Unusual tanks of Russia and the USSR. T-42 Super Heavy Tank

10
Unusual tanks of Russia and the USSR. T-42 Super Heavy Tank


In the late 20s and early 30s of the twentieth century in all the leading tank-building powers of that time, many different directions were developed. tank projects. Every year, new vehicles of various types were created and launched into series, from light tankettes for reconnaissance and communications to giant ones, weighing more than 60 tons, clumsy but well-armed vehicles capable of independently performing complex combat missions. Of course, the USSR could not, for political reasons, not participate in this race. According to the rearmament program adopted in 1929, work began in the Soviet Union on projects for super-heavy tanks, or as they were also called breakthrough tanks. One of these projects, aimed at creating a powerful tank equipped with the most modern weapons, was the T-42 project.

Considering the unsuccessful experience of creating a domestic model of a T-30 breakthrough tank, only by Soviet engineers and designers, the German engineer Edward Grote was invited to implement this project. He was soon instructed, in a short time to create a machine that meets the requirements of the Red Army rearmament program. Arriving in the Soviet Union in March 1930, E. Grote together with a small group of German engineers immediately began work on the creation of an average TG tank, but this tank did not satisfy the admissions committee, work on its creation was stopped. But soon, E. Grote, taking into account the mistakes of the TG project, creates a new project of the super heavy tank TG-4, which, like the previous one, did not make the proper impression and was not highly appreciated by the leadership of the UMM RKKA. However, an ambitious and glory-seeking engineer after some time submits to the commission for consideration a draft machine weighing more than 100 tons, TG-5 or its other designation T-42. Essentially it was a deeply reworked and improved TG-4 project. As conceived by the designer, it was supposed to be a five-tower tank with armament located in two tiers. The first tier, which included weapons, located in four towers installed around the main central tower, in each of the two towers located in front of the hull, the horizontal sector of fire of which was equal to 125 degrees, was installed 45 mm 20K gun and paired with 7.62 mm tank gun DT-29.



In the towers located behind the central one, it was supposed to install one 7,62 mm or one 12,7 mm anti-aircraft machine gun, with a high elevation angle to repel air attacks. The central rotating turret, with a small commander's turret placed on the roof, mounted on a tall box of turrets, was equipped with heavier weapons, an 107 mm cannon and a 7.62 mm DT-29 machine gun. The two-tier arrangement provided fairly high indices of fire density and increased the total weight of the volley, (some sources mention a three-tower armament scheme). Hulls machine intended to produce riveted, welded, the thickness of the armor plates 50 -70 mm, allows the machine to withstand a direct hit by an armor-piercing projectile 37 mm anti-tank gun, the distance and reciprocal m 1000 107 mm artillery fire with the same distance, high-explosive charge to destroy it. The undercarriage of the tank was a very complex structure, the 17 of the interlocked road wheels were connected to the 2 and 3 rink trucks. The power plant of the machine included two diesel diesel engines of domestic production PT-100, HP 1000 power. produced by the Elektrik plant and used at one of the first diesel locomotives of the engineer Ya. M. Gakkel built in our country. Servomotors were involved in the machine control system, which was an innovation for that time, but extremely complicated the chassis design, which in turn was not distinguished by reliability and high maintainability.

All this ultimately made the tank T-42, very expensive and difficult to produce in the car, however, this is typical for all projects of the German engineer. By the time the project was reviewed by the UMM commission of the Red Army at the Kharkov Locomotive Plant, work was already underway to create another heavy domestic T-35 tank, which, according to the commission, was more reliable and less complicated, therefore, cheaper to manufacture. With almost identical specifications, the T-42 project was rejected in favor of the T-35. Which in the near future was completed and adopted by the Red Army. So ended story of this still unrealized project, a super-heavy breakthrough tank by engineer Edward Grote. It is difficult to say what the future fate of this vehicle would be if it were put into service, perhaps it would be the same as all the giant tanks, most of whom never had to take part in the hostilities.
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +3
    October 16 2011
    In the photo is T-135, not T-42
    And if we talk about him, then




    It was built in a single copy. The plant had to be hastily evacuated, the supertank was taken to the rear to continue working, but in Stalingrad it had to be left on the territory of the tractor plant, where it was planned to prepare it for transfer across the Volga, but again did not have enough time.

    According to some historians, the turning point in the history of the war was precisely the moment when the Germans who broke into the territory of the plant saw this tank ....
    1. slan
      +1
      October 16 2011
      Quote: Vadivak
      In the photo is T-135, not T-42

      I did not find a single difference.
      ps ahh, of course, your photo also has a T-135 ..
      Quote: Vadivak
      According to some historians, the turning point in the history of the war was precisely the moment when the Germans who broke into the territory of the plant saw this tank ....

      wink
    2. +4
      October 16 2011
      This is not a photo, but a photojack - such a tank in metal never existed
      1. +3
        October 17 2011
        Alex 5 points
  2. mind1954
    +1
    October 18 2011
    Surprisingly, for some reason, no one remembers the "Doctrine of Douai" -
    - an Italian general. "The bomb carriers are leveling everything, and then
    land battleships, ironing everything, seize territory. "
    That's where we got the TB planes and the T-28 and T-35 tanks. What were you spending on
    resources and time.
    I saw the cover of the magazine "Bonfire" of that time, where on earth
    a similar battleship "sailed", grinding everything,
    and above it, in the sky above, armadas of bombers sailed.
    1. 0
      November 17, 2011
      adik would have liked, he loved everything big

      Quote: mind1954
      Doctrine of the Douai

      "bomber is not an armed wing, but a winged weapon"
  3. Cross
    0
    October 19 2011
    Trud Shushpanzer ...)))
  4. Turanchops
    0
    March 5 2012
    Interesting unit !!!!
  5. _DINAMIC_
    +1
    March 7 2012
    I recognize the KV base but only the elongated one, the tower from the KV-5 with a 152mm gun, and the small towers from the KV-1S. Most likely this is Photoshop !!!
  6. 0
    October 16 2016
    And why is he so needed?
    1. 0
      October 24 2016
      I wanted everything big. For some reason, ocean battleships were planned. It’s good that they didn’t have time to build, their guns and armor plates were then used under Peter for bunkers.

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Необычные танки Росcии и СССР. Сверхтяжёлый танк Т-42

Необычные танки Росcии и СССР. Сверхтяжёлый танк Т-42


В конце 20-х и в начале 30-х годов ХХ-го века во всех ведущих танкостроительных державах того времени разрабатывалось множество различных по направлению танковых проектов. Ежегодно создавались и запускались в серию новые машины самых разных типов, от лёгких танкеток для разведки и связи до гигантских, весом более 60 тонн неповоротливых, но хорошо вооруженных машин, способных самостоятельно выполнять сложные боевые задачи. Безусловно, СССР не мог в силу политических причин не участвовать в этой гонке. Согласно программе перевооружения, принятой в 1929 году, в Советском Союзе начались работы над проектами сверхтяжелых танков, или как их ещё называли танков прорыва. Одним из таких проектов, нацеленных на создание мощного, оснащенного самым современным вооружением танка, был проект Т-42.

Учитывая неудачный опыт создания отечественного образца тяжелого танка прорыва Т-30, силами только советских инженеров и конструкторов, для реализации этого проекта был приглашен немецкий инженер Эдвард Гроте. Ему было вскоре поручено, в короткие сроки создать машину, удовлетворяющую требованиям программы перевооружения РККА. Прибыв в Советский Союз в марте 1930 года, Э. Гроте вместе с небольшой группой германских инженеров сразу же приступил к работе над созданием среднего танка ТГ, однако этот танк не удовлетворил приёмную комиссию, работы по его созданию были прекращены. Но вскоре Э. Гроте, принимая во внимание ошибки проекта ТГ, создаёт новый проект сверхтяжелого танка ТГ-4, который, как и предыдущий не произвёл должного впечатления и не был высоко оценен руководством УММ РККА. Тем не менее, амбициозный и жаждущий славы инженер спустя некоторое время представляет на рассмотрение комиссии проект машины весом более 100 тонн, ТГ-5 или другое его обозначение Т-42. По существу это был глубоко переделанный и усовершенствованный проект ТГ-4. По замыслу конструктора это должен был быть пятибашенный танк с вооружением расположенным в двух ярусах. Первый ярус, включавший в себя вооружение, расположенное в четырех башнях, установленных вокруг основной центральной башни, в каждой из двух башен расположенных в передней части корпуса, горизонтальный сектор обстрела которых равнялся 125 градусам, была установлена 45 мм пушка 20К и спаренный с ней 7.62 мм танковый пулемёт ДТ-29.


Необычные танки Росcии и СССР. Сверхтяжёлый танк Т-42


В башнях расположенных позади центральной, предполагалось установить по одному 7,62 мм или 12,7 мм зенитному пулемёту, с большим углом возвышения для отражения атак с воздуха. Центральная вращающаяся башня, с размешенной на крыше малой командирской башенкой, установленная на высокую подбашенную коробку, оснащалась более тяжелым вооружением, 107 мм пушкой и 7.62 мм пулемётом ДТ-29. Двухъярусное расположение обеспечивало довольно высокие показатели плотности огня и увеличивало суммарный вес залпа, (в некоторых источниках упоминается и трехбашенная схема вооружения). Бронекорпус машины предполагалось изготовить клёпано-сварным, из бронелистов толщиной 50 -70 мм, позволявшем машине выдерживать прямое попадание бронебойного снаряда 37 мм противотанковой пушки, с дистанции 1000 м и ответным огнём 107 мм орудия с этого же расстояния, осколочно-фугасным зарядом уничтожать его. Ходовая часть танка представляла собой очень сложную конструкцию, 17 сблокированных опорных катков были соединены в тележки по 2 и 3 катка. Силовая установка машины включала в себя два дизельных тепловозных двигателя отечественного производства ПТ-100, мощностью 1000 л.с. выпускавшихся заводом «Электрик» и применяемых на одном из первых, построенных в нашей стране тепловозов инженера Я. М. Гаккеля. В системе управления машиной были задействованы сервоприводы, что являлось новшеством для того времени, но крайне усложняло конструкцию ходовой части, которая в свою очередь не отличалась надёжностью и высокой ремонтопригодностью.

Все это в конечном итоге делало танк Т-42, очень дорогой и сложной в производстве машиной, впрочем, это характерно для всех проектов немецкого инженера. К моменту рассмотрения проекта комиссией УММ РККА на Харьковском паровозостроительном заводе уже велись работы по созданию другого тяжелого отечественного танка Т-35, который, по мнению комиссии, был более надёжным и менее сложным, следовательно, дешевле в производстве. При практически одинаковых технических характеристиках, проект Т-42 был отклонён в пользу Т-35. Который в скором будущем был завершен и принят на вооружение РККА. Так закончилась история этого, так и не реализованного проекта, сверхтяжелого танка прорыва инженера Эдварда Гроте. Сложно сказать какова была бы дальнейшая судьба этой машины, будь она принята на вооружение, возможно, она была бы такой же, как и у всех танков-гигантов, большинству из которых так и не пришлось принять участие в боевых действиях.
Автор: Макс Беляев


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 10
  1. Vadivak 16 октября 2011 19:27
    На фото Т-135, а не Т-42
    И если уж говорить о нем, то




    Был построен в единичном экземпляре Завод пришлось спешно эвакуировать, супертанк везли в тыл, чтобы продолжить работу, но в Сталинграде его пришлось оставить на территории тракторного завода, где планировалось подготовить его к переброске через Волгу, но вновь не хватило времени.

    Как считают некоторые историки, переломным в истории Войны стал именно тот момент, когда ворвавшиеся на территорию завода немцы увидели этот танк....
    1. slan 16 октября 2011 20:18
      Цитата: Vadivak
      На фото Т-135, а не Т-42

      Не нашел ни одного отличия.
      п.с. ааа, понятно, на Вашем фото тоже Т-135..
      Цитата: Vadivak
      Как считают некоторые историки, переломным в истории Войны стал именно тот момент, когда ворвавшиеся на территорию завода немцы увидели этот танк....

      wink
      slan
    2. Lexx 16 октября 2011 20:39
      Это не фото, а фотожоп - такого танка в металле никогда не существовало
      1. Vadivak 17 октября 2011 09:22
        Алексей 5 балов
  2. mind1954 18 октября 2011 05:08
    Удивительно, но почему-то никто не вспоминает "Доктрину Дуэ" -
    - итальянского генерала. "Бомбовозы всё равняют с землёй, а затем
    сухопутные броненосцы, утюжа всё, захватывают территорию".
    Вот откуда у нас самолёты ТБ и танки Т-28 и Т-35. На что тратились
    ресурсы и время.
    Видел обложку журнала "Костёр" того времени, где по земле
    "плыл" подобный броненосец, всё перемалывая,
    а над ним, в вышине, плыли армады бомбовозов.
    mind1954
    1. Денис 17 ноября 2011 08:20
      адику бы понравился,любил он всё большое

      Цитата: mind1954
      Доктрину Дуэ

      "бомбардировщик не вооружённое крыло,а крылатое оружие"
  3. Cross 19 октября 2011 22:43
    труЪ шушпанцер...)))
    Cross
  4. Туранчопс 5 марта 2012 11:57
    Интересный агрегат!!!!
    Туранчопс
  5. _DINAMIC_ 7 марта 2012 05:10
    Узнаю базу КВ но только удлиненную,башня от КВ-5 с пушкой 152мм,а маленькие башни от КВ-1С.Скорее всего это Фотошоп!!!
    _DINAMIC_
  6. гордый 16 октября 2016 21:51
    И зачем он такой нужен?
    1. Визитор 24 октября 2016 15:39
      Хотелось всего большого. Зачем-то и океанские линкоры планировались. Хорошо, что не успели построить, их орудия и бронелисты потом под Питером для ДОТов использовали.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня