Military Review

Dragon in flares

7



Long time there was no air show here, it's time to update the picture. Here is an extremely curious device, designed and built at the beginning of 1911 by the Romanian inventor Henri Coanda, better known as the creator of the world's first "screwless" airplane with a motor-compressor engine.
This is the second aviation Coanda's development, which looks no less original. Its power unit consisted of two seven-cylinder Gnom-Gamma 70-horsepower rotary engines mounted on the sides of the fuselage and rotating one large four-blade screw through a bevel gear. Thus, Coanda could claim to create, if not the first, then one of the first twin-engine aircraft.

The design of the airframe is also very unusual, here and tandem four-wheeled landing gear in a huge triangular obtkatklyah, resembling skirts or flares, and the fuselage, "suspended" on the arms between the wings, and X-shaped tail. The frame was made of nickel steel and covered with canvas, only the front part of the fuselage in the cockpit area had a bent plywood skin. The roll control was carried out by tilting the wing tips (grooving). The aircraft was distinguished by rather large sizes and mass for those times: length - 13 m, span - 16,5 m, take-off weight - 1250 kg. The cabin accommodates the pilot and three passengers.

The designer expected that his creation will be able to reach speeds of up to 130 km / h, but it is unclear whether this prediction was justified, since the data on the results of flight tests was not preserved.

In October, the unit was tested in Reims by the French military, to whom Coanda offered it as a prototype multi-purpose army airplane, but, either because of the unusual design, or for some other reason, it was not accepted for service. Civilian buyers on the car, too, did not find, and its fate is unknown.







Airplane Coanda on trial in Reims. Two passengers are visible in the cabin and there is room for a third.



Left: a mechanic adjusts one of the engines, right: the Coanda power plant at the Paris Air Show.
Author:
Originator:
http://vikond65.livejournal.com/376983.html
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Lecha57
    Lecha57 5 September 2015 06: 56 New
    +2
    Nice to remember and proud of it!
    1. Vladimirets
      Vladimirets 5 September 2015 07: 56 New
      +9
      Quote: Lecha57
      Nice to remember and proud of it!

      Did you make the plane !? belay
      1. NOMADE
        NOMADE 5 September 2015 09: 19 New
        +4
        Yes, he’s just - Donkan MacLeod ..))))
        And on the topic, the design is very original, especially the layout in the location of the engines. I don’t know how they rotated, but in theory, the gyroscopic effect, which was the scourge of single-engine aircraft of that time, should have decreased .. Since the engine itself rotated with its mass, there were problems in control, it was necessary to take into account this effect in control and not naturally. As an example, reflexively turn left, but the car goes to the top.

        And with this scheme, increased security, in the event of failure of one of the engines.
  2. Bayonet
    Bayonet 5 September 2015 07: 38 New
    +2
    The original power plant. The path of trial and error brought aviation to perfection. hi
    1. Das Boot
      Das Boot 5 September 2015 15: 34 New
      +2
      Quote: Bayonet
      The path of trial and error brought aviation to perfection.

      Well, it’s not in vain that the airport in Otopeni bears the name of Coanda)
  3. Arktidianets
    Arktidianets 5 September 2015 08: 50 New
    +6
    Dawn of aviation, time fanned by romance, heroism and the aroma of castor oil.
    1. Das Boot
      Das Boot 5 September 2015 15: 45 New
      +3
      Quote: Arctidian
      Dawn of aviation, time fanned by romance, heroism and the aroma of castor oil.

      yeah ... And the person is wonderful. The father of hydrodynamics is revered) And the Coanda effect is even applied in F1 cars. Symbol - the first flight of the "jet" Coanda airplane in 1910 ended in an accident - it burnt its tail. Icarus ....
  4. parusnik
    parusnik 5 September 2015 09: 28 New
    +1
    Yeah ... really a long time ago there was no exotic ... Thanks for the photos and for the article .. It smelled of those romantic years of aviation ...
  5. Cap.Morgan
    Cap.Morgan 5 September 2015 12: 33 New
    +2
    Let me remind you that the first flight in Europe was Dupont in 1906, and the first Russian aircraft was built in 1913. The very beginning.

Военное обозрение

Дракон в клешах

7



Давненько здесь авиаэкзотики не было, пора обновить картину. Вот крайне любопытный аппарат, спроектированный и построенный в начале 1911 года румынским изобрететелем Анри Коанда, более известным как создатель первого в мире "безвинтового" аэроплана с мотокомпрессорным двигателем.
Это вторая авиационная разработка Коанда, выглядящая не менее оригинально. Ее силовой агрегат представлял собой два семицилиндровых 70-сильных ротативных мотора "Гном-Гамма", установленных по бортам фюзеляжа и вращавших через конический шестеренчатый редуктор один большой четырехлопастный винт. Таким образом, Коанда мог претендовать на создание если не первого, то одного из первых двухмоторных самолетов.

Конструкция планера тоже весьма необычна, тут и тандемные четырехколесные опоры шасси в огромных треугольных обтекатклях, напоминающих юбки или клеши, и фюзеляж, "подвешенный" на расчалках между крыльями, и Х-образное хвостовое оперение. Каркас был сделан из никелевой стали и обтянут полотном, только передняя часть фюзеляжа в районе кабины имела гнутую фанерную обшивку. Управление по крену осуществлялось перекашиванием законцовок крыла (гошированием). Самолет выделялся довольно крупными для тех времен размерами и массой: длина - 13 м, размах - 16,5 м, взлетный вес - 1250 кг. Кабина вмещала пилота и троих пассажиров.

Конструктор рассчитывал, что его творение сможет развивать скорость до 130 км/ч, однако неясно, оправдался ли этот прогноз, так как данных о результатах летных испытаний не сохранилось.

В октябре 1911 года аппарат протестировали в Реймсе французские военные, которым Коанда предложил его в качестве прототипа многоцелевого армейского аэроплана, но, то ли из-за необычности конструкции, то ли по каким-то иным причинам на вооружение его не приняли. Гражданских покупателей на машину тоже не нашлость и ее дальнейшая судьба неизвестна.







Аэроплан Коанда на испытаниях в Реймсе. В кабине видны два пассажира и есть место для третьего.



Слева: механик регулирует один из двигателей, справа: силовая установка Коанда на парижской авиавыставке.
Автор:
Первоисточник:
http://vikond65.livejournal.com/376983.html
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Lecha57
    Lecha57 5 сентября 2015 06:56 Новый
    +2
    Приятно вспомнить и горжусь этим!
    1. Владимирец
      Владимирец 5 сентября 2015 07:56 Новый
      +9
      Цитата: Lecha57
      Приятно вспомнить и горжусь этим!

      Это Вы сделали самолёт!? belay
      1. N.O.M.A.D.E.
        N.O.M.A.D.E. 5 сентября 2015 09:19 Новый
        +4
        Да, он просто - Донкан Маклауд..))))
        А по теме, конструкция очень оригинальная, особенно компоновка в расположении двигателей. Не знаю, как они вращались, но по идее, должен был уменьшится гироскопический эффект , который был бичём одномоторных самолётов того времени.. Так как сам двигатель с его массой вращался, то были проблемы в управлении, нужно было учитывать данный эффект в управлении и было не естественно. Как пример, рефлекторно поворачиваешь на лево, но машина идёт в верх.

        И при такой схеме, повышалась безопасность, при отказе одного из двигателей.
  2. Штык
    Штык 5 сентября 2015 07:38 Новый
    +2
    Оригинальная силовая установка. Путь проб и ошибок довел авиацию до совершенства. hi
    1. Das Boot
      Das Boot 5 сентября 2015 15:34 Новый
      +2
      Цитата: Штык
      Путь проб и ошибок довел авиацию до совершенства.

      ну не зря же аэропорт в Отопени носит имя Коанды)
  3. Арктидианец
    Арктидианец 5 сентября 2015 08:50 Новый
    +6
    Заря авиации, время овеяное романтикой, героизмом и ароматом касторового масла.
    1. Das Boot
      Das Boot 5 сентября 2015 15:45 Новый
      +3
      Цитата: Арктидианец
      Заря авиации, время овеяное романтикой, героизмом и ароматом касторового масла.

      да-а-а...И личность замечательная. Отцом гидродинамики почитается)А эффект Коанда даже в болидах F1 применяется. Символ - первый полет "реактивного" аэроплана Коанды в 1910-м окончился аварией - сжег себе хвостовое оперение. Икар....
  4. parusnik
    parusnik 5 сентября 2015 09:28 Новый
    +1
    Да уж...действительно давненько экзотики не было...Спасибо за фотографии и за статью..Пахнуло теми романтичными годами авиации...
  5. Cap.Morgan
    Cap.Morgan 5 сентября 2015 12:33 Новый
    +2
    Напомню что первый полёт в Европе - Дюпон в 1906, а первый русский аппарат был построен в 1913г. Самое самое начало.