Mikhail Oginsky and his plan in the context of Russian foreign policy

How to make the enslaved hostile province only pro-imperially minded? How to channel the energy of a captured people in a peaceful way to a constructive way? How, in the end, to protect against all rebellions and revolutions on this earth? These questions, which have always been relevant for major powers, will be answered by the plan of Oginsky, one of the brightest diplomats of his time.




Ahead of your time

Mikhail Kleofas Oginsky - personality, in the domestic stories little known This is not surprising, because by origin he was a Polish-Belarusian aristocrat and, if not for the vicissitudes of fate, he would hardly have left a mark on the foreign policy of the Russian Empire.

He was born in the town of Guzów, near Warsaw, in a status noble family. From birth, he was destined to become an extraordinary person: Michael’s uncle was a great Lithuanian hetman, several of his ancestors at one time served as high-ranking officials and military leaders in Rzecz Pospolita. From an early age he learned the basics of the humanities and the exact sciences. Moreover, young Mikhail will succeed in writing musical works in the future, and his famous Polonaise “Farewell to the Motherland” will be included in all collections of classical music, but this is another story.

Already in 19 years, Mikhail Kleofas was in the Polish Sejm. There, among the endless debates, disputes and major decisions, he honed his oratory, his statist views were shaped. In the 6 year of service, Count Oginsky proved himself to be such a reliable and trusted figure that he was sent as a diplomat to Western Europe, but almost immediately, in the 1790 year, he returned to Poland.

The further life of Oginsky developed swift steps. He takes an active part in resisting the Russian-Prussian intervention, and when the Polish uprising begins, he forms a cavalry regiment of horsemen with his own money and conducts military operations against Russian soldiers. The defeat of Kosciuszko and other "freedom fighters" forced Michael to flee in a roundabout way through Galicia to Western Europe, where he settled for some time, met the Polish emigration and, on her instructions, even went to Istanbul to force the Turkish authorities to start an open war with Russia .

Changing attitudes. Return

At the beginning of the 19 century, the political situation at the top of the empire changed. Instead of Paul, the more compliant Alexander the First ascended the throne. Thanks to his will, almost all the leaders of the Kosciuszko uprising were amnestied, and to some, including Oginsky, their previous possessions were returned in full.

Mikhail Kleofas returned to his homeland, now consisted in another state. He came back, picking up a sad experience that forever changed his outlook. Suffice it to say that he did not even try to uphold the Greater Poland ambitions, but directed his energy in a different direction - he tried to find the shortest way to reunite Lithuania and the North-West Territory with Velikorossiya.

In 1810, Oginsky moved to Petersburg and became a confidant of Alexander the First. From this point on, he creates his main masterpiece, his Ninth Symphony - the plan of Oginsky.

Oginsky plan

Being in Warsaw for some time, Oginsky communicated a lot with his compatriots and was amazed at their reverence for Napoleon and France. Polish patriotic circles were dominated by pan-French sentiments, which were hopes of achieving independence after the conquest of these lands by the army of Bonaparte. Thinking about this for many days, he decided to put forward his ideas on the transformation of the western provinces.

In April, 1811, Michael Kleofas Oginsky got an audience with the Emperor. They had a long conversation on abstract topics, but sooner or later the conversation simply had to turn on the Polish topic. The diplomat was expressing his thoughts in a continuous stream, trying to find points of contact with the interlocutor. Alexander the First, with a hope of belonging to the Polish elite, although he did not harbor any illusions about her moods, listened to Michael with the deepest attention. Later they corresponded for a long time, and Oginsky put forward more and more bold prospects for the development of his homeland.

In this case, the Oginsky plan affected the territory of the former Grand Duchy of Lithuania rather than Great Poland. He proposed a universal solution to the separatist problem (and I dare to note that it was relevant for decades after the partition of the Commonwealth): to develop such autonomy to the newly annexed provinces, that they, on the one hand, would feel independent keep only in close connection with Russia.

It was supposed to create a special province, consisting of Vilna, Grodno, Minsk, Vitebsk, Mogilev, Kiev, Volyn, Podolsk and Belostok regions, as well as Tarnopolsky district. She would be ruled by a special imperial governor (apparently, Oginsky saw himself at this place), Vilna would become the capital. It would also be in a cosmetic form recreated the Statute of the GDL of 1588 of the year, which would be a formal sign of the province’s sovereignty. The idea was to appoint to government posts only natives of these provinces (Belarusians, Ukrainians, Lithuanians, Jews, partly Poles and Russians). And, of course, the most ambitious project of our hero - “Lithuanian army”, an army in the army, which would be devoted to Russian ideals and would fight the same Napoleon on a par with Russian soldiers.

In fact, Oginsky’s plan not only cut off Belarus and Lithuania from Polish influence - he also created a solid state foundation on these lands, transforming them not just into a political buffer on the outskirts of the empire, but into a powerful territorial unit with historically self-governing that could bring great benefit to Russia. And even more, to create a powerful pro-Russian core, to attract magnates and gentlemen to one’s side, just by creating a beautiful picture and playing on national-patriotic feelings, create a powerful foundation in Eastern Europe that would play in favor of the Russian side an important dispute. And to form Lithuanian statehood on its own terms and gradually develop such a system of balances, in which, as it were, an independent territory would still have to follow Russia.

Unfortunately, the approaching army of Napoleon forced Alexander to reconsider his beliefs. This happened under the influence of the Russian power elite, which looked at what was happening rather one-sidedly. Subsequently, the remaining contradictions in the administration on the territory of Poland and the former ONL led to several uprisings, which had a heavy effect on the moods of Russian society and had significant consequences.

After the war, Alexander the First returned to the ideas of Polish-Lithuanian sovereignty several times and even considered them with his old acquaintance, but Michael’s health no longer allowed him to engage in public affairs at the same level. In 1817, he received leave and went abroad, no longer returning to Russia. Count died in 1831 year in Florence.

* * *


It is unlikely that Oginsky himself could suspect that his plan for general requirements turned out to be universal and usable two hundred years later. In our time, aggressive centralization and complete subordination of dominion to oneself is a trend that has become obsolete. Meanwhile, the idea of ​​a “state in a state” of a Polish diplomat is probably the only way today to safely absorb ethnically close and politically alien lands.
Author:
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. V.ic 22 October 2015 07: 20 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    Good slap in the face = the best medicine for a fragile mind.
  2. Belousov 22 October 2015 07: 54 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Autonomy is still fraught with complications, but in some cases it is simply necessary to maintain the integrity of the state.
  3. parusnik 22 October 2015 08: 02 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    Unfortunately, the impending army of Napoleon forced Alexander to reconsider his beliefs...Of course Alexander revised his views .. after he found out how Napoleon was greeted in Vilna .. local magnates shouted cheerfully and threw caps into the air ... After Napoleon was expelled from Russia, Alexander announced an amnesty screaming ..
  4. whiteeagle 22 October 2015 09: 57 New
    • 7
    • 0
    +7
    The author is naive. The Pole wanted to build a base for the fight against Russia. In addition, at that time this plan was implemented. A close friend of Alexander (and Alexander’s wife was the father of her daughter) Adam Czartoryski organized education in the eastern part of the former Commonwealth (currently Lithuania, Belarus, Ukraine). These were schools with the Polish language. The Czartoryski employee of Tsar Alexander during the Napoleonic Wars since 1830 was the main Polish leader in the fight against Russia. If Oginsky was healthy, he would also pursue anti-Russian politics after 1830.
  5. todaygoodday 22 October 2015 10: 05 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Not such a brilliant idea. She also has a lot of minuses. Autonomies tend to rebel more often. Yes, with your own army!
    1. Silhouette 22 October 2015 15: 14 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Any national autonomy, sooner or later, at the opportunity, will become independent. An example of Finland is a clear confirmation of this. But independence will be imaginary. It will still depend on the "big uncles", as happened with Poland. What is its independence? Only in external attributes. Finland is managed by 26 Swedish families.
  6. Jääkorppi 22 October 2015 10: 42 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    Creating ON, a nightmare !!! The whole history shows that Ukrainian and Belarusian nationalism is a direct threat to Russian statehood !! Autonomous Poland, the maximum that could be agreed! After the war, money was poured into the NDP immeasurably, and the result is before us! It was necessary to burn out all Polish nationalism right after the Patriotic War!
  7. Alexey RA 22 October 2015 10: 43 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    It was supposed to create a special province, consisting of Vilna, Grodno, Minsk, Vitebsk, Mogilev, Kiev, Volyn, Podolsk and Bialystok regions, as well as the Tarnopol district. It would be ruled by a special imperial governor (apparently, Oginsky saw himself at this place), Vilna would become the capital. The Statute of the Grand Duchy of 1588 would also be recreated in a cosmetic form, which would become a formal sign of the sovereignty of the province. The idea was to appoint only natives of these provinces (Belarusians, Ukrainians, Lithuanians, Jews, partly Poles and Russians) to government posts.

    Gorgeous. After such a gift, the Poles would still demand independence of Poland, but in the boundaries of Oginsky. With Kiev, Minsk and Vitebsk.

    It is strange that Oginsky also did not propose to include Smolensk in this neoplasm.
  8. Tambov Wolf 22 October 2015 16: 15 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    These are the states in the state that destroyed the USSR. But there was one without the republics, it may have survived.
  9. gladcu2 22 October 2015 18: 42 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    I remember Oginsky’s polonaise. I don’t remember the plan.
    1. Denis DV 23 October 2015 05: 07 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Gee, of course, the first opium war took place 10 years after his death laughing

Михаил Огинский и его план в контексте российской внешней политики

Как сделать только-только порабощенную враждебную провинцию проимперски настроенной? Как мирным способом направить энергию захваченного народа в созидательное русло? Как, в конце концов, обезопаситься от всяких восстаний и революций на этой земле? На эти вопросы, всегда бывшие актуальными для крупных держав, нам ответит план Огинского — одного из ярчайших дипломатов своего времени.

Михаил Огинский и его план в контексте российской внешней политики


Опередивший свое время


Михаил Клеофас Огинский — личность, в отечественной истории малоизвестная. Что и неудивительно, потому что по происхождению он был польско-белорусским аристократом и, если бы не превратности судьбы, вряд ли бы оставил след во внешней политике Российской империи.

Он родился в местечке Гузув недалеко от Варшавы в статусной дворянской семье. Уже с рождения ему было уготовано стать неординарной личностью: дядя Михаила был великим гетманом литовским, сразу несколько его предков служили высокопоставленными чиновниками и военачальниками в Речи Посполитой. С ранних лет он постигал азы гуманитарных и точных наук. Более того, юный Михаил в будущем весьма преуспеет в написании музыкальных произведений, а его знаменитый полонез «Прощание с Родиной» войдет во все сборники классической музыки, но это уже другая история.

Уже в 19 лет Михаил Клеофас попал в польский Сейм. Там, среди бесконечных дебатов, споров и принятия важнейших решений он оттачивал свое ораторское искусство, формировались его государственнические взгляды. На 6-м году службы граф Огинский зарекомендовал себя настолько надежным и проверенным деятелем, что был направлен как дипломат в Западную Европу, но почти тут же, в 1790 году, вернулся в Польшу.

Дальнейшая жизнь Огинского развивалась стремительными шагами. Он принимает активное участие в сопротивлении русско-прусской интервенции, а когда начинается польское восстание — на свои деньги формирует конный егерский полк и ведет боевые действия против русских солдат. Поражение Костюшко и других «борцов за свободу» заставило Михаила бежать окольными путями через Галицию в Западную Европу, где он на какое-то время обосновался, познакомился с польской эмиграцией и по ее поручению даже ездил в Стамбул — подзуживать турецкие власти начать открытую войну с Россией.

Изменение взглядов. Возвращение

В начале 19 века политическая ситуация в верхах империи изменилась. Вместо Павла на престол взошел более сговорчивый Александр Первый. Благодаря его воле почти все деятели восстания Костюшко были амнистированы, а некоторым, в том числе и Огинскому, были возвращены в полном составе их прежние владения.

Михаил Клеофас вернулся на Родину, теперь уже состоявшую в другом государстве. Вернулся, набравшись печального опыта, который навсегда изменил его мировоззрение. Достаточно сказать, что он даже не пытался отстаивать великопольские амбиции, а направил свою энергию в другое русло — попытался найти наикратчайший путь по воссоединению Литвы и Северо-Западного края с Великороссией.

В 1810 году Огинский переезжает в Петербург и становится доверенным лицом Александра Первого. С этого момента он создает свой главный шедевр, свою Девятую симфонию — план Огинского.

План Огинского

На какое-то время оказавшись в Варшаве, Огинский много общался с соотечественниками и был поражен их пиететом перед Наполеоном и Францией. В польских патриотических кругах воцарились панфранцузские настроения, заключавшиеся в чаяниях добиться независимости после завоевания этих земель армией Бонапарта. Думая об этом многие сутки, он решил выдвинуть свои идеи по преобразованию западных губерний.

В апреле 1811 года Михаил Клеофас Огинский добился аудиенции у Императора. Они долго беседовали на отвлеченные темы, но рано или поздно разговор просто обязан был зайти на польскую тему. Дипломат беспрерывным потоком высказывал свои мысли, стремясь найти точки соприкосновения с собеседником. Александр Первый, с надеждой относившийся к польской элите, хотя и не питавший иллюзий по поводу ее настроений, с глубочайшим вниманием выслушал Михаила. В дальнейшем они в течение продолжительного времени переписывались, и Огинский выдвигал все более и более смелые перспективы развития его Родины.

В данном случае план Огинского затрагивал скорее территорию бывшего Великого Княжества Литовского, нежели Великопольши. Он предлагал универсальное решение сепаратистской проблемы (а она, посмею заметить, была актуальна еще десятки лет после раздела Речи Посполитой): разработать такую автономию новоприсоединенным губерниям, что они, с одной стороны, почувствовали бы себя независимыми, а с другой — могли бы эту независимость сохранять только в тесной связи с Россией.

Предполагалось создать особую провинцию, состоявшую из Виленской, Гродненской, Минской, Витебской, Могилевской, Киевской, Волынской, Подольской и Белостокской областей, а также Тарнопольского округа. Ею управлял бы специальный императорский наместник (видимо, Огинский видел на этом месте самого себя), столицей стала бы Вильна. Также был бы в косметическом виде воссоздан Статут ВКЛ 1588 года, который стал бы формальным признаком суверенитета провинции. Идеей было назначать на государственные должности только уроженцев этих губерний (белорусов, украинцев, литовцев, евреев, отчасти поляков и русских). И, конечно же, самый амбициозный проект нашего героя — «Литовское войско», армия в армии, которая была бы предана русским идеалам и наравне с русскими солдатами боролась бы с тем же Наполеоном.

Фактически план Огинского не только отсекал Белоруссию и Литву от польского влияния — он еще и создавал на этих землях прочный государственный фундамент, превращающий их не просто в политический буфер на окраинах империи, а в мощную территориальную единицу с исторически сложившимся самоуправлением, которая могла бы принести куда большую пользу России. И даже более того — создать мощное пророссийское ядро, привлечь на свою сторону магнатов и шляхтичей, всего лишь за счет красивой картинки и игры на национально-патриотических чувствах создать мощнейший задел в Восточной Европе, который играл бы в пользу русской стороны в любом мало-мальски важном споре. А еще сформировать литовскую государственность на своих условиях и постепенно разработать такую систему противовесов, при которой как бы независимая территория все равно должна была бы следовать за Россией.

К сожалению, надвигавшаяся армия Наполеона заставила Александра пересмотреть свои убеждения. Это произошло и под влиянием российской властной верхушки, которая смотрела на происходящее достаточно однобоко. В дальнейшем сохранившиеся противоречия в управлении на территории Польши и бывшего ВКЛ привели к нескольким восстаниям, которые тяжело отразились на настроениях российского общества и несли за собой значительные последствия.

После войны Александр Первый несколько раз возвращался к идеям польско-литовского суверенитета и даже рассматривал их со своим старым знакомым, но здоровье Михаила уже не позволяло ему заниматься государственными делами на том же уровне. В 1817 году он получил отпуск и уехал за границу, более не возвращаясь в Россию. Умер граф в 1831 году во Флоренции.

* * *


Вряд ли сам Огинский мог подозревать, что его план по общим требованиям оказался универсальным и пригодным для использования и двести лет спустя. В наше время агрессивная централизация и полное подчинение доминиона себе — это отживший свои годы тренд. Между тем, идея «государства в государстве» польского дипломата, наверное, сегодня является единственным путем безболезненно поглотить близкие этнически и чуждые политически земли.
Автор: Иван Горшенев


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 10
  1. V.ic 22 октября 2015 07:20
    Хорошая оплеуха = лучшее лекарство для неокрепшего ума.
  2. Belousov 22 октября 2015 07:54
    Автономия все же черевата осложнениями, но в некоторых случаях просто необходима для сохранения целостности государства.
  3. parusnik 22 октября 2015 08:02
    К сожалению, надвигавшаяся армия Наполеона заставила Александра пересмотреть свои убеждения...Конечно пересмотрел Александр свои взгляды..после того как узнал как Наполеона в Вильно встречали..кричали местные магнаты радостно ура и в воздух чепчики бросали...После изгнания Наполеона из России, Александр объявил амнистию кричавшим..
  4. whiteeagle 22 октября 2015 09:57
    автор наивный. Поляк хотел построить базу для борьбы против России. Кроме того, в то время этот план был реализован. Близкий друг Александра(и жены Александра-oн был отцом ее дочери) Адам Чарторыйский организовал образование в восточной части бывшей Речь Посполитoй(в настоящее время Литва, Беларусь, Украина). Это были школы с польским языком. Чарторыйский-сотрудник царя Александра во время наполеоновских войн c 1830 года был главным польским лидером в борьбе против России. Если Огинский был здоров он также после 1830 года вел бы антироссийскую политику.
  5. todaygoodday 22 октября 2015 10:05
    Не такая уж и гениальная идея. У нее тоже не мало минусов. Автономии имеют свойство бунтовать чаще. Да еще с собственной армией!
    1. Силуэт 22 октября 2015 15:14
      Любая национальная автономия рано или поздно при удобном случае станет независимой. Пример Финляндии - наглядное тому подтверждение. Но независимость будет мнимой. Все равно будет зависеть от "больших дядек", как это произошло с Польшей. В чем ее независимость? Только во внешних атрибутах. Финляндией управляет 26 шведских семей.
  6. JääKorppi 22 октября 2015 10:42
    Создание ВКЛ, кошмар!!! Вся история показывает, что Украинский и Белорусский национализм это прямая угроза Российской государственности!! Автономная Польша максимум на что можно было согласиться! После войны в ПНР влили денег немерянно, а результат перед нами! Надо было сразу после отечественной войны весь Польский национализм выжечь!
  7. Alexey RA 22 октября 2015 10:43
    Предполагалось создать особую провинцию, состоявшую из Виленской, Гродненской, Минской, Витебской, Могилевской, Киевской, Волынской, Подольской и Белостокской областей, а также Тарнопольского округа. Ею управлял бы специальный императорский наместник (видимо, Огинский видел на этом месте самого себя), столицей стала бы Вильна. Также был бы в косметическом виде воссоздан Статут ВКЛ 1588 года, который стал бы формальным признаком суверенитета провинции. Идеей было назначать на государственные должности только уроженцев этих губерний (белорусов, украинцев, литовцев, евреев, отчасти поляков и русских).

    Шикарно. После такого подарка поляки всё равно стали бы требовать независимость Польши, но уже именно в границах Огинского. С Киевом, Минском и Витебском.

    Странно что Огинский ещё и Смоленск не предложил включить в это новообразование.
  8. Тамбовский Волк 22 октября 2015 16:15
    Вот такие государства в государстве и развалили СССР.А было единое без республик,то может и сохранилось.
  9. gladcu2 22 октября 2015 18:42
    Полонез Огинского помню. План не помню.
    1. Денис ДВ 23 октября 2015 05:07
      Гы, конечно, первая опиумная война произошла через 10 лет после его смерти laughing

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня