Military Review

Soviet intelligence officer Karim Khakimov

3

Karim Abdraufovich Khakimov



Intelligence of the future Soviet diplomat K.A. Khakimov [1] began in Bukhara. At the end of August, 1921 Khakimov was summoned to Moscow, to the NKID, where he was assigned to the Persian [2] city of Mashhad for the post of Consul General of the RSFSR. In 1923, Mr. Khakimov became Consul General of the USSR in the Persian city of Resht and worked in the mixed Soviet-Persian border commission. Having proved himself to be an active and capable diplomat, in January 1924, he was recalled to Moscow and appointed the Consul General of the USSR in the Hejaz Kingdom. April 24 1924. Chairman of the USSR Central Executive Committee M.I. Kalinin signed his credentials [3].

6 August 1924 Khakimov, together with the staff of the consulate general, who also served as a diplomatic agency, arrived in Jeddah. As the Soviet representative was a Muslim, 9 August 1924 was allowed to hand his credentials to King Hijaz Hussein bin Ali al-Hashimi in Mecca, the holy city of all Muslims. This irritated Britain, [4], since the opening of the USSR Mission in Jeddah - the first diplomatic representation of the Soviet Union in the Arab countries - became a major foreign policy success of the USSR, [5] especially as King Hussein again refused to sign the Anglo-Hejaz treaty .

Of great importance for the coverage of Soviet intelligence activities in the countries of the Middle East in 1920-1930-s are the essays "The work of the Comintern and the GPU in Turkey" by the former deputy trade representative in Turkey I.M. Ibragimova [6] (written in Paris in 1931, remained unpublished), in which he explains the reasons for the successful work of Khakimov in the following way: “Khakimov got at his disposal the best workers from ... young people with knowledge of Arabic (various dialects). The position and work of Khakimov is still made easier by the fact that he is a Muslim. He even ... by order from Moscow, performs all the Mohammedan rites in order to gain the trust of [the Arabs], which he achieved quite. The only one even of diplomatic agents (it seems that Holland still has its diplomatic agent in Gejas [7] from Muslims) Khakimov has the right to free movement around the country. He enjoys the full confidence of King Gejas and more recently the ruler of Yemen, Imam Yahya [8]. Now (in 1931 - PG), he is part-time and representative in Yemen. [9] ”[10].

M.M. arrived in Jeddah as secretary to Khakimov. Axelrod [11]. Here he worked until 1927, completing the INO [1925] assignment with 12. Perhaps Axelrod’s transition from NKID to foreign intelligence in 1928 was the reason he began publishing his orientalist articles under the pseudonym “Rafik Musa” [13].


KA Khakimov accompanies the future King of Arabia Faisal ibn Abdel Aziz al-Saud. Moscow, 1932


Agabekov confirms that “in Gedjas and Yemen, the GPU did not conduct any work until the arrival of the Soviet ambassador Khakimov there. In the 1925 year, being associated with [O] GPU for work in Mashhad, Khakimov began to conduct information work in Gejas. Simultaneously with him, Secretary of the Khakimov Moses Axelrod and the representative of the People's Commissariat Belkin [14] arrived in Gedzhas. Axelrod and Belkin voluntarily, at their peril and fear, began first in Gejas, and then in Yemen undercover work. Seeing their zeal, the GPU appointed Axelrod, who soon moved from Gejas to Yemen, as his special representative. Axelrod ..., who knew Arabic well, was able to contact prominent officers of Imam Yahya, but due to the lack of intelligence experience, he could not sufficiently use these connections. From Yemen, Axelrod did work in Eritrea [15] and sometimes even sent his agents to Egypt ”[16].


Soviet intelligence officer Karim Khakimov
K.A. Khakimov (at the far left corner of the table) with employees of the Soviet trade mission and Yemenis (presumably in Sana'a)


The extent to which Axelrod’s activities in Egypt were active was indirectly indicated by an episode that took place along the way he was going to Yemen in 1928, whose description was preserved thanks to the GA Report. Astakhova [17]: “In Port Said, the increased vigilance of the p [aro] / marching police against us, especially regarding Comrade Axelrod, was striking. Our passports were taken ashore (obviously, for a photo) ... One of the police officers, with an exaggerated confidentiality, informed T. Axelrod that we are in Egypt blacklisted [18].

And yet, for Soviet intelligence in Egypt, Axelrod performed an auxiliary function. “[O] the GPU and the Comintern in Egypt work through a certain Semenyuk. Semenyuk speaks English and Arabic. Semi-intelligent. He lived before the war in America, now an American citizen. His residence is in Alexandria. He worked there as a private merchant, being the official representative of the joint stock company “Russo-Turk” [19]. With every Soviet steamer, he sends extensive informational reports on all lines (and sends copies of economic reports to the Trade Representative). All secret and overt agents traveling to Egypt are placed at his disposal. Sometimes it is possible to send to Egypt and other Arabian [20] countries directly Soviet citizens from communist youth / graduates or students of the Institute of Oriental Languages ​​[21] / under the guise of [students] to practice the language of the country. Visas in these cases are obtained at the request of the relevant scientific institution ”[22].

As a result, the states that did not border on the USSR were intelligence-divided “between two agencies: 1) Arabian Peninsula, South Persia, India — under the leadership of Khakimov; 2) African countries - under the leadership of the Turkish resident through Semenyuk. In addition, Semenyuk still has a connection with Khakimov ”[23].

In 1935, Khakimov was again sent abroad: he was appointed as the plenipotentiary of the USSR in Saudi Arabia. However, with the arrival of Khakimov in Jeddah [24], the prospect of revitalizing Soviet-Saudi relations was soon wiped out due to the notorious political processes that unfolded in the Soviet Union.



Notes
[1] Khakimov, Karim Abdraufovich (1892-1938) - consular, diplomatic and trade representative of the USSR in the countries of the Near and Middle East. Cm.: Gusterin P. In memory of Karim Khakimov - diplomat and scientist // Diplomatic service. 2008, No. 1.
[2] Persia - the name of Iran to 1935.
[3] USSR and Arab countries. 1917-1960. M., 1961, p. 60.
[4] Vasiliev A.M. History Saudi Arabia. M., 1982, p. 290.
[5] Essays on the history of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia. T. II. M., 2002, p. 149.
[6] Ibrahimov, Ibrahim Mustafovich (1888 -?) Is a Soviet defector who fled 1928 to Europe in April from the post of deputy. trade representative of the USSR in Turkey. He graduated from the teachers' seminary in Simferopol (1904), the pedagogical institute in Constantinople (1908). In 1920, he joined the RCP (b). In 1922-1925 - People's Commissar of Education of the Crimean ASSR. From 1925 - deputy. trade representative in Turkey. After the flight, after some time settled in Paris. Cm.: Genis V. Incorrect servants mode. The first Soviet defectors (1920-1933): The experience of documentary research. Prince 1. M., 2009, p. 561-570.
[7] Modern transcription - Hejaz. This is the Kingdom of the Hijaz. (Approx. P.G.).
[8] Yahya bin Mohammed Hamid ad-Din (1867-1948) - Imam of the Zeidites from 1904 and the King of Yemen in 1918-1948. (Approx. P.G.).
[9] In Hijaz, Khakimov worked in 1924-1928, and at that time, he was in Yemen a representative of the Export-Import Office of Gostorg trading on trade with Turkey and the Middle East "Middlewegostorg". (Approx. P.G.).
[10] RGASPI. F. 328, op. 1, d. 203, l. 53.
[11] Axelrod, Moses Markovich (1898-1939) - intelligence intelligence officer, scientist. Member of the Civil War. He graduated from the Law Faculty of Moscow University 1 (1923), the Arab branch of MIV (1924). In 1924-1928 - In the NCID, simultaneously in 1925-1927. - Resident INO in Yemen. From 1928, to INO. In 1929-1930 - assignments in Turkey, in 1934-1937. - in Italy. He taught at Moscow State University, MIV. He organized the Special Purpose School of the 5 Division of the GUGB. Author approx. 30 scientific papers.
[12] INO (Foreign Department of the OGPU) - external intelligence of the USSR. Cm.: Gusterin P. At the origins of Soviet intelligence in the East // Asia and Africa today. 2012, No. 3.
[13] Translated from the Arabic - "Comrade Moses."
[14] Belkin, Naum Markovich (“Kadi”, “NM Markov”) (1893-1942) - reconnaissance. Member of the First World War and the Civil War. From 1924, to NKID, simultaneously to 1927-1931. - Resident INO in Yemen. From 1931, to INO. In 1933-1938 - assignments in Bulgaria, Yugoslavia, Uruguay, Germany, Spain. He died in Iran in the performance of official tasks.
[15] At that time - a colony of Italy.
[16] Agabekov G.S. GPU: Notes chekista. Berlin, 1930, p. 212.
[17] Astakhov, Georgy Alexandrovich (1896 / 97-1942) - diplomat. He studied at the Romano-Germanic department of the Faculty of History and Philology, Moscow University. In 1918-1920 - work in the media. In 1920-1939 - In NKID: business trips to Transcaucasia, Turkey, Germany, Japan, Yemen, Great Britain; Head of Printing Department. In 1939-1940 - Officer of the Museum of the Peoples of the East.
[18] On the second trip to Yemen. Report G. Astakhov from 21.01.1929 // AVPRF. F. 08, op. 12, p. 77, d. 99, l. 21.
[19] “Russian-Turkish Export-Import Joint-Stock Company”. Functioned in 1924-1928. (Approx. P.G.).
[20] Ie arabic (Approx. P.G.).
[21] We can talk about the Leningrad Oriental Institute. A.S. Yenukidze, and the Moscow Institute of Oriental Studies. N.N. Narimanov. (Approx. P.G.).
[22] RGASPI. F. 328, op. 1, d. 203, l. 52.
[23] RGASPI. F. 328, op. 1, d. 203, l. 53.
[24] At that time, Jeddah is the diplomatic capital of Saudi Arabia.
Author:
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. aszzz888
    aszzz888 12 October 2015 08: 52 New
    +2
    The article is not bad, but the ending is incomprehensible. What is it with K. Khakimov?
    Will there be a sequel?
    1. The comment was deleted.
    2. Mera joota
      Mera joota 12 October 2015 09: 12 New
      -2
      Quote: aszzz888
      What is it with K. Khakimov?

      The enemy of the people turned out to have to be shot.
  2. Robert Nevsky
    Robert Nevsky 12 October 2015 11: 06 New
    +2
    Great people were.
    1. Volga Cossack
      Volga Cossack 12 October 2015 11: 21 New
      0
      were and are !!!!!! I don’t know about myself out of modesty, I’m familiar with the good ones and the real ones! and I believe in you, Brother - I haven’t sold tea ............ REMEMBER THIS AND KAZAKOV!
    2. The comment was deleted.
  3. V.ic
    V.ic 13 October 2015 07: 06 New
    -1
    Here it is much more interesting written: http://dictionary.sensagent.com/Khakimov_Karim_Abdraufovich/ru-ru/
    The culture classic of Bashkiria, Najib (p) (Nikolai) (Vasilievich) Asanbaev wrote a play about him: "Red Pasha": http://rampa-rb.ru/culture-news/tvorcheskiy-vecher-v-chest-krasnogo-pashi/

Советский разведчик Карим Хакимов

Советский разведчик Карим Хакимов
Карим Абдрауфович Хакимов


Разведдеятельность будущего советского дипломата К.А. Хакимова [1] начиналась в Бухаре. В конце августа 1921 г. Хакимов был вызван в Москву, в НКИД, где он получил назначение в персидский [2] город Мешхед на должность генерального консула РСФСР. В 1923 г. Хакимов стал генконсулом СССР в персидском городе Реште, работал в смешанной Советско-Персидской пограничной комиссии. Проявив себя активным и способным дипломатом, в январе 1924 г. он был отозван в Москву и назначен генконсулом СССР в Королевстве Хиджаз. 24 апреля 1924 г. Председатель ЦИК СССР М.И. Калинин подписал его верительные грамоты [3].

6 августа 1924 г. Хакимов вместе с сотрудниками генконсульства, выполнявшего также функции дипагентства, прибыл в Джидду. Поскольку советский представитель был мусульманином, ему 9 августа 1924 г. было позволено вручить свои верительные грамоты королю Хиджаза Хусейну бен Али аль-Хашими в Мекке, священном городе всех мусульман. Это вызвало раздражение Великобритании,[4] поскольку факт открытия Миссии СССР в Джидде — первого дипломатического представительства Советского Союза в арабских странах — стал крупным внешнеполитическим успехом СССР,[5] тем более что в том же месяце король Хусейн вновь отказался подписать англо-хиджазский договор.


Большое значение для освещения советской разведдеятельности в странах Ближнего Востока в 1920-1930-е годы имеют очерки «Работа Коминтерна и ГПУ в Турции» бывшего заместителя торгового представителя в Турции И.М. Ибрагимова[6] (написаны в Париже в 1931 г., остались неизданными), в которых он объясняет причины успешной работы Хакимова следующим образом: «Хакимов получил в свое распоряжение лучших работников из… молодежи со знанием арабского языка (разных наречий). Положение и работа Хакимова еще облегчаются тем, что он мусульманин. Он даже… по приказу из Москвы, исполняет все магометанские обряды, дабы завоевать доверие [арабов], чего он достиг вполне. Единственный даже из дипломатических агентов (кажется, еще Голландия имеет своего дипломатического агента в Геджасе[7] из мусульман) Хакимов имеет право свободного передвижения по стране. Пользуется полным доверием короля Геджаса и в последнее время и правителя Йемена имама Яхья[8]. Ныне (в 1931 г. — П.Г.) он состоит по совместительству и представителем в Йемене.[9]»[10].

В качестве секретаря Хакимова в Джидду прибыл и М.М. Аксельрод[11]. Здесь он проработал до 1927 г., выполняя с 1925 г. задания ИНО[12]. Возможно, переход Аксельрода из НКИДа во внешнюю разведку в 1928 г. был причиной того, что он стал публиковать свои востоковедные статьи под псевдонимом «Рафик Муса»[13].

Советский разведчик Карим Хакимов
К. А. Хакимов сопровождает будущего короля Аравии Фейсала ибн Абдель Азиза ас-Сауда. Москва, 1932


Агабеков подтверждает, что «в Геджасе и Йемене ГПУ не вело никакой работы до приезда туда советского посла Хакимова. В 1925 году, будучи связан с [О]ГПУ по работе в Мешхеде, Хакимов начал вести в Геджасе информационную работу. Одновременно с ним в Геджас прибыл секретарь Хакимова Моисей Аксельрод и представитель Наркомторга Белкин[14]. Аксельрод и Белкин добровольно, на свой риск и страх, начали сперва в Геджасе, а затем в Йемене агентурную работу. Видя их рвение, ГПУ назначило Аксельрода, переехавшего вскоре из Геджаса в Йемен, своим специальным представителем. Аксельрод…, хорошо знавший арабский, сумел связаться с видными сотрудниками имама Яхья, но ввиду отсутствия разведывательного опыта, не мог в достаточной степени использовать эти связи. Из Йемена Аксельрод вел работу в Эритрее[15] и даже посылал иногда своих агентов в Египет»[16].


Советский разведчик Карим Хакимов
К.А. Хакимов (у левого дальнего угла стола) с сотрудниками советского торгпредства и йеменцами (предположительно, в Сане)


О том, насколько активна была деятельность Аксельрода в Египте, косвенно говорит эпизод, имевший место по пути его следования в Йемен в 1928 г., описание которого сохранилось благодаря Отчету Г.А. Астахова[17]: «В Порт-Саиде бросилась в глаза усиленная бдительность п[аро]/ходной полиции в отношении нас, особенно в отношении т. Аксельрода. Наши паспорта были взяты на берег (очевидно, для фотографии)… Один из полицейских с утрированной конфиденциальностью сообщил т. Аксельроду, что мы в Египте занесены в “черный список”»[18].

И все-таки для советской разведки в Египте Аксельрод выполнял вспомогательную функцию. «[О]ГПУ и Коминтерн в Египте работают через некоего Семенюка. Семенюк владеет английским и арабским языками. Полуинтеллигент. Жил до войны в Америке, ныне американский гражданин. Резиденция его находится в Александрии. Работал там в качестве частного купца, являясь оффициальным представителем смешанного акционерного общества “Руссо-Тюрк”[19]. С каждым советским пароходом присылает обширные информационные доклады по всем линиям (а копии экономических докладов посылает и Торгпреду). Все едущие в Египет тайные и явные агенты поступают в его распоряжение. Иногда удается посылать в Египет и другие аравийские[20] страны непосредственно советских граждан из коммунистической молодежи /окончивших или же слушателей курсов института восточных языков[21] / под видом [студентов] для практического изучения языка страны. Визы в этих случаях получаются по ходатайству соответствующего научного учреждения»[22].

В результате государства, не граничившие с СССР, были разделены в разведывательном отношении «между двумя агентствами: 1) Аравийский полуостров, Южная Персия, Индия — под руководством Хакимова; 2) африканские страны — под руководством турецкого резидента через Семенюка. Кроме того, Семенюк еще имеет связь и с Хакимовым»[23].

В 1935 г. Хакимов снова был направлен за рубеж: он был назначен полпредом СССР в Саудовской Аравии. Однако, открывшаяся было с приездом Хакимова в Джидду[24] перспектива активизации советско-саудовских отношений вскоре была сведена на нет вследствие печально известных политических процессов, развернувшихся в Советском Союзе.

Советский разведчик Карим Хакимов


Примечания
[1] Хакимов, Карим Абдрауфович (1892-1938) — консульский, дипломатический и торговый представитель СССР в странах Ближнего и Среднего Востока. См.: Густерин П. Памяти Карима Хакимова — дипломата и ученого // Дипломатическая служба. 2008, № 1.
[2] Персия — название Ирана до 1935 г.
[3] СССР и арабские страны. 1917-1960. М., 1961, с. 60.
[4] Васильев А.М. История Саудовской Аравии. М., 1982, с. 290.
[5] Очерки истории министерства иностранных дел России. Т. II. М., 2002, с. 149.
[6] Ибрагимов, Ибрагим Мустафович (1888 — ?) — советский невозвращенец, бежавший в апреле 1928 г. в Европу с должности зам. торгпреда СССР в Турции. Окончил учительскую семинарию в Симферополе (1904), пединститут в Константинополе (1908). В 1920 г. вступил в РКП(б). В 1922-1925 гг. — нарком просвещения Крымской АССР. С 1925 г. — зам. торгпреда в Турции. После бегства через некоторое время обосновался в Париже. См.: Генис В. Неверные слуги режима. Первые советские невозвращенцы (1920-1933): Опыт документального исследования. Кн. 1. М., 2009, с. 561-570.
[7] Современная транскрипция — Хиджаз. Речь идет о Королевстве Хиджаз. (Прим. П.Г.).
[8] Яхья бен Мухаммед Хамид-ад-Дин (1867-1948) — имам зейдитов с 1904 г. и король Йемена в 1918-1948 гг. (Прим. П.Г.).
[9] В Хиджазе Хакимов работал в 1924-1928 гг., а в указанное время он являлся в Йемене представителем Экспортно-импортной конторы Госторгов по торговле с Турцией и Ближним Востоком «Ближвостгосторг». (Прим. П.Г.).
[10] РГАСПИ. Ф. 328, оп. 1, д. 203, л. 53.
[11] Аксельрод, Моисей Маркович (1898-1939) — разведчик-дипломат, ученый. Участник Гражданской войны. Окончил юрфак 1-го Московского университета (1923), арабское отделение МИВ (1924). В 1924-1928 гг. — в НКИД, одновременно в 1925-1927 гг. — резидент ИНО в Йемене. С 1928 г. — в ИНО. В 1929-1930 гг. — задания в Турции, в 1934-1937 гг. — в Италии. Преподавал в МГУ, МИВ. Организовывал Школу особого назначения 5-го отдела ГУГБ. Автор ок. 30 научных работ.
[12] ИНО (Иностранный отдел ОГПУ) — внешняя разведка СССР. См.: Густерин П. У истоков советской разведки на Востоке // Азия и Африка сегодня. 2012, № 3.
[13] В переводе с арабского языка — «Товарищ Моисей».
[14] Белкин, Наум Маркович («Кади», «Н.М. Марков») (1893-1942) — разведчик. Участник Первой мировой и Гражданской войн. С 1924 г. — в НКИД, одновременно в 1927-1931 гг. — резидент ИНО в Йемене. С 1931 г. — в ИНО. В 1933-1938 гг. — задания в Болгарии, Югославии, Уругвае, Германии, Испании. Скончался в Иране при выполнении служебного задания.
[15] В то время — колония Италии.
[16] Агабеков Г.С. ГПУ: Записки чекиста. Берлин, 1930, с. 212.
[17] Астахов, Георгий Александрович (1896/97-1942) — дипломат. Учился на романо-германском отделении историко-филологического факультета Московского университета. В 1918-1920 гг. — работа в СМИ. В 1920-1939 гг. — в НКИД: командировки в Закавказье, Турцию, Германию, Японию, Йемен, Великобританию; заведующий Отделом печати. В 1939-1940 гг. — сотрудник Музея народов Востока.
[18] О второй поездке в Йемен. Отчет Г. Астахова от 21.01.1929 // АВПРФ. Ф. 08, оп. 12, п. 77, д. 99, л. 21.
[19] «Русско-турецкое экспортно-импортное акционерное общество». Функционировало в 1924-1928 гг. (Прим. П.Г.).
[20] Т.е. арабские. (Прим. П.Г.).
[21] Речь может идти о Ленинградском восточном институте им. А.С. Енукидзе, и о Московском институте востоковедения им. Н.Н. Нариманова. (Прим. П.Г.).
[22] РГАСПИ. Ф. 328, оп. 1, д. 203, л. 52.
[23] РГАСПИ. Ф. 328, оп. 1, д. 203, л. 53.
[24] В то время Джидда — дипломатическая столица Саудовской Аравии.
Автор: Павел Густерин


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. a.s.zzz888 12 октября 2015 08:52
    Статья неплохая, но концовка - непонятная. Что с Хакимовым К.А.?
    Будет-ли продолжение?
    1. Комментарий был удален.
    2. Mera Joota 12 октября 2015 09:12
      Цитата: a.s.zzz888
      Что с Хакимовым К.А.?

      Враг народа оказался, пришлось расстрелять.
  2. Робертъ Невский 12 октября 2015 11:06
    Великие люди были.
    1. казак волгский 12 октября 2015 11:21
      были и есть !!!!!! не о себе из скромности просто знаком- с добрыми да настоящими!и в тебя верю Братушка - чаю не нату не продался............ШИПКУ ТО ПОМНИШЬ И НАС - КАЗАКОВ!
    2. Комментарий был удален.
  3. V.ic 13 октября 2015 07:06
    Вот тут гораздо интереснеен написано: http://dictionary.sensagent.com/Хакимов,_Карим_Абдрауфович/ru-ru/
    Классик культуры Башкирии Нажиб(п) (Николай) (Васильевич) Асанбаев написал про него пьесу: "Красный паша": http://rampa-rb.ru/culture-news/tvorcheskiy-vecher-v-chest-krasnogo-pashi/

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня