Military Review

From division to synthesis

3


During the time that has passed since the first test in Alamogordo, thousands of explosions of fission charges thundered, in each of which precious knowledge was obtained about the features of their functioning. This knowledge is similar to the elements of a mosaic canvas, and it turned out that the “canvas” is limited by the laws of physics: reducing the size of the ammunition and its power puts the limit on the kinetics of slowing down neutrons in the assembly, and the achievement of energy release, significantly exceeding a hundred kilotons, is impossible due to nuclear-physical and hydrodynamic limitations of permissible sizes of the subcritical sphere. But it is still possible to make ammunition more powerful if nuclear fusion is forced to work along with fission.



The largest hydrogen (thermonuclear) bomb is the Soviet 50 megaton “tsar bomb” exploded on October 30 1961 on the Novaya Zemlya test site. Nikita Khrushchev joked that initially it was supposed to blow up a 100 megaton bomb, but the charge was reduced so as not to break all the windows in Moscow. In every joke there is some truth: constructively, the bomb was really designed for 100 megatons, and this power could be achieved by simply increasing the working medium. They decided to reduce the energy release for safety reasons - otherwise the landfill would be damaged too much. The product turned out to be so large that it did not fit in the bomb-bomber of the Tu-95 carrier plane and partially stuck out of it. Despite the successful test, the bomb did not enter into service; nevertheless, the creation and testing of the superbomb was of great political importance, demonstrating that the USSR had solved the task of achieving virtually any level of megatonnage of a nuclear arsenal.

Division plus synthesis

Heavy hydrogen isotopes serve as fuel for the synthesis. At the fusion of deuterium and tritium nuclei, helium-4 and a neutron are formed, and the energy output is 17,6 MeV, which is several times more than the fission reaction (in terms of the mass unit of the reactants). In such a fuel, under normal conditions, a chain reaction cannot occur, so that its quantity is not limited, which means that the energy release of a thermonuclear charge does not have an upper limit.

However, in order to start the synthesis reaction, it is necessary to bring together the nucleus of deuterium and tritium, and the Coulomb repulsion forces interfere with this. To overcome them, you need to accelerate the core towards each other and push it. In the neutron tube, when a stall responds to high-voltage ion acceleration, large amounts of energy are expended. But if you warm up the fuel to very high temperatures of millions of degrees and keep its density for the time required for the reaction, it will release much more energy than that spent on heating. It is through this method of reaction and weapon became known as thermonuclear (fuel composition such bombs are also called hydrogen).

3 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Honory
    Honory 26 June 2012 19: 52
    0
    Someday the planet will be blown up
  2. dred
    dred 25 July 2012 18: 08
    0
    It’s very bad to play with fire all the more nuclear.
  3. kgbers
    kgbers 2 February 2015 00: 45
    0
    Yes, the best defense against nuclear weapons is peaceful coexistence.

От деления к синтезу



За время, прошедшее после первого испытания в Аламогордо, прогремели тысячи взрывов зарядов деления, в каждом из которых добывались драгоценные знания об особенностях их функционирования. Знания эти подобны элементам мозаичного полотна, причем оказалось, что «полотно» это ограничено законами физики: снижению габаритов боеприпаса и его мощности кладет предел кинетика замедления нейтронов в сборке, а достижение энерговыделения, существенно превышающего сотню килотонн, невозможно из-за ядерно-физических и гидродинамических ограничений допустимых размеров докритической сферы. Но сделать боеприпасы более мощными все же возможно, если вместе с делением заставить «работать» ядерный синтез.




Самая крупная водородная (термоядерная) бомба — советская 50-мегатонная «царь-бомба», взорванная 30 октября 1961 года на полигоне на острове Новая Земля. Никита Хрущёв пошутил, что первоначально предполагалось взорвать 100-мегатонную бомбу, но заряд уменьшили, чтобы не побить все стёкла в Москве. В каждой шутке есть доля правды: конструктивно бомба действительно была рассчитана на 100 мегатонн и этой мощности можно было добиться простым увеличением рабочего тела. Снизить энерговыделение решили из соображений безопасности - иначе полигону наносился слишком большой ущерб. Изделие оказалось настолько большим, что не помещалось в бомболюк самолета-носителя Ту-95 и частично торчало из него. Несмотря на успешное испытание, бомба на вооружение не поступила, тем не менее, создание и испытание сверхбомбы имели большое политическое значение, продемонстрировав, что СССР решил задачу достижения практически любого уровня мегатоннажа ядерного арсенала.

Деление плюс синтез

Топливом для синтеза служат тяжелые изотопы водорода. При слиянии ядер дейтерия и трития образуется гелий-4 и нейтрон, энергетический выход при этом – 17,6 МэВ, что в несколько раз больше, чем при реакции деления (в пересчете на единицу массы реагентов). В таком топливе при нормальных условиях не может возникнуть цепная реакция, так что количество его не ограничено, а значит, у энерговыделения термоядерного заряда нет верхнего предела.

Однако для того, чтобы началась реакция синтеза, нужно сблизить ядра дейтерия и трития, а этому мешают силы кулоновского отталкивания. Для их преодоления нужно разогнать ядра навстречу друг другу и столкнуть. В нейтронной трубке при реакции срыва на ускорение ионов высоким напряжением тратится большая энергия. А вот если разогреть топливо до очень высоких температур в миллионы градусов и сохранить его плотность на протяжении необходимого для реакции времени, оно выделит энергию куда большую, чем та, которая затрачена на нагрев. Именно благодаря этому способу реакции и оружие стали называться термоядерными (по составу топлива такие бомбы также называют водородными).

Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Gonoriy Офлайн
    Gonoriy (Святослав) 26 июня 2012 19:52
    0
    Когда нибудь вообще планету взорвут
  2. dred
    dred 25 июля 2012 18:08
    0
    Очень плохо играть с огнём тем более ядерным.
  3. kgbers Офлайн
    kgbers (константин) 2 февраля 2015 00:45
    0
    Да, лучшая защита от ядерного оружия - это мирное сосуществование.
Картина дня