Military Review

Brazilian armored personnel carrier Charrua

12
Brazilian armored personnel carrier Charrua

Brazilian armored personnel carrier Charrua is similar to the American armored personnel carrier M113


The Charrua tracked amphibious assault vehicle was developed by Moto Pecas, a Brazilian company. The car is named for the South American tribe, but has another designation XMP-1. At the beginning of the 80s, the Brazilian armed forces needed to replace the 500 fleet with the obsolete US-tracked M59 armored personnel carriers, which were delivered at the beginning of the 50's. The Brazilian Ministry of Defense sought to find a car similar to the M113 BTR. The project was launched in 1983, and the first prototype was made in 1985. Then a few more experimental machines were made. In the car Charrua were mainly used Brazilian technology. However, the entire program for this armored personnel carrier was closed. Ultimately, the Brazilian army and marine corps adopted the American BTR M113, a total of more than 600 of these vehicles were ordered.

The Charrua armored personnel carrier looks like a M113 vehicle. The first prototype had a box-type body with vertical sides. The second prototype in the area of ​​the amphibious branch of the board received a slope. Both options have a large internal volume.

The armor of the machine provides all-view protection against 7,62-mm bullets and shell fragments. With additional ceramic armor, the frontal part can withstand the hit of 20-mm projectiles.

The base version of the armored personnel carrier is armed with a closed 12,7-mm machine gun. From this weapons firing commander of the car. The first prototype had a small turret armed with an 12,7-mm machine gun. Options were also proposed, armed with 20-mm or 25-mm guns.

The Charrua BTR has a crew of two people and can accommodate a detachment of infantry from 9 fully equipped soldiers. Embarkation and disembarkation is carried out through the rear doors. There are also hatches on the roof for observation, firing and emergency exits. There are also several embrasures for firing personal weapons.

It was originally planned to install the Brazilian diesel engine on a new BTR. However, the Saab-Scania DSI-11 hp 394 diesel engine was installed on this armored personnel carrier. The engine is located in the front of the case, it is mounted in a single unit with an Allison automatic transmission. With two 270-liter fuel tanks, the range on the highway is 500 km. Also for this machine was offered the engine Detroit Diesel 6V92TA power 450 hp

This armored personnel carrier is floating. On the water is driven by two jets. In this case, the machine develops speed 8 km / h. She could cross lakes and rivers, which are very numerous in Brazil.

Initially, it was assumed that Charrua would have several options: control station, ambulance, communication machine with communication equipment, evacuation with crane, engineering with crane and dozer blade, 120-mm mortar complex, anti-aircraft gun with four automatic guns, anti-aircraft gun with tower 40-mm Bofors cannon, anti-aircraft missile system. Before closing this program, we managed to make several prototypes.

Admission - no
Crew 2 rights
Landing 9 people

Dimensions and weight
Mass 18 tons
Length 6,43 m
Width 3,26 m
Height 1,95 m

weaponry
1 x 12,7-mm machine gun

Mobility
Saab-Scania DSI-11 diesel engine
Power 394 hp
Top speed 70 km / h
Float speed 8 km / h
Power reserve 500 km

Obstacles
Slope 60%
Side slope 40%
Vertical scarp 0,75 m
Trench 2 m
Wade - floating











Materials used:
www.military-today.com
www.wikipedia.org
www.youtube.com
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. sagitta25
    sagitta25 12 October 2015 07: 55 New
    +1
    Agree, an interesting thing, but unfortunately there is poor protection and the maximum that stood was a 25mm gun) On an infantry fighting vehicle there was a 76mm gun), although there, too, poor defense holds only Kalash and it is not armor-piercing bullets.
    1. corporal
      corporal 12 October 2015 12: 34 New
      0
      Quote: sagitta25
      On the BMP, and then there was a 76mm gun)

      1.-Do not confuse armored personnel carriers and infantry fighting vehicles.
      2.-2A28 gun can only be called conditionally.
      3.- on our armored personnel carriers until recently, only KPVT 14,5
      Quote: sagitta25
      but unfortunately bad defense

      For that time, the most good Otherwise, it would lose buoyancy.
      1. Malkor
        Malkor 12 October 2015 17: 06 New
        0
        Not like the M113, but better than him.
  2. 31rus
    31rus 12 October 2015 13: 37 New
    0
    It’s very bad that they didn’t develop this car further, would pick up a doom, strengthen their armor, they could well provide themselves with good equipment, the Brazilians have a way to say “their handwriting” in arms, I don’t know how anyone, but I like
  3. tchoni
    tchoni 12 October 2015 13: 54 New
    +1
    Cardboard box. Alas and ah yesterday ... Article plus, because for the overall development
    1. flSergius
      flSergius 12 October 2015 15: 01 New
      +2
      Cardboard box.


      And you look at our newest “Shell” for the Airborne Forces. Why does everyone forget that this is armorconveyors? They bring infantry and knock over a knoll, take away the wounded, a machine gun for self-defense.
      1. tchoni
        tchoni 12 October 2015 18: 45 New
        +1
        I don’t argue with you ..... But, the very idea of ​​a compact armored personnel carrier was run in from the French half-tracked models to our shells, etc. I have no complaints about the composition of the armament of this vehicle. Moreover, I agree with you in terms of the fact that armored personnel carriers are only needed for self-defense and nothing more. And I don’t want to compare it with “Shell”, because I imagine that it’s one field of berries .... What’s better is “shell”, in some way the product of Brazilian comrades ... Neither in “Shell”, nor here no revolutionary solutions proposed ...
    2. cosmos111
      cosmos111 12 October 2015 19: 07 New
      +1
      Quote: tchoni
      Alas and ah yesterday


      yesterday ????
      Saab-Scania DSI-11 with 394 hp ... it is mounted in a single unit with an Allison automatic transmission

      what's in this armored personnel carrier, not modern ???

      power unit: Detroit Diesel 8V-92TA with an output of 710 l / s., Allison XTG-411-5A automatic transmission ((Achzarit, T-72CZ M4, VT-72M4 CZ.))))
      1. tchoni
        tchoni 12 October 2015 21: 56 New
        +2
        Quote: cosmos111
        then in this armored personnel carrier, not modern ???

        It's not about technical implementation. In my opinion, the very concept of a light armored personnel carrier is outdated ... and is currently only very limitedly suitable. Let's say within the framework of rapid response units, individual engineering units, individual units of the MP. If we are talking about a light car, the wheels look more promising. If we are talking about cardboard armor, it would be nice to provide it with a good overview, a separate hatch for each. Well, or shove a little less people under the armor.
        1. cosmos111
          cosmos111 12 October 2015 22: 07 New
          +1
          Quote: tchoni
          BTR is outdated ... and currently only very limitedly suitable

          Quote: flSergius
          look at our latest "Shell" for the Airborne Forces.


          I agree completely, for the Airborne Forces, but with a stern ramp ((ours again .... did, through 2 they will be upgrading years)))
          on a wheeled chassis, just for the special forces of the airborne ....

          BTR "Charrua" two people + 6-th landing .... optimally ...
          1. tchoni
            tchoni 12 October 2015 22: 25 New
            +1
            Yes, somewhere like that. From the fatherland, we can talk about the “tiger” and “lynx” (although the latter is not quite the fatherland), as machines that meet these requirements in a limited way (well, they don’t swim and are not capable of epic swims through mud). I think that it is from these considerations that mattresses are very fond of haamer
  4. moskowit
    moskowit 12 October 2015 21: 05 New
    +1
    "Armored personnel carrier (armored personnel carrier, armored personnel carrier) - an armored transport and combat vehicle (carrier) designed to transport personnel (riflemen) of motorized rifle (infantry, motorized infantry, paratrooper, and so on) units, materiel, to the place of fulfillment of their combat mission and evacuation wounded and stricken from the battlefield.

    In exceptional cases, if the enemy does not have anti-tank weapons, an armored personnel carrier can support rifle troops (infantry, MP, airborne forces) with on-board weapons. "(From Wikipedia) for information.
    More serious information on various "bronesites"
  5. moskowit
    moskowit 12 October 2015 21: 11 New
    +2
    Continued:
    “The closest armored personnel carriers in the class (in some countries there is no such division) are infantry fighting vehicles (BMP) and airborne fighting vehicles (BMD). The difference lies in the tactical purpose and, as a consequence, the balance of combat and transport functions. The APC was mainly developed as armed infantry vehicle, while BMP and BMD were additionally assigned the tasks of directly supporting infantry with gun and machine gun fire in offensive and defense, although quite a large caliber was installed on many armored personnel carriers machine guns, the armament of these machines, as a rule, is not stabilized and has simplified sights, which limits its use mainly to self-defense purposes.The BMP and BMD differ from the armored personnel carrier in better protection and greater firepower, while the APC, having a wheeled drive, significantly exceeds them speed of movement on roads with improved pavement. BMD, in turn, is distinguished by the ability of parachute airborne landing. BTR compared to BMP and BMD usually has several times lower cost in production due to the lack of complexity high-tech military equipment.

    Recently, variants of tracked armored personnel carriers based on tanks with anti-shell armor have been developed. Thus, the differences between tracked armored personnel carriers, infantry fighting vehicles and infantry fighting vehicles by their combat properties practically disappear. Externally, such an armored personnel carrier can be distinguished from an infantry fighting vehicle only by its main armament, which is usually machine-gun in an armored personnel carrier, and cannon or missile-cannon with an 20 mm or larger caliber guns. Nevertheless, a number of heavy armored personnel carriers, such as the BTR-T, have weapons with a caliber over 20 mm, which in fact erases the border between the BTR and the IFV. Another less striking difference is the BMP and BMD, unlike the APCs, which are much more protected from the damaging effects of nuclear weapons.

    For armored personnel carriers, unlike tanks and infantry fighting vehicles, the type of propulsion system is not specified, therefore, among the armored personnel carriers there are both tracked and wheeled vehicles. "(From Wikipedia)

Бразильский бронетранспортер Charrua

Бразильский бронетранспортер Charrua

Бразильский бронетранспортер Charrua похож на американский бронетранспортер M113

Гусеничный плавающий бронетранспортер Charrua был разработан бразильской компанией Moto Pecas. Машина названа по имени южно-американского племени, но имеет еще одно обозначение XMP-1. В начале 80-х годов у бразильских вооруженных сил возникла потребность в замене парка 500 устаревших гусеничных американских бронетранспортеров M59, которые были поставлены еще в начале 50-х. Бразильское министерство обороны стремилось найти машину, похожую на БТР М113. Проект был начат в 1983 году, а первый прототип был изготовлен в 1985 году. Затем было изготовлено еще несколько опытных машин. В машине Charrua в основном были использованы бразильские технологии. Впрочем, вся программа по этому бронетранспортеру была закрыта. В конечном счете, бразильские армия и корпус морской пехоты приняли на вооружение американские БТР M113, в общей сложности было заказано более 600 этих машин.

Бронетранспортер Charrua похож на машину M113. Первый прототип имел корпус коробчатого типа с вертикальными бортами. У второго прототипа в районе десантного отделения борта получили наклон. Оба варианта имеют большой внутренний объем.


Броня машины обеспечивает всеракурсную защиту от 7,62-мм пуль и осколков снарядов. С дополнительной керамической броней лобовая часть может выдержать попадание 20-мм снарядов.

Базовый вариант бронетранспортера вооружен закрытым щитками 12,7-мм пулеметом. Из этого оружия ведет огонь командир машины. Первый прототип имел небольшую башню, вооруженную 12,7-мм пулеметом. Также были предложены варианты, вооруженные 20-мм или 25-мм пушками.

БТР Charrua имеет экипаж два человека и вмещает отделение пехоты из 9 полностью экипированных солдат. Посадка и высадка осуществляется через задние двери. Также имеется на крыше люки для наблюдения, ведения огня и аварийного выхода. Также имеется несколько амбразур для стрельбы из личного оружия.

Первоначально планировалось установить на новый БТР бразильский дизельный двигатель. Однако, на этот бронетранспортер был установлен дизельный двигатель Saab-Scania DSI-11 мощностью 394 л.с. Двигатель располагается в передней части корпуса, он смонтирован в едином блоке с автоматической трансмиссией Allison. С двумя 270-литровыми топливными баками запас хода по шоссе составляет 500 км. Также для этой машины предлагался двигатель Detroit Diesel 6V92TA мощностью 450 л.с.

Этот бронетранспортер плавает. На воде приводится в движение двумя водометами. При этом машина развивает скорость 8 км/ч. Она могла бы пересекать озера и реки, которых очень много в Бразилии.

Первоначально предполагалось, что Charrua будет иметь несколько вариантов: пункт управления, санитарный, машина связи с коммуникационным оборудованием, эвакуационный с краном, инженерный с краном и бульдозерным отвалом, 120-мм минометный комплекс, зенитная установка с четырьмя автоматическими пушками, зенитная установка с башней с 40-мм пушкой Bofors, зенитно-ракетный комплекс. До закрытия этой программы успели изготовить несколько опытных образцов.

Поступление на вооружение - нет
Экипаж 2 человека
Десант 9 человек

Размеры и масса
Масса 18 тонн
Длина 6,43 м
Ширина 3,26 м
Высота 1,95 м

Вооружение
Пулемет 1 x 12,7-мм

Подвижность
Двигатель Saab-Scania DSI-11 дизельный
Мощность 394 л.с.
Максимальная скорость 70 км/ч
Скорость плава 8 км/ч
Запас хода 500 км

Препятствия
Уклон 60%
Боковой уклон 40%
Вертикальный уступ 0,75 м
Окоп 2 м
Брод – плавающая

Бразильский бронетранспортер Charrua
Бразильский бронетранспортер Charrua
Бразильский бронетранспортер Charrua
Бразильский бронетранспортер Charrua
Бразильский бронетранспортер Charrua
Бразильский бронетранспортер Charrua
Бразильский бронетранспортер Charrua




Использованы материалы:
www.military-today.com
www.wikipedia.org
www.youtube.com
Перевод: Alex Alexeev

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 12
  1. sagitta25 12 октября 2015 07:55
    Согласитесь интересная штука, но ксожелению плохая защита и максимум что стояло так это 25мм пушка) На БМП и то стояла пушка 76мм)хотя там тоже плохая защита держит только калаш и то не бронебойные пули.
    1. капрал 12 октября 2015 12:34
      Цитата: sagitta25
      На БМП и то стояла пушка 76мм)

      1.-Не путаем БТР и БМП.
      2.-2А28 пушкой можно назвать только условно.
      3.- на наших БТР до последнего времени-только КПВТ 14,5
      Цитата: sagitta25
      но ксожелению плохая защита

      Для того времени- самое то good Иначе потеряла бы плавучесть.
      1. Malkor 12 октября 2015 17:06
        Не похож на М113 , а лучше его .
  2. 31rus 12 октября 2015 13:37
    Очень плохо ,что не стали развивать дальше эту машину,подобрали бы дум,усилили броню,вполне могли обеспечить себя хорошей техникой,у бразильцев есть как бы сказать "свой почерк"в оружии не знаю кому как ,а мне нравиться
  3. tchoni 12 октября 2015 13:54
    Картонная коробуся. Увы и ах вчерашний день... Статье плюс, потому как для общего развития
    1. flSergius 12 октября 2015 15:01
      Картонная коробуся.


      А Вы на нашу новейшую "Ракушку" для ВДВ посмотрите. Почему все забывают что это бронетранспортёры? Они привозят пехоту и сваливают за холмик, увозят раненых, пулемёт для самозащиты.
      1. tchoni 12 октября 2015 18:45
        Я ж с вами не спорю..... Но, сама по себе идея компактного бронетранспортера обкатана начиная с французских полугусеничных моделей и заканчивая нашими ракушками и пр. У меня нет претензий к составу вооружения данной машины. Более того, я согласен с вами в плане того, что БТР вооружение нужно только для самозащиты и не более того. А с "Ракушкой" - и сравнивать не хочу, потому как мниться мне, что это одного поля ягоды.... В чем то лучше "ракушка", в чем то изделие бразильских камрадов... Ни в "Ракушке", ни здесь не предложенно революционных решений...
    2. cosmos111 12 октября 2015 19:07
      Цитата: tchoni
      Увы и ах вчерашний день


      вчерашний????
      Saab-Scania DSI-11 мощностью 394 л.с. ... он смонтирован в едином блоке с автоматической трансмиссией Allison

      что в этом БТРе,не современно???

      силовой блок:Detroit Diesel 8V-92TA мощностью 710 л/с., автоматическая трансмиссия Allison XTG-411-5A((БТР Achzarit,T-72CZ M4,VT-72M4 CZ.)))
      1. tchoni 12 октября 2015 21:56
        Цитата: cosmos111
        то в этом БТРе,не современно???

        Дело не в техническом воплощении. На мой взгляд сама концепция легкого БТР устарела...и в настоящий момент пригодна лишь очень ограниченно. Скажем в рамках подразделений быстрого реагирования, отдельных инженерных подразделений, отдельных подразделений МП. Если мы говорим о легкой машине - колеса выглядят перспективнее. Если говорим о картонной броне - ее неплохо бы снабдить неплохим обзором, отдельным люком для каждого. Ну или пихать под броню чуть меньше народа.
        1. cosmos111 12 октября 2015 22:07
          Цитата: tchoni
          БТР устарела...и в настоящий момент пригодна лишь очень ограниченно

          Цитата: flSergius
          на нашу новейшую "Ракушку" для ВДВ посмотрите.


          согласен полностью,для ВДВ,но с кормовой аппарелью((наши опять....сделали,через 2-а года модернизировать будут)))
          на колёсном шасси ,именно для спецназа ВДВ....

          БТР" Charrua " два человека +6-ть десанта....оптимально...
          1. tchoni 12 октября 2015 22:25
            Да, где то так. Из отечества, можно говорить о "тигре" и "рыси"(хотя последняя и не совсем отечество), как об ограниченно отвечающих подобным требованиям машинах (ну, не плавают они и к эпичным заплывам по грязи не способны). Я думаю, что именно из этих соображений матрасники очень любят хамер
  4. moskowit 12 октября 2015 21:05
    "Бронетранспортёр (броневой транспортёр, БТР) — бронированная транспортно—боевая машина (транспортёр), предназначенная для транспортировки личного состава (стрелков) мотострелковых (пехотных, мотопехотных, десантных и так далее) подразделений, материальных средств к месту выполнения поставленной им боевой задачи и эвакуации раненых и поражённых с поля боя.

    В исключительных случаях, при отсутствии у противника противотанковых средств, БТР может поддержать стрелковые войска (пехоту, МП, ВДВ) огнем бортового вооружения." (из Википедии) для ознакомления.
    Более серьёзная информация на различных "бронесайтах"
  5. moskowit 12 октября 2015 21:11
    Продолжение:
    "Ближайшими по классу бронетранспортёру (в некоторых странах нет этого разделения) машинами являются боевые машины пехоты (БМП) и боевые машины десанта (БМД). Разница заключается в тактическом назначении и, как следствие, балансе боевых и транспортных функций. БТР в основном разрабатывался как вооруженное транспортное средство пехоты, в то время как на БМП и БМД дополнительно возлагались задачи непосредственной поддержки пехоты огнём орудия и пулемета в наступлении и обороне. Хотя на многих БТР установлены достаточно мощные крупнокалиберные пулемёты, вооружение этих машин, как правило, не является стабилизированным и имеет упрощённые прицелы, что ограничивает его применение в основном целями самообороны. БМП и БМД отличаются от БТР лучшей защищенностью и большей огневой мощью. БТР же, имея колёсный ход, значительно превосходит их в скорости передвижения по дорогам с улучшенным покрытием. В свою очередь, БМД отличается способностью парашютного авиадесантирования. БТР по сравнению с БМП и БМД обычно имеет в разы меньшую стоимость в производстве из-за отсутствия на нём сложного и высокотехнологичного боевого оборудования.

    В последнее время разработаны варианты гусеничных БТР на базе танков с противоснарядным бронированием. Таким образом, различия между гусеничными БТР, БМП и БМД по их боевым свойствам практически исчезают. Внешне отличить такой БТР от БМП можно только по основному вооружению, которое у БТР, как правило, пулемётное, а у БМП — пушечное или ракетно-пушечное с калибром пушки 20 мм и больше. Тем не менее ряд тяжёлых бронетранспортёров, таких как БТР-Т, имеет вооружение калибром свыше 20 мм, что фактически стирает границу между БТР и БМП. Другое менее бросающееся в глаза отличие, — БМП и БМД, в отличие от БТР, значительно более защищенные от поражающего действия ядерного оружия.

    Для БТР, в отличие от танков и БМП, тип движителя не оговорён, поэтому среди БТР есть как гусеничные, так и колёсные машины." (из Википедии)

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня