Military Review

Flexible firepower: a modular approach in the new family of Cockerill towers

5

The CMI Defense Cockerill 3000 turret family with the largest 105 caliber on the left and the 25-mm cannon on the right


CMI Defense began mass production of its new modular and scalable Cockerill 3000 series towers for an unnamed overseas customer.

The tower, designed for armament caliber from 25 mm to 105 mm, is available in habitable and uninhabited configurations.

Each configuration has a single basic design, optimized for the largest caliber armament, but with a computerized fire control system (FCS), optical instruments, ammunition processing system, as well as gun and turret drives adapted to the installed weaponry. The human-machine interface, physical, computer, electrical and electronic architectures remain the same.

James Codl, commercial director at CMI Defense, said that “the use of an automatic loader allows our large-caliber weapons with low recoil force to be installed in a tower, which by physical parameters is very similar to a modern tower with a medium caliber.”

The autoloader can be configured for a caliber from 90 mm to 105 mm, the turret and gun drives are expanded in order to “cope” with all the loads and configurations of weapons from 25 mm to 105 mm.

On the basic all-welded turret, made of aluminum armor, additional armor units with various combinations of steel, ceramic and multi-layered sheets can be installed in order to obtain maximum protection STANAG 4569 5 level.

The commander in the tower sits on the left and the shooter on the right. Each has a one-piece hatch opening back plus daily periscopes to increase situational awareness. If necessary, the commander can be installed on the roof stabilized panoramic day / night sighting system with eye-safe laser range finder.

Electric tower drives with dynamic obstacle avoidance function and manual backup branch.

The unified open electronic architecture of the towers of this series simplifies the process of modernization and integration of subsystems when the threat changes or new technologies appear.

CMI Defense has designed the base platform of the 3000 family to integrate a variety of sighting systems, but today only three sights are qualified.

These systems can range from unstabilized daytime / with enhanced image brightness sights to fully stabilized daytime / thermal imaging systems with a laser rangefinder. They are connected to a computerized OMS also developed by CMI Defense so that you can capture stationary and moving targets in any combat conditions.

As already noted, the basic concept behind the development of the tower was to change the weapons in the architecture of one tower, scaling the firepower to match the perceived threat levels. The machine gun is mounted coaxially with the main gun, the caliber and type of machine gun is chosen by the customer. If necessary, a remote-controlled combat module armed with a stabilized 7,62-mm or 12,7-mm machine gun or even an 40-mm automatic grenade launcher can be mounted on the roof of the turret.

Depending on the requirements, it is possible to install any type of grenade launcher installations with electropetrusions, including 66 mm, 76 mm or 81 mm. Another type of armament is anti-tank guided missiles, a container with them is mounted on the side of the turret.

Vertical guidance angles depend on the range of weapons installed, they vary from 60 ° for medium-caliber guns to 42 ° heavier weapons. The latter can, however, be used both in city battles and in melee combat.

The Cockerill 3030 tower was recently installed on the Desert Piranha 5 8x8 from General Dynamics European Land Systems and MOWAG, and was armed with the tried-and-tested XKUMNMX double-powered X-gun of the ATK Armament Systems company.

CMI Defense supplies special kits for transforming the turret with the MK44 cannon, which consists in moving from mm 30xXNNXX ammunition to 173-mm Supershot. This functional flexibility is noted in the designation of the Cockerill 40 / 3030 tower. It can be upgraded to 40-mm ammunition with improved impact on the target when firing air explosions.

The CMI Defense 90 mm Mk8 can fire a variety of ammunition and is currently in service with several countries.

Flexible firepower: a modular approach in the new family of Cockerill towers

Desert Piranha 5 with installed CMI Defense Cockerill 3030 / 40 turret with 30-mm dual-feed MK44 cannon from ATK Armament Systems and two stabilized sighting systems

Extended Tests

A low recoil rifled 105-mm CV gun is installed not only in the CMI Defense CT-CV tower, but also in the Cockerill 3105 turret. She has already passed extensive tests on a variety of tracked and wheeled platforms. The 105-mm version is distinguished by an automatic loader mounted with the 12 or 16 ammunition mounted in the aft alcove of the tower.

In addition to firing all types of NATO-standard 105-mm ammunition, such as armor-piercing sub-caliber, anti-cumulative, high-explosive with a crushed warhead, the Cockerill 3105 can fire the Falarick anti-tank rocket through the barrel of a gun. A similar feature is also available for the Cockerill 90 3090 system.

The laser-guided Falarick missile was developed jointly with Ukraine and is distinguished by a tandem warhead designed to penetrate conventional steel armor protected by dynamic protection units.

Falarick has a maximum range of 5000 meters, the shooter keeps the target in the crosshairs until the very meeting with her. This rocket was successfully tested at test sites in Poland and the UK.

For training in work with a tower of the Cockerill 3000 series various computer simulators were developed. They range from traditional desktop simulators to networked computers and turret-simulators, which allow trainees to get the most realistic conditions possible.

A new family of towers is offered along with the already existing line of towers, which varies from the 30-mm Cockerill Protected Weapon Station (CPWS) tower to the XC-8 105 mm / 120 mm tower.

CMI Defense recently signed a memorandum of understanding on cooperation with the Korean Doosan DST to design and manufacture a tower in South Korea. The memorandum provides for the installation of the CMI Defense CT-CV 105 mm tower on the mass-produced BMP K21 in order to create a mobile lightweight tank.

CMI Defense also collaborates with PT Pindad to jointly develop and manufacture various towers in Indonesia from 20 mm to 105 mm.

PT Pindad has recently manufactured the first five of its new Badak 6x6 fire support platforms. They also installed a CMI Defense CSE 90LP turret, armed with a low-pressure Cockerill Mk 90 3-mm low-pressure cannon.

CMI Defense recently delivered a batch of Cockerill CSE 22LP 90 turrets for installation on Doosan Black Fox 6x6 light armored vehicles in service with Indonesia.


Arma 8x8 armored personnel carrier from the Turkish company Otokar with a CMI Defense Cockerill turret, armed with a CMI CT-CV 105 HP rifled cannon, which has an automatic loader in the rear stern of the turret


A typical family of light armored 8x8 vehicles with CMI Defense Cockerill 3000 turrets. From left to right: with 105-mm cannon, 90-mm cannon and 30 / 40-mm automatic cannon with ATGM launcher on the right side of the turret

Complete family of towers
Designation - Armament
Cockerill 3025 - 25-mm gun
Cockerill 3030 - 30-mm gun
Cockerill 3030 / 40 - 30-mm gun with the ability to convert to 40-mm
Cockerill 3035 / 50 - 35-mm gun with the ability to convert to 50-mm
Cockerill 3035 - 35-mm gun
Cockerill 3040 - 40-mm gun
Cockerill 3050 - 50-mm gun
Cockerill 3090 - 90-mm gun
Cockerill 3105 - 105-mm gun

Comment

Using a single common platform for armament calibers ranging from mm 20 to mm 105 is unusual. This approach may seem inefficient, since the overall platform in size and strength should correspond to the largest caliber. However, CMI Defense uses proprietary cannons with a low recoil force with automatic loaders, which in large calibers will reduce the crew to two people. CMI Defense states that any compromise is worth it if it turns out to be a heightened advantage for the customer, including lower cost of the entire service life and the diversity of the fleet of weapons used.

The widespread use of a common man-machine interface and physical, computer and electronic architecture potentially significantly reduces costs in the long run and increases combat flexibility.

The Cockerill 3000 tower is offered for installation on new tracked and wheeled platforms, as well as on existing platforms weighing about 20 tons in order to increase their firepower.



Cockerill 3000 Series from CMI Defense at IDEX 2015

Materials used:
www.janes.com
www.cmigroupe.com
www.otokar.com
www.youtube.com
www.wikipedia.org
Author:
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. 31rus
    31rus 3 September 2015 08: 54 New
    +1
    Good article, thank you. It already resembles our "triad", is it taken from here? The statements are just not clear: how can a given system or family affect the "flexibility" of the platform’s action on which the towers are installed?
    1. monah10
      monah10 3 September 2015 10: 03 New
      +1
      I understand that we are talking about a possible modernization, if there is a need to increase firepower. There is no need for additional crew training, as everything else remains unchanged. But such a wide versatility of calibers raises many questions related to reliability, excessive margin of safety, the completeness of the use of reserved space. In general, all the disadvantages of universal modular systems are inherent in this.
      1. 31rus
        31rus 3 September 2015 12: 41 New
        +1
        I’m talking about the same thing, and where is the “flexibility?” And what does it mean if you need to increase firepower (it would be clearer if we considered police options or a pancake special naz), but this is an army technique and it is clear that a module with a 30mm gun, machine gun and peter is preferable to a module with a machine gun of 7,62, so why bother with brainwashing, for the rebels, they don’t need such towers
  2. Cruorvult
    Cruorvult 3 September 2015 09: 45 New
    +1
    The combat module is habitable, huge for 30-50 caliber guns, as described in the article.
  3. Kibalchish
    Kibalchish 3 September 2015 16: 40 New
    0
    Thanks for the information. Very valuable.
  4. tchoni
    tchoni 4 September 2015 11: 03 New
    0
    the article is very entertaining .... However, despite the alluring concept of the turret and weapons, the approach using a single chassis seems somehow not quite right, because it does not allow to fully realize the advantage of artillery systems installed in a single tower. So the small weight of 25 mm guns is leveled by the weight of the turret designed for the installation of 105 mm guns, and the capacity of the AZ for 105 mm guns is limited by the need to install the turret on light armored vehicles ...
    More promising is the development of various DBMS with uniform installation dimensions, or the finalization of a single enclosure for installing various modules ...

Гибкое огневое могущество: модульный подход в новом семействе башен Cockerill


Семейство башен CMI Defence Cockerill 3000 с самым крупным орудием калибра 105 мм слева и 25-мм пушкой справа

Компания CMI Defence начала серийное производство своих новых модульных и масштабируемых башен Cockerill серии 3000 для неназванного зарубежного заказчика.


Башня, спроектированная для вооружения калибра от 25 мм до 105 мм, доступна в обитаемой и необитаемой конфигурациях.

Каждая конфигурация имеет единую базовую конструкцию, оптимизированную под вооружение самого крупного калибра, но с компьютеризированной системой управления огнем (СУО), оптическими приборами, системой обработки боеприпасов, а также приводами пушки и башни адаптированными в соответствии с установленным вооружением. Человеко-машинный интерфейс, физическая, компьютерная, электрическая и электронная архитектуры остаются теми же самыми.

Коммерческий директор в компании CMI Defence Джеймс Кодль сказал, что «использование автомата заряжания позволяет наше крупнокалиберное вооружение с малой силой отдачи устанавливать в башню, которая по физическим параметрам очень похожа на современную башню со средним калибром».

Автомат заряжания может быть сконфигурирован под калибр от 90 мм до 105 мм, приводы башни и пушки расширяются для того, чтобы «справиться» со всеми нагрузками и конфигурациями вооружения калибра от 25 мм до 105 мм.

На базовую цельносварную башню, изготовленную из алюминиевой брони, могут устанавливаться дополнительные броневые блоки с различным сочетанием стальных, керамических и многослойных листов с целью получения максимальной защиты STANAG 4569 Уровень 5.

Командир в башне сидит слева и стрелок справа. У каждого имеется моноблочный открывающийся назад люк плюс дневные перископы для повышения уровня ситуационной осведомленности. При необходимости у командира может быть установлена на крыше стабилизированная панорамная дневная/ночная прицельная система с безопасным для глаз лазерным дальномером.

Приводы башни электрические с динамической функцией исключения наезда на препятствия и ручной резервной ветвью.

Единая открытая электронная архитектура башен этой серии упрощает процесс модернизации и интеграции подсистем при изменении угрозы или появлении новых технологий.

Компания CMI Defence спроектировала базовую платформу семейства 3000 с целью интеграции самых разных прицельных систем, но на сегодня квалифицировано только три прицела.

Эти системы могут варьироваться от нестабилизированных дневных/с усилением яркости изображения прицелов до полностью стабилизированных дневных/тепловизионных прицельных систем с лазерным дальномером. Они подсоединяются к компьютеризированной СУО также разработки CMI Defence для того, чтобы можно было захватывать неподвижные и движущиеся цели в любых боевых условиях.

Как уже было отмечено, основная концепция, лежащая в основе разработки башни, заключалась в том, чтобы менять вооружение в архитектуре одной башни, масштабируя огневое могущество с целью соответствия предполагаемым уровням угроз. Пулемет установлен соосно с основной пушкой, калибр и тип пулемета выбирается заказчиком. При необходимости на крышу башни можно установить дистанционно управляемый боевой модуль, вооруженный стабилизированным 7,62-мм или 12,7-мм пулеметом или даже 40-мм автоматическим гранатометом.

В зависимости от требований на башню можно установить любой тип гранатометных установок с электроспуском, включая 66 мм, 76 мм или 81 мм. Еще один тип вооружения – это противотанковые управляемые ракеты, контейнер с ними устанавливается сбоку башни.

Вертикальные углы наведения зависят от установленного вооружения диапазон, они изменяются от 60° для среднекалиберных пушек до 42° более тяжелого вооружения. Последнее может, однако, использоваться и в городских боях и в ближнем бою.

Башня Cockerill 3030 недавно была установлена на машину Desert Piranha 5 8x8 от компаний General Dynamics European Land Systems и MOWAG, она была вооружена проверенной в боевых условиях 30-мм пушкой MK44 с двойным питанием производства компании ATK Armament Systems.

Компания CMI Defence поставляет специальные комплекты для трансформации башни с пушкой MK44, заключающейся в переходе с боеприпасов 30x173 мм к 40-мм Supershot. Эта функциональная гибкость отмечена в обозначении башни Cockerill 3030/40. Она может быть модернизирована под 40-мм боеприпасы с улучшенным воздействием на цель при стрельбе снарядами воздушного подрыва.

Пушка CMI Defence 90 мм Mk8 может стрелять самыми разными боеприпасами и в настоящее время состоит на вооружении нескольких стран.

Гибкое огневое могущество: модульный подход в новом семействе башен Cockerill

Desert Piranha 5 с установленной башней CMI Defence Cockerill 3030/40 с 30-мм пушкой MK44 с двойной подачей от ATK Armament Systems и двумя стабилизированными прицельными системами

Расширенные испытания

Нарезная 105-мм пушка CV с малым откатом устанавливается не только в башне CMI Defence CT-CV, но и в башне Cockerill 3105. Она уже прошла расширенные испытания на самых разных гусеничных и колесных платформах. 105-мм вариант отличается установленным в кормовой нише башни автоматом заряжания с боекомплектом 12 или 16 готовых выстрелов.

Кроме стрельбы всеми типами 105-мм боеприпасов стандарта НАТО, например бронебойными подкалиберными, противотанковыми кумулятивными, фугасными со сминаемой головной частью, пушка Cockerill 3105 может стрелять противотанковой ракетой Falarick через ствол пушки. Подобная возможность также доступна для 90-мм системы Cockerill 3090.

Управляемая ракета Falarick с лазерным наведением была разработана совместно с Украиной и отличается тандемной боевой частью, предназначенной для пробивания обычной стальной брони, защищенной блоками динамической защиты.

Falarick имеет максимальную дальность действия 5000 метров, стрелок держит цель в перекрестье до самой встречи с ней. Эта ракета была успешно испытана на полигонах в Польше и Великобритании.

Для обучения работе с башней серии Cockerill 3000 были разработаны различные компьютерные тренажеры. Они варьируются от традиционных настольных симуляторов до объединенных в сеть компьютеров и башен-тренажеров, которые позволяют дать обучаемым максимально реалистичные условия.

Новое семейство башен предлагается наряду с уже существующей линейкой башен, которая варьируется от 30-мм башни Cockerill Protected Weapon Station (CPWS) и до башни XC-8 105 мм/120 мм.

Компания CMI Defence недавно подписала меморандум о взаимопонимании о сотрудничестве с корейской Doosan DST по проектированию и производству башни в Южной Корее. Меморандумом предусматривается установка башни CMI Defence CT-CV 105 мм на серийно выпускаемую БМП K21 с целью создания мобильного легкого танка.

Компания CMI Defence также сотрудничает с PT Pindad по совместной разработке и производству в Индонезии различных башен от 20 мм до 105 мм.

Компания PT Pindad недавно изготовила первые пять своих новых платформ огневой поддержки Badak 6x6. На них также установлена башня CMI Defence CSE 90LP, вооруженная 90-мм пушкой с низким давлением Cockerill Mk 3.

CMI Defence недавно поставила партию из 22 башен Cockerill CSE 90LP для установки на легкие бронированные машины Doosan Black Fox 6x6, состоящие на вооружении Индонезии.


Бронетранспортер Arma 8x8 от турецкой компании Otokar с башней CMI Defence Cockerill, вооруженной нарезной пушкой CMI CT-CV 105 HP, имеющей автомат заряжания в кормовой нише башни


Типичное семейство легкобронированных машин 8x8 с башнями серии CMI Defence Cockerill 3000. Слева направо: с 105-мм пушкой, 90-мм пушкой и 30/40-мм автоматической пушкой с пусковой установкой ПТУР с правой стороны башни

Полное семейство башен
Обозначение - Вооружение
Cockerill 3025 - 25-мм пушка
Cockerill 3030 - 30-мм пушка
Cockerill 3030/40 - 30-мм пушка с возможностью конверсии в 40-мм
Cockerill 3035/50 - 35-мм пушка с возможностью конверсии в 50-мм
Cockerill 3035 - 35-мм пушка
Cockerill 3040 - 40-мм пушка
Cockerill 3050 - 50-мм пушка
Cockerill 3090 - 90-мм пушка
Cockerill 3105 - 105-мм пушка

Комментарий

Использование единой общей платформы для вооружения калибра, варьирующегося от 20 мм до 105 мм необычно. Такой подход может показаться неэффективным, поскольку общая платформа по размерам и прочности должна соответствовать самому крупному калибру. Впрочем, компания CMI Defence использует патентованные пушки с малой силой отката с автоматами заряжания, что на крупных калибрах позволят сократить экипаж до двух человек. В CMI Defence заявляют, что любой компромисс того стоит, если он оборачивается повышенными преимуществами для заказчика, включая меньшую стоимость всего срока службы и разнообразие эксплуатируемого парка боевых средств.

Широкое использование общего человеко-машинного интерфейса и физической, компьютерной и электронной архитектуры потенциально значительно сокращает расходы в долгосрочной перспективе и повышает гибкость боевого применения.

Башня Cockerill 3000 предлагается для установки на новые гусеничные и колесные платформы, а также на существующие платформы массой около 20 тонн с целью повышения их огневого могущества.



Башня Cockerill 3000 Series от компании CMI Defence на выставке IDEX 2015

Использованы материалы:
www.janes.com
www.cmigroupe.com
www.otokar.com
www.youtube.com
www.wikipedia.org
Автор:
Alex Alexeev
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти