Military Review

Rescue President Makarios

3
In the confrontation of the "black colonels" and the legitimate president of Cyprus played a decisive role Soviet intelligence


Intelligence is full of secrets. And these secrets become public knowledge sometimes in many years, and even decades. At the end of 60 - the beginning of 70 - a small island of Cyprus in the Mediterranean was a hot spot on the map of the planet. The protege of the junior "black colonels" General Grivas tried to overthrow the first President of the Republic of Cyprus, Archbishop Makarios. Perhaps it would have him. But Grivas was unlucky. An experienced resident of the Soviet military intelligence, Colonel Viktor Bochkarev, stood in his way.

... The plane was landing. The pilot laid a roll on the left side of the board, in the porthole, like a wreath on a wave, a blooming island swung. The green of the marvelous coast was so unusually bright that in the first second of surprise, Viktor Bochkarev closed his eyes: “What are you, Cyprus! Live here now, serve here ... "

“Grivas described in detail how the Soviet ambassador, some embassy officials, and their families should be subjected to torture after the coup”
He leaned back in his chair, opened his weary eyelids. In the airplane round window, through the narrow strip of the glittering sea, one more shore appeared. “Turkey,” Bochkarev understood. For some reason, I remembered the song: “I don’t need a Turkish coast, I don’t need a foreign land ...” It turns out that I need it.

Before a business trip, as it should be, he studied materials on Cyprus, Turkey - regional studies, economics, military groups, geography. I knew: not far from the Turkish coast, but I didn’t expect it to be like this, just a few steps away. Although colleagues warned ... In one of the reports, one of his predecessors wrote: "On clear days, Turkey is visible from the castle of St. Hilarion."

The stewardess babbled something into the microphone, but Bochkarev was busy with his thoughts. I heard only the last sentence: “The air temperature in Nicosia plus 27 degrees”.

“It’s not bad at all for February,” he decided, recalling the searing icy rump that the north wind had driven across the airfield in Moscow. "But people live ..." And then he returned himself to reality. In the analytical reports of his native Main Intelligence Directorate, the situation in Cyprus was interpreted as very far from paradise. The confrontation between President Makarios and the Greek “black colonels” led by their protege on the island, General Grivas, continued, and the incessant hostility between the Greek and Turkish communities pushed the people to the brink of war.

On the eve of his departure, the immediate superior and a short meeting with the GRU chief, General Peter Ivashutin, said that service would not seem like honey. Although on top of the beautiful island was serene and quiet.

Rescue President Makarios

President Makarios meeting at Nicosia airport after returning from Moscow. Fourth right - Victor Bochkarev. Photo from the archive of the author

Tasks Bochkareva sketched a lot. And one of them is to actively resist the overthrow of the legitimate government and the President of the Republic of Cyprus.

GRU Colonel Viktor Bochkarev was officially appointed military, naval and air attache of the Soviet Union in Cyprus at the beginning of 1970. He is a resident of the Soviet military intelligence.

The choice fell on him not by chance. By that time, Colonel Bochkarev was an experienced military intelligence officer. He came to the Red Army Intelligence Directorate even before the war, in 1939. He then served as an ordinary Red Army man in the regiment of communication. Being a duty officer on the radio division, he met a delegation from the district headquarters. The commander spoke with a brave fighter and was surprised to learn that he is essentially a polyglot, speaks six languages. Soon the polyglot was in the district intelligence department, and then in Moscow.

I met the war as an operational officer at the Kaunas frontier intelligence point. Then he worked with German prisoners of war. He was able to decipher the verbatim records of the German U-88 aircraft commander, Captain Luftwaffe Messerschmidt. They had the cherished start date of the general offensive against Moscow. Messerschmidt was amazed; he refused to believe that these wild hares had a knack for German shorthand.

In the following years, Bochkarev was preparing reconnaissance groups to be transferred to the rear of the enemy. During the war he visited ten fronts - from Karelian to 1-th Ukrainian and on the territory of five countries - Poland, Romania, Czechoslovakia, Austria, Germany. Raised dozens of agents.

In 1945, Captain Bochkarev worked as part of a special group that was looking for traces of Nazi leaders - Hitler, Bormann, Goebbels ...

After the war, Viktor Viktorovich studied at the Diplomatic Academy, served as a senior assistant, and then as a military attaché of the Soviet Union in Austria.

1956 - the year of the bloody events in Hungary, he met in the Vienna residency. On those troubled days, Soviet intelligence paid special attention to the Austro-Hungarian border. Bochkarev led route reconnaissance, met with agents, traveled to the Hungarian territory, controlled by the rebel forces, to collect intelligence information and analyze the situation.

During the Austrian period of work, Bochkarev, on the instructions of the command, managed to find the grave of the illegal intelligence officer of the Hero of the Soviet Union Lev Manevich, who worked in Austria and Italy in the 30s.

After returning from a long business trip, Viktor Viktorovich devoted ten years to training illegal intelligence officers. He visited Thailand, the Philippines, South Vietnam, and Hong Kong.

And now he has received a new appointment. No, not to prosperous Germany or quiet Austria, but to the restless island of Aphrodite - Cyprus, where the Greek junta of the “black colonels” sought to overthrow the country's president Makarios.


With President Makarios. Left: USSR Ambassador to Cyprus Barkovsky. Photo from the archive of the author

And now Viktor Viktorovich has a goal. The plane is already running along the runway, slowing down, lazily shaking the planes, like a giant bird with tired wings. Winged ladder. Passengers hurried, the salon was filled with a multilingual hubbub. Stood and Bochkarev.

Already on the ramp he sensed what plus 27 meant in February. An unusual, tart, spicy smell hit his nose. The air of Nicosia stupefied.

He was met by an embassy car. When they left the airfield, Bochkarev was surprised a lot: the road to the capital of Cyprus ran through lifeless, bare terrain. Left and right is a dull landscape, layers of frozen volcanic lava, on which almost nothing grew. Is that stuck rare bushes of some white tall flowers. It was they who filled the air with a sharp, spicy smell.

However, Nicosia itself looked fresh and young at the entrance: white, well-kept houses with flat roofs, church bell-stands, sinking in gardens, and in the distance — dark green spurs of the Kyrenia and Troodos mountain ranges.

I could not even believe that this land remembers Alexander the Great and Roman Emperor Claudius, the Byzantine Emperor Roman II and the English King Richard the Lionheart.

... New military attache of the Soviet Union was settled in a representative apartment on Zeveris Avenue. On the contrary - the presidential palace. From the window you can see the gate, the main entrance.

Soon the new attache will be received by Makarios and will present him with credentials. The second time they officially shake hands when the President of Cyprus returns from Moscow. Only two meetings. But the activities of the Soviet resident in Cyprus will largely be subordinated to the preservation of the life of President Makarios.

Bochkarev quickly figured out the situation. And the situation in Cyprus at that time was truly front-line. Greco-Turkish confrontation grew. Not a week passed without any incidents. Three years ago, the Turks captured an important tactical area in one night, the mountain of Saint Hilarion, completely defeating the superior forces of the Greek Cypriots.

Turks behaved extremely militant. They set up military detachments in all villages and localities, equipped observation posts on the outskirts of the villages, carried out combat duty, and organized training exercises.

In addition to the Turkish and Greek troops in Cyprus, 25 thousands of English soldiers and officers were stationed. In accordance with the UN decision, there were also “blue helmets” - Austrians, Australians, Danes, Swedes, Finns, Canadians. The posts of the "blue helmets" were located on the "green line" that divided the Greek and Turkish areas.

In short, people with weapons on a small island, more than enough, "blue helmets" were on high alert for several months in a row.

At the head of Cyprus was Archbishop Makarios. He is the president of the republic, the prime minister, the commander-in-chief and the head of the Orthodox Church. This is what a resident of military intelligence, Colonel Bochkarev (Borin), reported to Moscow at that time.

"Moscow. Centre. Top secret.

Director.

Makarios was born 13.08.1913 in the family of a poor shepherd in Troodos in the province of Paphos. Educated at the monastic school, at the theological faculties of Athens and Boston (USA) universities.

In 1950, he was elected Bishop and Ethnarch. He is the leader of the national liberation movement of the Cypriot people. In 1956, the British sent to the Seychelles.

Makarios is a flexible, clever bourgeois politician, using the whole arsenal of tricks of the Byzantine church, skillfully using to the full the contradictions of the countries interested in Cyprus. He is characterized by the underestimation of the forces of the enemy and the exaggeration of their capabilities. In a complex situation dramatizes events and panics.

For several years, the local reaction, the Greek black junta, has been trying to physically eliminate Makarios. However, these attempts failed.

Borin. "

Indeed, Makarios poured poison into the food. Failure. After that, his brother becomes the president’s personal chef.

Conducted intensive handling of the driver. It was supposed to commit an accident. The driver was replaced, the driver appointed a relative of Makarios.

President of Cyprus tried to destroy on the way to his destination, as well as in the church during the sermons.

8 March 1970, Makarios was going to fly a helicopter to the monastery of Machheras. There he had to serve the service. When the helicopter rose from the takeoff site of the Archbishop's Palace, a machine gun struck from the roof of the nearest gymnasium. The president remained unharmed, but the pilot was badly wounded in the stomach. Blooding, he still managed to land the car on one of the narrow streets of Nicosia.

Makarios himself took the pilot to the hospital, was with him all the time while the operation was underway. Making sure that the life of the pilot does not threaten anything, he drove to Macheras by car. Despite the threats of terrorists, he delivered a sermon, telling the congregation about the tragedy.

After this failed attempt, Makarios received anonymous letters, the authors of which promised to kill him if he did not leave the presidency.

Behind the numerous terrorist attacks was the main enemy of the Cypriot leader - General Georgios Grivas.

"Moscow. Centre. Top secret.

Director.

Grivas was born 23.05.1898, in the village of Trikomo, in the family of a wealthy land merchant. Claims the role of a Cypriot leader. Vain, capricious, touchy, vindictive. In the fight is ready to go to any of the most cruel, inhuman measures.

Master of terrorist attacks and conspiracy.

At the beginning of a career, pro-English was set up. Participant of the Greek-Turkish war 1919 – 1922, the Albanian campaign 1940 of the year.

During the period of the Nazi occupation of Greece, he joined the organization of the far-right Greek officers.

In the 1944 year, after the English landed in Greece, he created the terrorist organization Hitos. He killed the communists. In 1952, he became close to secret organizations in Cyprus, which began to fight against the British. He acted under the pseudonym Digenis.

1 May 1955, Grivas and his associates blew up an English radio station in Nicosia. The British assigned 10 thousands of pounds to his head, but despite their best efforts, they never managed to arrest Grivas.

The general is a great conspirator. Cleverly transformed into a woman, a man of any age and social status, can take the form of a hunchbacked, sick, crippled. If necessary, can quickly lose weight, lose up to 15 pounds of its weight.

After the creation of the Cypriot state, Grivas went to Greece. After the Greek-Turkish clashes in December 1964, he returned to Cyprus again. Three years later he was recalled to Athens.

In 1971, Gryvas illegally sneaks into Cyprus with the task of organizing a conspiracy against Makarios.

Borin. "

Such was the cunning and cunning enemy of the President of Cyprus. He became the enemy of the Soviet military intelligence. Did Grivas know who opposes him? Sure. This is evidenced by the coup plan that fell into the hands of our 1 intelligence agents in February, 1972. Then, before the start of the coup, there were several hours left. But ... the plan became known to Makarios, and the terrorists did not dare to speak.

What was the amazement of the embassy employees when they found their names in a detailed document. Grivas described in detail how the ambassador, some embassy officials, and their families should be subjected to torture after the coup. Among the first to the torture chamber, Grivas was about to send the Soviet military attache, Colonel Bochkarev.

Immediate precautions are taken. The ambassador leaves the country for half a year, diplomatic and technical personnel leave for the city only in groups. But the scouts do not have the opportunity to sit behind the walls of the representation. Operational work should not stop for a day. And it does not stop.

Its result is the failure of the terrorist act at the Lidra Hotel at a diplomatic reception in honor of the Day of the Soviet Army and the Naval fleet. The bomb was laid in the table for the dishes of the waiters. On the same evening, the Grivas militants tried to bring an automatic rifle into the hall under the guise of a photographic tripod and shoot the guests.

The agency worked well. In time, there was a message about the preparation of the murder of Makarios at the Christmas sermon in the cathedral. Having taken security measures, the archbishop nevertheless did not cancel the service. He began his conversion by saying that in the church of God on the eve of a bright Orthodox holiday, the servants of the devil want to take his life. The Lord will not allow this. The situation in the temple was such that the terrorists did not dare to use weapons, they fled from the cathedral.

Of course, in this crowded electrified hall there were also two Soviet military intelligence officers - the resident Viktor Bochkarev and his deputy.

Sometimes, Borin’s agents, risking their lives, made their way into the resident’s house at night to warn of a coup.

There were other very interesting moments in the work of the GRU Cyprus residency. Employees closely followed the local press, as well as newspapers and magazines, radio broadcasts in Greece, where at that time the regime was "black colonels."

Thus, Officer Suntsov, who is fluent in Greek, based on analysis of the press and stationary documents, suggested that the government of Cyprus would soon be overthrown. The information was brought to the attention of Makarios. Subsequent events proved the accuracy of the analytical calculations of the residency.

Grivas, being an experienced military specialist, was well aware of the reason for his failures. And so, once again, the attempt was made on the Soviet resident, military attache Viktor Bochkarev and his family. They were saved by a miracle. The gunfire took place over the heads of Bochkarev, his wife and two children, when on Saturday evening they rested on the balcony of their villa. The wall was riddled with bullets. I had to change the apartment.

Fate brought opponents - the Soviet military intelligence officer and General Grigas - face to face only once. This meeting could be fatal. Our officers conducted route reconnaissance just in those deserted wild gorges of western Troodos, where the terrorist-general was hiding and where he was training his militants.

Already at dusk, on the road that ran along the stony bed of the stream, two cars met - Bochkarev and Grivas. They met and dispersed in different directions. Why then did not attack the unarmed employees of the Atlas Gryvas? Did not expect this meeting, was not ready, did not dare? Who knows…

More they have not met. Colonel Bochkarev’s business trip ended, and he departed to the Soviet Union.

And in 1974, the world found out about a coup in Cyprus. Fortunately, President Makarios managed to escape, change into a dress of a simple shepherd and get to the location of the English Expeditionary Force. The British brought the head of Cyprus to London.

The resident of the Soviet military intelligence in Cyprus, Colonel Viktor Bochkarev admitted later that the coup could have been prevented. But, alas, life had its own way.
Author:
Originator:
http://vpk-news.ru/articles/27274
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. AIR-ZNAK
    AIR-ZNAK 2 October 2015 15: 59 New
    0
    But none of this could have happened and the British did not give the green light to the landing of Turkish troops in Cyprus (But this is a policy, divide and conquer)
  2. Executer
    Executer 2 October 2015 16: 09 New
    +1
    Blessed long-suffering island! The most pleasant memories of him ...
    A divided island, the shared fate of people deprived of their homeland.
    Abandoned cities on the coast. The ruins of the ghost town of Famagusta evoke feelings of bitterness and bewilderment - how can SUCH that be erased from life ?!
  3. Mareman Vasilich
    Mareman Vasilich 2 October 2015 16: 33 New
    0
    These are the great and worthy people brought up by the Soviet system.

Спасти президента Макариоса

В противостоянии «черных полковников» и законного президента Кипра решающую роль сыграл советский разведчик

Разведка полна тайн. И эти тайны становятся достоянием общественности порой через много лет, а то и десятилетий. В конце 60-х – начале 70-х годов горячей точкой на карте планеты был небольшой остров Кипр в Средиземном море. Ставленник хунты «черных полковников» генерал Гривас пытался свергнуть первого президента Республики Кипр архиепископа Макариоса. Возможно, это у него и получилось бы. Но Гривасу не повезло. На его пути встал опытнейший резидент советской военной разведки полковник Виктор Бочкарев.

…Самолет заходил на посадку. Пилот заложил крен и слева по борту, в иллюминаторе, словно венок на волне, качнулся цветущий остров. Зелень чудного берега была так необычно ярка, что в первую секунду от неожиданности Виктор Бочкарев закрыл глаза: «Вот ты какой, Кипр! Здесь теперь жить, здесь служить...»


“ Гривас подробно расписал, каким пыткам после переворота должны подвергнуться советский посол, некоторые сотрудники посольства, а также их семьи ”
Он откинулся на спинку кресла, разлепил усталые веки. В самолетном круглом оконце через узкую полоску сверкающего моря показался еще один берег. «Турция», – понял Бочкарев. Вспомнилась почему-то песня: «Не нужен мне берег турецкий, чужая земля не нужна...» Оказывается, нужна.

Перед командировкой, как и положено, он штудировал материалы по Кипру, Турции – страноведение, экономику, военные группировки, географию. Знал: до турецкого берега недалече, но чтоб вот так, рукой подать, не ожидал. Хотя коллеги предупреждали... В одном из отчетов кто-то из его предшественников так и написал: «В ясные дни из замка Святого Иллариона видна Турция».

Стюардесса что-то приятно лепетала в микрофон, но Бочкарев был занят своими мыслями. Услышал только последнюю фразу: «Температура воздуха в Никосии плюс 27 градусов».

«Для февраля совсем неплохо», – решил он, вспомнив жгучую ледяную крупу, которую гнал северный ветер по летному полю в Москве. «Живут же люди...» И тут же вернул себя в реальность. В аналитических справках его родного Главного разведывательного управления обстановка на Кипре трактовалась как очень далекая от райской. Продолжалось противостояние президента Макариоса и греческих «черных полковников» во главе с их ставленником на острове генералом Гривасом, непрекращающаяся вражда между греческой и турецкой общинами толкала народы на грань войны.

На это обращал его внимание накануне отъезда непосредственный начальник да и короткая встреча с шефом ГРУ генералом Петром Ивашутиным говорила о том, что служба медом не покажется. Хотя сверху прекрасный остров был безмятежен и тих.

Спасти президента Макариоса

Встреча президента Макариоса на Никосийском аэродроме после возвращения из Москвы. Четвертый справа – Виктор Бочкарев. Фото из архива автора

Задач Бочкареву набросали немало. И одна из них – активно противостоять свержению законного правительства и президента Республики Кипр.

Полковник ГРУ Виктор Бочкарев в начале 1970 года был официально назначен военным, военно-морским и военно-воздушным атташе Советского Союза на Кипре. Он же резидент советской военной разведки.

Выбор на него пал не случайно. К тому времени полковник Бочкарев – опытнейший сотрудник военной разведки. В разведуправление Красной армии пришел еще до войны, в 1939-м. Он тогда служил рядовым красноармейцем в полку связи. Будучи дежурным по радиодивизиону, встречал делегацию из штаба округа. Командующий заговорил с бравым бойцом и с удивлением узнал, что тот является по сути полиглотом, владеет шестью языками. Вскоре полиглот оказался в разведуправлении округа, а потом и в Москве.

Войну встретил оперативным офицером пограничного разведывательного пункта в Каунасе. Потом работал с военнопленными немцами. Это он сумел расшифровать стенографические записи немецкого командира самолета Ю-88 капитана люфтваффе Мессершмидта. В них была заветная дата начала генерального наступления на Москву. Мессершмидт был поражен, он отказывался верить, что у этих диких русаков нашелся знаток немецкой стенографии.

В последующие годы Бочкарев готовил разведгруппы для заброски в тыл врага. За войну он побывал на десяти фронтах – от Карельского до 1-го Украинского и на территории пяти стран – Польши, Румынии, Чехословакии, Австрии, Германии. Вырастил десятки агентов.

В 1945 году капитан Бочкарев работал в составе специальной группы, которая отыскивала следы нацистских руководителей, – Гитлера, Бормана, Геббельса…

После войны Виктор Викторович учился в Дипломатической академии, служил старшим помощником, а потом и военным атташе Советского Союза в Австрии.

1956-й – год кровавых событий в Венгрии он встретил в венской резидентуре. Особое внимание в те тревожные дни советская разведка уделяла австро-венгерской границе. Бочкарев вел маршрутную разведку, встречался с агентами, выезжал на венгерскую территорию, контролируемую мятежными силами, для сбора разведывательных сведений и анализа обстановки.

В австрийский период работы Бочкареву по заданию командования удалось разыскать могилу разведчика-нелегала Героя Советского Союза Льва Маневича, который в 30-е годы работал в Австрии и Италии.

После возвращения из длительной командировки Виктор Викторович десять лет посвятил подготовке разведчиков-нелегалов. Побывал в Таиланде, на Филиппинах, в Южном Вьетнаме, в Гонконге.

А теперь он получил новое назначение. Нет, не в благополучную Германию или тихую Австрию, а на беспокойный остров Афродиты – Кипр, где греческая хунта «черных полковников» добивалась свержения президента страны Макариоса.

Спасти президента Макариоса

С президентом Макариосом. Слева – посол СССР на Кипре Барковский. Фото из архива автора

И вот Виктор Викторович у цели. Самолет уже бежит по взлетно-посадочной полосе, тормозит, лениво покачивая плоскостями, словно гигантская птица уставшими крыльями. Подогнали трап. Пассажиры заторопились, салон наполнился разноязычным гомоном. Встал и Бочкарев.

Уже на трапе он почувствовал, что значит плюс 27 в феврале. В нос ударил непривычный, терпкий, пряный запах. Воздух Никосии дурманил.

Его встречала посольская машина. Когда они выехали с территории аэродрома, Бочкарев был немало удивлен: дорога в столицу Кипра пролегала по безжизненной, голой местности. Слева и справа унылый пейзаж, пласты застывшей вулканической лавы, на которой почти ничего не росло. Разве что торчали редкие кусты каких-то белых высоких цветов. Это они наполняли воздух резким, пряным запахом.

Однако сама Никосия на въезде выглядела свежо и молодо: белые ухоженные домики с плоскими крышами, колоколенки церквей, утопающие в садах, а вдалеке – темно-зеленые отроги горных цепей Кирении и Троодоса.

Даже не верилось, что эта земля помнит Александра Македонского и римского императора Клавдия, византийского императора Романа II и английского короля Ричарда Львиное Сердце.

...Нового военного атташе Советского Союза поселили в представительской квартире на Зеверис-авеню. Напротив – президентский дворец. Из окна видны ворота, парадный въезд.

Вскоре новый атташе будет принят Макариосом и вручит ему верительные грамоты. Второй раз они официально пожмут друг другу руки, когда президент Кипра возвратится из Москвы. Всего две встречи. Но деятельность советского резидента на Кипре во многом будет подчинена сохранению жизни президента Макариоса.

Бочкарев достаточно быстро разобрался в обстановке. А обстановка на Кипре тогда была поистине фронтовой. Греко-турецкое противостояние нарастало. Не проходило недели без каких-либо инцидентов. Три года назад турки неожиданным ударом в одну ночь овладели важным тактическим районом – горой Святой Илларион, полностью разгромив превосходящие силы греков-киприотов.

Турки вели себя крайне воинственно. Во всех деревнях и населенных пунктах они создали военные отряды, на окраинах селений оборудовали наблюдательные пункты, несли боевое дежурство, устраивали учения.

Кроме турецких и греческих войск на Кипре были расквартированы 25 тысяч английских солдат и офицеров. В соответствии с решением ООН там же находились «голубые каски» – австрийцы, австралийцы, датчане, шведы, финны, канадцы. Посты «голубых касок» располагались на «зеленой линии», разделявшей греческий и турецкий районы.

Словом, людей с оружием на маленьком острове хоть отбавляй, «голубые каски» находились в повышенной боевой готовности по нескольку месяцев подряд.

Во главе Кипра стоял архиепископ Макариос. Он же президент республики, премьер-министр, главнокомандующий и глава Православной церкви. Вот что в ту пору в Москву сообщал резидент военной разведки полковник Бочкарев (Борин).

«Москва. Центр. Совершенно секретно.

Директору.

Макариос родился 13.08.1913 года в семье бедного пастуха в Троодосе в провинции Пафос. Образование получил в монастырской школе, на богословских факультетах Афинского и Бостонского (США) университетов.

В 1950 году избран епископом и этнархом. Является руководителем национально-освободительного движения кипрского народа. В 1956 году выслан англичанами на Сейшельские острова.

Макариос – гибкий, ловкий буржуазный политик, пользующийся всем арсеналом хитростей Византийской церкви, умело использующий в полной мере противоречия стран, заинтересованных в Кипре. Ему свойственны недооценка сил противника и преувеличение своих возможностей. В сложной обстановке драматизирует события и впадает в панику.

В течение нескольких лет местная реакция, греческая черная хунта пытаются физически ликвидировать Макариоса. Однако эти попытки результатов не дали.

Борин».

Действительно, Макариосу подсыпали в еду отраву. Неудача. После этого личным поваром президента становится его брат.

Велась интенсивная обработка шофера. Предполагалось совершение аварии. Шофера заменили, водителем назначили родственника Макариоса.

Президента Кипра пытались уничтожить по пути его следования, а также в церкви во время проповедей.

8 марта 1970 года Макариос собирался вылететь на вертолете в монастырь Махерас. Там он должен был отслужить службу. Когда вертолет поднялся со взлетной площадки архиепископского дворца, с крыши ближайшей гимназии ударил пулемет. Президент остался невредим, но пилот был тяжело ранен в живот. Обливаясь кровью, он все-таки сумел посадить машину на одну из узких улочек Никосии.

Макариос сам отвез пилота в госпиталь, находился с ним неотлучно, пока шла операция. Убедившись, что жизни летчика ничего не угрожает, он выехал в Махерас на автомашине. Несмотря на угрозы террористов, он произнес проповедь, поведав прихожанам о трагедии.

После этого неудавшегося покушения Макариос получал анонимные письма, авторы которых обещали убить его, если он не покинет пост президента.

За многочисленными террористическими актами стоял главный враг кипрского лидера – генерал Георгиос Гривас.

«Москва. Центр. Совершенно секретно.

Директору.

Гривас родился 23.05.1898 года в д. Трикомо в семье богатого землеторговца. Претендует на роль лидера киприотов. Тщеславен, капризен, обидчив, злопамятен. В борьбе готов идти на любые самые жестокие, бесчеловечные меры.

Мастер терактов и конспирации.

В начале карьеры был настроен проанглийски. Участник греко-турецкой войны 1919–1922 годов, албанской кампании 1940 года.

В период гитлеровской оккупации Греции примкнул к организации крайне правых греческих офицеров.

В 1944 году после высадки в Греции англичан создал террористическую организацию «Хитосы». Убивал коммунистов. В 1952 году сблизился с секретными организациями на Кипре, которые начали борьбу против англичан. Действовал под псевдонимом Дигенис.

1 мая 1955 года Гривас и его соратники взорвали английскую радиостанцию в Никосии. Англичане назначили за его голову 10 тысяч фунтов, но несмотря на все усилия, им так и не удалось арестовать Гриваса.

Генерал – прекрасный конспиратор. Умело преображается в женщину, человека любого возраста и социального положения, может принять вид горбатого, больного, покалеченного. При необходимости способен быстро похудеть, потерять до 15 килограммов своего веса.

После создания кипрского государства Гривас уехал в Грецию. После греко-турецких столкновений в декабре 1964 года он снова возвратился на Кипр. Через три года его отзывают в Афины.

В 1971 году Гривас нелегально пробирается на Кипр с задачей организации заговора против Макариоса.

Борин».

Таков был коварный и хитрый враг президента Кипра. Он стал и врагом советской военной разведки. Знал ли Гривас, кто ему противостоит? Несомненно. Об этом говорит план государственного переворота, попавший в руки наших разведчиков 1 февраля 1972 года. Тогда до начала путча оставалось несколько часов. Но... план стал известен Макариосу, и террористы выступить не решились.

Каково же было изумление работников посольства, когда в детально разработанном документе они нашли и свои фамилии. Гривас подробно расписал, каким пыткам после переворота должны подвергнуться посол, некоторые сотрудники посольства, а также их семьи. В числе первых в пыточную камеру Гривас собирался отправить советского военного атташе полковника Бочкарева.

Срочно принимаются меры предосторожности. Посол покидает страну на полгода, дипломатический и технический персонал выезжает в город только группами. Но у разведчиков нет возможности отсиживаться за стенами представительства. Оперативная работа не должна прекращаться ни на день. И она не прекращается.

Ее результатом становится провал террористического акта в гостинице «Лидра» на дипломатическом приеме в честь Дня Советской армии и Военно-морского флота. Бомба была заложена в столик для посуды официантов. В этот же вечер боевики Гриваса пытались пронести в зал автомат под видом фотоштатива и расстрелять гостей.

Хорошо работала агентура. Вовремя пришло сообщение о подготовке убийства Макариоса на рождественской проповеди в соборе. Предприняв меры безопасности, архиепископ тем не менее службу не отменил. Он начал свое обращение с того, что в божьем храме накануне светлого православного праздника слуги дьявола хотят лишить его жизни. Господь этого не допустит. Обстановка в храме была такова, что террористы не решились применить оружие, они бежали из собора.

Разумеется, в этом переполненном наэлектризованном зале находились и два советских военных разведчика – резидент Виктор Бочкарев и его заместитель.

Случалось, агенты Борина, рискуя жизнью, ночью пробирались в дом резидента, чтобы предупредить о перевороте.

В работе кипрской резидентуры ГРУ были и другие весьма интересные моменты. Сотрудники внимательно следили за местной прессой, а также за газетами и журналами, радиопередачами Греции, где в ту пору правил режим «черных полковников».

Так, офицер Сунцов, в совершенстве владеющий греческим языком, на основе анализа прессы и документов резидентуры высказал предположение о скором свержении правительства Кипра. Информация была доведена до сведения Макариоса. Последующие события доказали верность аналитических расчетов резидентуры.

Гривас, будучи опытным военным специалистом, хорошо осознавал причину своих провалов. И поэтому в очередной раз покушение было устроено уже на советского резидента, военного атташе Виктора Бочкарева и его семью. Их спасло чудо. Автоматная очередь прошла над головами Бочкарева, его жены и двоих детей, когда субботним вечером они отдыхали на балконе своей виллы. Стена была изрешечена пулями. Пришлось сменить квартиру.

Судьба свела противников – советского военного разведчика и генерала Гриваса – лицом к лицу всего один раз. Эта встреча могла стать роковой. Наши офицеры вели маршрутную разведку как раз в тех безлюдных диких ущельях западного Троодоса, где скрывался террорист-генерал и где он тренировал своих боевиков.

Уже в сумерках на дороге, которая шла по каменистому руслу ручья, встретились две машины – Бочкарева и Гриваса. Встретились и разъехались в разные стороны. Почему тогда не напал на безоружных сотрудников атташата Гривас? Не ожидал этой встречи, не был готов, не решился? Кто знает…

Больше они не встречались. Командировка полковника Бочкарева закончилась, и он убыл в Советский Союз.

А в 1974 году мир узнал о государственном перевороте на Кипре. К счастью, президенту Макариосу удалось бежать, переодеться в платье простого пастуха и выйти в расположение английского экспедиционного корпуса. Англичане доставили руководителя Кипра в Лондон.

Резидент советской военной разведки на Кипре полковник Виктор Бочкарев признавался позже, что тот переворот можно было предотвратить. Но, увы, жизнь распорядилась по-своему.
Автор: Михаил Болтунов
Первоисточник: http://vpk-news.ru/articles/27274


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 3
  1. AIR-ZNAK 2 октября 2015 15:59
    А ведь ничего этого могло и не быть не дай Англичане добро на высадку турецких войск на Кипре (Но это политика-разделяй и властвуй)
  2. Executer 2 октября 2015 16:09
    Благословенный многострадальный остров! Самые приятные воспоминания о нём...
    Разделённый остров, разделённые судьбы людей, лишённых родного очага.
    Брошенные города на побережье. Руины города-призрака Фамагусты вызывают чувства горечи и недоумения - как ТАКОЕ можно вычеркнуть из жизни?!
  3. Мареман Василич 2 октября 2015 16:33
    Вот каких великих и достойных людей воспитывала Советская система.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня