оружия вовсю используют «поколение геймеров». Но существует и обратная сторона медали: управляемые дистанционно установки «CROWS» и броня значительно увеличивают степень защиты солдата: ему уже нет необходимости высовываться из машины и стрелять из пулемета, когда возле головы свистят пули. В результате такой войны происходит так называемая дегуманизация противника: фигуры на мониторе «CROWS» как живые люди не воспринимаются. У солдат нет чувства опасности, они не могут видеть боль, кровь, не слышат крики умирающих.

Для оператора «CROWS» – только на экране вся смерть и боль

Все меньшую роль в подобной «войне геймеров» играет моральный дух солдат, а большинство военнослужащих никаких эмоциональных потрясений от участия в дистанционном уничтожении противника не испытывают. Это хорошо, с одной стороны, потому, что понижает тяжесть и количество посттравматического синдрома, который связан с соприкосновением со смертью. Хотя, с другой стороны, идет неуклонное снижение планки для применения силы. Сейчас большое количество беспилотных бомбардировщиков совершенно без риска для операторов совершают ежедневные полеты над вражескими территориями, вызывая при этом огромное количество жертв среди мирного населения. ООН уже выразила определенную озабоченность тем, что подобные удары БПЛА в Пакистане и Афганистане нарушают международные законы о применении смертной казни без суда и следствия. Такую практику, возможно, ранее назвали бы обычной расправой, но высочайшая точность нанесенных авиационных ударов и самое непосредственное участие человека-оператора затрудняют дать юридическое определение такой практике.

Психологические изменения в состоянии военнослужащих вызывают опасения и по сути являются приметой новых, дистанционных войн. В Афганистане на сегодняшний день столкнулись две абсолютно разные силы: солдаты армии США, которые «играются в войну», и талибы. Они, в свою очередь, жертвуют собой и смерть видят не через объективы телекамер.

Война в XXI веке не стала более гуманной, просто военнослужащие отдалились от наиболее неприглядных ее проявлений. Хотя американские офицеры считают, что это только на благо, так как опыт всех предшествующих войн свидетельствует, что при столкновении лицом к лицу враждующих сторон происходят ужасные зверства. Подобное проявляется как по отношению друг к другу, так и к гражданскому населению. Но все же и офицеры пришли к выводу, что «видеовойны» у солдат не вызывают неприятия и сегодня развязать войну им не составляет труда. За монитором видеоприцела – ты в безопасности, а после такой «рабочей смены» можно спокойно расслабиться в кругу близких или друзей.
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

9 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти