How the military prevented the third world war

How the military prevented the third world war



In the United States, the incident 53 a year ago, at the height of the Caribbean Crisis, which almost led to a nuclear war between the USA and the USSR, was made public. The commander of the start-up calculation of a secret missile base in Okinawa received an order to launch four missiles equipped with thermonuclear warheads. The officer did not execute the order immediately and contacted the command, which the order was canceled. The details of the operation are still secret.

Captain bassett

October 28 1962, captain William Bassett received an order to launch four MGM-13 Mace cruise missiles with megaton thermonuclear warheads in Vladivostok, Beijing, Pyongyang and Hanoi, writes the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists. Similar orders were received by the commanders of the calculations of three more secret bases of the United States located in Okinawa - all 32 missiles were supposed to take off. The verification of the decrypted document confirmed its authenticity, the international situation was critical — the very height of the Caribbean Crisis — however, Basset was embarrassed by the fact that the declared level of combat readiness of DEFCON 2 (on the verge of nuclear war) did not comply with the order. The US military was trained to use nuclear weapon with DEFCON 1 (nuclear war is inevitable).

The captain ordered to suspend the preparation of missiles for launch and ordered two soldiers to shoot the lieutenant who was standing at the launch console if he tried to launch before increasing the level of combat readiness or without Basset’s instructions. It seemed strange to the commander of the calculation that among the planned targets there was only one city of the Soviet Union - the main potential opponent of the United States at that time. "I also have only two goals in the Soviets," the duty officer from the neighboring base told William.

- When it all started, the captain warned us: this can be a real attack, and maybe the biggest mistake in our lives. “If this is a failure and we do not start up, do not wait for any reward or recognition,” George Bordn, a member of the start-up team, recounted the words of the commander. - After the incident, he strictly forbade us to tell about what happened.

The senior officer contacted the command and then canceled the order to launch the missiles. William Bassett died in the 2011 year, without telling anyone anything. Four years later, the US Air Force command allowed Bordna to tell about the incident in Okinawa. Journalists and scientists demanded that the Pentagon declassify official information about the incident half a century ago.

Lieutenant Colonel Petrov


Similar история was in the Soviet Union. On the night of September 26, 1983, Lieutenant Colonel Stanislav Petrov took over as operational duty officer in the Serpukhov-15 bunker, a command post of the early warning system of a missile attack launched a year earlier. Unlike the American counterpart, our satellites did not look at the territory of the United States, but at the sky above it, as it were, from the side, from a remote point of orbit. Due to this, the rocket taking off was clearly visible against the background of a dark and cold sky in both the optical and infrared ranges. The task of the operational duty officer was to report the launch of the American ICBM to the country's leadership.

- We gave them extra time to think, 10-12 minutes. The rest of the 15 minutes is too late to think: you need to give the order to the launch calculations to spin the rocket gyros and enter the flight task, ”said Petrov.

The viewpoint “from beyond the horizon” was used by the Soviet military to minimize false alarms due to light reflected from snow and clouds. However, that night, for the first time in a year, the American bases, the sun and cirrus clouds in the troposphere were located in such a way that the light reflected from the latter deceived one of four Soviet satellites who were observing the American sky at that moment, and he transmitted a message about the launch of the rocket. And then about three more - from the same base. Petrov’s choice was small: either press a button and shift the burden of decision making onto Yuri Andropov with his “nuclear briefcase”. Or do not press and take responsibility for themselves. Petrov did not click.

“In those two or three minutes, you really won't analyze anything,” explained Petrov. - It remains intuition. I had two arguments. First, rocket attacks from one base do not begin, they take off from all at once. Secondly, a computer is by definition a fool. You never know what he will take over the launch ...

After the incident, changes were made to the EWS, and Lieutenant Colonel Petrov resigned from the army. The incident became known only after 10 years, and in the XXI century, Stanislav Petrov won several rare awards - for example, the crystal statue “Hand holding the globe” with the engraved “Man who prevented a nuclear war” from the UN and the World Citizens Association . Or the Dresden Prize awarded for the prevention of armed conflict.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

30 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. crazyrom 1 November 2015 06: 53 New
    • 19
    • 0
    +19
    It was lucky that thinking people were on the post. Today it wouldn’t work, look at the American police. There, according to the instructions, if the "suspect" does not comply with the order, shooting. And the fact that he is paralyzed or a weak old man does not matter, the order "hands up" is one for all.
    1. Blacks 1 November 2015 11: 08 New
      • 10
      • 0
      +10
      I do not think this is a correct comparison.
      It’s just that people won’t be put in a rocket launcher, but only after careful selection and monitoring of a person’s condition, because the fate of the world literally depends on his decision, and no one wants to burn out in a nuclear fire due to an error.
      In general, the guys are great! thanks to them we are alive.
      1. Aryan 2 November 2015 01: 35 New
        • 3
        • 0
        +3
        Shaw pen-syndy tryndet that declassified documents?
        Who .. WHO gave such an order is not said
        What is the name of this person
        1. Blacks 2 November 2015 02: 16 New
          • 0
          • 0
          0
          What will the name give? the main thing is that a person could not ... (conscience), and you? or me? ... that's why they won’t take us. too many emotions
        2. free 2 November 2015 08: 00 New
          • 0
          • 0
          0
          I agree no declassification is out of the question!
    2. Blacks 2 November 2015 08: 43 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      and I’ll answer for the police (I’ve lived in the states for more than a year) they always acted very correctly and correctly, I still don’t understand how much patience they had.
      For example, I came to Estonia (I live here), and became a witness, so I was in the bullpen, and without options ...
  2. PlotnikoffDD 1 November 2015 07: 12 New
    • 14
    • 0
    +14
    The senior calculation contacted the command and then canceled the order to launch missiles.

    So the order was? Who gave it away? For what purpose?
    1. Noisy 1 November 2015 09: 21 New
      • 5
      • 0
      +5
      The fact is that the order comes through the ACS system in the form of a code phrase. The system crashed and issued a "phantom".
    2. chunga-changa 1 November 2015 12: 30 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Journalists and scientists demanded that the Pentagon declassify official information about the incident half a century ago.

      Publish - find out.
  3. TVM - 75 1 November 2015 07: 46 New
    • 6
    • 0
    +6
    This event suggests that any person in a certain situation can become the arbiter of many fates. And this decision depends on how the country teaches and educates its children.
  4. Andryukha G 1 November 2015 08: 02 New
    • 6
    • 0
    +6
    They do not touch and threaten Russia, but they fear and respect - for one simple reason, it has a strategic missile forces.
  5. Boris55 1 November 2015 08: 32 New
    • 2
    • 1
    +1
    And if there really was an attack - would we be sitting on this site now?
    1. NordUral 1 November 2015 22: 54 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      In any case, they would not sit. it would still be empty anyway, only a little later, in 5-10 or 15 minutes, but it would be when it was decided. Both with us and the Americans. And thanks to these peasants, Russian and American, that they had sober and smart heads! I hope that now the Americans are on duty the same. With ours, and I have no doubt, they will not drift and will react properly to a false command.
  6. ALEA IACTA EST 1 November 2015 08: 40 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    And if on the site of Petrov or Basset there was some kind of a club ... belay
    1. The comment was deleted.
    2. ivanovbg 1 November 2015 14: 46 New
      • 4
      • 0
      +4
      Quote: ALEA IACTA EST
      And if on the site of Petrov or Basset there was some kind of a club ... belay


      Then we would communicate in a slightly different setting, squatting near the tribal fire :)
      1. nemets 1 November 2015 21: 20 New
        • 2
        • 0
        +2
        hardly. most likely a gas-dust cloud would fly in space
  7. guzik007 1 November 2015 09: 57 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    And so I think that the troops of the Strategic Missile Forces are going through the most severe selection according to all personal criteria, psycho-emotional characteristics, analytical abilities and much more that we have, that they and only because of this we are still sitting at the computers, and not on the cloud))
    1. 16112014nk 1 November 2015 16: 11 New
      • -1
      • 0
      -1
      A friend said: he served an emergency in the Strategic Missile Forces in the 90s, the driver of "Topol". There was a failure in the system, the rocket began to stand upright (as he said, everything is on the machine, if you do not cancel it, it stands upright and starts). At the last moment, they still managed to give a "cancellation".
  8. crambol 1 November 2015 10: 41 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1



    _ Someone from the greats once said that war is too serious a thing to trust in the military. War must be dealt with by politics.
    Life twice crossed out these platitudes.


    1. region58 1 November 2015 13: 51 New
      • 3
      • 0
      +3
      Quote: crambol
      Someone from the greats once said that war is too serious a thing to trust in the military. War must be dealt with by politics.
      Life twice crossed out these platitudes.

      All the same, the military are realists, more than others understand what life and death are and the consequences of decisions made. However, there are exceptions ...
  9. partizan86 1 November 2015 13: 41 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Rather, someone wanted to pit China with the USSR in this way, burying the performer in one, but it did not work out.
    1. Saburo 1 November 2015 13: 48 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Then China did not have a bomb yet.
  10. Steppe 1 November 2015 14: 08 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    what Now, I believe that the war will begin. I think that those people did not prevent it, but only postponed the time of its beginning. Is it in vain that they are driving their soldiers and equipment striped to our borders and conducting military exercises, are they putting a bunch of their filthy dollars into this venture? After all, it’s not on a guided tour, not a herbarium to collect and not butterflies to catch, they accumulate military forces on our borders.
  11. igordok 1 November 2015 14: 27 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    We don’t know much. And we will never know. Maybe it's for the best.
  12. serg2108 1 November 2015 15: 19 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    well well done that did not press the button ,,,, well, it would be interesting to read and read about such cases in more detail .. like in some programs about UFO laughing I heard that the green men checked both the Americans and us (the forces of nuclear deterrence), I don’t remember exactly which unit we had was able to disconnect the missiles from launch!
  13. penguin 1 November 2015 15: 43 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    I propose a drink for sanity
    drinks
  14. Andrey591 1 November 2015 16: 34 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    But is it known to the one who launches what specific cities or bases rockets are aimed at? According to him, this is a duck. "It seemed strange to the calculation commander that there was only one city of the Soviet Union among the goals set."
    1. Throw 1 November 2015 17: 21 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      50 years ago, emnip, target designation (flight algorithm) were introduced "manually" by installing the appropriate guidance unit on the rocket. With a designation on it goals.
  15. python2a 1 November 2015 18: 12 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    A real smart officer with iron nerves and a sober-minded head!
  16. Director 2 November 2015 01: 38 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    More such officers
  17. alleksSalut4507 2 November 2015 19: 42 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Quote: region58
    All the same, the military are realists, more than others understand what life and death are and the consequences of decisions made. However, there are exceptions ...

    Probably - more realists, and even more Brains in serious military institutions.

Как военные предотвратили третью мировую войну

Как военные предотвратили третью мировую войну


В США предан огласке инцидент, произошедший 53 года назад, в разгар "Карибского кризиса" и едва не приведший к ядерной войне между США и СССР. Командир пускового расчета секретной ракетной базы на Окинаве получил приказ на запуск четырех оснащенных термоядерными боеголовками ракет. Офицер не стал выполнять распоряжение немедленно и связался с командованием, которое приказ отменило. Подробности операции до сих пор секретны.

Капитан Бассет


28 октября 1962 года капитан Уильям Бассет получил приказ о пуске четырех крылатых ракет MGM-13 Mace с мегатонными термоядерными боеголовками по Владивостоку, Пекину, Пхеньяну и Ханою, пишет Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists. Аналогичные распоряжения получили командиры расчетов еще трех расположенных на Окинаве секретных баз США - всего должны были взлететь 32 ракеты. Проверка расшифрованного документа подтвердила его подлинность, международная обстановка была критическая - самый разгар "Карибского кризиса", - однако Бассета смутил тот факт, что объявленный уровень боеготовности DEFCON 2 (на грани ядерной войны) не соответствовал приказу. Американские военные были обучены применять ядерное оружие при DEFCON 1 (ядерная война неизбежна).

Капитан распорядился приостановить подготовку ракет к запуску и приказал двум солдатам застрелить стоявшего у пускового пульта лейтенанта, если тот попытается произвести запуск до повышения уровня боеготовности или без его, Бассета указания. Командиру расчета показалось странным и то, что среди намеченных целей был всего один город Советского Союза - главного на тот момент потенциального противника США. "У меня тоже всего две цели в Советах", - сообщил Уильяму дежурный офицер с соседней базы.

- Когда все началось, капитан предупредил нас: это может быть настоящей атакой, а может быть и самой большой ошибкой в нашей жизни. Если это сбой и мы не осуществим пуск, никакой награды или признания не ждите, - пересказал слова командира член пускового расчета Джордж Бордн. - После инцидента он строго запретил нам рассказывать о случившемся.

Старший расчета связался с командованием и то отменило приказ на запуск ракет. Уильям Бассет умер в 2011 году, так никому ничего и не поведав. Еще через четыре года командование ВВС США разрешило Бордну рассказать о происшествии на Окинаве. Журналисты и ученые потребовали от Пентагона рассекретить официальную информацию об инциденте полувековой давности.

Подполковник Петров


Схожая история была и в Советском Союзе. В ночь на 26 сентября 1983 года подполковник Станислав Петров заступил оперативным дежурным в бункере "Серпухов-15", командном пункте запущенной годом ранее системы раннего предупреждения о ракетном нападении. В отличие от американского аналога, наши спутники смотрели не на территорию США, а на небо над ней как бы сбоку, с удаленной точки орбиты. Благодаря этому взлетающая ракета была хорошо заметна на фоне темного и холодного неба как в оптическом, так и в инфракрасном диапазонах. Задачей оперативного дежурного было сообщить о пуске американских МБР руководству страны.

- Мы давали им дополнительное время для размышлений, 10-12 минут. Остальные 15 минут думать уже поздно: надо отдавать приказ пусковым расчетам раскрутить гироскопы ракет и ввести полетное задание, - рассказал Петров.

Точку зрения "из-за горизонта" советские военные применили, чтобы свести к минимуму ложные срабатывания из-за света, отраженного от снега и облаков. Однако в ту ночь впервые за год американские базы, солнце и перистые облака в тропосфере расположились таким образом, что отраженный от последних свет обманул один из четырех советских спутников, наблюдавших в тот момент за американским небом, и тот передал сообщение о пуске ракеты. А затем еще о трех - с одной и той же базы. Выбор у Петрова был невелик: либо нажать на кнопку и переложить груз принятия решения на Юрия Андропова с его "ядерным чемоданчиком". Либо не нажимать и принять ответственность на себя. Петров не нажал.

- За те две-три минуты ничего толком не проанализируешь, - объяснил Петров. - Остается интуиция. Два аргумента у меня было. Во-первых, ракетные нападения с одной базы не начинаются, взлетают со всех сразу. Во-вторых, компьютер по определению - дурак. Мало ли что он за пуск примет...

После инцидента в СПРН были внесены изменения, а подполковник Петров уволился из армии. Об инциденте стало известно лишь через 10 лет, а в XXI веке Станислав Петров стал обладателем нескольких редких наград - например, хрустальной статуэтки "Рука, держащая земной шар" с выгравированной надписью "Человеку, который предотвратил ядерную войну" - от ООН и Ассоциации граждан мира. Или Дрезденской премии, вручаемой за предотвращение вооруженных конфликтов.
Автор: Антон Валагин
Первоисточник: http://rg.ru/2015/10/29/atom-site.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 30
  1. crazyrom 1 ноября 2015 06:53
    Повезло что на посту оказались думающие люди. Сегодня такое бы не прокатило, смотрите на американскую полицию. Там по инструкции, если "подозреваемый" не выполняет приказ, стрельба. А то что он парализован или немощный старик, не важно, приказ "руки вверх" один для всех.
    1. BlackS 1 ноября 2015 11:08
      Не думаю, что это корректное сравнение.
      Людей просто так за пульт запуска ракет не посадят, а только после тщательного отбора и контроля состояния человека, ведь от его решения буквально зависит судьба мира, и никому нет желания сгореть в ядерном огне из-за ошибки.
      А вообще ребята молодцы! благодаря им мы с вами живы.
      1. Ариец 2 ноября 2015 01:35
        Шо пен-сы трындят, что рассекретили документы?
        Кто.. КТО отдавал такой приказ не сказано
        Назовите имя этого человека
        1. BlackS 2 ноября 2015 02:16
          Что даст имя? главное, что человек не смог... (совесть), а вы? или я?...потому нас и не возьмут. слишком много эмоций
        2. свободный 2 ноября 2015 08:00
          согласен не о каком рассекречивании не идет речь!
    2. BlackS 2 ноября 2015 08:43
      и за полицию отвечу (больше года в штатах прожил) всегда действовали очень корректно и правильно, до сих пор не пойму как терпения у них хватало.
      Для примера приехал в Эстонию (живу я здесь), и стал свидетелем, так меня в КПЗ, и без вариантов...
  2. PlotnikoffDD 1 ноября 2015 07:12
    Старший расчета связался с командованием и то отменило приказ на запуск ракет.

    Так значит приказ был? Кто его отдал? С какой целью?
    1. Шумный 1 ноября 2015 09:21
      Дело в том что приказ приходит по системе АСУ в виде кодовой фразы. Система сбойнула и выдала "фантом".
    2. chunga-changa 1 ноября 2015 12:30
      Журналисты и ученые потребовали от Пентагона рассекретить официальную информацию об инциденте полувековой давности.

      Опубликуют - узнаем.
  3. ТВМ - 75 1 ноября 2015 07:46
    Это событие говорит о том, что любой человек в определённой ситуации может стать вершителем многих судеб. И от того, как страна учит и воспитывает своих детей, и зависит это решение.
  4. Андрюха Г 1 ноября 2015 08:02
    Россию не трогают и не угрожают, а боятся и уважают - по одной простой причине у неё есть РВСН.
  5. Boris55 1 ноября 2015 08:32
    А если бы действительно было нападение - сидели бы мы сейчас на этом сайте?
    1. NordUral 1 ноября 2015 22:54
      В любом случае не сидели бы. пуст все равно бы был произведен, только немногим позднее, минут через 5-10 или 15, но был бы, когда определились. Как у нас, так и у американцев. И спасибо этим мужикам, русскому и американцу, что у них были трезвые и умные головы! Надеюсь, что и сейчас у американцев дежурят такие же. С нашими и не сомневаюсь, не сдрейфят и на ложную команду отреагируют должным образом.
  6. ALEA IACTA EST 1 ноября 2015 08:40
    А если бы на месте Петрова или Бассета оказался какой-нибудь дуболом... belay
    1. Комментарий был удален.
    2. ivanovbg 1 ноября 2015 14:46
      Цитата: ALEA IACTA EST
      А если бы на месте Петрова или Бассета оказался какой-нибудь дуболом... belay


      Тогда мы бы общались в несколько иной обстановке, сидя на корточки возле племенного огня :)
      1. nemets 1 ноября 2015 21:20
        вряд ли. скорее всего в космосе бы летало газо-пылевое облако
  7. guzik007 1 ноября 2015 09:57
    А так думаю,что в войска РВСН идет жесточайший отбор по всем личностным критериям,психоэмоциональным характеристикам,аналитическим способностям и многое другое,что у нас ,что у них и только благодаря этому мы до сих пор сидим за компами ,а не на облаке))
    1. 16112014nk 1 ноября 2015 16:11
      Знакомый рассказывал: служил срочную в РВСН в 90х водителем "Тополя". Произошёл сбой в системе, ракета стала вставать в вертикальное положение(как он говорил, там всё на автомате-если не отменить, она встаёт вертикально и стартует). В последний момент всё таки успели дать "отмену".
  8. crambol 1 ноября 2015 10:41



    _ Кто-то из великих как-то сказал, что война слишком серьёзная вещь, чтобы доверять её военным. Войной должны заниматься политики.
    Жизнь дважды перечеркнула эти банальности.


    1. region58 1 ноября 2015 13:51
      Цитата: crambol
      Кто-то из великих как-то сказал, что война слишком серьёзная вещь, чтобы доверять её военным. Войной должны заниматься политики.
      Жизнь дважды перечеркнула эти банальности.

      Военные всё таки реалисты, больше других понимают что такое жизнь и смерть и последствия от принятых решений. Впрочем есть и исключения...
  9. partizan86 1 ноября 2015 13:41
    Скорее кто то хотел стравить Китай с СССР таким способом, за одно похоронив исполнителя, но не вышло.
    1. Saburo 1 ноября 2015 13:48
      Тогда у Китая ещё не было бомбы.
  10. Степь 1 ноября 2015 14:08
    what Теперь, я считаю, что война всё же начнется. Думаю, что те люди не предотвратили ее, а лишь отложили время ее начала. Зря что ли полосатые к нашим границам свою солдатню и технику сгоняют и военные учения проводят, кучу своих поганых долларов в эту затею вкладывают? Ведь не на экскурсию же, не гербарий собирать и не бабочек ловить они на наших границах военные силы накапливают.
  11. igordok 1 ноября 2015 14:27
    Мы много не знаем. И никогда не узнаем. Может это и к лучшему.
  12. serg2108 1 ноября 2015 15:19
    ну молодцы что не нажали на кнопку ,,,, ну вот интересно было бы ознакомится и прочитать про такие случае более подробно.. вроде в не которых передачах об нло laughing слышал что зеленые человечки проверяли и американцев и нас (силы ядерного сдерживания ) ,точно не помню какое у нас подразделение смогло отключить ракеты от запуска !
  13. Pinguin 1 ноября 2015 15:43
    предлагаю выпить за здравомыслие
    drinks
  14. Andrey591 1 ноября 2015 16:34
    А разве известно тому, кто производит пуск, на какие конкретно города или базы направлены ракеты? По ему это утка."Командиру расчета показалось странным и то, что среди намеченных целей был всего один город Советского Союза ".
    1. Lance 1 ноября 2015 17:21
      50 лет назад, емнип, целеуказание (полетный алгоритм) вводились "вручную", путем установки на ракету соответствующего блока наведения. С обозначением на нем цели.
  15. python2a 1 ноября 2015 18:12
    Настоящий умный офицер с железными нервами и трезво мыслящей головой!
  16. Директор 2 ноября 2015 01:38
    Побольше бы таких офицеров
  17. alleksSalut4507 2 ноября 2015 19:42
    Цитата: region58
    Военные всё таки реалисты, больше других понимают что такое жизнь и смерть и последствия от принятых решений. Впрочем есть и исключения...

    Наверное - больше реалисты, да и Мозгов поболее в серьёзных военных учереждениях .

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня