Military Review

Ultra Small C-Type Submarines (Japan)

2
For almost the entire 1943 year, Japanese shipbuilders assembled five B-class ultra-small submarines. For various reasons, the assembly of this equipment, made on the basis of a reserve on the boats of the project "A", was associated with certain difficulties. As a result, it was decided to abandon the continuation of the series in favor of a newer project. In the autumn of 43, Japanese engineers presented a draft of a new ultra-small submarine with torpedo armament. Like its predecessors, the boat of type “C” or “Hay-Gata” was intended for a covert approach to the enemy and the subsequent attack using torpedoes.

Recall, according to the results of the operation of type “A” submarines in the middle of 1942, it was decided to develop a new project of more sophisticated equipment of similar purpose. In the new project “B” a diesel-electric power plant was used, replacing the pure electric one. Such an alteration of the base project submarines significantly increase the cruising range, as well as increase the autonomy of work, since the new boats did not need a special charging station for batteries. However, for several reasons, the submarines of the project “B” did not become widespread: only five units of such equipment were manufactured.

Deep upgrade

According to some reports, the reason for the delays in the assembly of all five submarines "B" were problems with the alteration of the existing hulls for new equipment. The need to dismantle some components and assemblies, followed by replacement with new ones, has affected the timing of the work. In addition, this feature of the first two projects, which, according to the designers, should have had a high degree of unification, showed that the approach to development was not justified. A new submarine had to be designed using existing components, but without trying to fit the necessary equipment into a not quite suitable, although existing, hull.

Ultra Small C-Type Submarines (Japan)
The only surviving C-type boat in the museum. Photo Aimmuseum.org


Thus, the main objective of the project "C" or "Hay-Gata" was the processing of the two previous submarines in order to simplify production. At the same time, it was proposed to introduce some innovations aimed at improving the technical characteristics and combat effectiveness. The result was that the submarines of types "A", "B" and "C" had some noticeable similarities, but differed from each other by different features.

It should be noted that a certain continuity was observed in the projects: all of them were based on common ideas and also provided for the use of common structures. This may indicate that the authors of the projects found, as they then thought, the best version of the appearance of the ultra-small submarine, and tried to develop it in order to achieve the desired characteristics.

The design of the submarine type "C"

Being a deep modernization of the submarine of type “B”, the new “Hay-Gata” should have had a similar one-and-a-half structure and a similar power plant. Such basic project ideas were considered quite viable and suitable for meeting existing requirements. Only some elements of a durable and lightweight body were modified, which was associated with the optimization of production and use of various units. As a result, the size and weight of the assembly was slightly changed.

The basis of the submarine type "C", as before, was a durable hull, assembled from 8-mm steel sheets. It consisted of a cylindrical bow and aft conical parts. The characteristics of the robust hull made it possible to dive to a depth of 100 m (according to other data, up to 100 feet - that is, no more than 30 m). Inside the strong hull housed the central post with crew jobs, batteries and power plant. The bow part of a complex shape was formed by a light body of relatively thin metal sheets. Outside the robust hull, torpedo tubes, compressed air tanks, ballast tanks, etc. were located.


The scheme of the submarines of type "A" and "C". Figure Modelist-konstruktor.com


The overall layout of the light and durable hulls remained the same and was borrowed from the previous project without major changes. Under the thin sheets of the light body there were two torpedo tubes located one above the other. Next to them were two ballast tanks, compressed air tanks, etc. Torpedo tubes passed along the entire length of the light body, and their front end protruded beyond its limits, forming characteristic protuberances.

In the nose of a strong body was the bulk of batteries for movement under water. Behind the battery compartment was the central post with the jobs of three submariners. Above the central post was located the cabin with sliding devices. Behind the submariners was aft engine compartment. It had additional batteries, as well as diesel and electric engines. Inside a solid hull housed several ballast tanks, both the main ballast, and balancing.

The composition of the power plant remained the same. It was proposed to use for movement in the surface position and recharging batteries at sea tank 40 hp diesel The power of the generator associated with it made it possible to fully charge all the batteries in 18 hours. An electric motor with a power of 600 hp was connected directly to the propeller shaft. Through a special gearbox, he rotated two coaxial screws.

On the outer surface of the submarine, a design was provided to protect torpedoes in apparatuses, saws and cables for cutting anti-submarine obstacles, as well as special frames for removing obstacles from chopping and dumping as aft. The rudders and propellers were protected from external influences by a cruciform design with an annular casing of screws.

The submarine type "C" turned out a little larger than the previous ones. Its length increased to 24,5 m, the maximum width to 1,9 m, the total height remained at the level of 3 m. The submerged displacement is now 49 t. You can see that the increase in size and weight of the structure was insignificant. Nevertheless, he still affected the characteristics of the boat. The maximum speed in the surface position was reduced to the 20-21 node, in the underwater position - to the 18-18,5 node. According to some sources, the maximum speed under water did not exceed 6-7 nodes.

The diesel-electric power plant in theory allowed to increase the cruising range, which was not enough for super small A-type submarines. Saving fuel and battery charge, the new Hay-Gata boats could be overcome in a surface position up to 500 nautical miles (at economic speeds of 6 knots). Underwater, the cruising range on a single battery charge was at the level of 120 miles (the speed of the 4 node).


Submarine type "C" on the beach. Photo Coollib.com


The armament of the submarine of type “C”, as before, consisted of two torpedo tubes of caliber 450 mm. They were located in the bow of the submarine, under a light hull and partially protruded. Such devices were intended for the use of torpedoes "Type 97". Such torpedoes with a length of 5,6 m had a starting weight of 980 kg and carried an 350 kg of explosive. The engine, which worked on kerosene and oxygen, allowed the torpedo to accelerate to 45 nodes and overcome to 5,5 km. Despite its small caliber, similar weapon posed a serious danger to various ships.

The crew of the submarine type "C" consisted of three people: the commander, steering and minder. At their workplaces there was a set of compasses, instruments for monitoring the operation of systems and controls. It was suggested to monitor the environment and search for targets using a retractable periscope and hydrophone. Unlike some other equipment of this class, the Japanese ultra-small submarines "A", "B" and "C" were not equipped with cuttings with glazing. Submariners had to get to their workplaces through a manhole in the wheelhouse.

Manufacture

Ultra-small submarines "Hay-Gata" replaced on the stocks of all their predecessors. Serial construction of such equipment began in the late autumn of 1943. By this time, in the shops of the factories engaged in the project, there were several unfinished submarines of type "A", which were completed under the project "B". New boats of type “C” were built without using the reserve by previous orders. In accordance with the signed contract, the fleet was to receive about 50 new submarines.

As the next upgrade option for the “A” submarine, the new “C” received similar serial numbers of the “Ha-NN” type. As far as we know, serial “Hay-Gata” numbers were from 54 to 100. The existence of submarines with numbers more than a hundred has not been confirmed. It should be noted that the serial number was not used. fleet. Submarines involved in certain operations were designated by the name of the carrier submarine. Thus, in some cases, problems may arise with the accurate identification of boats participating in various operations.


The only surviving submarine "Hay-Gata" in the middle 40-s. Photo Ibiblio.org


There is evidence of some reduction in the order for combat submarines of the new project. So, from 47 built boats 10 were converted into training. In the course of such refinement, they received an updated set of onboard equipment. The most noticeable consequence of this alteration was an increase in the length of the cabin. To accommodate additional equipment and an instructor who was responsible for the preparation of future submariners, it was necessary to significantly alter the central post and habitable volume as a whole.

The construction of ultra-small C-class submarines continued until the autumn of the 1944 year. During this time, the Imperial fleet received 47 submarines: 37 combat and 10 training. All this equipment was transferred to units that have already exploited similar submarines of previous models.

Exploitation

Initially, Japanese ultra-small submarines were to be transported to the place of operation by specially converted surface ships. Nevertheless, the experience of fighting in the Pacific showed that this method of delivering boats could lead to increased losses, since it does not provide an acceptable transportation secrecy. Because of this, all type "A" submarines were delivered to the desired area using submarines from the fleet.

In the middle of 1943, the idea of ​​a ship-transport was returned. By the end of the year, several such ships were equipped, which received special equipment for servicing and transporting ultra-small boats. However, this time the carrier ship was not supposed to deliver submarines to the site of the operation. Converted ships were intended only for the transport of "Hay-Gat" to the new classified bases.

There is information about the delivery of at least 15-20 submarines to special bases on. Okinawa and the Philippines. There they were supposed to patrol specified areas and, if appropriate, attack enemy ships and ships. Type A submarines were previously used to attack enemy naval bases, but suffered heavy losses. Given this sad experience, the fleet command decided to abandon such bold raids and use ultra-small submarines exclusively for free hunting in important areas.


The bow of the museum submarine. Photo Modelist-konstruktor.com


Ultra-small type “B” submarines were delivered to several bases located on the Philippine Islands and Okinawa. Thus, the Philippine bases were located on the islands of Mindanao (the bases of Davao and Zamboanga) and Cebu (the base of the same name). All a dozen submarines conducted patrols, but only submariners from the Cebu base participated in the battles. For several months, they continued to patrol the aforementioned water areas and look for potential targets, until Cebu Island passed into the hands of the Americans.

The combat work of ultra small submarines most often looked like this. Having gone into the sea, the crew of the boat was heading for the southern tip of Fr. Negros, to the base of Dumaguete. Near this place, ships and ships of the United States regularly traveled, which made it possible to hope for successful detection and destruction of targets. Upon arrival at the base of Dumaguete, the submarines went to drift or approached the coast. Then they could only wait for the message of the advanced observers and the suitable courts of the enemy. As a result, the submarines were in a timely manner in the path of enemy ships and did not waste fuel or battery power.

Active navigation in the area and an interesting strategy allowed the Japanese submariners to make regular attempts to attack enemy ships. However, most reports of crews of submarines of type “C” are not confirmed in American sources. For example, on January 3, submariners reported the sinking of two transport ships and one destroyer. 5 January, according to reports from the Philippine bases, two American warships were scuttled into the sea of ​​Mindanao. The price of this victory was the loss of one of the submarines. Indeed, on this day, Japanese submarines attempted to attack the American convoy. However, the cruiser USS Boise (CL-47) on time received a message about the attack from one of the other ships and managed to dodge. The submarine was spotted from the destroyer USS Taylor (DD-468), attacked and sunk.

In February, 45 from the Japanese base in Cebu was reported to be sinking with ultra small submarines of two enemy ships. In March, according to Japanese officers, three vehicles were sunk. However, these attacks are not supported by US sources. Probably, the submariners tried to record on their own account even unsuccessful attacks. Outlets at sea for the attacks continued until the end of March.

26 March 1945, US troops during the Philippine operation began landing on the island of Cebu. By the time the base was captured, the Japanese had time to flood the five ultra-small “B” submarines that remained in the port. The rest by this time had time to go out to sea and made an attempt to counteract the landing party. During the landing, several American ships had contact with Japanese submarines. The destroyer USS Newman (DE-205) was able not only to detect, but also to fire at the enemy. Artillery fire, he sank one of the enemy submarines, trying to attack ships.

Results

According to reports, the super small submarines of type “C”, based on the island of Cebu, were the only representatives of their project who participated in the battles. Submarines of other bases patrolled in various areas, but there is no information about attempts to launch attacks, not to mention the successful torpedoing of enemy ships. Apparently, only those boats that were based near the main sea routes took part in the battles.

From a technical point of view, the project “C” or “Hay-Gat” turned out to be quite successful. By the end of 1943, the Japanese specialists succeeded, as they say, in bringing to mind the project of a super-small submarine, begun in the first half of the 1930s. The result of this was the emergence of ultra-small submarines with fairly high performance and good combat potential. Navigation range to 500 nautical miles, the possibility of a long stay under water and ammunition from two relatively powerful torpedoes allowed new boats to participate in free hunting and raids on enemy bases.


Debris submarine type "C" and a damaged Japanese ship. Photo Modelist-konstruktor.com


However, the submarines with the required characteristics appeared too late. By the beginning of 1944, the war in the Pacific was not in favor of Japan. The Allied countries increased their ship and land grouping, which allowed them to win one island after another. As a result, Japan was no longer able to make full-fledged raids using ultra-small submarines like operations in Pearl Harbor or off the coast of Sydney. New promising technology had to be sent to the Philippine Islands and used in attempts to attack passing ships. Naturally, this strategy did not bring tangible results.

Thus, the project successful from the point of view of technology turned out to be unpromising in terms of real results of combat work. Submarines of type “C” were late for the war and did not have time to influence the course of the hostilities. However, the Japanese admirals and engineers have not lost interest in such equipment. At the beginning of 1944, the development of the project “D”, also known as “Tay-Gata” and “Koryu”, started. These boats were to be used to protect the Japanese coast.

During 1944, the Japanese Imperial fleet received a little less than fifty C-type submarines in combat and training configurations. Almost all of this technique was destroyed during the fighting or was submerged in front of the advancing enemy. Only one ultra-small submarine “Hay-Gata” survived to our time. From the mid-forties, when it was lifted from the bottom of the sea, this submarine is located in a museum on the island of Guam. At the beginning of the two thousandth, this museum exhibit was restored, and it is again shown to tourists.


On the materials of the sites:
http://combinedfleet.com/
http://war-only.com/
http://navsource.org/
http://modelist-konstruktor.com/
http://aimmuseum.org/
http://pacificwrecks.com/
http://aimmuseum.org/
Author:
2 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Kibalchish
    Kibalchish 16 July 2015 07: 19
    +2
    Thanks for the review. I accidentally remembered about one picture with a similar boat but could not find it in my place. Perhaps she was just this model. In the museum.
    1. THE_SEAL
      THE_SEAL 16 July 2015 14: 50
      +2
      Thank you for the article. Very interesting.
      Can you conduct some review articles on the construction of a nuclear submarine from the Second World War? And the main differences, for example, from German, ours, English and even French, for example?
  2. Argon
    Argon 17 July 2015 01: 31
    0
    I do not agree with the author, I think that opposition to large amphibious operations was the very path on which mini-submarines could show themselves (relatively shallow depths, proximity to the basing sites, the complexity of organizing PLO orders for amphibious ships during the landing) if it were not for a number of technical problems, and The entire series of articles on mini-submarines shows the accuracy of the designers' attempts (at that time) to solve the problem of underwater launching of torpedoes, the center of gravity of the ship changed too significantly (and most importantly quickly), eating up the already meager longitudinal stability margin, and the approach to design A submarine of this class, as for something cheap, did not leave hopes for the creation of special equipment (as light and compact as possible) requiring aviation, and sometimes (as further history showed) and space technologies. Speaking specifically about "Hei-Gata", then an attempt to stick into her additional trim tanks (as evidenced by an increase in the underwater displacement niya) did not lead to an improvement in controllability, to the required level, as evidenced by the case of the destruction of such a boat at the time of the attack by artillery fire from a destroyer.

Сверхмалые подводные лодки типа «C» (Япония)

Почти весь 1943 год японские судостроители занимались сборкой пяти сверхмалых подлодок типа «B». В силу разных причин сборка этой техники, изготовленной на основе задела по лодкам проекта «А», была связана с определенными трудностями. В итоге было решено отказаться от продолжения серии в пользу более нового проекта. Осенью 43-го японские инженеры представили проект новой сверхмалой субмарины с торпедным вооружением. Как и ее предшественники, лодка типа «C» или «Хэй-Гата» предназначалась для скрытного подхода к противнику и последующей атаки с использованием торпед.

Напомним, по результатам эксплуатации подлодок типа «А» в середине 1942 года было решено разработать новый проект более совершенной техники аналогичного назначения. В новом проекте «B» была использована дизель-электрическая силовая установка, заменившая чисто электрическую. Такая переделка субмарин базового проекта позволила ощутимо поднять дальность плавания, а также повысить автономность работы, поскольку новые лодки не нуждались в специальной зарядной станции для аккумуляторов. Тем не менее, по ряду причин подлодки проекта «B» не стали массовыми: было изготовлено всего пять единиц такой техники.

Глубокая модернизация


По некоторым данным, причиной задержек в сборке всего пяти подлодок «B» стали проблемы с переделкой имеющихся корпусов под новое оборудование. Необходимость демонтажа некоторых узлов и агрегатов с последующей заменой новыми сказалась на сроках выполнения работ. Кроме того, такая особенность двух первых проектов, которые, по задумке конструкторов, должны были иметь высокую степень унификации, показала, что используемый подход к разработке не оправдал себя. Новую субмарину нужно было проектировать с использованием существующих компонентов, но без попыток вписать нужное оборудование в не вполне подходящий, хотя и существующий, корпус.

Сверхмалые подводные лодки типа «C» (Япония)
Единственная сохранившаяся лодка типа "C" в музее. Фото Aimmuseum.org


Таким образом, главной целью проекта «C» или «Хэй-Гата» была переработка двух предыдущих субмарин с целью упрощения производства. Одновременно с этим предлагалось внедрить некоторые новшества, направленные на повышение технических характеристик и боевой эффективности. В результате получилось, что подлодки типов «А», «B» и «C» имели некоторые заметные сходства, но отличались друг от друга различными особенностями.

Следует отметить, в проектах наблюдалась определенная преемственность: все они основывались на общих идеях, а также предусматривали использование общих конструкций. Это может говорить о том, что авторы проектов нашли, как им тогда казалось, наилучший вариант облика сверхмалой подлодки, и пытались развивать его с целью достижения нужных характеристик.

Конструкция подлодки типа «C»

Являясь глубокой модернизацией подлодки типа «B», новая «Хэй-Гата» должна была иметь схожую полуторакорпусную конструкцию и аналогичную силовую установку. Подобные основные идеи проекта считались вполне жизнеспособными и пригодными для выполнения имеющихся требований. Были доработаны только некоторые элементы прочного и легкого корпусов, что было связано с оптимизацией производства и использования различных агрегатов. Как следствие, немного изменились размеры и вес конструкции в сборе.

Основой подлодки типа «C», как и ранее, был прочный корпус, собранный из 8-мм стальных листов. Он состоял из носовой цилиндрической и кормовой конической частей. Характеристики прочного корпуса позволяли погружаться на глубину до 100 м (по другим данным, до 100 футов – т.е. не более 30 м). Внутри прочного корпуса размещался центральный пост с рабочими местами экипажа, аккумуляторы и силовая установка. Носовая часть сложной формы была образована легким корпусом из сравнительно тонких металлических листов. За пределами прочного корпуса размещались торпедные аппараты, баллоны со сжатым воздухом, балластные цистерны и т.д.

Сверхмалые подводные лодки типа «C» (Япония)
Схема подлодок типа "А" и "C". Рисунок Modelist-konstruktor.com


Общая компоновка легкого и прочного корпусов осталась прежней и без серьезных изменений была заимствована из предыдущего проекта. Под тонкими листами легкого корпуса располагались два торпедных аппарата, расположенные друг над другом. Рядом с ними имелись две балластные цистерны, баллоны со сжатым воздухом и т.д. Торпедные аппараты проходили по всей длине легкого корпуса, а их передняя часть выступала за его пределы, образуя характерные выпуклости.

В носу прочного корпуса находилась основная масса аккумуляторных батарей для движения под водой. Позади аккумуляторного отсека находился центральный пост с рабочими местами трех подводников. Над центральным постом располагалась рубка с выдвижными устройствами. За спиной у подводников находился кормовой двигательный отсек. В нем имелись дополнительные аккумуляторы, а также дизельный и электрический двигатели. Внутри прочного корпуса размещалось несколько балластных цистерн, как главного балласта, так и балансировочные.

Состав силовой установки остался прежним. Для движения в надводном положении и подзарядки аккумуляторов в море предлагалось использовать танковый дизель мощностью 40 л.с. Мощность связанного с ним генератора позволяла полностью заряжать все батареи за 18 часов. Непосредственно с гребным валом был связан электродвигатель мощностью 600 л.с. Через специальный редуктор он вращал два соосных винта.

На внешней поверхности подлодки предусматривалась конструкция для защиты торпед в аппаратах, пилы и тросы для резки противолодочных заграждений, а также специальные рамы для отведения препятствий от рубки и сброса за корму. От внешних воздействий рули и гребные винты защищались крестообразной конструкцией с кольцевым кожухом винтов.

Подлодка типа «C» получилась немного крупнее предыдущих. Ее длина увеличилась до 24,5 м, максимальная ширина – до 1,9 м, общая высота осталась на уровне 3 м. Водоизмещение в подводном положении теперь составляло 49 т. Можно заметить, что рост габаритов и веса конструкции был незначительным. Тем не менее, он все же сказался на характеристиках лодки. Максимальная скорость в надводном положении сократилась до 20-21 узла, в подводном – до 18-18,5 узла. Согласно некоторым источникам, максимальная скорость под водой не превышала 6-7 узлов.

Дизель-электрическая силовая установка в теории позволяла повысить дальность плавания, которой не хватало сверхмалым подлодкам типа «А». Экономя топливо и заряд аккумуляторов, новые лодки «Хэй-Гата» могли преодолеть в надводном положении до 500 морских миль (на экономической скорости 6 узлов). В подводном положении дальность плавания на одной зарядке аккумуляторов была на уровне 120 миль (скорость 4 узла).

Сверхмалые подводные лодки типа «C» (Япония)
Подлодка типа "C" на берегу. Фото Coollib.com


Вооружение подлодки типа «C», как и ранее, состояло из двух торпедных аппаратов калибра 450 мм. Они располагались в носовой части субмарины, под легким корпусом и частично выступали наружу. Подобные аппараты предназначались для использования торпед «Тип 97». Такие торпеды длиной 5,6 м имели стартовый вес 980 кг и несли 350 кг взрывчатого вещества. Двигатель, работавший на керосине и кислороде, позволял торпеде разгоняться до 45 узлов и преодолевать до 5,5 км. Несмотря на свой малый калибр, подобное оружие представляло серьезную опасность для различных кораблей.

Экипаж подлодки типа «C» состоял из трех человек: командира, рулевого и моториста. На их рабочих местах имелся набор компасов, приборы для контроля за работой систем и органы управления. Следить за окружающей обстановкой и искать цели предлагалось при помощи выдвижного перископа и гидрофона. В отличие от некоторой другой техники этого класса, японские сверхмалые подлодки «А», «B» и «C» не оснащались рубками с остеклением. Попадать на свои рабочие места подводники должны были через люк в рубке.

Производство

Сверхмалые подлодки «Хэй-Гата» сменили на стапелях всех своих предшественников. Серийное строительство такой техники началось поздней осенью 1943 года. К этому времени в цехах заводов, занятых в проекте, оставались несколько недостроенных подлодок типа «А», которые достраивались по проекту «B». Новые лодки типа «C» строились без использования задела по предыдущим заказам. В соответствии с подписанным контрактом, флот должен был получить около 50 новых подлодок.

Являясь очередным вариантом модернизации подлодки типа «А», новые «C» получали схожие серийные номера вида «Ха-NN». Насколько известно, серийные «Хэй-Гата» имели номера с 54 до 100. Существование субмарин с номерами больше сотни не подтверждено. Необходимо отметить, что серийный номер не использовался флотом. Подлодки, задействовавшиеся в тех или иных операциях, обозначались по названию субмарины-носителя. Таким образом, в некоторых случаях могут возникать проблемы с точной идентификацией лодок-участников различных операций.

Сверхмалые подводные лодки типа «C» (Япония)
Единственная сохранившаяся субмарина "Хэй-Гата" в середине 40-х годов. Фото Ibiblio.org


Имеются сведения о некотором сокращении заказа на боевые подлодки нового проекта. Так, из 47 построенных лодок 10 были переоборудованы в учебные. В ходе такой доработки они получили обновленный набор бортового оборудования. Самым заметным следствием такой переделки было увеличение длины рубки. Для размещения дополнительного оборудования и инструктора, отвечавшего за подготовку будущих подводников, пришлось заметно переделать центральный пост и обитаемый объем в целом.

Строительство сверхмалых подводных лодок типа «C» продолжалось до осени 1944 года. За это время Императорский флот получил 47 субмарин: 37 боевых и 10 учебных. Вся эта техника была передана подразделениям, уже эксплуатировавшим аналогичные подлодки предыдущих моделей.

Эксплуатация

Изначально японские сверхмалые подлодки должны были транспортироваться к месту операции специально переоборудованными надводными судами. Тем не менее, опыт боев на Тихом океане показывал, что подобный способ доставки лодок может привести к повышенным потерям, поскольку не обеспечивает приемлемой скрытности транспортировки. Из-за этого все субмарины типа «А» доставлялись в нужный район при помощи подводных лодок из состава флота.

В середине 1943 года к идее судна-транспорта вернулись. К концу года было оборудовано несколько таких кораблей, которые получили специальное оборудование для обслуживания и перевозки сверхмалых лодок. Тем не менее, на этот раз судно-носитель уже не должно было доставлять субмарины к месту начала операции. Переоборудованные суда предназначались только для перевозки «Хэй-Гата» к новым засекреченным базам.

Имеются сведения о доставке не менее 15-20 подлодок на специальные базы о. Окинава и Филиппин. Там они должны были вести патрулирование заданных районов и, при соответствующем случае, атаковать корабли и суда противника. Подлодки типа «А» ранее применялись для атаки военно-морских баз противника, однако понесли большие потери. Учитывая этот печальный опыт, командование флота решило отказаться от столь смелых рейдов и использовать сверхмалые подлодки исключительно для свободной охоты в важных районах.

Сверхмалые подводные лодки типа «C» (Япония)
Носовая часть музейной подлодки. Фото Modelist-konstruktor.com


Сверхмалые подлодки типа «B» были доставлены на несколько баз, расположенных на Филиппинских островах и Окинаве. Так, филиппинские базы располагались на островах Минданао (базы Давао и Замбоанга) и Себу (одноименная база). Патрулирование вели все полтора десятка субмарин, но в боях участвовали только подводники с базы Себу. В течение нескольких месяцев они продолжали патрулировать указанные акватории и искать потенциальные цели, вплоть до того, как остров Себу перешел в руки американцев.

Боевая работа сверхмалых подлодок чаще всего выглядела следующим образом. Уйдя в море, экипаж лодки направлялся к южной оконечности о. Негрос, к базе Думагете. Вблизи этого места регулярно проходили корабли и суда США, что позволяло надеяться на успешное обнаружение и уничтожение целей. По прибытии к базе Думагете подлодки ложились в дрейф или подходили к берегу. Дальше им оставалось только ждать сообщения передовых наблюдателей и подходящих судах противника. В результате субмарины своевременно оказывались на пути вражеских кораблей и при этом не тратили топливо или заряд аккумуляторов.

Активное судоходство в районе и любопытная стратегия позволяли японским подводникам регулярно предпринимать попытки атаковать вражеские корабли. Тем не менее, большинство сообщений экипажей подлодок типа «C» не подтверждается в американских источниках. Так, 3 января подводники доложили о потоплении двух транспортных судов и одного эсминца. 5 января, по сообщениям с филиппинских баз, в море Минданао были затоплены два американских боевых корабля. Ценой этой победы стала потеря одной из подлодок. Действительно, в этот день японские субмарины пытались атаковать американский конвой. Тем не менее, крейсер USS Boise (CL-47) вовремя получил сообщение об атаке с одного из других кораблей и успел уклониться. Подлодку заметили с эсминца USS Taylor (DD-468), атаковали и потопили.

В феврале 45-го с японской базы Себу сообщали о потоплении сверхмалыми подлодками двух кораблей противника. В марте, по утверждениям японских офицеров, были потоплены три транспорта. Тем не менее, эти атаки не подтверждаются американскими источниками. Вероятно, подводники пытались записывать на свой счет даже неудачные атаки. Выходы в море для проведения атак продолжались до конца марта.

26 марта 1945 года войска США в ходе Филиппинской операции начали высадку на остров Себу. К моменту захвата базы японцы успели затопить пять остававшихся в порту сверхмалых субмарин типа «B». Остальные к этому времени успели выйти в море и предприняли попытку противодействовать десанту. Во время высадки десанта несколько американских кораблей имели контакт с японскими подлодками. Эсминец USS Newman (DE-205) смог не только обнаружить, но и обстрелять противника. Артиллерийским огнем он потопил одну из вражеских субмарин, пытавшихся атаковать корабли.

Итоги

По имеющимся данным, сверхмалые подводные лодки типа «C», базировавшиеся на острове Себу, стали единственными представителями своего проекта, участвовавшими в боях. Субмарины других баз выполняли патрулирование в различных районах, но какая-либо информация о попытках выполнения атак, не говоря уже об успешном торпедировании кораблей противника, отсутствует. По-видимому, в боях участвовали только те лодки, которые базировались вблизи основных морских путей.

С технической точки зрения проект «C» или «Хэй-Гата» получился достаточно удачным. К концу 1943 года японским специалистам удалось, что называется, довести до ума проект сверхмалой подлодки, начатый еще в первой половине тридцатых. Результатом этого стало появление сверхмалых подлодок с достаточно высокими характеристиками и неплохим боевым потенциалом. Дальность плавания до 500 морских миль, возможность длительного пребывания под водой и боекомплект из двух сравнительно мощных торпед позволяли новым лодкам участвовать в свободной охоте и рейдах на базы противника.

Сверхмалые подводные лодки типа «C» (Япония)
Обломки подлодки типа "C" и поврежденное японское судно. Фото Modelist-konstruktor.com


Тем не менее, подлодки с требуемыми характеристиками появились слишком поздно. К началу 1944 года ход войны на Тихом океане складывался не в пользу Японии. Страны-союзники нарастили свою корабельную и сухопутную группировку, что позволяло отвоевывать один остров за другим. Как следствие, Япония больше не имела возможности устраивать полноценные рейды с использованием сверхмалых подлодок наподобие операций в Перл-Харборе или у берегов Сиднея. Новую перспективную технику пришлось отправлять на Филиппинские острова и использовать в попытках атаковать проходящие мимо суда. Естественно, такая стратегия не принесла ощутимых результатов.

Таким образом, удачный с точки зрения техники проект оказался бесперспективным в плане реальных результатов боевой работы. Подлодки типа «C» опоздали на войну и не успели оказать какое-либо влияние на ход боевых действий. Тем не менее, японские адмиралы и инженеры не потеряли интерес к подобной технике. В начале 1944 года стартовала разработка проекта «D», также известного под названиями «Тэй-Гата» и «Корю». Эти лодки должны были использоваться для защиты японского побережья.

В течение 1944 года Императорский флот Японии получил чуть менее полусотни подлодок типа «C» в боевой и учебной конфигурациях. Почти вся эта техника была уничтожена во время боев или была затоплена перед наступающим противником. До нашего времени дожила только одна сверхмалая подлодка «Хэй-Гата». С середины сороковых, когда ее подняли со дна моря, эта субмарина находится в музее на острове Гуам. В начале двухтысячных этот музейный экспонат отреставрировали, и он снова демонстрируется туристам.


По материалам сайтов:
http://combinedfleet.com/
http://war-only.com/
http://navsource.org/
http://modelist-konstruktor.com/
http://aimmuseum.org/
http://pacificwrecks.com/
http://aimmuseum.org/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 2
  1. Кибальчиш 16 июля 2015 07:19
    Спасибо за обзор. Случайно вспомнил про одну картинку с похожей лодкой но не смог её у себя найти. Возможно на ней как раз эта модель была. В музее.
    1. THE_SEAL 16 июля 2015 14:50
      Спасибо за статью. Очень интересно.
      Можете провести несколько обзорных статей по устройству АПЛ времен 2-й мировой войны?И основные отличия например немецких от наших, английских и даже французских например?
  2. Argon 17 июля 2015 01:31
    Не соглашусь с автором,считаю противодействие крупным десантным операциям была той самой стезей на которой миниПЛ могли бы себя проявить(относительно небольшие глубины,близость к местам базирования,сложность организации ПЛО ордеров десантных судов в период десантирования)если бы не ряд технических проблем,так и не решенных японскими кораблестроителями.Весь цикл статей по миниподлодкам показывает тчетность попыток конструкторов(в то время)решить проблему подводного пуска торпед,слишком значительно(и главное быстро)менялся центр тяжести корабля съедая и без того мизерный запас продольной остойчивости,да и подход к проэктированию ПЛ такого класса,как к чему то дешевому не оставлял надежд на создание специального оборудования(максимально легкого и компактного)требующего авиационных,а иногда(как показала дальнейшая история)и космических технологий.Если говорить конкретно про"Хей-Гата"то попытка всунуть в нее дополнительные дифферентные цистерны(о чем говорит увеличение подводного водоизмещения)не привело к улучшению управляемости,до требуемого уровня.О чем свидетельствует случай уничтожения такой лодки в момент атаки артиллерийским огнем эсминца.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня