Pentagon deputy head resigned for embezzling 400 thousand dollars

Pentagon deputy head resigned for embezzling 400 thousand dollarsUS Deputy Secretary of Defense Clifford Stanley resigns in connection with allegations of embezzling 400 thousand dollars and finding a job in the Pentagon of his friend, RIA reports News.

According to Pentagon’s deputy head of public relations, Doug Wilson, Stanley, who held the post of deputy minister for personnel and combat readiness, submitted his resignation to the defense minister on Thursday.


- Stanley explained his decision by the fact that the highest standards are applied to the military service ..., and he has reached a stage when his successor can fulfill his duties better. Stanley’s decision was voluntary, Wilson said.

At present, the office of the Pentagon’s chief inspector is conducting an investigation into a case involving Stanley’s excessive spending and misconduct charges. According to the investigation, the deputy minister spent about 400 thousands of dollars on the equipment of the meeting room in his office, about which the witnesses speak as “excessively expensive”. Inspectors also claim that Stanley appointed his long-time friend to a high post in the ministry and forced the military department to dismiss about 20. The investigation is also studying the accusations against the deputy minister in organizing telephone tapping and interception of electronic messages of subordinates.

- Stanley created an ineffective management system based on fear and distrust. He was a capricious and despotic leader, creating arbitrariness. He allowed cost overruns, scams and abuse of power. Even assuming that he was competent in business matters, his destructive behavior could lead to the failure of all the work of the personnel management and the readiness of the Pentagon, the accompanying note to the case file regarding the deputy minister reads.

Stanley took the current post in February 2010 of the year. More than 33 years he served in the marines and retired as major general. According to Wilson, Stanley will serve as deputy minister for about two weeks, after which his deputy Joanne Rooney will be appointed acting head of the personnel and combat readiness department of the Pentagon.
Originator:
http://www.rg.ru
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Замглавы Пентагона ушел в отставку за растрату 400 тысяч долларов

Замглавы Пентагона ушел в отставку за растрату 400 тысяч долларовЗамминистра обороны США Клиффорд Стенли уходит в отставку в связи с обвинениями в растрате 400 тысяч долларов и устройстве на работу в Пентагон своего друга, передает РИА Новости.

Как сообщил замглавы Пентагона по вопросам связей с общественностью Даг Уилсон, Стенли, занимавший пост заместителя министра во вопросам персонала и боеготовности, подал прошение об отставке главе оборонного ведомства в четверг.


- Стенли объяснил свое решение тем, что к военной службе применяются наивысшие стандарты..., а он достиг такого этапа, когда его обязанности сможет более качественно исполнять его преемник. Решение Стенли было добровольным, - сказал Уилсон.

В настоящее время офис главного инспектора Пентагона проводит расследование по делу, связанному с обвинениями Стенли в чрезмерных тратах и служебных нарушениях. По данным следствия, замминистра потратил около 400 тысяч долларов на оборудование переговорной комнаты в своем офисе, о которой свидетели отзываются как о "чрезмерно дорогой". Также проверяющие утверждают, что Стенли назначил своего давнего друга на высокий пост в министерстве и принудил к увольнению около 20 сотрудников военного ведомства. Также следствие изучает обвинения в адрес замминистра в организации прослушивания телефонных разговоров и перехвата электронных сообщений подчиненных.

- Стенли создал неэффективную систему управления, основанную на страхе и недоверии. Он был капризным и деспотичным руководителем, творящим произвол. Он допускал перерасход средств, жульничество и злоупотребление властью. Даже если допустить, что он был компетентен в служебных вопросах, то его деструктивное поведение могло бы привести к провалу всей работы управления персонала и боеготовности Пентагона, - говорится в сопроводительной записке к материалам дела в отношении замминистра.

Стенли занял нынешний пост в феврале 2010 года. Более 33 лет он прослужил в морской пехоте и вышел в отставку в должности генерал-майора. По заявлению Уилсона, Стенли будет исполнять обязанности замминистра еще около двух недель, после чего исполняющим обязанности главы управления персонала и боеготовности Пентагона будет назначена его заместитель Джоэнн Руни.
Первоисточник:
http://www.rg.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти