Military Review

Four-legged orderlies

6



In the First World War, in addition to the millions of people who participated in it, animals were also drawn into it. In addition to horses, thousands of mobilized in cavalry and pigeons that convey valuable messages, dogs became the compelled participants of the war, whose share in the first place was the sanitary service. Moreover, unlike the opponents - Germany and Austria-Hungary, who widely practiced dog-orderlies, the use of dogs at the front for the Russian army was an innovation.

Four-legged orderlies


Exactly one hundred years ago, in 1915, in the capital of Galicia-Lviv, liberated from Austro-Hungarian troops, a “School of military guard and sanitary dogs” was created, headed by the former head of the evacuation department in the military health department of the South-Western Front, state councilor Lebedev, who had experience training police dogs. True, in connection with the imminent loss of Lviv, the school had to be moved to Kiev, where the head captain, Prince Shcherbatov, became her chief. In the autumn of 1915, the school staff was officially approved and the first Russian instruction on the use of dogs in the army was published, which, as historian Pavel Aptekar reports, said: “With proper treatment and good training, a dog can become an indispensable assistant secretly at the forefront to detect of enemy reconnaissance and subversive parties, for transmitting reports in the event of a rush of telephone communications under heavy enemy fire, and for searching and retrieving wounded soldiers from the battlefield. And since September, 1915, specially trained instructors and dogs, distributed on the regiments of the Russian army, began to serve. As a rule, these were shepherd dogs, airedale terriers, Dobermans and hounds.



And soon the first responses appeared on the service of new recruits. Petrogradsky monarchical newspaper "Zemshchina" in a small article "Dog-orderlies at war" informed its readers:

"In the" voucher "of the vanguard profit new" staff ": five health dogs. It was as if the dogs immediately sensed the fighting atmosphere, and with each new line of the gun they were spinning the guard with their ears, trying to rush forward. Somehow a quiet, strangled scream, they ask for freedom.

“They never bark,” explains a medical orderly accompanying the dogs. “Even when they are separated among themselves, this will be secret.”

After the fight, when the work of orderlies began, the dogs were released. With some special seriousness and peace of mind, they gave easy carry-over bags to wear, waiting for a sign to rush forward. After jumping the wire barriers that remained here around the farm, after the Germans, the dogs disappeared into the darkness of the night. Twenty minutes later, appearing from somewhere out of the darkness, Buf returned, persistently pulling the orderly and demanding that he follow him.



“I follow him,” says the orderly. Over bumps and gully just keep up with him. It leads to the forest itself. He shouted at the voice:

- Who is here?



I hear: someone moans, sighs. Illuminated flashlight, I look. Three of the wounded are almost nearby. He gave them a drink from a flask, began to dress up, and I myself think: how can I be with them? I wrote a note to send a gig, put it in a bag to the dog and let it loose. Turned around, turned around near me, and she herself looks at me like that.

“Run,” I tell her, “home.”

A few minutes later, Buff came running again to the dressing station. Come running and waiting. They read the note, took him on a leash again, and in his tracks sent two gigs.

The other dog, who had returned from the battlefield, had suede gloves in his transfer bag. Rushed in her wake. The dog led on a dark plowed field, to the ditch, where the wounded officer lay. He tried to get himself to the dressing station, but lost power and fell. When the dog came running, without being able to write a note, he shoved blood-filled gloves into her bag.



During the night, only these two dogs tracked down nine wounded. Three other sanitary dogs worked directly with the orderlies. Thanks to them, continuous communication was maintained between the battlefield and the dressing station. They constantly resorted to the point, bringing notes: "Send iodine", "Send dressing material", "Send gigs for so many wounded", "Do not forget to send water for drinking". One of the rescued soldiers wraps a dog around the neck and kisses her firmly on the face. The dog flounders in unexpected hugs. He says: “My death would have come. I would lie and lay in the forest, - sometime ours would have found me ...”



In another Petrograd edition - the magazine “War” - the story of a wounded soldier was placed, who for the first time had a chance to run into an orderly dog: “I lay on the field late at night and moaned. I hear a rustle, I look around: a dog stands beside me and looks at me. Then she approached, lay down on the ground and froze. I wanted to get a bandage, but my hand was badly hurt, and I could not do anything. Then the dog began to bark, at first quietly, then louder and louder, and finally, howled. When the orderly approached, she shook her head in my direction and fell silent. The orderly made a dressing for me, uttered a word and told me to go after the dog, which led me to the dressing station. ”



The fact that the experiment was a success was also written in official communications. So, the commander of 3 of the Life Guards Rifle Regiment, Major General AVUsov, at the beginning of 1916, noted: “In view of the undoubted benefits brought by dogs when performing communication services, I ask you not to deny sending six dogs to me. Over the past period, dogs have been used repeatedly and always with success and benefit in delivering reports. But now the number of dogs has decreased due to the loss in battles. ” And since such reviews were not unique, the command of the divisions and armies of the Southwestern Front stated: "dogs sent from a special school of guides bring undoubted benefit." They decided to transfer the experiment to the whole army, deciding to create special regimental teams for 8 dogs for the infantry regiment and 6 for the cavalry. But the collapse of the front, which occurred in 1917, did not allow the introduction of the practice of using dogs in the entire Russian army.
Author:
Originator:
http://ruskline.ru/history/2015/04/27/chetveronogie_sanitary/
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. ICT
    ICT 18 October 2015 08: 19 New
    +8
    Four-legged orderlies

    universal, faithful, self-learning "biorobots"
    (everyone understands that they would have extended their lives on 10 if they would have spoken)
  2. Volga Cossack
    Volga Cossack 18 October 2015 09: 23 New
    +5
    and carried overcoats at the Victory Parade ......... even if not an orderly but a sapper dog ........ good article! Yes, and the dog is a useful and smart animal. honor and praise to the helpers!
  3. parusnik
    parusnik 18 October 2015 09: 36 New
    +3
    His wife replied:
    –This beast is no longer called a wild dog; his name is the first friend; the dog will become our friend and will remain our friend always, always, always.
    The cat that walked on its own Rudyard Kipling
  4. 31rus
    31rus 18 October 2015 15: 32 New
    -4
    Experience needs to be used, to find the same robots, here in Syria, under the ground, what better do you think? Why not come up with the same laser target pointers for dogs?
  5. ODERVIT
    ODERVIT 18 October 2015 16: 03 New
    +2
    The best friend is deeply indifferent to ideology, the host country and so on, which is burdened by the human mind. They simply serve faithfully.
  6. sabakina
    sabakina 18 October 2015 19: 04 New
    +3
    I have nothing to add to this video ...

Четвероногие санитары

Четвероногие санитары


В Первую мировую войну, помимо миллионов участвовавших в ней людей, втянутыми оказались и животные. Помимо лошадей, тысячами мобилизованных в кавалерию и голубей, передававших ценные сообщения, вынужденными участницами войны стали собаки, на долю которых в первую очередь выпала санитарная служба. Причем в отличие от противников ‒ Германии и Австро-Венгрии, широко практиковавших собак-санитаров, для Русской армии использование собак на фронте стало новаторством.

Четвероногие санитары



Ровно сто лет назад, в 1915 году в столице освобожденной от австро-венгерских войск Галиции ‒ Львове была создана «Школа военных сторожевых и санитарных собак», которую возглавил бывший начальник отдела эвакуации в военно-санитарном управлении Юго-западного фронта статский советник Лебедев, имевший опыт дрессировки полицейских собак. Правда, в связи со скорой потерей Львова, школу пришлось перенести в Киев, где ее начальником стал большой любитель охоты штаб-ротмистр князь Щербатов. Осенью 1915 года был официально утвержден штат школы и издано первое в России наставление по использованию собак в армии, которое, как сообщает историк Павел Аптекарь, гласило: «При надлежащем отношении и хорошем обучении собака может стать незаменимым помощником в секрете на передовой линии, для обнаружения неприятельских разведывательных и подрывных партий, для передачи донесений в случаях порыва телефонной связи под сильным вражеским огнем и для поиска и вытаскивания с поля боя раненых воинов». А с сентября 1915 года специально подготовленные инструкторы и собаки, распределенные по полкам Русской армии, приступили к службе. Как правило это были овчарки, эрдельтерьеры, доберманы и гончие.

Четвероногие санитары


А вскоре о службе новых призывников появились первые отклики. Петроградская монархическая газета «Земщина» в небольшой заметке «Собаки-санитары на войне» сообщала своим читателям:

«В "летучку" передового отряда прибыль новый "персонал": пять санитарных собак. Собаки как будто сразу почуяли боевую атмосферу и при каждой новой очереди из орудия сторожко прядали ушами, порываясь броситься вперед. Каким-то тихим, придушенным визгом просятся они на свободу.

‒ Они никогда не лают, ‒ поясняет санитар-инструктор, сопровождающий собак. ‒ Даже когда раздерутся между собой, то и то втихомолку.

После боя, когда начались работы санитаров, собак выпустили. С какой-то особой серьезностью и спокойствием они дали надеть на себя легкие перекидные сумки, ожидая знака, чтобы ринуться вперед. Перемахнув проволочные заграждения, оставшиеся еще здесь, вокруг хутора, после германцев, собаки скрылись в темноте ночи. Минут через двадцать, вынырнув откуда-то из темноты, вернулся Буф, настойчиво теребя санитара и требуя, чтобы он шел за ним.

Четвероногие санитары


‒ Иду я за ним, ‒ рассказывает санитар. По кочкам да буеракам только поспевай за ним. Подводит к самому лесу. Окрикнул на голос:

‒ Кто здесь есть?

Четвероногие санитары


Слышу: кто-то стонет, охает. Засветил фонарик, приглядываюсь. Трое раненых почти рядом лежат. Дал им попить из фляжки, стал перевязывать, а сам думаю: как же мне с ними быть? Написал записку, чтобы прислали двуколку, вложил ее в сумку к собаке и пустил с привязи. Повертелась, повертелась около меня, а сама так мне в глаза и смотрит.

‒ Беги, ‒ говорю ей, ‒ домой.

Через несколько минут Буф прибежал опять на перевязочный пункт. Прибежал и ждет. Записку прочли, взяли снова его на привязь и по его следам отправили две двуколки.

У другой собаки, вернувшейся с поля сражения, в перекидной сумке были найдены замшевые перчатки. Бросились по ее следам. Собака повела по темному вспаханному полю, к канаве, где лежал раненый офицер. Он пытался добраться сам до перевязочного пункта, но потерял силы и упал. Когда прибежала собака, он, не будучи в силах написать записку, сунул к ней в сумку перчатки, залитые кровью.

Четвероногие санитары


В течение ночи только эти две собаки разыскали девять раненых. Три другие санитарные собаки работали непосредственно с санитарами. Между полем сражения и перевязочным пунктом, благодаря им, поддерживалась непрерывная связь. Они беспрестанно прибегали на пункт, принося записки: "Пришлите йоду", "Пришлите перевязочный материал", "Пришлите двуколки для стольких-то раненых", "Не забудьте прислать воды для питья". Один из спасенных солдат обхватывает за шею собаку и крепко целует ее в морду. Собака барахтается в неожиданных объятиях. Говорит он: "Смерть моя пришла бы. Лежал бы и лежал в лесу, ‒ когда-то меня наши нашли бы..."»

Четвероногие санитары


В другом петроградском издании ‒ журнале «Война» ‒ был помещен рассказ раненного солдата, которому впервые довелось столкнуться с собакой-санитаром: «Лежал я на поле поздно ночью и стонал. Слышу шорох, оглядываюсь: около меня стоит собака и смотрит на меня. Потом она приблизилась, легла на землю и замерла. Я хотел было достать бинт, но рука у меня была сильно поранена, и я не мог ничего сделать. Тогда собака начала лаять, сначала тихо, потом все громче и, наконец, завыла. Когда подошел санитар, она мотнула головой в мою сторону и затихла. Санитар сделал мне перевязку, произнес какое-то слово и велел мне идти за собакой, которая привела меня на перевязочный пункт».

Четвероногие санитары


О том, что эксперимент удался, писалось и в официальных сообщениях. Так, командир 3-го Лейб-гвардии стрелкового полка генерал-майор А.В.Усов в начале 1916 года отмечал: «Ввиду несомненной пользы, приносимой собаками при несении службы связи, прошу не отказать в присылке во вверенный мне полк шести собак. За истекший период собаки для доставления донесений применялись неоднократно и всегда с успехом и пользой. Ныне же количество собак уменьшилось вследствие потери в боях». И поскольку такие отзывы были не единичны, командование дивизий и армий Юго-Западного фронта констатировало: «собаки, присланные из специальной школы проводников, приносят несомненную пользу». Эксперимент решили перенести на всю армию, постановив, создавать специальные полковые команды по 8 собак на пехотный полк и 6 ‒ на кавалерийский. Но развал фронта, произошедший в 1917 году не позволил внедрить практику использования собак во всей Русской армии.
Автор: Андрей Иванов
Первоисточник: http://ruskline.ru/history/2015/04/27/chetveronogie_sanitary/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 6
  1. TIT 18 октября 2015 08:19
    Четвероногие санитары

    универсальные , верные ,само обучающиеся "биороботы"
    ( всё понимают, им жизни бы продлить лет на 10 то и заговори ли бы)
    TIT
  2. казак волгский 18 октября 2015 09:23
    и на шинели пронесли на Параде Победы......... пусть и не санитара а - собаку сапера........ хорошая статья! да и собачка - животинушка полезная и умная. честь и хвала помощникам!
  3. parusnik 18 октября 2015 09:36
    Его жена ответила:
    –Этот зверь уже не называется дикой собакой; его имя – первый друг; собака станет нашим другом и останется нашим другом всегда, всегда, всегда.
    Кошка, которая гуляла сама по себе Редьярда Киплинга
  4. 31rus 18 октября 2015 15:32
    Опыт нужно использовать,тех же роботов обнаруживать,вот в Сирии по под земельям,что лучше придумаешь,?Почему не придумать для собак,те же лазерные цели указатели?
  5. ODERVIT 18 октября 2015 16:03
    Лучшему другу глубоко безразлична идеология, страна пребывания и прочее, чем отягощён разум человека. Они просто преданно служат.
  6. sabakina 18 октября 2015 19:04
    К этому видео мне и добавить-то нечего...

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня