Why Israelis consider themselves to be chosen people ("Haaretz", Israel)

Why Israelis consider themselves to be chosen people ("Haaretz", Israel)
On the Day of Judgment, the words of the prayer again sounded in all the synagogues “You chose us from all nations, loved us, and raised us above all tribes, and consecrated us with your commandments, and brought us closer, our lord ..." we are the chosen people, was again clothed with words. This happens not only on Yom Kippur, but also during any prayer. It is written in the Torah.

However, the idea that we are the chosen people sits in our heads much deeper than many of us think. Not only in the context of Jewish traditions, not only among those who observe religious precepts.


Modern, secular Israelis also sincerely, wholeheartedly, believe that they truly belong to the chosen people. Little remains of ancient Jewish ideas that have taken so deep and strong roots in modern Israeli existence, as the idea that the Jews are “chosen people,” whatever the interpretation of this concept may be.

Almost every Israeli is convinced that we are the best in the world: our “Jewish genius”, the Israeli army is the most moral in the world, no one has the right to teach us, we are the most presumptive.

It is not only about the arrogance devoid of any reason. This is a very dangerous idea that has allowed Israel to conduct itself as it has been doing for many decades, roughly ignoring the opinion of the rest of the world. This idea is also not deprived of gloomy nationalistic and racist components. There is nothing wrong with that people consider themselves successful. The Jewish people have enough reasons and many achievements to think about themselves in this way. This also applies to the State of Israel, whose existence and significant achievements can be considered a miracle. However, in all this there is no one important national quality - modesty. It is very difficult to suspect Israelis in modesty.

At the core of Israeli arrogance is the basic idea that we are, in fact, a “chosen people,” and possess special qualities that no other nation in the world has. A similar approach can be found in any Israeli tourist abroad. You will hear a similar opinion from any Israeli who has spoken with foreigners.

This idea is well traced in the international politics of the state of Israel. Americans - "limited types", Indians - "primitive", Germans - "robots", Chinese - "cranks", Scandinavians - "naive simpletons", Italians - "clowns". Arabs? Arabs are Arabs. You know who. Only we know what is good for us and what is bad for us. And not only for us, but for the whole world. Israeli intelligence has no equal. The Jewish head is unique. Jewish brains can invent anything, no one can compare with us. Because we are us.

Making sure that all of the above takes place is very simple. Here you have the latest example, which has no relation to religion. Last week we learned that another Israeli scientist won the Nobel Prize. There is no doubt - good news. Professor Dan Shechtman, of course, deserves this high award. However, the unbridled joy of all of Israel, which broke out on this occasion, looked absolutely inappropriate.

In a society that always blames individuals for all failures and failures, and not for itself, such a “nationalization” of individual achievements seems absurd. Well, of course, all of Israel participated in the revolutionary scientific experiment of Professor Shechtman in the American laboratory in the distant 1982 year. We were all there. Now we will all go to Stockholm together to receive "our" Nobel Prize.

The achievement of the individual is immediately transformed into the achievement of "all of us." Overall success immediately turns into another “unshakable” proof of Israeli supremacy. “The secret of our existence,” “national pride,” “Israeli heads” are just some of the headlines about the personal success of a Haifa scholar.

This is followed by familiar calculations: how many Nobel prizes "we" received, what is the ratio of the number of our Nobel laureates and the size of the population of Israel. Lists of all Nobel laureates of Jewish origin also go into action, as if they received a prestigious prize for their Jewry. All this, in turn, serves as evidence of our "genetic" superiority of the "chosen people." This is the other side of the coin.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

35 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Почему израильтяне считают себя избранным народом ("Haaretz", Израиль)

Почему израильтяне считают себя избранным народом ("Haaretz", Израиль)
В Судный день, во всех синагогах вновь звучали слова молитвы «Ты избрал нас из всех народов, полюбил нас, и возвысил нас над всеми племенами, и освятил нас своими заповедями, и приблизил нас, владыка наш...» Идея о том, что мы избранный народ, была вновь облечена в слова. Это происходит не только в Йом Кипур, но и в ходе любой молитвы. Так написано в Торе.

Однако мысль о том, что мы избранный народ сидит в наших головах гораздо глубже, чем многим из нас кажется. Отнюдь не только в контексте иудейских традиций, не только среди тех, кто соблюдает религиозные заповеди.


Современные, секулярные израильтяне также искренне, от всего сердца, верят в то, что они действительно принадлежат к избранному народу. Немного осталось древних еврейских идей, которые пустили столь глубокие и прочные корни в современном израильском существовании, как мысль о том, что евреи являются «избранным народом», какова бы ни была трактовка этого понятия.

Почти каждый израильтянин убежден, что мы самые лучшие на свете: наша «еврейская гениальность», израильская армия – самая высоконравственная в мире, никто не имеет права нас поучать, мы – самые-пресамые.

Речь идет не только о лишенном всякого основания высокомерии. Речь идет о крайне опасной идее, которая позволяет Израилю вести так, как он себя ведет многие десятилетия, грубо игнорируя мнение остального мира. Эта идея не лишена также мрачных националистических и расистских компонентов. Нет ничего плохого в том, что народ считает себя успешным. У еврейского народа имеется достаточно причин и немало достижений, чтобы думать о себе подобным образом. Это касается и государства Израиль, существование и значительные достижения которого можно считать чудом. Однако во всем этом отсутствует одно важное национальное качество – скромность. В скромности израильтян заподозрить очень сложно.

В основе израильского высокомерия лежит базовая идея, что мы, на самом деле, являемся «избранным народом» и обладает особыми качествами, которых нет ни у одного другого народа мира. Подобный подход можно обнаружить у любого израильского туриста, находящегося за рубежом. Вы услышите подобное мнение от любого израильтянина, общавшегося с иностранцами.

Эта идея хорошо прослеживается в международной политике государства Израиль. Американцы – «ограниченные типы», индусы – «примитивные», немцы – «роботы», китайцы – «чудаки», скандинавы – «наивные простаки», итальянцы – «клоуны». Арабы? Арабы – это арабы. Сами знаете, кто. Только мы знаем, что для нас хорошо, а что плохо. И не только для нас, а для всего мира. Израильская сообразительность не имеет себе равных. Еврейская голова уникальна. Еврейские мозги могут изобрести все, что угодно – никто не может сравниться с нами. Потому что мы – это мы.

Убедиться в том, что все вышеизложенное имеет место, очень просто. Вот вам самый свежий пример, не имеющий никакого отношения к религии. На прошлой неделе нам стало известно, что еще один израильский ученый стал лауреатом Нобелевской премии. Нет сомнений – радостная весть. Профессор Дан Шехтман, конечно же, достоин этой высокой награды. Однако безудержная радость всего Израиля, разразившаяся по данному поводу, выглядела абсолютно неуместно.

В обществе, которое во всех неудачах и провалах всегда обвиняет отдельных людей, а не себя, подобная «национализация» индивидуальных достижений выглядит абсурдом. Ну конечно, весь Израиль участвовал в революционном научном эксперименте профессора Шехтмана в американской лаборатории в далеком 1982 году. Мы все были там. Теперь мы все дружно отправимся в Стокгольм за получением «нашей» Нобелевской премии.

Достижение индивидуума немедленно превращается в достижение «всех нас». Общие успехи немедленно превращаются в очередное «незыблемое» доказательство израильского превосходства. «Секрет нашего существования», «национальная гордость», «израильские головы» - вот лишь некоторые из газетных заголовков по поводу личного успеха хайфского ученого.

Далее следуют знакомые вычисления: сколько Нобелевских премий «мы» получили, каково соотношение числа наших нобелевских лауреатов и размера населения Израиля. Списки всех нобелевских лауреатов еврейского происхождения также идут в дело, словно те получили престижную премию за свое еврейство. Все это, в свою очередь, служит доказательством нашего «генетического» превосходства «избранного народа». Такова обратная сторона медали
Первоисточник:
http://cursorinfo.co.il/news/pressa/2011/10/13/sydm/
Перевод:
http://inosmi.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

35 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти