What awaits Saudi Arabia?

Riyadh has lost its peaceful sleep in recent years, the situation around the largest state in the Arabian Peninsula has seriously deteriorated. Yes, and within the country there are problems related to the inheritance of the throne, the activation of dissatisfied groups of the population, in connection with the situation in the Arab world.

The heir to the throne of the Kingdom and Minister of Defense in the last 50 years, Prince Sultan bin Abdul Aziz al-Saud, died. At the same time, the King of Saudi Arabia, Abdullah ibn Abdul Aziz al-Saud, transferred part of his authority to representatives of the monarchical family and is undergoing rehabilitation after the third spinal surgery.


It should be noted that the transfer of power in the country is a very complex process associated with a high degree of risk and court intrigues. In addition, most of the 18 sons of the king are very old people, some have serious health problems, others do not have experience in government.

Currently, the de facto Kingdom is ruled by Naif, after the death of Sultan the second person in the Saudi "table of ranks", the half-brother of King Abdullah and the Minister of the Interior. He also does not differ in youth - he 78 years. Naif is the very first contender for the throne of Saudi Arabia, which causes serious concerns in the liberal-democratic circles of the country, in connection with its conservatism and ties with religious circles. There are fears that Naif becoming the king will curtail the course of reforms that Abdullah began (which he began largely under the pressure of circumstances).

It is also necessary to take into account the fact that the deceased Sultan was a supporter of the closest possible relations with the United States. Abdullah, like Naif, believe that friendship with Washington is good, but the priority of Riyadh should be military-political hegemony in the Middle East region and ideological leadership (based on Wahhabism) in the Islamic world. Thus, Abdullah spoke out against the decision, pushed through by Sultan, to deploy the American military contingent in the kingdom during the operation against Iraq.

After Abdullah became the head of state in 1996, when King Fahd had a massive stroke, the Kingdom’s foreign policy began to become more and more independent. Increasingly between Saudi Arabia and the United States began to arise, if not serious differences, then at least a misunderstanding. Especially in such matters as “international terrorism”, the Saudi atomic program (cooperation in this field with Pakistan), the Kingdom’s relations with the Taliban. This did not cause joy to the Sultan, but Abdullah quite successfully managed to neutralize him, starting the "fight against corruption", and the blow fell on the Ministry of Defense.

Crown Prince Naif shares Abdullah’s foreign policy views. In his opinion, the Kingdom should lead the Islamic world. Naif is a supporter of the creation of the "Islamic Caliphate" led by the Saudi dynasty. It can be based on the Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Persian Gulf (GCC), which includes Bahrain, Qatar, Kuwait, the United Arab Emirates, Oman and Saudi Arabia. The governments of this Union are planning to create a single currency, and the headquarters of the single central bank will be located in the capital of Saudi Arabia. In 2008, the GCC countries created a common market. The impact of this union can be quite serious - the total oil reserves of the countries - members of this Council total 484 billion barrels, which is more than half of the oil reserves of OPEC member countries (Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries). Saudi Arabia alone possesses 23% of world oil reserves, being an energy superpower. There is a gradual process of creation of the United Armed Forces (OVS) of the GCC "Peninsula Shield". They were founded back in 1983 year.

With Naif coming to power, the process of creating the “Islamic Caliphate” will be accelerated. The Union can be expanded to include Jordan and Morocco. It is clear that Naif will make every effort to ensure that this union is transformed into a full-fledged religious, political and military bloc. It is necessary to take into account the fact that the countries of the Persian region are conducting a real arms race, purchasing large quantities of weapons in the West and in the USA, including the latest combat aircraft, helicopters, ships, armored vehicles, air defense weapons, etc.

Of course, Riyadh will try to speed up its atomic program, in this matter it has a good ally - Pakistan. The Saudi Islamic Caliphate, which possesses not only huge hydrocarbon reserves, a lot of modern weapons, but also nuclear weaponsmay become a serious opponent for Iran.

For Russia - it will be very unpleasant news. Saudi Arabia was an enemy of the Soviet Union, supporting the Mujahideen. During the Chechen war, Riyadh supported the Chechen separatists. With the emergence of the “Islamic Caliphate” led by the Saudis, the activity of religious missionaries from Saudi Arabia in the republics of post-Soviet Central Asia will increase significantly, they will not forget the Crimea, the North Caucasus, the republics of the Middle Volga region.

In this regard (against Riyadh) we will be able to find an ally in Iran, who himself claims leadership in the Islamic world, I think, and Israel will not be happy about the emergence of such a superpower on its borders. Perhaps it will be possible to find a common language with Ankara. Although now the Turks are allies of Saudi Arabia, creating with them a powerful Sunni bloc. But it is doubtful that Ankara will give up the role of leader among the Sunnis to Riyadh, for no good reason. The political elite of Turkey is seriously committed to the construction of the "Ottoman Empire-2".

What awaits Saudi Arabia?
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Что ждёт Саудовскую Аравию?

Эр-Рияд в последние годы утратил спокойный сон, ситуация вокруг крупнейшего государства на Аравийском полуострове серьёзно осложнилась. Да и внутри страны назрели проблемы связанные с наследованием престола, активизацией недовольных групп населения, в связи с ситуацией в арабском мире.

Умер наследник престола Королевства и министр обороны в последние 50 лет, принц Султан бен Абдель Азиз аль-Сауд. В это же время король Саудовской Аравии Абдалла ибн Абдель Азиз аль-Сауд передал часть своих властных полномочий представителям монархического семейства и проходит курс реабилитации после третьей операции на позвоночнике.


Надо отметить, что передача власти в стране представляет собой весьма сложный процесс, связанный с высокой степенью риска и придворными интригами. К тому же большая часть из 18 сыновей короля – это люди весьма преклонного возраста, некоторые имеют серьёзные проблемы со здоровьем, другие не имеют опыта в управлении государством.

В настоящее время де-факто Королевством управляет Наиф, после смерти Султана второе лицо в саудовском «табеле о рангах», сводный брат короля Абдаллы и министр внутренних дел. Он также не отличается молодостью – ему 78 лет. Наиф самый первый претендент на престол Саудовской Аравии, что вызывает серьёзные опасения в либерально-демократических кругах страны, в связи с его консерватизмом и связями с религиозными кругами. Есть опасения, что Наиф став королём свернёт курс реформ, которые начал Абдалла (которые тот начал во многом под давлением обстоятельств).

Также надо учитывать тот факт, что умерший Султан был сторонником максимально близких отношений с Соединенными Штатами. А Абдалла, как и Наиф считают, что дружба с Вашингтоном - это хорошо, но приоритетом Эр-Рияда должна быть военно-политическая гегемония в ближневосточном регионе и идеологическое лидерство (на основе ваххабизма) в исламском мире. Так, Абдалла выступал против продавленного Султаном решения о размещении американского военного контингента на территории королевства в ходе операции против Ирака.

После того как Абдалла в 1996-м году стал фактически главой государства, когда у короля Фахда произошёл обширный инсульт, внешняя политика Королевства стала приобретать все более независимый характер. Все чаще между Саудовской Аравией и Соединенными Штатами стали возникать если и не серьёзные разногласия, то, как минимум недопонимание. Особенно в таких вопросах, как «международный терроризм», атомная программа Саудитов (взаимодействие в этой области с Пакистаном), взаимоотношения Королевства с талибами. Это не вызывало радости у Султана, но Абдалла довольно успешно сумел его нейтрализовать, начав «борьбу с коррупцией», причём удар пришёлся на министерство обороны.

Наследный принц Наиф разделяет внешнеполитические взгляды Абдаллы. По его мнению, Королевство должно возглавить исламский мир. Наиф является сторонником создания «Исламского халифата» во главе с династией Саудитов. Его основой может стать Совет сотрудничества арабских государств Персидского залива (ССАГПЗ), в который входят Бахрейн, Катар, Кувейт, ОАЭ, Оман и Саудовская Аравия. Правительства этого Союза планируют создать единую валюту, а штаб-квартира единого центрального банка будет находиться в столице Саудовской Аравии. В 2008 году страны ССАГПЗ создали общий рынок. Влияние этого союза может быть весьма серьёзным - общие запасы нефти стран — членов этого Совета насчитывают 484 млрд. баррелей, что составляет более половины нефтяных резервов государств — членов ОПЕК (Организация стран-экспортеров нефти). Одна Саудовская Аравия обладает 23% мировых запасов нефти, являясь энергетической сверхдержавой. Идёт постепенный процесс создания Объединенных вооруженных сил (ОВС) ССАГПЗ «Щит полуострова». Они были основаны ещё в 1983 году.

С приходом к власти Наифа процесс создания «Исламского халифата» будет ускорен. Союз может быть расширен за счет включения Иордании и Марокко. Понятно, что Наиф приложит все силы к тому, чтобы это объединение было преобразовано в полноценный религиозно-политический и военный блок. Надо учесть и тот факт, что страны Персидского региона ведут настоящую гонку вооружений, закупая на Западе и в США крупные партии вооружений, включая новейшие боевые самолёты, вертолёты, корабли, бронетехнику, средства ПВО и пр.

Разумеется, Эр-Рияд постарается ускорить свою атомную программу, в этом деле у него есть хороший союзник - Пакистан. «Исламский халифат» Саудитов обладающий не только огромными запасами углеводородов, массой новейшего вооружения, да ещё и с ядерным оружием, может стать серьёзным противником для Ирана.

Для России – это будет весьма неприятная новость. Саудовская Аравия была врагом Советского Союза, поддерживая моджахедов. В годы Чеченской войны Эр-Рияд поддерживал чеченских сепаратистов. При появлении «Исламского халифата» во главе с Саудитами, активность религиозных миссионеров из Саудовской Аравии в республиках постсоветской Средней Азии значительно возрастет, не забудут они и Крым, Северный Кавказ, республики Среднего Поволжья.

В этом отношении (против Эр-Рияда) мы сможем найти союзника в Иране, который сам претендует на лидерство в исламском мире, думается и Израиль будет не рад появлению подобной сверхдержавы на его рубежах. Возможно удастся найти общий язык и с Анкарой. Хотя ныне турки союзники Саудовской Аравии, создавая вместе с ними мощный суннитский блок. Но сомнительно, что Анкара уступит роль лидера среди суннитов Эр-Рияду, без серьёзной причины. Политическая элита Турции серьёзно настроена на строительство «Османской империи-2».

Что ждёт  Саудовскую Аравию?
Автор:
Самсонов Александр
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти