Military Review

Taliban in Kunduz

12
28 September became aware of the capture by the Taliban militants of the city of Kunduz in northern Afghanistan. Government forces had previously left the city in order to avoid civilian casualties. The Afghan military admitted that the Taliban attack was the largest operation in recent months. Kunduz is the capital of the northern province of the same name bordering Tajikistan. Experts believe that terrorists can completely seize the province, which creates a threat to Russia, which is a partner of Tajikistan in the CSTO.




According to media reports, the battles for Kunduz killed at least twenty people. The Taliban consider their city and are ready to "defend".

The reason for the "defense" they have.

The Ministry of Defense of Afghanistan has announced the arrival of forces in the city, which have been ordered to conduct a military operation on the release. 29 September media reported on the release of the city prison (from which the militants had previously released prisoners) and provincial police.

For other objects, the information may not be accurate. Some media claim that the attackers managed to seize some private banks, others subject this "news"Doubt. Among the captured buildings are listed the office of the UN mission in Afghanistan, a number of government facilities, a hospital and a security office. There is also information (according to eyewitnesses) about the burnt city radio station.

Finally, it is reported that the Taliban militants seized the residence of the governor of Kunduz.

The government of Afghanistan is trying to win the city. Additional government forces were sent to Kunduz. 29 september afternoon "First channel" announced the start of the operation to release Kunduz.

Before the attack of the Afghan troops, American planes attacked the militants' positions. However, the Taliban, according to the Afghan command, arranged positions in residential buildings and socially significant objects. The civilian population, as usual among terrorists, has become a “human shield”.

on September 30 RIA News" With reference to TOLO News, it was reported that as a result of air strikes inflicted by the US Air Force on Islamist positions in Kunduz province, at least 160 Taliban fighters were destroyed.

According to the deputy head of the provincial council, Faiz Mohammad Amiri, on Wednesday night, militants tried to seize the city’s airport. The country's security forces were able to repel the attack. “The militants retreated after the response of the security forces. Command troops arrived by air in the city of Kunduz, but we are still waiting for the ground troops, ”Amiri explained.

Why did the Taliban capture the city?

This question was answered by the former head of the IRA National Security Administration, Amrullah Saleh. His statement appeared September 30 on the site "Afghanistan.ru".

The main reason for the fall of Kunduz was a conspiracy involving top officials, according to Saleh. Without naming the alleged perpetrators, he expressed confidence that several hundred militants would not have been able to seize the well-fortified entrances to the city.

“The Afghan media say,” writes Afganistan.ru, “that even a few days before a major attack, Governor Kunduz Mohammad Omar Safi went to Tajikistan, where his relatives were waiting for him. In a number of reports it is mentioned that at the moment the official managed to cross another state border, heading for London. ”

Members of the Afghan parliament criticized the central government. They accused the authorities of prolonged disregard for security problems in the north of the country. In addition, parliamentarians committed attacks against the "fifth column", the activities of which allowed the terrorists to seize Kunduz.

Information about the transfer to the UK governor confirmed by other media. Omar Safi fled to Europe after the Taliban captured the administrative center, reported RIA News" with reference to the Pazhvak agency. According to the agency, the governor went to the UK.

A number of Afghan parliamentarians, said RIA Novosti, called for the death penalty against members of the provincial government who allowed the seizure of the city.

Pakistani military analyst Ahmed Rashid told AFP news agency, notes Kommersantthat the garrison of the city, taking into account the fighters of the local tribal formations, numbered 7 thousand people, and the number of advancing Taliban hardly exceeded 1 thousand. According to Rashid, the command of the Afghan armed forces showed complete incompetence.

Some experts believe that the Taliban are able to completely seize the province. President of the Institute of the Middle East, a political scientist Yevgeny Satanovsky told the newspaper "Sight" on the threshold of a Taliban breakthrough to the Central Asian republics.

“In the north of Afghanistan, from the border of Turkmenistan to Tajikistan, heavy fighting has been going on for the past year and a half. The entire border strip, except for large cities, is completely captured by militants from various organizations and groups. In addition, it is not entirely clear which militants belong to the Taliban, the Islamic Movement of Uzbekistan or the Islamic State. Uighur combat groups are also present there. All of them are activated after the Americans completely leave Afghanistan, ”the expert believes. “There is some threshold for the invasion of militants from the north of Afghanistan into the Central Asian republics,” says Satanovsky. “This is called the Central Asian Spring.” This will allow cutting off pipelines that go from Turkmenistan to China. From the point of view of Washington’s interests, this is a great idea. ”

Another opinion was expressed to Vzglyadu by an expert from the Center for the Study of Modern Afghanistan, an expert on the Middle East, Andrei Serenko.

He recalled that the Taliban had repeatedly stated earlier that they could take control of Kunduz. However, this would require not only military, but also civilian efforts. The Taliban are not yet ready for this, the expert believes.

The armies of Afghanistan also provide substantial support to the Americans: “The United States support for the forces of the Afghan army and police boils down to two things: providing intelligence with the help of American intelligence agencies that have a wide intelligence network, and most importantly - delivering air strikes with aviation».

Why then did the militants attack the city?

According to Serenko, the Taliban conducts similar operations usually on the eve of negotiations: “This is a kind of muscle demonstration by the Taliban. The radicals used to act in exactly the same way: before the negotiations in Qatar or Pakistan, they carried out a massive offensive, thereby showing their strength. On the other hand, it is a kind of response to the actions of General Rashid Dostum against the Taliban in other provinces. Now rumors about a new round of negotiations. I think that the Afghan authorities will try to seize the initiative and go to the counterattack. ”

According to the expert, the "absolute operators" of events taking place in Afghanistan remain the Americans. “And it's not just the number of US troops,” he said. - They have a serious influence on the political class. The American lobby is stronger than Iranian, Russian and even Pakistani. The United States has been able to form the political and military class of Afghanistan for themselves over these thirteen years. ”

* * *


Which of these can be concluded? Americans are Americans, but the central government in Kabul shows almost complete inconsistency. It becomes clear that with the complete withdrawal of American forces from Afghanistan, not only Kunduz, but also Kabul would not have lasted long.

There is clearly no reason to talk about an increase in the US contingent in Afghanistan: now Washington is focused on the situation in Syria and Iraq. The White House already admits an alliance with Russia and Iran, and even the preservation of B. Assad in power in Damascus (for a while), if only to ensure effective counteraction against the terrorists from the “Islamic State”.

Who will help Afghanistan fight the Taliban? Are the Russians again? That is unlikely. In addition, the Russians are also busy: they are helping Syria.

Apparently, the Kabul rulers and strategists will have to defend themselves against the Taliban on their own, while relying on the power of American air strikes. President Ashraf Ghani Ahmadzai has nowhere to go: otherwise the Taliban would someday come to his palace.

By the way, Ahmadzai took over as president of 29 September 2014 of the year - exactly a year ago. Obviously, the Taliban militants with their attack “celebrated” the anniversary of his reign.

Observed and commented on Oleg Chuvakin
- especially for topwar.ru
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Glot
    Glot 1 October 2015 06: 34
    +7
    It seems like he was already recaptured, this Kunduz.
    1. marlin1203
      marlin1203 1 October 2015 10: 08
      +1
      Yes, they will "buy" again. EAST IS EVERYTHING ...
  2. inkass_98
    inkass_98 1 October 2015 06: 43
    +7
    They recaptured at night, the article was late.
  3. Andrey Yuryevich
    Andrey Yuryevich 1 October 2015 07: 10
    +4
    a large city, almost a millionaire, if you give a foothold, then there will be problems ...
  4. parusnik
    parusnik 1 October 2015 07: 19
    +5
    Kunduz was recaptured. But for the surrender of the city, the governor apparently received a lot of money .. and not small .. I wonder who financed .. Not the Taliban ..
    1. Glot
      Glot 1 October 2015 09: 11
      0
      Kunduz was recaptured. But for the surrender of the city, the governor apparently received a lot of money .. and not small .. I wonder who financed .. Not the Taliban ..


      C'mon, what money?
      Spirits to the city were actively basement, army units and drapanuli. Then they got the kicks from their commanders, and went back to recapture Kunduz. They won back.
      That's all. smile
    2. The comment was deleted.
  5. mojohed2012
    mojohed2012 1 October 2015 07: 32
    +4
    Let and beat off. The question is, have they been cleaned qualitatively?
    I believe that this is nothing more than a US provocation at the time of Putin’s speech in the UN General Assembly + probing the direction of the Taliban’s attacks with ISIS-Alkaida in our underbelly and in China.
    But, helping Assad, we are smashing their operational and most trained ground forces, which would then go north, bypassing Turkey.
  6. Tatarus
    Tatarus 1 October 2015 08: 18
    +2
    This will cut off pipelines that go from Turkmenistan to China.

    Well, let the Chinese establish order there.
    1. Vladimir 1964
      Vladimir 1964 1 October 2015 11: 01
      0
      Quote: Tatarus
      Well, let the Chinese establish order there.


      I really think that you, Pavel, are right in this matter.

      Something like this. yes angry
  7. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 1 October 2015 09: 23
    +1
    otherwise the Taliban will someday come to his palace.

    Given the fact that now everyone is actively engaged in Syria, this option is not excluded. And the Americans for all the years of their presence in Afghanistan have done nothing but harm.
  8. Vega
    Vega 1 October 2015 09: 37
    +1
    Whether the city was recaptured or not, the problem remained. There are many questions, and the first one was where the "ramified" intelligence network of the US and the Afghan government looked.
  9. Jääkorppi
    Jääkorppi 1 October 2015 11: 19
    0
    Is it necessary to fight the Taliban? They are the enemies of Al Qaida and ISIS and the pro-government in Kabul ... yes they hanged Najibullah, but Russia itself surrendered him with giblets. Enemies of our enemies.
  10. Nyrobsky
    Nyrobsky 1 October 2015 12: 24
    0
    Quote: vega
    There are many questions, and the first one, where the "ramified" US intelligence network looked

    So they, by this time, all eyes have overlooked how Russia is increasing its military presence in Syria, and invented stories about the invasion of countless Buryat military marines on Durkaina.
    Now, by the way, on the example of Syria, the whole world will see what the real participation of the Russian Armed Forces in hostilities means.
    As for Kunduz, it seems to me that for the Taliban, a demonstration of strength was more important than the capture and holding of the city at any cost to the depletion of its resources, since this does not solve any strategic tasks.
    But to get the Americans to sweat amid the aggravation of the situation in Syria - it turned out.
    Who and what money paid to whom, only one intelligence agency knows about this, but the fact that the Americans have dramatically changed their rhetoric is a fact.
  11. Petrik66
    Petrik66 1 October 2015 14: 41
    0
    No need to hurry. In Syria, we have just started, let's not get ahead of ourselves. our troops in Syria are a FORCED measure. Assad's defeat was a matter of time. An analogy is Republican Spain, which resisted for a long time, but could not do anything against Italians and Germans. And then the Condor guys were already bombing us. But then Stalin did not go to direct participation in the war. Putin went. Hopefully this ends the analogy. And the Sarabozes have always been freaks, both with us and with the Yankes. why was everyone surprised?

Талибы в Кундузе

28 сентября стало известно о захвате боевиками «Талибана» города Кундуза на севере Афганистана. Правительственные войска ранее покинули город, дабы избежать жертв среди мирного населения. Афганские военные признали, что атака талибов стала самой крупной операцией за последние месяцы. Кундуз — столица одноимённой северной провинции, граничащей с Таджикистаном. Эксперты полагают, что террористы могут полностью захватить провинцию, что создаёт угрозу для России, являющейся партнёром Таджикистана по ОДКБ.

Талибы в Кундузе


Как сообщают СМИ, боях за Кундуз погибло не менее двадцати человек. Талибы считают город своим и готовы «обороняться».


Повод для «обороны» у них имеется.

Министерство обороны Афганистана заявило о прибытии к городу сил, которым приказано провести военную операцию по освобождению. 29 сентября СМИ сообщили об освобождении городской тюрьмы (из которой ранее боевики выпустили заключённых) и полиции провинции.

В отношении других объектов информация может быть неточной. Одни СМИ утверждают, что нападавшие сумели захватить некоторые частные банки, другие подвергают эту «новость» сомнению. Среди захваченных зданий перечисляются отделение миссии ООН по поддержке в Афганистане, ряд правительственных объектов, госпиталь и офис службы безопасности. Имеются также сведения (со слов очевидцев) о сожжённой городской радиостанции.

Наконец, сообщается о захвате боевиками «Талибана» резиденции губернатора провинции Кундуз.

Правительство Афганистана пытается отвоевать город. В Кундуз были отправлены дополнительные правительственные силы. Во второй половине дня 29 сентября «Первый канал» сообщил о начале операцию по освобождению Кундуза.

Перед атакой афганских войск удар по позициям боевиков нанесли американские самолёты. Однако талибы, по данным афганского командования, обустроили позиции в жилых домах и социально значимых объектах. Мирное население, как водится у террористов, превратилось в «живой щит».

30 сентября РИА «Новости» со ссылкой на «TOLO News» передало, что в результате авиаударов, нанесённых ВВС США по позициям исламистов в провинции Кундуз, было уничтожено не менее 160 боевиков «Талибана».

По словам заместителя главы совета провинции Фаиза Мохаммада Амири, в ночь со вторника на среду боевики пытались захватить городской аэропорт. Силы безопасности страны смогли отбить атаку. «Боевики отступили после ответных действий сил безопасности. Войска командования прибыли по воздуху в город Кундуз, но мы всё ещё дожидаемся наземных войск», — пояснил Амири.

Почему талибы смогли захватить город?

На этот вопрос дал ответ бывший глава Управления национальной безопасности ИРА Амрулла Салех. Его заявление появилось 30 сентября на сайте «Афганистан.ру».

Основной причиной падения Кундуза стал заговор с участием высших должностных лиц, считает Салех. Не называя имён предполагаемых виновников, он выразил уверенность в том, что несколько сотен боевиков не смогли бы захватить хорошо укреплённые въезды в город.

«Афганские СМИ отмечают, — пишет «Афганистан.ру», — что ещё за несколько дней до крупной атаки губернатор Кундуза Мохаммад Омар Сафи отправился в Таджикистан, где его ждали родственники. В ряде отчётов упоминается, что на данный момент чиновник успел пересечь ещё одну государственную границу, направляясь в Лондон».

Депутаты афганского парламента подвергли критике центральное правительство. Они обвинили власти в длительном игнорировании проблем безопасности на севере страны. Кроме того, парламентарии допустили выпады против «пятой колонны», деятельность которой и позволила террористам захватить Кундуз.

Информацию о перемещении в Великобританию губернатора подтверждают другие СМИ. Омар Сафи бежал в Европу после захвата талибами административного центра, сообщило РИА «Новости» со ссылкой на агентство «Пажвак». По данным агентства, губернатор отбыл в Великобританию.

Ряд афганских парламентариев, отмечает РИА «Новости», высказался за смертную казнь в отношении членов правительства провинции, допустивших захват города.

Пакистанский военный аналитик Ахмед Рашид заявил агентству «Франс-Пресс», отмечает «Коммерсантъ», что гарнизон города с учётом бойцов местных племенных формирований насчитывал 7 тысяч человек, а численность наступавших талибов едва ли превышала 1 тысячу. По мнению Рашида, командование афганских вооружённых сил продемонстрировало полную некомпетентность.

Некоторые эксперты полагают, что талибы в состоянии полностью захватить провинцию. Президент Института Ближнего Востока, политолог Евгений Сатановский сказал газете «Взгляд» о преддверии прорыва талибов в центральноазиатские республики.

«На севере Афганистана от границы Туркменистана до Таджикистана последние полтора года идут тяжёлые бои. Вся приграничная полоса, кроме крупных городов, полностью захвачена боевиками из различных организаций и группировок. Кроме того, не совсем понятно, какие боевики относятся к движению «Талибан», «Исламскому движению Узбекистана» или «Исламскому государству». Присутствуют там также и уйгурские боевые группировки. Все они активизируются после того, как американцы полностью покинут Афганистан», — считает эксперт. «Есть некоторое преддверие вторжения боевиков с севера Афганистана в центральноазиатские республики, — говорит Сатановский. — Это называется «центральноазиатская весна». Это позволит отсечь трубопроводы, которые идут из Туркменистана в Китай. С точки зрения интересов Вашингтона это замечательная идея».

Другое мнение высказал «Взгляду» эксперт Центра изучения современного Афганистана, специалист по Среднему Востоку Андрей Серенко.

Он напомнил, что талибы неоднократно ранее заявляли, что могут взять под контроль Кундуз. Однако это потребовало бы не только военных, но и гражданских усилий. К этому талибы пока не готовы, считает эксперт.

Армии Афганистана к тому же оказывают существенную поддержку американцы: «Поддержка Соединёнными Штатами сил афганской армии и полиции сводится к двум вещам: предоставление развединформации при помощи американских спецслужб, которые имеют широкую агентурную сеть, и самое главное — нанесение воздушных ударов при помощи авиации».

Зачем же тогда боевикам атаковать город?

По мнению Серенко, подобные операции «Талибан» проводит обычно в преддверии переговоров: «Это своего рода демонстрация мускулов со стороны талибов. Радикалы раньше действовали по точно такой же схеме: перед переговорами в Катаре или Пакистане они проводили массированное наступление, тем самым показывая свою силу. С другой стороны, это своего рода ответ на действия генерала Рашида Дустума против талибов в других провинциях. Сейчас пошли слухи о новом раунде переговоров. Думаю, что афганские власти попытаются перехватить инициативу и пойти в контратаку».

По словам эксперта, «абсолютными операторами» событий, происходящих в Афганистане, остаются американцы. «И дело здесь не только в количестве американских военнослужащих, — заметил он. — Они имеют серьёзное влияние на политический класс. Американское лобби посильнее иранского, российского и даже пакистанского. США смогли за эти тринадцать лет сформировать политический и военный класс Афганистана под себя».

* * *


Какой из этого можно сделать вывод? Американцы американцами, но центральное правительство в Кабуле демонстрирует почти полную несостоятельность. Становится ясно, что при полном выводе американских сил из Афганистана недолго продержался бы не только Кундуз, но и Кабул.

Говорить же об увеличении американского контингента в Афганистане явно не приходится: сейчас Вашингтон сосредоточен на ситуации в Сирии и Ираке. Белый дом допускает уже и союз с Россией и Ираном, и даже сохранение у власти Б. Асада в Дамаске (на некоторое время), лишь бы обеспечить эффективное противодействие террористам из «Исламского государства».

Кто же поможет Афганистану бороться с талибами? Неужели снова русские? Это вряд ли. К тому же русские тоже заняты: они помогают Сирии.

Видимо, кабульским правителям и стратегам придётся обороняться от талибов самостоятельно, уповая при этом на мощь американских авиаударов. Президенту Ашрафу Гани Ахмадзаю деваться некуда: иначе талибы когда-нибудь придут к нему во дворец.

Кстати, Ахмадзай вступил в должность президента 29 сентября 2014 года — ровно год назад. Очевидно, боевики «Талибана» своей атакой «отметили» годовщину его правления.

Обозревал и комментировал Олег Чувакин
— специально для topwar.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 12
  1. Glot 1 октября 2015 06:34
    Вроде как обратно уже его отбили, Кундуз этот.
    1. marlin1203 1 октября 2015 10:08
      Да опять "купят". ВОСТОК ВСЕ -ТАКИ...
  2. inkass_98 1 октября 2015 06:43
    Ночью отбили, статья опоздала.
  3. андрей юрьевич 1 октября 2015 07:10
    крупный город,почти миллионник,если дать закрепиться-потом будут проблемы...
  4. parusnik 1 октября 2015 07:19
    Кундуз отбили.А вот за сдачу города,губернатор видимо деньжищи получил..и не малые..Интересно,кто финансировал..Не талибы же..
    1. Glot 1 октября 2015 09:11
      Кундуз отбили.А вот за сдачу города,губернатор видимо деньжищи получил..и не малые..Интересно,кто финансировал..Не талибы же..


      Да ладно, какие деньги ?
      Духи к городу подвалили активно, армейские части и драпанули. Потом видать пинков от своих командиров наполучали, и пошли обратно отвоёвывать Кундуз. Отвоевали.
      Вот и всё. smile
    2. Комментарий был удален.
  5. mojohed2012 1 октября 2015 07:32
    Пусть и отбили. Вопрос в том, качественно ли зачистили?
    Считаю, что это ни что иное как провокация США к моменту выступления Путина в ГА ООН + прощупывание направлений ударов Талибов с ИГИЛ-Алькаидой в наше подбрюшье и по Китаю.
    Но, помогая Асаду, мы громим их оперативные и наиболее подготовленные наземные силы, которые потом бы пошли на север, в обход Турции.
  6. Татарус 1 октября 2015 08:18
    Это позволит отсечь трубопроводы, которые идут из Туркменистана в Китай.

    Вот пусть китайцы там порядок и наводят.
    1. Vladimir 1964 1 октября 2015 11:01
      Цитата: Татарус
      Вот пусть китайцы там порядок и наводят.


      Вот уж действительно думаю, что Вы, Павел, в этом вопросе правы.

      Как то так. yes angry
  7. rotmistr60 1 октября 2015 09:23
    иначе талибы когда-нибудь придут к нему во дворец.

    Учитывая то, что сейчас все активно заняты Сирией, такой вариант не исключается. Да и американцы за все годы присутствия в Афганистане ни чего кроме вреда не принесли.
  8. вега 1 октября 2015 09:37
    Отбили город или нет, но проблема осталась. Есть много вопросов, и первый из них, куда смотрела "разветвленная" разведывательная сеть США и правительства Афганистана.
  9. JääKorppi 1 октября 2015 11:19
    А надо ли воевать с талибами? Они враги АльКайды и ИГИЛ и прокого правительства в Кабуле...да они повесили Наджибуллу, но ведь Россия его сама сдала с потрохами. Враги наших врагов.
  10. Ныробский 1 октября 2015 12:24
    Цитата: вега
    Есть много вопросов, и первый из них, куда смотрела "разветвленная" разведывательная сеть США

    Так они этим временем, все глаза проглядели, как Россия наращивает своё военное присутствие в Сирии, да выдумывали байки о вторжении бесчисленных боевых бурятских морпехов на дуркаину.
    Сейчас кстати,на примере Сирии весь мир увидит, что значит реальное участие ВС России в боевых действиях.
    Что касается Кундуза, то мне кажется, для Талибана более важна была демонстрация силы, нежели захват и удержание города любой ценой на истощение своих ресурсов, так как это не решает никаких стратегических задач.
    А вот заставить американцев попотеть на фоне обострения ситуации в Сирии - получилось.
    Кто и какие деньги кому заплатил, об этом только одним спецслужбам известно, но то что американцы резко поменяли свою риторику-факт.
  11. Petrik66 1 октября 2015 14:41
    Торопится не надо. В Сирии мы только начали, давайте не будем забегать вперед. наши войска в Сирии - это ВЫНУЖДЕННАЯ мера. поражение Ассада было делом времени. Аналогия - Республиканская Испания, которая долго сопротивлялась, но ничего не смогла сделать против итальянцев и немцев. А потом, парни из "Кондор" уже бомбил нас. Но тогда Сталин не пошел на прямое участие в войне. Путин пошел. Надеюсь, на этом аналогия закончится. А сарабозы всегда были уродами, что с нами, что с янкесами. чего это все удивились?

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня