New phase of the development of flying armored cars

New phase of the development of flying armored cars


"In a first approximation," the US military approved the draft armored vehicles with vertical take-off and set deadlines for the demonstration of functional prototypes. Two companies continue to be involved in designing machines, whose approaches to the task are very different.


According to Aviation Week, the research corporation DARPA considered it to be “more acceptable” to the two designs of flying armored vehicles developed by Lockheed Martin (together with Piasecki Aircraft) and AAI.



Thus, the Transformer (TX) program, which informally carries the name “Flying Humvee”, entered the second phase. And this means that the transition from words to deeds has begun. The construction of demonstration prototypes has begun.

The company "AAI" makes the main bet on the symbiosis of the wings of the aircraft and the rotor of the helicopter. Both of these elements at the "helicopter" can be folded.
The first samples of such machines should be made by 2012 year. After examining the proposed models, DARPA from two companies will choose one for further work, which in the third phase of the program in 2015 will “give out” a truly flying copy of the TX.



The Lockheed Martin's Flying Humvee is two screws in a ring that are located on the wing whose angle of attack changes during flight. And while moving on the ground, the wing will be able to turn around its axis.

As a result, Americans will get something out of the ordinary. It is believed to be this four-seater off-road car. He will be able to resist fire from any kind of rifle weapons and very quickly (literally in a minute) to transform into an aircraft, which will be ready for vertical takeoff and landing. In addition, the driver of such a "hybrid" will not require the skills of a professional pilot. And the car should work as an unmanned aerial vehicle.



In the "DARPA" believe that the cost of such a flying armored car will be about one million dollars. If we compare prices, the cost of a regular “Humvee” is about 400 thousand dollars, and a light helicopter - 4 million dollars.

Note that in the British armed forces, the “flying jeep” served in the 40s of the 20th century, and in the American army, the “flying jeeps” was tested in the 50-60s.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

19 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Новая фаза разработки летающих броневиков

Новая фаза разработки летающих броневиков


«В первом приближении» военное ведомство США одобрило проекты армейских бронеавтомобилей с вертикальным взлетом и назначило сроки проведения демонстрации функциональных прототипов. Проектированием машин продолжают заниматься две компании, чьи подходы к поставленной задаче сильно отличаются.


По сообщениям «Aviation Week», исследовательская корпорация «DARPA» посчитала «более приемлемыми» именно две конструкции летающих броневиков, разработанные компаниями «Lockheed Martin» (совместно с «Piasecki Aircraft») и «AAI».



Таким образом, вошла во вторую фазу программа «Transformer» (TX), которая неофициально носит название «летающий Humvee». А это значит, что начался переход от слов к делу. Началось строительство демонстрационных прототипов.

Компания «AAI» делает основную ставку на симбиозе крыльев самолета и ротора вертолета. Оба этих элемента у «вертосамолёта» могут складываться.
Первые образцы таких машин должны быть изготовлены к 2012 году. Изучив предложенные модели, «DARPA» из двух компаний для дальнейшей работы изберет одну, которая в 2015 году, в третьей фазе программы, «выдаст» действительно летающий экземпляр «TX».



Аппарат «Flying Humvee» компании «Lockheed Martin» – это два винта в кольце, которые располагаются на крыле, у которого угол атаки во время полета изменяется. А во время передвижения по земле крыло сможет поворачиваться вокруг своей оси.

Как итог, американцы получат нечто из ряда вон выходящее. Как полагают, будет это четырёхместный внедорожный автомобиль. Он сможет противостоять огню из любого вида стрелкового оружия и очень быстро (буквально за минуту) преобразовываться в летательный аппарат, который будет готов к вертикальным взлету и посадке. К тому же, от водителя такого «гибрида» не будет требоваться навыков профессионального летчика. Причем автомобиль должен работать и как беспилотный летательный аппарат.



В «DARPA» считают, что стоимость такого летающего бронеавтомобиля будет около одного миллиона долларов. Если сравнивать цены, то стоимость обычного «Humvee» – примерно 400 тысяч долларов, а легкого вертолета – 4 млн долларов.

Отметим, что в британских вооруженных силах «летающий джип» проходил службу в 40-х годах ХХ века, а в американской армии «flying jeeps» тестировался в 50-60-е годы.
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

19 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти