Military Review

Davidov Davydov

1
Davidov Davydov
The famous military and statesman of the first quarter of the XIX century, Major-General, the hero of the Patriotic War of 1812, a talented military writer and poet, the founder of hussar lyrics Denis Vasilyevich Davydov was born 225 years ago - 27 July 1784. Passionate, boiling nature, a hot patriot. He participated in all the wars that Russia waged during his lifetime.


Denis Vasilievich was born in Moscow in a military family. With 1801, his service begins. He enrolled as a standard-cadet (a rank in cavalry assigned to nobles who waited for production as officers) in the cavalry regiment, a year later he was made cornets, and in November 1803 of the lieutenant. During this period, his literary talent begins to unfold. Distinguished by wit and free-thinking poems quickly brought him popularity. Since 1806, Davydov has served in the St. Petersburg Life Guards Hussars. Within six months, he is the head captain. Service Davydova in this period of his life was not burdensome. “In the whole regiment there was more friendship than services ...” But for Russia this time was rather alarming, and Davydov considered it his duty to get into the army. After the trouble, he was enlisted as adjutant to Prince PI Bagration.

Russian army, cramped by Napoleon, located near the village of Wolfsdorf. The rearguard of the Russian army under the command of Bagration covered a further retreat. The battle of Wolfsdorf in January 1807-th - Davydov's baptism of fire in which he showed remarkable bravery. Bagration introduced him to the Order of Vladimir IV degree. For the subsequent battles at Landsberg and Preussis-Eylau Davydov was awarded the gold cross on the St. George ribbon. Intense battles followed one after the other. 14 June 1807 of the year in the bloody battle of Friedland Napoleon won. The Russians fought with great stubbornness, but under stormy artillery fire they were forced to withdraw. For participation in the Battle of Friedland Davydov was awarded a golden saber with the inscription: "For courage."



7 July 1807, Russia and France concluded the Treaty of Tilsit. And in February of 1808, the war between Russia and Sweden began. Under the terms of the Peace of Tilsit, Napoleon granted Alexander I the right to dominate Eastern Europe and promised not to provide military assistance to Turkey. The Russian government decided to use the favorable environment and strengthen the military-political position on the Baltic Sea coast in order to secure Petersburg. Denis Davydov was assigned to the vanguard, commanded by Colonel Ya. P. Kulnev. Under the leadership of Kulnev, he went through a good school of outpost service — rapid maneuvers, raids, cavalry skirmishes, and skirmishes. The war with Sweden ended with the peace of Friedrichshah, signed in September 1809. By its terms, Finland was ceded to Russia as the Grand Duchy of Finland.

The Russian-Turkish war 1806-1812 also became a good school for a young officer. He participated in the capture of the Turkish fortress of Silistria and in the bloody battle of Shumla in June 1810. For combat feats in these battles was awarded diamond marks of the Order of Anna II degree and produced in the captain.



Combat experience, extensive military knowledge, acquired by Davydov in the first decade of his military service, were useful in the Patriotic War 1812 year, in which he played a prominent role.

From May, 1812-th Davydov - commander of the first battalion of the Akhtyrka hussar regiment with the assignment of a lieutenant colonel. By the time Napoleon began his campaign, the 2-I of the Western Army of Bagration was located in the vicinity of Volkovysk, and the Davydov regiment was in Zabludov, near Bialystok. This is where the 1812 war of the year caught him.

The blow of Napoleon in 1812 caused the birth of the national liberation nature of the war. Davydov was among the few officers who recognized this phenomenon and raised the banner of partisan struggle. He appealed to Bagration with a request to single out a special cavalry formation for partisan operations in the rear of the Napoleonic army. The idea aroused interest in Bagration, who turned directly to Kutuzov. Despite his approval, Davydov was singled out all 50 hussars and 150 Cossacks! Command skeptical about the effectiveness of the actions of the guerrillas.

Supporting the initiative of Davydov, Bagration ordered to allocate him the best hussars and Cossacks. On September 6, the partisan detachment of Davydov, consisting of 50 hussars and 80 Cossacks (instead of the promised 150), as well as three officers of the Akhtyrsky regiment and two Donkey Cossack regiments, secretly left the village of Borodino and moved into the deep rear of the French.



The first supporting base of the partisans was the village of Skugarevo, Smolensk Province. Fighting Davydov began on September 13, on the day Napoleon entered Moscow: Davydov's detachment attacked a large detachment of French marauders. 90 people were taken into captivity and property stolen from the peasants was repulsed. 14 September another raid - on the enemy transport in Tsarevo-Zaymishche. The result - more 120 prisoners, 10 food trucks and one wagon with cartridges.

The partisan detachment of Davydov stayed in Skugarev 10 days. During this time, more than 300 people were captured, more than 200 Russian soldiers were released from captivity, 32 artillery carts and a large number of trucks with military equipment and food were captured. The first experience taught that the best tactic for partisans is continuous movement, which does not allow the enemy to know where they are.

By the end of September, 180 Cossacks joined the Davydov detachment. Now, under his command, 300 cavalrymen, not counting infantry. It became possible to deploy large-scale actions. The detachment was divided into small battle groups. The connection between them was maintained by peasant volunteers. The success of the squad increased.

Guerrilla pickets, set by Davydov, controlled large areas under control, forcing the enemy to escort transports with a reinforced guard - sometimes up to 1500 people. Under the blow of the partisans, the city of Vyazma itself was turned, turned by the French into an important stronghold with a strong garrison. Davydov personally made a plan of attack on the city. September 25 after a rapid attack the city was taken. The enemy lost more than 100 people killed and about 300 prisoners. Trophies - 20 trucks with supplies and 12 with weapons.

The courageous actions of the partisans Davydov alarmed the French governor of Smolensk, General Baraghe d'Ille. According to his order, a cavalry detachment of sabers in 2000 was formed from the teams going through Vyazma with the task of clearing the whole space between Gzhatsk and Vyazma from the Russian partisans. A great price was promised for the head of Davydov himself. However, the attempts of the enemy were in vain. So, October 1 between the villages of Yurenevo and Gorodishche, the partisans fought three battalions of Polish infantry that accompanied a large transport. Only 35 people lost, but captured huge booty: 36 artillery decks (gun platform), 40 provision trucks, 144 ox, about 200 horses, captured 15 officers and more 900 privates. In the area of ​​the village of Gorodishche, a third partisan base was set up. For its protection were allocated about 500 militias.

"Partisan Army" Davydov grew rapidly. Small detachments of infantry were created from the repulsed Russian prisoners of war. Kutuzov appreciated the success of Davydov, made the partisan in the colonels. To gain to Davydov arrived Don Cossack regiment Popov, consisting of five hundred. The successful actions of the Davydov detachment convinced Kutuzov to fully develop the partisan movement. At the direction of the field marshal, several more partisan detachments led by officers of the regular troops were created. The number of Davydov's troops increased as well: he had two lightly cossack regiments at his disposal. The unceasing pursuit of the enemy and new successes. By the end of October, Davydov’s detachment captured more than 3500 privates and an 43 officer.



At the beginning of November, a French brigade of General Augereau concentrated on the road between Yelnya and Smolensk. Davydov's squad in 1200 sabers with 80 huntsmen and 4 guns during the rapid attack broke the enemy. 2000 privates and 60 officers led by General Augereau were taken prisoner. Pursuing the enemy, Davydov arrived in a village near the town of Red. In a personal meeting with the partisan, Kutuzov said: "Your successful experiments proved to me the benefit of the partisan war, which caused so much harm, infliction and infliction on the enemy." During November, Davydov's units conducted a series of successful operations. For courage Davydov was presented to the Order of George IV degree.

The expulsion of Napoleon's troops from Russia was coming to an end. In early January, 1813, Colonel Davydov, joined the main vanguard of the army of General F. F. Wintzingerode. With his flying cavalry detachment, Davydov served as the advanced patrol of the main avant-garde army. An old partisan detachment remained at his disposal: two regiments of the Don Cossacks, a team of hussars and combined Cossacks with a total of 550 men.

In early January, 1813 began the famous Foreign Campaign. Walking in the vanguard of the advancing Russian army, the squad of Davydov was the first to enter Saxony. February 13 participated in the rout of the Saxon Corps of General Rainier under Kalisch, March 22 occupied the capital of Saxony - Dresden. In the autumn of 1813, Davydov received at his disposal two Don Cossack regiments. At the head of these Cossack regiments, the poet-partisans during the autumn campaign of 1813 participated in many avant-garde battles and in the grand “Battle of the Nations” under Leipzig on October 16-19. Then Davydov participates in many battles of the 1814 campaign of the year. After the battle at Brienne 29 in January, 1814 and 1 in February at La Rothiere Davydov received the rank of major general as a reward. Napoleon could not prevent the defeat of his empire. As part of the Russian army, which entered Paris 30 March 1814, was Davydov - at the head of the hussars brigade.



Davydov strongly condemned the post-war order in the Russian Empire. The guard turned, as Davydov said, into a "amusing army." Considering it impossible to serve in the capital under such orders, he continued his service in the province in secondary staff posts. In November, 1823, Alexander I signed a decree on his dismissal "for the disease."

With the beginning of the reign of Nicholas I Davydov decided to return to the line. At the beginning of April 1826, he was again assigned to the service of "in the cavalry". In August, he was assigned to Georgia - the Russian-Persian war began. Upon the arrival of Davydov in the Caucasus, the commander-in-chief of the Caucasian army, General A.P. Yermolov, appointed him commander of a three-thousandth detachment for offensive actions against the Persians. Davydov was given the task of stopping the movement to the north of the Erivan Sardar (the title of the Persian governor of Erivan) and his brother Hassan Khan and knock them out of the borders conquered by the Russians. Already in the beginning of October, 1826, Davydov, utterly routed the four-thousandth detachment of Hassan Khan, penetrated the Persian border at the natural boundary Sudagend and by December built a fortress here.

Denis Davydov was an active participant in eight military campaigns, one of the most talented, educated and brave officers of the Russian army. Denis Vasilyevich died 4 May 1839 year and was buried in Moscow.
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Napoleon I
    Napoleon I 20 June 2012 23: 10
    0
    Thanks for such a good article. I heard several times about this man, but I fully learned about his exploits only now

Давыдов Денис Васильевич

Давыдов Денис Васильевич
Знаменитый военный и государственный деятель первой четверти XIX века, генерал-майор, герой-партизан Отечественной войны 1812 года, талантливый военный писатель и поэт, основоположник гусарской лирики Денис Васильевич Давыдов родился 225 лет назад - 27 июля 1784 года. Страстная, кипящая натура, горячий патриот. Он участвовал во всех войнах, которые вела Россия при его жизни.

Денис Васильевич родился в Москве в семье военного. С 1801 года начинается его служба. Он поступил эстандарт-юнкером (чин в кавалерии, присваиваемый дворянам, ожидавшим производства в офицеры) в кавалергардский полк, через год произведен в корнеты, а в ноябре 1803-го - в поручики. В этот период начинает раскрываться его литературный талант. Отличавшиеся остроумием и свободомыслием стихи быстро принесли ему популярность. С 1806 года Давыдов служит в Петербургском лейб-гвардии гусарском полку. Уже через полгода он штаб-ротмистр. Служба Давыдова в этот период его жизни не была обременительной. «Во всем полку было более дружбы, чем службы...» Но для России это время было достаточно тревожным, и Давыдов считал своим долгом попасть в действующую армию. После хлопот он был зачислен адъютантом к князю П. И. Багратиону.

Русская армия, теснимая Наполеоном, расположилась близ деревни Вольфсдорф. Арьергард русской армии под командованием Багратиона прикрывал дальнейшее отступление. Сражение под Вольфсдорфом в январе 1807-го - боевое крещение Давыдова, в котором он проявил недюжинную храбрость. Багратион представил его к ордену Владимира IV степени. За последующие сражения под Ландсбергом и Прейсиш-Эйлау Давыдов был награжден золотым крестом на георгиевской ленте. Напряженные бои следовали один за другим. 14 июня 1807 года в кровопролитном сражении под Фридландом Наполеон одержал победу. Русские сражались с большим упорством, но под ураганным огнем артиллерии вынуждены были отойти. За участие в Фридландском сражении Давыдов был награжден золотой саблей с надписью: «За храбрость».


Давыдов Денис Васильевич


7 июля 1807 года Россия и Франция заключили Тильзитский мир. А в феврале 1808-го началась война России со Швецией. По условиям Тильзитского мира Наполеон предоставлял Александру I право господствовать в Восточной Европе и обещал не оказывать Турции военной помощи. Русское правительство решило использовать благоприятную обстановку и укрепить военно-политические позиции на побережье Балтийского моря, чтобы обезопасить Петербург. Денис Давыдов получил назначение в авангард, которым командовал полковник 
Я. П. Кульнев. Под руководством Кульнева он прошел хорошую школу аванпостной службы - стремительных маневров, налетов, кавалерийских стычек и перестрелок. Война со Швецией закончилась Фридрихсгамским миром, подписанным в сентябре 1809 года. По его условиям Финляндия отошла к России как Великое княжество Финляндское.

Русско-турецкая война 1806-1812 годов также стала хорошей школой для молодого офицера. Он участвовал во взятии турецкой крепости Силистрии и в кровопролитной битве под Шумлой в июне 1810 года. За боевые подвиги в этих сражениях был награжден алмазными знаками ордена Анны II степени и произведен в ротмистры.

Давыдов Денис Васильевич


Боевой опыт, широкие военные познания, приобретенные Давыдовым в первое десятилетие его военной службы, пригодились в Отечественной войне 1812 года, в которой он сыграл видную роль.

С мая 1812-го Давыдов - командир первого батальона Ахтырского гусарского полка с присвоением чина подполковника. К моменту начала похода Наполеона 2-я Западная армия Багратиона располагалась в окрестностях Волковыска, а полк Давыдова - в Заблудове, близ Белостока. Здесь и застала его война 1812 года.

Удар Наполеона в 1812-м обусловил зарождение национально-освободительного характера войны. Давыдов был в числе немногих офицеров, оценивших это явление и поднявших знамя партизанской борьбы. Он обратился к Багратиону с просьбой выделить особое кавалерийское соединение для партизанских действий в тылу наполеоновской армии. Идея вызвала интерес у Багратиона, обратившегося напрямую к Кутузову. Несмотря на его одобрение, Давыдову выделили всего 50 гусар и 150 казаков! Командование скептически относилось к эффективности действий партизан.

Поддерживая инициативу Давыдова, Багратион приказал выделить ему лучших гусар и казаков. 6 сентября партизанский отряд Давыдова в составе 50 гусар и 80 казаков (вместо обещанных 150), а также трех офицеров Ахтырского полка и двух хорунжих донского казачьего полка скрытно покинул село Бородино и двинулся в глубокий тыл французов.

Давыдов Денис Васильевич


Первой опорной базой партизан стало село Скугарево Смоленской губернии. Боевые действия Давыдов начал 13 сентября, в день вступ-
ления Наполеона в Москву: отряд Давыдова совершил нападение на большой отряд французских мародеров. В плен были взяты 90 человек и отбито награбленное у 
крестьян имущество. 14 сентября еще один налет - на неприятельский транспорт в Царево-Займище. Итог - более 120 пленных, 10 провиантских фур и одна фура с патронами.

Партизанский отряд Давыдова пробыл в Скугареве 10 дней. За это время взяты в плен более 300 человек, освобождены из плена более 200 русских солдат, захвачено 32 артповозки и большое число фур с военным имуществом и продовольствием. Первый опыт научил, что наилучшая тактика для партизан - непрерывное движение, не позволяющее противнику узнать, где они находятся.

К концу сентября к отряду Давыдова присоединились еще 180 казаков. Теперь под его командой уже 300 кавалеристов, не считая пехоты. Стало возможным развернуть масштабные действия. Отряд был разбит на мелкие боевые группы. Связь между ними поддерживали добровольцы из крестьян. Успехи отряда возросли.

Партизанские пикеты, расставленные Давыдовым, держали под контролем значительные пространства, вынуждая неприятеля сопровождать транспорты усиленной охраной - иногда до 1500 человек. Под ударом партизан оказался сам город Вязьма, превращенный французами в важный опорный пункт с сильным гарнизоном. Давыдов лично составил план нападения на город. 25 сентября после стремительной атаки город был взят. Неприятель потерял более 100 человек убитыми и около 300 пленными. Трофеи - 20 фур с провиантом и 12 с вооружением.

Смелые действия партизан Давыдова встревожили французского губернатора Смоленска генерала Бараге д'Илье. По его приказу из команд, следовавших через Вязьму, был сформирован конный отряд в 2000 сабель с задачей очистить от русских партизан все пространство между Гжатском и Вязьмой. Большая цена была обещана за голову самого Давыдова. Однако попытки неприятеля оказались тщетными. Так, 1 октября между селами Юренево и Городище партизаны дали бой трем батальонам польской пехоты, сопровождавшим большой транспорт. Потеряли лишь 35 человек, но захватили огромную добычу: 36 артиллерийских палубов (орудийная платформа), 40 провиантских фур, 144 вола, около 200 лошадей, взяли в плен 15 офицеров и более 900 рядовых. В районе села Городище была устроена третья партизанская база. Для ее охраны были выделены около 500 ополченцев.

«Партизанская армия» Давыдова быстро росла. Из отбитых русских военнопленных создавались небольшие отряды пехоты. Кутузов оценил успехи Давыдова, произвел партизана в полковники. Для усиления к Давыдову прибыл донской казачий полк Попова в составе пяти сотен. Удачные действия отряда Давыдова убедили Кутузова всемерно развивать партизанское движение. По указанию фельдмаршала было создано еще несколько партизанских отрядов, руководимых офицерами регулярных войск. Увеличивалась и численность войск Давыдова: в его распоряжении два легкоконных казачьих полка. Беспрестанное преследование неприятеля и новые успехи. К концу октября отряд Давыдова взял в плен более 3500 рядовых и 43 офицера.

Давыдов Денис Васильевич


В начале ноября на дороге между Ельней и Смоленском сосредоточилась французская бригада генерала Ожеро. Отряд Давыдова в 1200 сабель при 80 егерях и 4 орудиях в ходе стремительной атаки разбил неприятеля. В плен были взяты 2000 рядовых и 60 офицеров во главе с генералом Ожеро. Преследуя неприятеля, Давыдов прибыл в село под городом Красным. При личной встрече с партизаном Кутузов произнес: «Удачные опыты твои доказали мне пользу партизанской войны, которая столь много вреда нанесла, наносит и нанесет неприятелю». В течение ноября отряды Давыдова провели ряд успешных операций. За мужество Давыдов был представлен к ордену Георгия IV степени.

Изгнание наполеоновских войск из России подходило к концу. В начале января 1813 года полковник Давыдов присоединился к главному авангарду армии генерала Ф. Ф. Винценгероде. Со своим летучим кавалерийским отрядом Давыдов выполнял обязанности передового дозора главного авангарда армии. В его распоряжении остались старый партизанский отряд: два полка донских казаков, команда гусар и сборных казаков общей численностью 550 человек.

В начале января 1813 года начался знаменитый Заграничный поход. Идя в авангарде наступающей русской армии, отряд Давыдова первым вступил в Саксонию. 13 февраля участвовал в разгроме Саксонского корпуса генерала Ренье при Калише, 22 марта занял столицу Саксонии - Дрезден. Осенью 1813 года Давыдов получил в распоряжение два донских казачьих полка. Во главе этих казачьих полков поэт-партизан в осеннюю кампанию 1813-го участвовал во многих авангардных боях и в грандиозной «Битве народов» под Лейпцигом 16-19 октября. Затем Давыдов участвует во многих сражениях кампании 1814 года. После сражения под Бриенном 29 января 1814-го и 1 февраля при Ла-Ротьере Давыдов получает в награду чин генерал-майора. Наполеон уже не мог предотвратить разгрома своей империи. В составе русской армии, вошедшей в Париж 30 марта 1814 года, был и Давыдов - во главе бригады гусар.

Давыдов Денис Васильевич


Давыдов резко осуждал послевоенные порядки в Российской империи. Гвардия превратилась, как говорил Давыдов, в «потешное войско». Считая невозможным служить в столице при таких порядках, он продолжил службу в провинции на второстепенных штабных должностях. В ноябре 1823-го Александр I подписал указ о его увольнении «за болезнью».

С началом царствования Николая I Давыдов решил вернуться в строй. В начале апреля 1826 года он снова назначен на службу состоять «при кавалерии». В августе получает назначение в Грузию - началась русско-персидская война. По прибытии Давыдова на Кавказ главнокомандующий Кавказской армией генерал А. П. Ермолов назначил его командиром трехтысячного отряда для наступательных действий против персов. Перед Давыдовым была поставлена задача остановить движение на север эриванского сардара (титул персидского наместника Эривани) и его брата Хассан-хана и выбить их из границ, завоеванных русскими. Уже в начале октября 1826 года Давыдов наголову разгромил четырехтысячный отряд Хассан-хана, проник за персидскую границу у урочища Судагенд и к декабрю возвел здесь крепость.

Денис Давыдов был деятельным участником восьми военных кампаний, одним из самых талантливых, образованных и храбрых офицеров русской армии. Скончался Денис Васильевич 4 мая 1839 года и был похоронен в Москве.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
  1. Наполеон I 20 июня 2012 23:10
    Спасибо за столь хорошую статью. Слышал несколько раз о этом человеке, но в полной мере о его подвигах узнал только сейчас
    Наполеон I

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня