Military Review

Pentagon: despite the increase in losses, the Afghan army is achieving good results

20
Pentagon deputy head Christine Wormut said that, despite the increase in losses (by 60% compared to last year), the Afghan army was successful in fighting the Taliban. Losses are caused by more active actions of the armed forces.

Pentagon: despite the increase in losses, the Afghan army is achieving good results


"These losses are growing ... because the Afghan security forces are increasing the pace of their operations - they are doing more, and they are fighting the enemy," the newspaper said. Look.

“They (the Taliban) are being hit more than last year, they are not able to achieve their strategic and operational goals. They claim that they are fighting with foreign forces in Afghanistan, but these statements sound more and more unfounded as the Afghan security forces themselves do more and take responsibility for defense, and the contribution of the coalition becomes smaller, ”she said.

Wormuth also noted Pakistan’s assistance, “which puts pressure on the Taliban on its side of the border, which prevents extremists from feeling as safe in their shelters as they used to.”

Nevertheless, according to the deputy minister, “as the coalition forces led by the United States from Afghanistan were withdrawn, the Taliban intensified attacks aimed at harming innocent citizens and undermining confidence in the government in Kabul.” She said that in addition to the Taliban, “the attacks are carried out by members of such extremist groups as Al-Qaida, the Islamic State, Haqqani and others.”

Media reports also speak about activating extremists. Yesterday, for example, the BBC transmitted information about a terrorist act committed by a suicide bomber outside a former CPA base in Afghanistan.

"The terrorist who drove a car filled with explosives blew up right outside the checkpoint at the entrance to the Chapman camp in the eastern Afghan province of Khost on Sunday evening," the report said. At least 17 people died.

According to the publication, at the base currently located units of the forces of Afghanistan and American instructors.

As the deputy head of the Khost provincial police said, “the bombing on Sunday took the lives of the staff of the Afghan security unit guarding the Chapman camp, as well as the relatives of the soldiers who were waiting for them at the checkpoint.” Foreigners are not injured.

None of the groups has yet claimed responsibility for the explosion.
Photos used:
REUTERS
20 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Trailer
    Trailer 14 July 2015 14: 06
    +16
    And the rest, a beautiful marquise, all is well, all is well! (with)
    1. Baikonur
      Baikonur 14 July 2015 14: 11
      +6
      They just want to throw Afghanistan! Just like Iraq, leave for a couple of years, then the IG will be sent there, supported, and then they will help the government!
      In short, destroy and pump oil! And heroin, again!
      1. sl22277
        sl22277 14 July 2015 14: 23
        +1
        The name will be changed, ISIS will be renamed into something else. Otherwise, I agree with you.
    2. olafcik
      olafcik 14 July 2015 16: 29
      +1
      Afghanistan puts pressure on the Taliban, Pakistan puts pressure on the Taliban ....... and the Taliban are unclear where they are taking weapons from and hammering everyone .....
      Strange ...........
      1. Vitaly Anisimov
        Vitaly Anisimov 14 July 2015 17: 10
        +3
        I think it’s just the opposite .. Look at Ukraine being praised! Also, despite the increase in losses)))) Oh, striped lying ghouls, the basis of your policy is blood and robbery ... hi
  2. manguest
    manguest 14 July 2015 14: 07
    +4
    They are so eager to shed mattresses from Afghanistan that they will weave every crap about the power and might of local warriors.
    1. amirbek
      amirbek 14 July 2015 14: 17
      +1
      how good is the harvest of GMOs going to be budded ... said one afghan
    2. nikpwolf
      nikpwolf 14 July 2015 14: 21
      +1
      They are so eager to shed mattresses from Afghanistan that they will weave every crap about the power and might of local warriors.

      Yes, they are not going to molt anywhere. They didn’t come for that (strategic position, cut of a waterfall of financing, arms and drugs trade). And poor Afghans are being trained to protect their lives by breastfeeding. And they imitated the legitimacy of what was happening.
  3. kursk87
    kursk87 14 July 2015 14: 08
    +4
    The United States is responsible for the events that take place in Afghanistan. Washington provided support and military assistance to the Taliban in the fight against the Soviet army. It is thanks to the states in the region that radical Islamic groups operate in the creation of which the US CIA directly participated. After all, as you know chaos, this is a well-organized order
  4. GRAY
    GRAY 14 July 2015 14: 12
    +6
    However, coalition forces are also raking quietly.
    The Danish newspaper "Berlingske" reported that the Danish army, during its participation in the hostilities of the ISAF multinational force in Afghanistan, lost six Leopard 2A5DK tanks completely disabled, which now, after the final withdrawal of the Danish contingent, should be taken out of Afghanistan and returned to the manufacturer - a German company Krauss-Maffei Wegmann (KMW). Although the Danes themselves would prefer to leave the disabled tanks in Afghanistan, the end-user certificate signed by the Danish side during the acquisition of Leopard 2 tanks from Germany in 1997 requires the mandatory return of all decommissioned KMW tanks. As a result, Denmark will have to spend a total of 25 million Danish kroner (about $ 3,7 million) on the removal of disabled six tanks from Afghanistan by air, as well as one lost Piranha III armored personnel carrier.

    https://strategyreports.wordpress.com/2012/09/16/συμπεράσματα-από
    -την-ανάπτυξη-των-leopard-2a5-dk-τ /
  5. kil 31
    kil 31 14 July 2015 14: 12
    +1
    “These losses are growing ... as Afghan security forces increase their operations You throw them to the slaughter themselves sit in the green zone. You are planning operations; there is no loss experience in these operations. You don’t even help with aviation. Leave there faster, they will sort things out among themselves, without prompting.
  6. YohanPalych
    YohanPalych 14 July 2015 14: 23
    +13
    Pentagon: despite the increase in losses, the Afghan army is achieving good results ((
    1. Mikelanjelo
      Mikelanjelo 14 July 2015 14: 44
      +3
      Loss growth is a really good result
  7. sir_obs
    sir_obs 14 July 2015 14: 24
    +1
    Somehow, good results do not combine with rising losses.
  8. surovts.valery
    surovts.valery 14 July 2015 14: 34
    +4
    In 1961, the Viet Cong controlled a significant territory of South Vietnam and could block traffic on the country's roads at almost any moment. American military advisers were convinced that a large-scale invasion from the north should be expected, as was the case in Korea, and recommended that Ngo Dinh Diem create a regular army with an extensive command and control system and equip it with heavy weapons and artillery. But such an army was unable to effectively resist the swift attacks of the partisans.
    Another serious problem was the mass flow of weapons into the hands of the Viet Cong, either during the war or through defectors. The rapid weakening of the position of the South Vietnamese government forced the United States to provide him with additional military assistance in 1961, which made it possible to improve the situation temporarily in 1962.

    The same rake as in Afghanistan (now in Urkain).
    From 1965 to 1968, repeated attempts were made to begin peace negotiations, but they were unsuccessful, as were the efforts of international mediators. UN Secretary-General U Thant, after meeting with representatives of North Vietnam in Rangoon (Burma) in March 1967, reported: “Hanoi understands the principle of reciprocity as follows: in South Vietnam, there is a civil war, Hanoi supports one side, the United States supports the other. If the US ceases to help, then Hanoi is ready to do the same. " The United States claimed to protect South Vietnam from external aggression. Three main obstacles stood in the way of the peace talks: 1) Hanoi’s demand that the United States finally and unconditionally stop the bombing of North Vietnam; 2) the refusal of the United States to do so without concessions from North Vietnam; 3) the reluctance of the South Vietnamese government to enter into negotiations with the National Liberation Front of South Vietnam.

    The result of Vietnam is known to everyone, and the rake is always the same, no one has invented a "safe" one (for those who step on them). We are waiting for the outcome of American Afghanistan and American Ukraine.
  9. propolsky
    propolsky 14 July 2015 14: 51
    +3
    There is an ordinary division of the country into "Arlecchino" and "Pierrot", and Karabas leads this theater and plays this play depending on his needs.
  10. Masya masya
    Masya masya 14 July 2015 14: 53
    +6
    Rather, the statements of the United States are unfounded, both about Afghanistan and about Ukraine ... As always, from a bad mind to a healthy one!
  11. Tor5
    Tor5 14 July 2015 14: 53
    +1
    The mare died, the house burned down ....
  12. polite people
    polite people 14 July 2015 15: 20
    +2
    The well-known fact that the US Army is suitable only for the bombing of civilians. Everything. The rest is a bunch of cowards. And no Hollywood can fix this situation.
  13. YohanPalych
    YohanPalych 14 July 2015 15: 53
    +4
    Why does the United States blame everyone for "aggression"?
    Yes, that's why ...
  14. Major Yurik
    Major Yurik 14 July 2015 16: 25
    +2
    The sheriff's Indians don't care about problems! Good Indian - dead Indian! Here is a short list of the attitude of the Yankees to the people, where the hell brought them to introduce "democracy". For 200 years, nothing has changed, except for the names of peoples eating the fruits of "freedom" in mattress. "Chosen" nation, damn it! am
  15. demo
    demo 14 July 2015 17: 06
    +2
    By the logic of the Americans!
    More on 60% of people die - this is because they started to fight.
    What have you been doing there for 10 years?
    Just set up drug supply channels?
  16. Belousov
    Belousov 14 July 2015 18: 09
    0
    Indeed, good results, especially when the losses are not yours, utyrk ... Throwing like cannon fodder on the principle of "succeed / fail", that's all the tactics with the strategy of the Americans.
  17. padded jacket colorado
    padded jacket colorado 14 July 2015 18: 48
    +1
    Strange logic, the more losses the better. And when everyone mows out, it’s absolutely super. The mattresses in their repertoire just to rake the heat with the wrong hands

Пентагон: несмотря на рост потерь, афганская армия добивается хороших результатов

Замглавы Пентагона Кристин Уормут заявила, что, несмотря на рост потерь (на 60 % в сравнении с прошлым годом), афганская армия добилась успехов в борьбе с талибами. Потери же вызваны более активными действиями вооружённых сил.

Пентагон: несмотря на рост потерь, афганская армия добивается хороших результатов


«Эти потери растут… поскольку афганские силы безопасности увеличивают темп своих операций – они делают больше, и они сражаются с врагом», – цитирует Уормут газета Взгляд.


«Они (талибы) подвергаются большему числу ударов, чем в прошлом году, они не способны достичь своих стратегических и оперативных целей. Они заявляют, что борются с иностранными силами в Афганистане, но эти заявления звучат все более безосновательно по мере того, как сами афганские силы безопасности делают больше и берут на себя ответственность за оборону, а вклад коалиции становится меньше», – сказала она.

Также Уормут отметила помощь Пакистана, который «оказывает давление на талибов со своей стороны границы, что не позволяет экстремистам чувствовать себя в своих убежищах так же безопасно, как раньше».

Тем не менее, по словам замминистра, «по мере вывода войск коалиции во главе с США из Афганистана талибы активизировали атаки, направленные на причинение вреда невинным гражданам и подрыв доверия к правительству в Кабуле». Она сообщила, что помимо талибов «нападения совершают члены таких экстремистских групп как "Аль-Каида", "Исламское государство", "Хаккани" и другие».

Об активизации экстремистов говорят и сообщения СМИ. Вчера, например, «Би-би-си» передала информацию о теракте, совершённом террористом-смертником возле бывшей базы ЦПУ в Афганистане.

«Террорист, управлявший начиненным взрывчаткой автомобилем, подорвался прямо возле КПП на въезде в лагерь "Чэпмен" в восточной афганской провинции Хост вечером в воскресенье», – говорится в информации. Погибли не менее 17-ти человек.

По данным издания, на базе в настоящее время расположены подразделения сил Афганистана и американские инструкторы.

Как сообщил замначальника полиции провинции Хост, «взрыв в воскресенье унёс жизни сотрудников афганского подразделения безопасности, охраняющего лагерь "Чэпмэн", а также родственников солдат, которые ждали их у КПП». Иностранцы не пострадали.

Ни одна из группировок пока не взяла на себя ответственность за взрыв.

Использованы фотографии: REUTERS

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 20
  1. Karavan 14 июля 2015 14:06
    А в остальном, прекрасная маркиза, все хорошо, все хорошо! (с)
    1. Байконур 14 июля 2015 14:11
      Кинуть просто хотят Афганистан! Так же как Ирак, на пару лет оставить, поктом туда ИГ направят, поддержат, а потом типа помогать будут правительству!
      Короче, разрушать и нефть качать! И героин, опять же!
      1. sl22277 14 июля 2015 14:23
        Название сменят, ИГИЛ переименуют во что-то другое. В остальном я с вами согласен.
    2. olafcik 14 июля 2015 16:29
      Афганистан давит на талибов, Пакистан давит на талибов.......а талибы непонятно откуда то берут оружие и долбят всех.....
      Странно...........
      1. МИХАН 14 июля 2015 17:10
        Думаю все как раз наоборот..Вон Украину как нахваливают!Тоже не смотря на рост потерь))))Эх полосатые лживые упыри ,основа вашей политики это кровь и ограбление... hi
  2. manguest 14 июля 2015 14:07
    Матрасникам так охота слинять из Афгана, что будут плести всякую лабуду про мощь и могущество местных вояк.
    1. амирбек 14 июля 2015 14:17
      как толко урожай гмо собират будед ... сказал один афганец
    2. nikpwolf 14 июля 2015 14:21
      Матрасникам так охота слинять из Афгана, что будут плести всякую лабуду про мощь и могущество местных вояк.

      Да никуда они не собираются линять. Не для того заходили (стратегические положение, распил водопада финансирования, торговля оружием и наркотой). А бедных афганцев готовят, чтоб те грудью их жизнь защищали. И имитировали легитимность происходящего.
  3. kursk87 14 июля 2015 14:08
    США является виновником тех событий, которые происходят в Афганистане. Вашингтон оказывал поддержку и военную помощь талибам в борьбе с советской армией. Именно благодаря штатам в регионе действуют радикальные исламские группировки, в создании которых непосредственное участие принимало ЦРУ США. Ведь как известно хаос, это хорошо организованный порядок
  4. GRAY 14 июля 2015 14:12
    Однако силы коалиции тоже огребают потихонечку.
    Датская газета "Berlingske" сообщила, что датская армия в ходе своего участия в боевых действиях многонациональных сил ISAF в Афганистане потеряла полностью выведенными из строя шесть танков Leopard 2A5DK, которые теперь после окончательного вывода датского контингента должны быть вывезены из Афганистана и возвращены производителю - германской компании Krauss-Maffei Wegmann (KMW). Хотя сами датчане предпочли бы оставить выведенные из строя танки в Афганистане, однако сертификат конечного пользователя, подписанный датской стороной во время приобретения танков Leopard 2 у Германии в 1997 году, требует обязательного возвращения всех выведенных из эксплуатации танков KMW. В результате Дании придется потратить на вывоз из Афганистана воздушным транспортом выведенных из строя шести танков, а также одного потерянного бронетранспортера Piranha III в общей сложности 25 млн датских крон (около 3,7 млн долл).

    https://strategyreports.wordpress.com/2012/09/16/συμπεράσματα-από
    -την-ανάπτυξη-των-leopard-2a5-dk-τ/
  5. кил 31 14 июля 2015 14:12
    «Эти потери растут… поскольку афганские силы безопасности увеличивают темп своих операций Вы их кидаете на убой сами отсиживаетесь в зелёной зоне. Операции планируете вы, в этих операциях нет переживании о потерях. Даже авиацией не помогаете. Уходите оттуда быстрее, они между собой как нибудь разберуться, без подсказок.
  6. ЁханПалыч 14 июля 2015 14:23
    Пентагон: несмотря на рост потерь, афганская армия добивается хороших результатов((
    1. Mikelanjelo 14 июля 2015 14:44
      Рост потерь это действительно хороший результат
  7. sir_obs 14 июля 2015 14:24
    Как-то не сочетаются хорошие результаты с ростом потерь.
  8. surovts.valery 14 июля 2015 14:34
    В 1961 Вьетконг контролировал значительную территорию Южного Вьетнама и мог практически в любой момент перекрыть движение по дорогам страны. Американские военные советники были убеждены, что следует ожидать крупномасштабного вторжения с севера, как это было в Корее, и рекомендовали Нго Динь Дьему создать регулярную армию с разветвленной системой управления войсками, оснастить ее тяжелым вооружением и артиллерией. Но такая армия оказалась неспособной эффективно противостоять стремительным атакам партизан.
    Другой серьезной проблемой стало массовое перетекание оружия в руки вьетконговцев либо в ходе боевых действий, либо через перебежчиков. Быстрое ослабление позиций южновьетнамского правительства вынудило США предоставить ему в 1961 дополнительную военную помощь, что позволило в 1962 на время поправить положение.

    Те же грабли, что и в Афганистане (теперь в Уркаине).
    С 1965 по 1968 предпринимались неоднократные попытки начать мирные переговоры, но они оказались безрезультатными, как и усилия международных посредников. Генеральный секретарь ООН У Тан после встречи с представителями Северного Вьетнама в Рангуне (Бирма) в марте 1967 докладывал: «Ханой понимает принцип взаимности следующим образом: в Южном Вьетнаме идет гражданская война, Ханой поддерживает одну сторону, США – другую. Если США прекратят свою помощь, то Ханой готов сделать то же самое». США же утверждали, что защищают Южный Вьетнам от внешней агрессии. На пути мирных переговоров стояли три главных препятствия: 1) требование Ханоя, чтобы США окончательно и безоговорочно прекратили бомбардировки Северного Вьетнама; 2) отказ США пойти на это без уступок со стороны Северного Вьетнама; 3) нежелание южновьетнамского правительства вступать в переговоры с Национальным фронтом освобождения Южного Вьетнама.

    Итог Вьетнама всем известен, а грабли действуют всегда одинаково, "безопасных" (для тех кто на них наступает) ещё никто не придумал. Ждем итог американского Афганистана и американской Украины.
  9. propolsky 14 июля 2015 14:51
    Идет обыкновенное разделение страны на "Арлекино" и "Пьеро", а Карабас руководит этим театром и разыгрывает эту пьесу в зависимости от своих потребностей.
  10. Masya Masya 14 июля 2015 14:53
    Скорее безосновательны заявления сша, как по поводу Афгана, так и по поводу украины... Как всегда, с больной головы на здоровую!
  11. Тор5 14 июля 2015 14:53
    Кобыла сдохла, дом сгорел... .
    Тор5
  12. вежливый чел 14 июля 2015 15:20
    Всем известный факт, что армия США годна только на бомбежку мирных граждан. Все. В остальном это сборище трусов. И никакой Голливуд не в состоянии эту ситуацию исправить.
  13. ЁханПалыч 14 июля 2015 15:53
    Почему сша обвиняют всех а "агрессии"?
    Да вот по этому...
  14. майор Юрик 14 июля 2015 16:25
    Проблемы индейцев шерифа не волнуют! Хороший индеец- мёртвый индеец! Вот краткий перечень отношения янки к народу,куда их хрен занёс вводить "демократию". За 200 лет ничего не поменялось,кроме названия народов вкушающих плоды "свободы" по-матрасски. "Избранная" нация,блин! am
  15. demo 14 июля 2015 17:06
    Во логика у америкосов!
    Больше на 60% людей гибнет - это по тому, что начали воевать.
    А что вы там 10 лет делали?
    Только налаживали каналы поставки наркоты?
  16. Belousov 14 июля 2015 18:09
    Действительно, хорошие результаты, особенно когда потери не у тебя, утырки... Кидают как пушечное мясо по принципу "получится/не получится", вот и вся тактика со стратегией американцев.
  17. ватник колорадо 14 июля 2015 18:48
    Странная логика чем больше потерь тем лучше.А когда всех выкосят значит совсем супер.Матрасники в своем репертуаре лишь бы жар загребать чужими руками
    ватник колорадо

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня