Development of armored personnel carriers in Russia: from the first to the present day

Russo-Balt Type C



Hello comrades militarists! I would like to devote this series of articles exclusively to the development of armored personnel carriers in Russia: from the first to the most modern.

Introduction


The idea of ​​fast and safe delivery of infantry to the battlefield worried the military for many years, more precisely, for centuries. Despite the efforts of inventors, engineers and other "Kulibins", the task was impossible. Perhaps you “poke” the author’s nose into information about, say, siege towers; carts covered with animal skins; Da Vinci's cart and say: "You're lying, there were transporters!" And, of course, you will be right, because many researchers stories armored vehicles emit the above military vehicles as the first armored personnel carriers. Regarding the statement that "conveyors were created long before the nineteenth century," one can argue long, but this is not the purpose of this narrative. "Beteers", such as we know them, are obliged to 3 factors: compact and powerful engine, light and strong armor, powerful and rapid-fire arms. And all this appeared at the end of the XIX century. Well, let's start.

The Beginning of the 20th Century - World War I


Historically, the Russian Empire at the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th had enormous problems with production facilities. For this reason, many patents have been rejected and sent to the shelves of archives. A serious obstacle to promising military inventions was also the rigidity of the High Command, in particular, the Artillery Committee. Thus, the armored car patented in 1900 by Boris Lutsky on the basis of the truck created by him was not accepted by the military. In turn, the "motor carts" of Lutsky were approved by the emperor himself and purchased by ... the military department. No less interesting was the design of the armored car of the porchesaale Mikhail Nakashidze. The car was ordered by the prince from the French company "Sharron, Girardot e Vois", of which he was a shareholder. It is worth noting that the armored car is not a development of the prince himself. A patent for an armored vehicle with a machine gun turret was obtained by a certain Huyé. Although who cares, right? The car is known as "Nashidze's armored car" ...

"Nakashidze-Sharron" on trial


So, the participant of the Russian-Japanese war 1905 of the year offered to test an armored car in battle. For some time, the command of the Manchurian army hesitated, because the car was worth about 30 thousand rubles, which was a considerable amount for those times. Prince Nakashidze himself took the costs. The armored car, armed with one 8-mm Gochkiss, was delivered and ready for trials in a real battle, but the war with the Japanese was over. Then the armored car was delivered to Petersburg for testing. "Nakashidze-Sharron" was poorly appreciated by the military: the car knitted in softened soil; lurched and strove to fall on his side (due to the heavy towers and high profile car); the maximum vehicle speed was limited to 20 km / h, despite the stated 64 km / h (this was due to the quality of the tires, which were stratified when the speed was exceeded in 20 km / h); a huge circle of reversal (diameter about 12,5 meter); the impossibility of shooting on the move played a role, and the project was not adopted. It is worth noting that the armored car is interesting because in addition to the role of an auxiliary fire point, it could perform the function of an infantry carrier (4-5 people in the fighting compartment). According to legend, the prince, at his own risk and risk, ordered the manufacturer of 12 machines. The French managed to send 6 armored cars to the Russian Empire, but they did not “reach” the customer (2 from 6 went to the Germans, the fate of the remaining 10 is unknown). Point on the development of "Nakashidze-Sharron" put the death of Prince 25 of August 1906 of the year during the attempt on Peter Stolypin.

Bronavatomobil "Nakashidze-Sharron"


As time went on, the armies, in preparation for the impending war, were rearming themselves at a rapid pace. And so the great war began. The Russian imperial army needed equipment, so the production of armored vehicles began at the Izhora plant as a matter of urgency. In addition to producing its own armored vehicles (Russo-Balt, type C), the plant was engaged in "production" (alteration of civilian cars into armored cars) based on a Garford truck (Garford Putilov), 3 ton packard, Mannesman Mulaga. " It is worth noting that in addition to industrial production, cars were booked in handicraft, in field conditions. The first auto-bullet company, armed with 8 th "Russo-Balt, type C" and three trucks (armored "Mannesman-Mulag" and conventional "Benz", "Oldis"), departed to the 12 front of October 1914 of the year.

Russo-Balt Type C

Gun and machine gun "Garford Putilov"

Gun "Mannesmann-Mulag"


9 November 1915 of the year to the front of the 26-th autobug assault platoon commanded under the command of Staff Captain Viktor Popionko. This combat unit is especially interesting to us - it was completed with one truck "Jeffery-Quod".

"Jeffery Quod"


Features of the "American": four-wheel drive, powerful engine (4-cylinder engine with liquid cooling capacity 36 hp), a huge load capacity (two tons of cargo), did not go unnoticed by the initiative captain. So, having booked a truck and installing Maxim's machine guns (in the back of the cab and in the front), V.R. Poplavko created a support machine for bringing ammunition, evacuating damaged equipment. The car, which received the name "Wizard", was evaluated by the military: it easily pulled out even Harold Putilov from the battlefield (weighing tons of 8,5). No wonder, because Jeffery-Kouoda had all the makings of becoming a support machine. Inspired by the success of his armored vehicle, the staff captain in January 1916, upgraded the "Wizard" by installing two cat anchors with cables, a winch, a collapsible bridge. So "Jeffery" became an engineering machine, capable of breaking through several rows of barbed wire and dragging away a "slingshot."

Poplavkovsky "Wizard"


Captain Poplavko, who observed the use of the "Sorcerer", decided to use a powerful armored car as a means of breaking through - the assault force assault vehicle 10 of attack aircraft broke through the lines with barbed wire and moved close to the trenches, from which the landing forces destroyed the defenders and occupied the trenches. Having set out his proposal at the headquarters of the 7 Army and received approval, the captain in the spring of 1916 of the year sends the Wizard to the test. 8 August 1916, Izhora plant received an order for the manufacture of 30 armored vehicles. The order was completed in an early order - by the end of September. Machines produced by Izhorans and received the designation "Jeffery-Poplavko" differed from the design model: the full-fledged landing bay, designed by the captain, was absent as such. But, despite the lack of a compartment, the armored car could still take a couple of people landing. For all the other parameters, the car did not differ from the idea of ​​the author. The body of the car was completely closed and sheathed with steel sheets of thickness 7 mm, which, in turn, were attached to the steel frame with rivets. In front of the car housed the engine, access to which could be obtained both from the outside and from the inside. In the angular cabin, located behind the engine compartment, the driver was sitting on the left, on the right was the car commander, and part-time machine-gunner. Entrance and exit from the armored car was carried out through the door on the right side of the hull. In the rear of the case was an armored box in which it was possible to transport supplies, spare parts, fuel, or ... paratroopers. Armament - 2 machine gun of the Maxim 1910 system of the year with ammunition in 6000 cartridges.

Armored cars "Lanchester" (center), "Jeffery Poplavko" (right and left of "Lanchester")


All the assembled cars were combined into a special-purpose armored vehicle division, which included fighting up to 1917, when the Russian Empire "went to pieces". By the way, for the same reason, the Izhora plant was unable to fulfill the second order for 90 vehicles of this type (although they still managed to manufacture one armored car). After the October Revolution, armored vehicles remaining on the territory of Ukraine finally came under the control of the armed forces of the UPR (in fact, the cars were under the control of Ukrainians since March 1917 of the year). "Jeffery Poplavko" for a long time was not under the flag of the Ukrainian Republic. In the 1920 year, after the collapse of an independent Ukrainian state, armored cars "went their hands", but still the majority went to the Red Army, which later was used on all sectors of the Civil War fronts.

Captured by Jeffery Poplavko and Lanchester


Conclusion


In order to sum up some logical result, I would like to add on my own that despite the fact that the machine was not made and was not used in accordance with the idea of ​​its creator, V.R. Float, an idea embedded in the car, was ahead of its time and proved the need for such weapons in the army of our Motherland.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Amurets 1 November 2015 06: 18 New
    • 6
    • 0
    +6
    If the author dug up something new in the archives, I so completely approve of it. I found something new already in the first publication. I first met a publication about The Wizard. I read about Viktor Rodionovich Poplavko, but did not know that he created such a machine.
  2. van zai 1 November 2015 07: 22 New
    • 13
    • 0
    +13
    Sorry. So armored personnel carriers, or armored cars? No matter how it is one and the same.
    1. igordok 1 November 2015 07: 50 New
      • 11
      • 0
      +11
      Quote: van zai
      Sorry. So armored personnel carriers, or armored cars? No matter how it is one and the same.

      A similar question. By the beginning of the Second World War, we had armored cars, but there were no armored personnel carriers. And they were very lacking for the entire period of the Second World War.
    2. Stroke 1 November 2015 12: 55 New
      • 3
      • 0
      +3
      All right, not the same thing. In this article, I would like to be more logical, "bring" the reader to the topic, and not like that, bang, and immediately start talking about Jeffery-Poplavko, therefore it is written as you see.
    3. fa2998 1 November 2015 14: 17 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      You are right, there were no armored personnel carriers in the tsarist non-Red Army. The history of armored vehicles should be considered separately. The first armored personnel carriers we had were Lend-Lease. And ours appeared after the 2nd World War. hi
  3. Amurets 1 November 2015 08: 22 New
    • 6
    • 0
    +6
    So far, the first article, that is, the sorcerer was conceived as an armored personnel carrier, and it was used as a conveyor and as an armored vehicle. The emphasis in our factories was made only on armored vehicles. The first armored personnel carriers appeared in the USSR when the American Lend-Lease arrived.
    1. igordok 1 November 2015 09: 55 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Quote: Amurets
      So far the first article and that is.

      Thanks. Will wait.
  4. Dimon19661 1 November 2015 10: 32 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    Quote: igordok
    Quote: van zai
    Sorry. So armored personnel carriers, or armored cars? No matter how it is one and the same.

    A similar question. By the beginning of the Second World War, we had armored cars, but there were no armored personnel carriers. And they were very lacking for the entire period of the Second World War.

    +
    But thanks for the article.
  5. moskowit 1 November 2015 10: 57 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Thanks, interesting. If you want to know more, I recommend the work of Maxim Kolomiyets
  6. 31rus 1 November 2015 11: 22 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Well, dear, to be absolutely accurate, Blinov, the inventor of a harp, when demonstrating his "cart" on a harp, planted twice as many passengers in this "cart", later the Frenchman used the tracks for the famous Russo-Balt, Mercedes ", there were armored versions that could also carry except the crew and infantry
  7. Mooh 1 November 2015 17: 27 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    A rather peppy start, especially for a new author. Let's see how the cycle continues. Request to the author: please sign the pictures, people who know and understand what is shown on them - this is not your audience wink
  8. boroda64 1 November 2015 20: 35 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    .
    "and experience
    - the son of difficult mistakes .... "
    / studied - did - made mistakes - corrected mistakes ../
    1. Secta haki 28 November 2015 21: 33 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      "Errors" is what? An armored personnel carrier is for a coward who is not able to meet a bullet to catch fragments from mortar mines in all places enemy, as some have all taught?

      "Mina" or "Mortar" in the article and comments there is not even half the time ...

Развитие бронетранспортёров в России: от первых до наших дней

Руссо-Балт Тип С


Здравствуйте, товарищи-милитаристы! Данную серию статей я хотел бы посвятить исключительно развитию бронетранспортеров в России: от первых до самых современных.

Введение



Идея быстрой и безопасной доставки пехоты к полю боя волновала военных на протяжении многих лет, точнее, веков. Несмотря на старания изобретателей, инженеров и прочих "Кулибиных", задача была невыполнимой. Возможно, вы "тыкнете" автора носом в информацию о, скажем, осадных башнях; телегах, обшитых шкурами животных; повозке Да Винчи и скажете: "Врешь, были транспортеры!" И, безусловно, будете правы, ведь многие исследователи истории бронированных машин выделяют вышеприведенные военные машины как первые БТР. Относительно утверждения, что "транспортеры были созданы задолго до ХIX века" можно долго спорить, но это не есть цель данного повествования. "Бэтээры", такими как мы их знаем, обязаны 3-м факторам: компактному и мощному двигателю, легкой и крепкой броне, мощному и скорострельному оружию. И всё это появилось под конец XIX века. Ну что же, начнем.

Начало XX века — Первая мировая война


Так сложилось исторически, что у Российской империи конца XIX — начала XX были огромные проблемы с производственными мощностями. По этой причине множество патентов были забракованы и отправлены на полки архивов. Серьезным препятствием для перспективных военных изобретений также стала закостенелость Верховного главнокомандования, в частности, Артиллерийского комитета. Так, запатентованный в 1900 году Борисом Григорьевичем Луцким бронеавтомобиль на основе созданного им же грузовика не был принят военными. В свою очередь, "моторные телеги" Луцкого были одобрены самим императором и закуплены … военным ведомством. Не менее интересным выглядел проект бронеавтомобиля подъесаула Михаила Накашидзе. Машина была заказана князем у французской фирмы "Шаррон, Жирардо э Вуа", акционером которой он и являлся. Стоит отметить то, что бронеавтомобиль не является разработкой самого князя. Патент на бронемашину с пулеметной башней был получен неким Гюйэ. Хотя кому какое дело, правда? Машина-то известна как "бронеавтомобиль Нашидзе"…

"Накашидзе-Шаррон" на испытаниях


Итак, участник Русско-японской войны 1905 года предложил испытать бронеавтомобиль в бою. Некоторое время командование Маньчжурской армии колебалось, ибо автомобиль стоил порядка 30 тыс. рублей, что составляло немалую сумму по тем временам. Расходы на себя взял сам князь Накашидзе. Броневик, вооруженный одним 8-мм Гочкиссом, был доставлен и готов к испытаниям в реальном бою, но война с японцами закончилась. Тогда броневик доставили в Петербург для испытаний. "Накашидзе-Шаррон" была низко оценена военными: машина вязла в размякшем грунте; кренилась и норовила завалиться на бок (из-за тяжелой башни и высокого профиля автомобиля); максимальная скорость автомашины ограничивалась 20 км/ч, несмотря на заявленные 64 км/ч (причиной тому послужило качество шин, которые при превышении скорости в 20 км/ч расслаивались); огромный круг разворота (диаметр порядка 12,5 метра); невозможность стрельбы на ходу сыграли свою роль, и проект не был принят на вооружение. Стоит заметить, что броневик интересен тем, что помимо роли вспомогательной огневой точки, он мог выполнять функцию транспортера пехоты (4-5 человек в боевом отделении). По легенде, князь на свой страх и риск заказал заводу-изготовителю 12 машин. 6 броневиков французы успели выслать в Российскую империю, но они «не дошли» до заказчика (2 из 6 достались немцам, судьба оставшихся 10 неизвестна). Точку на развитие "Накашидзе-Шаррон" поставила смерть князя 25 августа 1906 года при покушении на Петра Столыпина.

Бронавтомобиль "Накашидзе-Шаррон"


Время шло, армии, готовясь к грядущей войне, перевооружались стремительными темпами. И вот великая война началась. Русская императорская армия нуждалась в технике, поэтому в срочном порядке началось производство бронеавтомобилей на Ижорском заводе. Помимо выпуска собственных бронемашин (Руссо-Балт, тип С), завод занимался «производством» (переделкой гражданских авто в броневики) на основе грузовика "Гарфорд" ("Гарфорд-Путилов"), 3-х тонного "Паккарда", "Маннесман-Мулага". Стоит отметить, что помимо промышленного производства автомобили бронировались кустарно, в полевых условиях. Первая автопулеметная рота, вооруженная 8-ю "Руссо-Балт, тип С" и тремя грузовиками (бронированным "Маннесман-Мулагом" и обычными "Бенц", "Олдайс"), убыла на фронт 12 октября 1914 года.

Руссо-Балт Тип С

Пушечно-пулеметный "Гарфорд-Путилов"

Пушечный "Маннесманн-Мулаг"


9 ноября 1915 года на фронт убыл 26-й автопулеметный взвод под командованием штабс-капитана Виктора Родионовича Поплавко. Это боевое подразделение особенно интересно нам — оно комплектовалась одним грузовиком "Джеффери-Куод".

"Джеффери-Куод"


Особенности "американца": полный привод, мощный двигатель (4-цилиндровый рядный двигатель жидкостного охлаждения мощностью 36 л.с.), огромная грузоподъемность (две тонны груза), не остались без внимания инициативного штабс-капитана. Так, забронировав грузовик и установив пулеметы Максима (в тыльной части кабины и спереди), В.Р. Поплавко создал машину поддержки для подвоза боеприпасов, эвакуации подбитой техники. Машина, получившая имя "Чародей", была оценена военными: она без труда вытягивала с поле боя даже "толстяка" "Гарфорд-Путилов" (весом 8,5 тонны). Неудивительно, ведь у "Джеффери-Куода" были все задатки стать машиной поддержки. Вдохновленный успехами своей бронемашины, штабс-капитан в январе 1916 года модернизируют "Чародея" путем установки двух якорей-кошек с тросами, лебедки, разборным мостом. Так "Джеффери" стал инженерной машиной, способной прорывать несколько ряды колючей проволоки и растаскивать "рогатки.

Поплавковский "Чародей"


Наблюдавший за применением "Чародея" штабс-капитан Поплавко задумал использовать мощный броневик как средство прорыва — машина с десантом порядка 10 штурмовиков прорывала линии с колючей проволокой и продвигалась вплотную к окопам, у которых десант, высадившись, уничтожает оборонявшихся и занимает окопы. Изложив свое предложение в штабе 7-й армии и получив одобрение, капитан весной 1916 года отправляет "Чародея" на испытания. 8 августа 1916 года Ижорский завод получил заказ на изготовление 30 бронемашин. Заказ был выполнен в скором порядке — уже к концу сентября. Машины, выпущенные ижорцами и получившие обозначение "Джеффери-Поплавко", отличались от проектного образца: полноценный десантный отсек, спроектированный штабс-капитаном, отсутствовал как таковой. Но, несмотря на отсутствие отсека, броневик мог все-таки брать пару человек десанта. По всем же остальным параметрам машина не отличалась от задумки автора. Корпус машины был полностью закрыт и обшивался стальными листами толщиной 7 мм, которые, в свою очередь, крепились к стальному каркасу заклепками. В передней части автомобиля размещался движок, доступ к которому можно было получить как извне, так изнутри. В угловатой кабине, размещенной позади моторного отделения, слева сидел водитель, справа — командир машины, по совместительству пулеметчик. Вход и выход из броневика осуществлялся через дверь с правой стороны корпуса. В задней части корпуса размещался броневой короб, в котором можно было перевозить припасы, запчасти, горючее или … десантников. Вооружение — 2 пулемета системы Максима 1910 года с боезапасом в 6000 патронов.

Бронеавтомобили "Ланчестер" (в центре), "Джеффери-Поплавко" (справа и слева от "Ланчестера")


Все собранные машины были объединены в бронированный автомобильный дивизион особого назначения, в составе которого и провоевали до 1917, когда Российская империя "пошла по швам". Кстати, по этой же причине Ижорский завод не смог выполнить второй заказ на 90 автомобилей этого типа (хотя один броневик все-таки успели изготовить). После Октябрьской революции бронемашины, оставшиеся на территории Украины, окончательно перешли под контроль вооруженных сил УНР (фактически же машины были под контролем украинцев с марта 1917 года). "Джеффери-Поплавко" долго не находился под флагом Украинской Республики. В 1920-м году, после развала независимого украинского государства, броневики «разошлись по рукам», но все же большая часть досталась РККА, в составе которой позже применялись на всех участках фронтов Гражданской войны.

Захваченные "Джеффери-Поплавко" и "Ланчестер"


Вывод


Дабы подвести какой-то логический итог, хочется от себя добавить, что несмотря на то, что машина не была выполнена и не применялась в соответствии с задумкой ее создателя, В.Р. Поплавко, идея, заложенная в машине, опередила свое время и доказала необходимость наличия подобного рода вооружения в армии нашей Родины.
Автор: Владимир Кудиевский


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 12
  1. амурец 1 ноября 2015 06:18
    Если автор что-то новенькое накопал в архивах так полностью одобряю.А кое-что новое нашёл уже в первой публикации.Впервые встретил публикацию о "Чародее".О Викторе Родионовиче Поплавко читал,но не знал что он создал и такую машину.
  2. ван-зай 1 ноября 2015 07:22
    Пардон. Так бронетранспортёры, или бронеавтомобили? Как бы это не одно и то же.
    1. igordok 1 ноября 2015 07:50
      Цитата: ван-зай
      Пардон. Так бронетранспортёры, или бронеавтомобили? Как бы это не одно и то же.

      Аналогичный вопрос. К началу ВОВ, у нас были броневики, а вот бронеТРАНСПОРТЕРОВ не было. И их очень не хватало на весь период ВОВ.
    2. Stroke 1 ноября 2015 12:55
      Все правильно, не одно и тоже. В данной статье хотелось бы быть более логичным, "подвести" читателя к теме, а не вот так вот, бац, и сразу начать рассказывать о "Джеффери-Поплавко", поэтому написано так как вы видите.
    3. фа2998 1 ноября 2015 14:17
      Вы правы,ни в царской не в Красной Армии не было бронетранспортеров.Историю бронеавтомобилей следует рассматривать отдельно.Первые бронетранспортеры у нас были ленд-лизовские.А свои появились после 2-й Мировой. hi
  3. амурец 1 ноября 2015 08:22
    Пока впервой статье и то то есть.Чародей задумывался как бронетранспортёр,а использовался и транспортёр и как бронемашина.Упор на наших заводах делался только на бронемашины.Первые бронетраспортёры появились в СССР когда пришли американские по Ленд-лизу.
    1. igordok 1 ноября 2015 09:55
      Цитата: амурец
      Пока впервой статье и то то есть.

      Спасибо. Будем ждать.
  4. Dimon19661 1 ноября 2015 10:32
    Цитата: igordok
    Цитата: ван-зай
    Пардон. Так бронетранспортёры, или бронеавтомобили? Как бы это не одно и то же.

    Аналогичный вопрос. К началу ВОВ, у нас были броневики, а вот бронеТРАНСПОРТЕРОВ не было. И их очень не хватало на весь период ВОВ.

    +
    Но за статью-спасибо.
  5. moskowit 1 ноября 2015 10:57
    Спасибо, интересно. Желающим узнать более, рекомендую труд Максима Коломийца
  6. 31rus 1 ноября 2015 11:22
    Ну уважаемые,если быть уж совсем точным,то еще Блинов изобретатель гусли при демонстрации своей "телеги"на гуслях сажал в эту самую "телегу"в два раза больше пассажиров,в дальнейшем француз использовал гусеницы для извесного "Руссо-Балта","Мерседеса",были и бронированные версии которые также могли перевозить кроме экипажа и пехоту
  7. MooH 1 ноября 2015 17:27
    Довольно бодрое начало, тем более для нового автора. Посмотрим как цикл продолжится. Просьба к автору: подписывайте пожалуйста снимки, люди, которые знают и понимают, что на них изображено - это не ваша аудитория wink
  8. boroda64 1 ноября 2015 20:35
    ...
    "и опыт
    - сын ошибок трудных...."
    / учились - делали - ошибались - исправляли ошибки../
    1. SectaHaki 28 ноября 2015 21:33
      "Ошибки" то, в чем? БТР это для трусоф, неумеющих встречать грудью пули ловить во все места осколки от минометных мин врага, как какие-то всех учили?

      "Мина" или "Миномет" в статье и комментариях нет даже полраза...

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня