Meek Spies

Meek Spies



In the First World War, as we have already written, in addition to the millions of people who participated in it, animals were also drawn in: horses, dogs and pigeons. Moreover, the role of birds was not the last. Despite the fact that by this time progress had given mankind such technical means as radio, telegraph and telephone, the role of the military post pigeon service was still high.

Pigeon stations were introduced into the Russian Army by order of the Minister of War, P.S. Vannovsky, in the 1880s. It was assumed that the main task of the feathered postmen would be to maintain contact with the besieged fortresses. In this regard, the post-pigeon stations were arranged in the fortresses and in other locations under the instructions of the main engineering department. To maintain the appropriate breed of pigeons, a pedigree depot was established at the pigeon station in Brest-Litovsk, each station had special pigeon guards, and each pigeon had a military pigeon postmark, since the birds who were in the army service were considered state property.

In 1895, one of the first such stations was created by a lieutenant from the Turkestan Military District, Grigory Lalekin, whose feathered creatures delivered information from Tashkent to military units and to headquarters. An especially wide communication by means of pigeons was during maneuvers: the troops coming out of the city took the birds with them and sent messages with them as needed.



During the Russo-Japanese War, the pigeon connection also continued to be actively used. A military pigeon station with more than 70 trained pigeons was set up in Port Arthur. Since the beginning of the war, these pigeons were taken from Port Arthur to the pigeon house of the Zaamursky district of the border guard to communicate with the besieged fortress. And after the end of the war with the Japanese, two more stations were built near Vladivostok to keep postal pigeons and a service company barracks. Thus, before the start of World War I, the Russian army had already gained some experience in using mailing pigeons for military purposes, and pigeon stations were erected at many locations of our troops and especially fortresses: in Kovno, Warsaw, Ust-Dvinsk, Libau, Osovets , Novogeorgievsk, Brest-Litovsk, Baranovichi, Ivangorod, etc.

During the First World War, both allies and opponents of Russia actively used doves. And one of the British postal pigeons who had the number 888, delivered several hundred messages and fell during the execution of the next task, even was posthumously awarded the rank of colonel of the British army.



Pigeons were also used for espionage. Back in 1903, a pharmacist from Bavaria, Julius Neubronner, developed a method of using pigeons for aerial reconnaissance. A miniature camera was attached to the bird’s rib cage, the shutter of which worked automatically every 30 seconds. This invention, naturally, became interested in army intelligence, and soon a “Bavarian pigeon corps” appeared in Germany, using pigeons for military purposes. However, since the flight path of the bird was far from always predictable, in this capacity it was soon replaced by aerial photography and airplanes. But the pigeons continued to "spy", as far as the front line from the enemy's territory was important information.

In this regard, a note a hundred years ago from the “Stock Exchange Gazette” is noteworthy, in which it was reported that “espionage adapts this symbol of purity and innocence for its vile purposes and pigeon”. “The telegraph has already announced that over 200 delivered pigeons have been delivered to Kiev,” the article said. - These pigeons were taken from the Galician "peaceful" inhabitants, who through their means had been tied down with Vienna and other cities for the purpose of espionage. The role of pigeons was revealed by our detective department. ”



Wanting to find out what role the pigeons play in the conditions of the First World War, the publication turned to a military officer for pigeon mail for a comment: “With the advent of new improved ways of transmitting messages, some were inclined to think that the role of pigeon mail was played. It was thought that the radio and telegraph would kill the pigeon mail. In fact, it turned out quite differently. No matter how the technology has been improved, the device of a wireless or field telephone, however, requires well-known technical devices that can be easily discovered and are irrefutable evidence for a spy. The pigeon is another matter, the bird is meek and peaceful. How do you know that this particular pigeon, unlike its other relatives, carries its treacherous service under the guidance of a "peaceful" inhabitant? For pigeon mail, only some breeds of English pigeons are suitable. Usually, pigeons unmistakably take a distance of 80-100 versts, rarely more. The news, which one wishes to send with a winged postman, is embedded in a light metal tube (most often aluminum) and is attached by means of a ring to the bird's foot so as not to hamper its movements. During the maneuvers, military pigeons were tested many times and gave excellent results. ”



Our British allies also used doves for reconnaissance purposes. General N.S.Batyushin, a well-known Russian counterintelligence officer, recalled: “In May 1915 for the first time, the Germans set up a landing of military spies descended in a staging area of ​​the army, equipped with postal pigeons to send messages. They were senior French officers who wore French and German uniforms under civilian clothes. The first is in order to pass for a prisoner of war, and the second is to mislead the Germans. In 1915, nine air spies fell into the hands of the Germans in this way (...) Usually each such spy was equipped with six post pigeons. ”



It is also known that by the end of the war, the British threw baskets with specially prepared pigeons into the German rear, containing instructions on how to handle pigeons, food for them, money, a questionnaire, a sample report and an appeal to the local French who found themselves in the occupied territories: " The Bosch resistance to the Allied offensive comes to an end. The Allies have already cleared part of the French territory. To continue the offensive, it is necessary that the allies be well aware of the enemy’s disposition and his intentions ... By sending reports you will render your country a valuable service and bring an end to the war. ”



As for Russia, the military-pigeon post survived the revolution, and then continued to be used during the Civil War, both white and red. After the victory of the Bolsheviks, this experience of Tsarist Russia was also not forgotten, and the sweat pigeons continued their service to the Fatherland. Establish military-post pigeon communications in the Red Army happened to old specialists. Among them was the former colonel of the tsarist army, ND Andreev, who was engaged in pigeon communications in the First World War and was assigned by the new government in 1929 to the Higher Courses of Poultry Breeding at the Zootechnical Institute, and later became Deputy Head of the Red Army Scientific Plowing Institute.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. nivander 22 October 2015 09: 49 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    IN THE 20 YEARS THE KRASNO ARMEMIAN COULD SEND NO MORE THAN 6 SMS
  2. kizhe 22 October 2015 10: 13 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    But it’s a pity that now the postmen are almost never used. Only in the form of competitions.
  3. Reptiloid 22 October 2015 11: 13 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Thanks to the author for the article!
    According to scientific data, Pigeons are guided by the Earth’s magnetic field --- they have small “magnets” of 0,1 mm in size in their neck muscles.
    Pigeons have intelligence --- in some respects comparable to Chimpanzee intelligence! You can also communicate with Pigeons in the "symbol language"!
    The Romans, Greeks, Phoenicians, BabylonYan --- this is a symbol of the Goddess of love, and among the Ancient Rusichs, all the Gods could take the form of Pigeons, and all the Goddesses --- Pigeon! Apparently our Ancestors had such views ...
    Sincerely.
  4. slaw14 22 October 2015 12: 16 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    taina-simvola.ru http://taina-simvola.ru/golub/
    Dove symbol of graduation
    flood and forgiveness of people
    The dove was considered a sacred bird and called the messenger of the gods.
    A dove appeared on the shoulder of the Prophet Muhammad, personifying the Divine descending on him
    inspiration.
    The Jews called the pigeon "Jona" (in the Greek spelling "Jonas"). Prophet sent by the Lord to
    Nineveh, bore the name of Jonah.
    In Christianity during the Great Flood, it was the little dove that brought Noah
    in its beak an olive branch, which became a symbol of the end of the flood - punishment
    The Almighty.
    During Christ's baptism, a dove soared above his head.
    In Christianity, the holy spirit is depicted in the form of this bird, and on
    tombs of martyrs depicted a dove, it was believed that the soul in the image
    doves ascend to heaven.
    In China, the dove is considered a symbol of wisdom and longevity, as well as
    their devotion to posterity, the dove is called the symbol of the mother
    love.
    In India, the dove is a symbol of the soul, as well as spiritual intimacy and fidelity of the spouses.
    Among the Masons, the dove is a symbol of innocence and purity.
    Sometimes the dove is depicted on scepters, which symbolizes the power sent by God.

Кроткие шпионы

Кроткие шпионы


В Первую мировую войну, как мы уже писали, помимо миллионов участвовавших в ней людей, втянутыми оказались и животные: лошади, собаки и голуби. Причем роль пернатых была далеко не последней. Несмотря на то что прогресс к этому времени дал человечеству такие технические средства как радио, телеграф и телефон, роль военно-почтовой голубиной службы по-прежнему была высока.

Военно-голубиные станции были введены в Русской армии приказом военного министра П.С.Ванновского в 1880-х годах. Предполагалось, что главной задачей пернатых почтальонов будет поддержание связи с осажденными крепостями. В связи с этим почтово-голубиные станции устраивались в крепостях и в других пунктах по указаниям главного инженерного управления. Для поддержания соответствующей породы голубей при голубиной станции в Брест-Литовске было учреждено племенное депо, при каждой станции состояли специальные голубеводы-надзиратели, а у каждого почтового голубя имелся штемпель военно-голубиной почты, поскольку птицы, находившиеся на армейской службе, считались казенным имуществом.


В 1895 году одна из первых таких станций была создана поручиком из Туркестанского военного округа Григорием Лалекиным, пернатые питомцы которой доставляли сведения из Ташкента в воинские части и в штаб. Особенно широкое сообщение посредством голубей было во время маневров: выступающие из города войска брали с собой птиц и по мере надобности посылали с ними донесения.

Кроткие шпионы


Во время Русско-японской войны голубиная связь также продолжала активно использоваться. В Порт-Артуре была создана военно-голубиная станция, насчитывающая более 70 тренированных голубей. С началом войны эти голуби были вывезены из Порт-Артура в голубятню Заамурского округа пограничной стражи для осуществления связи с осажденной крепостью. А после окончания войны с японцами, под Владивостоком были построены еще две станции для содержания почтовых голубей и казарма роты обслуживания. Таким образом, перед началом Первой мировой войной в Русской армии уже был накоплен определенный опыт использования почтовых голубей в военных целях, а голубиные станции были возведены во многих пунктах дислоцирования наших войск и особенно крепостях: в Ковно, Варшаве, Усть-Двинске, Либаве, Осовце, Новогеоргиевске, Брест-Литовске, Барановичах, Ивангороде и др.

В годы Первой мировой войны активно использовали голубей как союзники, так и противники России. А один из британских почтовых голубей имевший номер 888, доставивший несколько сотен сообщений и павший по время выполнения очередного задания, даже был посмертно удостоен звания полковника британской армии.

Кроткие шпионы


Применялись голуби и для шпионажа. Еще в 1903 году аптекарь из Баварии Юлиус Нойброннер разработал метод использования почтовых голубей для воздушной разведки. К грудной клетке птицы прикреплялся миниатюрный фотоаппарат, затвор которого срабатывал автоматически через каждые 30 секунд. Этим изобретением, естественно, заинтересовалась армейская разведка, и вскоре в Германии появился «Баварский голубиный корпус», использовавший голубей в военных целях. Однако, поскольку траектория полета птицы была далеко не всегда предсказуемой, в этом качестве ее вскоре заменили аэрофотосъемкой и аэропланов. Но «шпионить» голуби по-прежнему продолжали, передовая с территории противника важные сведения.

В этом плане примечательна заметка столетней давности из «Биржевых ведомостей», в которой сообщалось, что «шпионаж приспособляет для своих гнусных целей и голубя, этот символ чистоты и невинности». «Телеграф уже сообщил, что в Киев доставлено свыше 200 почтовых голубей, ‒ говорилось в заметке. ‒ Голуби эти отобраны у галицких "мирных" жителей, которые при посредстве их сносились с Веной и другими городами в целях шпионажа. Роль голубей была раскрыта нашим сыскным отделением».

Кроткие шпионы


Желая выяснить, какую роль играют голуби в условиях Первой мировой войны, издание обратилось за комментарием к одному из офицеров ‒ специалистов по военной голубиной почте: «С появлением новых усовершенствованных способов передачи сообщений некоторые склонны были думать, что роль голубиной почты сыграна. Думалось, что радио и телеграф убьют голубиную почту. На деле оказалось совсем не так. Как ни усовершенствовалась техника, но все же устройство радиотелеграфа или полевого телефона требует известных технических приспособлений, легко могущих быть открытыми и являющимися для шпиона неопровержимой уликой. Иное дело - голубь, птица кроткая и мирная. Как вы узнаете, что именно данный голубь, в отличие от прочих своих родичей, несет под руководством "мирного" жителя свою предательскую службу? Для голубиной почты пригодны только некоторые породы английских голубей. Обычно голуби безошибочно берут расстояние в 80-100 верст, редко больше. Известие, которое желают переслать с крылатым почтальоном, вкладывается в легкую металлическую трубочку (чаще всего алюминиевую) и прикрепляется посредством кольца к лапке птицы так, чтобы не стеснять ее движений. Во время маневров неоднократно проходили испытания военно-почтовых голубей, дававшие прекрасные результаты».

Кроткие шпионы


Наши союзники-британцы также использовали голубей в разведывательных целях. Известный русский контрразведчик генерал Н.С.Батюшин вспоминал: «В мае 1915 года впервые немцами была установлена высадка спустившихся в этапном районе армии военных шпионов, снабженных почтовыми голубями для посылки донесений. Это были старшие французские офицеры, под штатским платьем носившие французский и немецкий мундиры. Первый ‒ для того, чтобы сойти за военнопленного, а второй ‒ для введения в заблуждение немцев. В 1915 году в руки немцев попало таким образом девять воздушных шпионов (...) Обычно каждый такой шпион был снабжен шестью почтовыми голубями».

Кроткие шпионы


Известно также, что к концу войны англичане забрасывали в немецкие тылы корзины со специально подготовленными голубями, содержащие инструкцию как обращаться с голубями, корм для них, деньги, опросный лист, образец донесения и обращение к местным жителям-французам, оказавшимся на оккупированных территориях: «Сопротивление бошей наступлению союзников приходит к концу. Союзники уже очистили часть французской территории. Для продолжения наступления нужно, чтобы союзники хорошо были осведомлены о расположении противника и о его намерениях... Посылкой донесений Вы окажете своей стране ценную услугу и приблизите конец войны».

Кроткие шпионы


Что же касается России, то военно-голубиная почта пережила революцию, а затем продолжала использоваться в ходе Гражданской войны как белыми, так и красными. После победы большевиков этот опыт царской России также не был забыт, и потовые голуби продолжили свою службу Отечеству. Налаживать военно-почтовую голубиную связь в РККА довелось старым специалистам. Среди них был бывший полковник царской армии Н.Д.Андреев, занимавшийся голубиной связью в Первую мировую и командированный новой властью в 1929 году на Высшие курсы птицеводства при Зоотехническом институте, а позже ставший заместителем начальника Научно-испытательного института военного голубеводства РККА.
Автор: Андрей Иванов
Первоисточник: http://ruskline.ru/history/2015/06/16/krotkie_shpiony/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. нивасандер 22 октября 2015 09:49
    В 20-Е ГОДЫ КРАСНОАРМЕЕЦ МОГ ОТПРАВИТЬ НЕ БОЛЕЕ 6 СМС
  2. киже 22 октября 2015 10:13
    А жаль, что сейчас почтари почти не используются. Только в виде соревнований.
  3. Reptiloid 22 октября 2015 11:13
    Спасибо Автору за статью!
    Согласно научным данным,Голуби ориентируются по магнитному полю Земли---у них в мышцах шеи маленькие "магнитики"размером 0,1 мм.
    У Голубей интеллект---по некоторым параметрам сравним с интеллектом Шимпанзе!С Голубями тоже можно общаться на "языке символов"!
    У Римлян,Греков,Финикийцев,ВавилонЯн ---это символ Богини любви,а у Древних Русичей все Боги могли принимать облик Голубей,а все Богини---Голубок!Видимо неспроста у Наших Предков были такие воззрения...
    С уважением.
  4. slaw14 22 октября 2015 12:16
    taina-simvola.ru http://taina-simvola.ru/golub/
    Голубь символ окончания
    всемирного потопа и прощения людей
    Голубя считали священной птицей и называли вестником богов.
    Голубь появлялся на плече пророка Мухаммеда, олицетворяя сходящее на него Божественное
    вдохновение.
    У евреев голубя называли «Йона» (в греческом написании «Ионас»). Пророк, посланный Господом в
    Ниневию, носил имя Иона.
    В христианстве во время всемирного потопа именно голубка принесла Ною
    в клюве оливковую ветвь, что стало символом окончания потопа — кары
    Всевышнего.
    Во время крещения Христа над его головой парил голубь.
    В христианстве святой дух изображается в виде этой птицы, а на
    надгробиях мучеников изображали голубя, считалось, что душа в образе
    голубки вознесется к небесам.
    В Китае голубь считается символом мудрости и долголетия, а также за
    свою преданность потомству, голубя называют символом материнской
    любви.
    В Индии голубь является символом души, а также духовной близости и верности супругов.
    Среди масонов голубь является символом невинности и чистоты.
    Иногда голубя изображают на скипетрах, что символизирует власть, посланную Богом.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня