Military Review

Air Kings of the Great Battle

2
Air Kings of the Great BattleAfter the flight of the Wrangel army from Crimea, more than 100 Russian pilots settled in the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes (KSHS), which was called Yugoslavia until October 3, 1929. In 1921, the Society of Russian Air Force Officers was founded there. fleet in the Kingdom of CXC. About 30 pilots entered the Royal Air Force. Among them, at the Novi Sad airbase, Colonel Ivan Aleksandrovich Loiko served as a civilian instructor. He was only 31 years old, but behind his shoulders - more than 500 sorties.


Pilot from god


Loyko graduated from Kachin Flight School and was released as a lieutenant. From 1 May 1915 of the year to 1 of September 1916 of the year on the Moran aircraft, Lieutenant Loiko conducted 156 aerial reconnaissance with a total duration of over 189 hours. Flew Ivan Aleksandrovich and the bombing. So, September 24 1915, he managed to achieve a direct hit 10-pound bomb in the Austrian field gun.

20 September 1916 of the year on the Romanian front of Loyko on the fighter Nyupor X for the first time shot down an enemy aircraft. And after six days he repeated his success. December 27 1916, Ivan Alexandrovich achieved a third victory, knocking down the Austrian Brandenburg C-1. Both pilots were captured by Russian soldiers. In 1917, Loiko shot down three more (counted) enemy planes, although he himself believed that he shot down 10 planes altogether.

In early 1918, Loiko served with the hetman in aviation Ukrainian state, and from September 1, 1918 - in the Volunteer Army. In September 1919 he was promoted to captain, and in May 1920 - to colonel.

In Novi Sad, in addition to other aircraft, Loyko flew a Brege-14 single-engine French biplane. The fate of these cars is curious. The first Breguet-14 bomber took off on November 21 1916. The weight of an empty aircraft is 1086 kg, and the loaded one is 1765 kg. Motor Reno 12 Fox horsepower 300 allowed the aircraft to reach a maximum speed of 177 km / h and cruising 152 km / h. Flight range was about 900 km.

How did the Breguet-14 bomber hit the KCS? At the end of November 1920, a French steamer arrived in Constantinople, on board of which were Bregen-20 14 bombers, which should have been delivered to Sevastopol in Wrangel's army. But, alas, the baron was already in Constantinople on the yacht "Lucull" and he was not up to the bombers. As a result, the aircraft resold in KSHS.

BACK TO THE USSR


In Novi Sad, Loyko clashed with white officers and, together with another civilian instructor Pavel Fedorovich Kachan, decided to fly over to the USSR. Curiously, both pilots were born in 1892 year and both in peasant families. Only Loiko in Belarus, and Kachan in the Taurida province. Pilots on the map paved the 650-kilometer route from the airfield in Novi Sad to the Soviet city of Kamenetz-Podolsk. 6 August 1923 at 9 in the morning, when everyone went to breakfast at the airport, Loiko and Kachan pulled Bregu 14 out of the hangar and lifted it into the air.

Later, Loiko told Soviet journalists:

“The weather was cloudless, only a significantly strong head-wind from the left was blowing.

The Serbian-Romanian border, one hundred kilometers from the place of departure, passed at an altitude of 2700 meters.

Comparing the distance traveled with the time elapsed from the moment of departure, we decided that the path would certainly be traversed. The motor worked perfectly. But a solid cloudy sea opened ahead, hiding on the horizon ahead of us. We pass a little to the left near the mountain "Temishvara" (in 130 kilometers from the place of departure) and go above the clouds, since the height of the cloud layer is much lower than the Carpathian ridge, which we must cross.

Taking the height of 4000 meters, we saw that there were no gaps or openings anywhere in the clouds, through which, even though occasionally seeing the ground, we could navigate.

The cloud layer was thick and solid. Far ahead was the brightly lit huge shaft of clouds lying on the high peaks of the Carpathian Range. We did not have a compass, but we did use the clock and the sun to determine our path. Motor always works well. We are flying forward, and now ... already above the shaft of clouds lying on the Carpathians. Ahead is the same boundless and continuous cloudy sea. It was decided to fly until there was enough gas ... We go ahead ... But now the engine stops, takes it again, and it repeats itself several times, finally stops and does not take it anymore. Gasoline is over.

We started just in case, hollow planning, pull ahead. The screw soon stopped, and we quickly went down and entered the cloud layer. Cutting through it, we were at an altitude of 500 meters.

The terrain is unfamiliar, deaf and uneven: there are many sheaves on narrow fields, and in some places high thick corn grows. Only at the village itself unplowed pasture is spread. They decided to go down here and rather successfully sat down with a small rental. Immediately, a man of 30 residents came running to us. We hear, speak in Russian. At first, we were delighted, believing that we had sat down on Russian territory, but by asking the name of the village and finding it on the map, we made sure that the 50 kilometers did not reach the border and sat in Bessarabia ...

In the ravine, on the very bank of the Dniester, there was a monastery in which, according to the stories of the shepherd boy he met in the ravine, one could get bread. We go in the courtyard of the monastery and immediately meet the priest and ask for bread. ”

Well, the pop quickly "sounded", and the pilots were in a Romanian prison. The Romanians returned the Breguet 14 to the KACS and were going to do the same with both pilots who were facing the death penalty there.

According to one of the versions, Loyko wrote a letter to the Romanian Colonel Fotesko, whom he knew as a pilot during the hostilities on the Romanian front in 1917. Loyko and Kachan asked to leave them in Romania and expressed their readiness to serve in her army.

Fotesko didn’t answer them, but a Romanian intelligence officer arrived in prison. He took from both pilots a subscription on non-disclosure of secrets and readiness to work in the USSR for Great Romania. After that, Loiko and Kachana were secretly smuggled across the Dniester. There, the pilots reported to the Tiraspol branch of the OGPU. They did not intend to spy on Romania’s advantage and decided to silently recruit them.

"TALES" FOR ORGANS


Loyko and Kachan were told quite funny to the organs and the Soviet press history: “We have been sitting for two months already, 6 of October, we were unexpectedly informed that we were sent to Bender to be sent through the Dniester. This still could not make us happy, because we learned that Romanians kill those who want to go to Russia on the Dniester. 7 was sent to Bender in the evening; spent the night in the stinking chamber of the guardhouse. October 8 was sent to the border company, and from there October 9 in the village. Kaukany on the cordon, where the place of crossing was chosen. There turned out to be another 9 man of Russian refugees to be ferried. We decided that if we were taken to the place of crossing separately, and not in this group, then we must run ...

However, about two o'clock in the night under a strong convoy, headed by a Romanian officer, led us all to the shore. There, the officer divided us into two groups for the crossing, and our company of four people entered Russian suspicious behavior, it was obvious that the Romanian agent was, and we were afraid that he was sent with us to kill us on the Russian side, so that In this case, the Romanians could attribute the crime to the Russian sentinel. A wire was tied to the boat so that it could be brought back, as the Romanians were afraid to give their boatman. Twice we were pulled back, as the wire strongly braked and it was impossible to advance further down the middle of the river. To all the boat was full of holes and quickly filled with water, which we did not have time to cast a flight helmet, and almost sank. Only the third time, when we turned the wire into a skein and took it with us, leaving one end tied on the Romanian coast, we safely reached the Russian coast. Suspicious Russian ran into the bushes and disappeared. We described his signs later in the Tiraspol GPU. ”

I quote these memories on the article "The collapse of aviation emigre", published in the "Air fleet Bulletin" No. 3 for May 1924.

The flight was widely covered by the Soviet press, but Yugoslav newspapers initially claimed that both pilots were killed while performing a special task. Well, when Loiko and Kachan turned up in the Land of Soviets, the newspaper Zastava (Znamya) stated that the agents of the Bolsheviks had offered Loiko and Kachan to work in Moscow at the Academy of the Air Fleet. Zhukovsky.

Alas, both were assigned a more modest role. Loiko was sent to work as an aircraft engineer at the Borispol military school of pilots (2-th VSLA), and Kachana - at the Serpukhov military school of pilots (3-В VSL).

DIFFERENT DESTINIES

In 1929, clouds were gathering over Ivan Loiko. His father-fist refused to join the collective farm, brother Nicholas ripped off the red flag from the village council. In addition, the OGPU recalled to his father that during the occupation the Poles appointed him as headman of the village. Brother and father were exiled 5 to Siberia. Regardless of this episode, two cadets of the school pushed the denunciation of Ivan. One way or another, but 14 August 1929, he was arrested and at the first interrogation told about recruiting them with Romanian intelligence. A week later, Kachana was also arrested.

4 November 1929 of the Year The Board of the OGPU drove both "ten years on the horns" under the 58 article n. 6 "Espionage". Loyko spent about a year in Butyrka, and then was sent to EON-45 - an expedition to Vaigach Island. There, the detainee prisoners worked with the civilian at the mine. “Zak” Loyko was repeatedly encouraged by thanks and monetary and clothing awards.

20 September 1934 of the year, that is, not having served half of the term, Loiko was released, but remained to work on the island as a mechanical engineer of the transport department of the Vaigach Mining Trust. Together with the "northern", he received over 500 rubles. per month. For comparison, in Moscow, the average salary of a worker in the middle of 1930-s was equal to 150 – 200 rubles, and the pension — 25 – 50 rubles. According to some data, Loiko died on the island in the 1936 year, according to others he died near Leningrad in the 1942 year.

Even less is known about Pavel Kachane. Apparently, he, too, was released early. It is known for certain that he died in the 1940 year when a new aircraft was tested.

In conclusion, I will give a brief summary of the nephews of Ivan Loiko, the sons of Nikolai’s exiled brother, Anatolia, Evgenia, and Arcadia. One of them became a rear admiral, the other - the director of the plant, the third - the chief engineer of the scientific research institute. A good career for peasant children in Belarus. Could there be such a pan-Polish?
Author:
Originator:
http://nvo.ng.ru/history/2015-10-30/15_avia.html
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 1 November 2015 07: 14 New
    +3
    Good stuff. Thanks ...
  2. Dimon19661
    Dimon19661 1 November 2015 10: 40 New
    +2
    Russian aces of the first world
    Staff Captain A.A.Kazakov - 17 wins (unofficially - 32) + 1 in the Civil War

    Captain of the French Army P.V. d'Argeeff - 15

    Captain of the second rank A.P. Seversky - 13

    Lieutenant I.V. Smirnov - 12

    Lieutenant M. Safonov - 11

    Captain B. Sergievsky - 11

    Warrant Officer E.M. Thomson - 11

    Headquarters Captain E.N. Kruten - 7

    Warrant Officer G.E.Suk - 7

    Warrant Officer I.A. Orlov - 6

    Warrant Officer O.I. Teter - 6

    Warrant Officer V.I. Yanchenko - 6

    Lt. Col. I.M. Bagrovnikov - 5

    French Army Lieutenant V.G. Fedorov - 5

    Warrant Officer Kokorin - 5

    Warrant Officer I.M.Makhlapuu - 5

    Warrant Officer A.M. Pishvanov - 5

    French Army Lieutenant Pulpe - 5

    Second-rank captain V.V. Utgoff - no exact data

    -----

Короли воздуха Великой битвы

Короли воздуха Великой битвыПосле бегства врангелевской армии из Крыма свыше 100 русских летчиков обосновались в Королевстве сербов, хорватов и словенцев (КСХС), так до 3 октября 1929 года называлась Югославия. В 1921 году там было основано Общество российских офицеров военно-воздушного флота в Королевстве СХС. Около 30 летчиков поступили в Военно-воздушные силы Королевства. В числе их на авиабазе Нови Сад служил вольнонаемным инструктором полковник Иван Александрович Лойко. Ему был всего 31 год, но за плечами – более 500 боевых вылетов.

ЛЕТЧИК ОТ БОГА


Лойко окончил Качинскую летную школу и был выпущен в чине поручика. С 1 мая 1915 года по 1 сентября 1916 года на самолете «Моран» поручик Лойко провел 156 воздушных разведок общей продолжительностью свыше 189 часов. Вылетал Иван Александрович и на бомбежку. Так, 24 сентября 1915 года он сумел добиться прямого попадания 10-фунтовой бомбой в австрийскую полевую пушку.


20 сентября 1916 года на Румынском фронте Лойко на истребителе «Ньюпор Х» впервые сбил вражеский самолет. А через шесть дней повторил свой успех. 27 декабря 1916 года Иван Александрович добился третьей победы, сбив австрийский «Бранденбург С-1». Оба пилота были взяты в плен русскими солдатами. В 1917 году Лойко сбил еще три (засчитанных) самолета противника, хотя он сам считал, что всего сбил 10 самолетов.

В начале 1918 года Лойко служил у гетмана в авиации Украинской державы, а с 1 сентября 1918 года – в Добровольческой армии. В сентябре 1919 года он был произведен в капитаны, а в мае 1920 года – в полковники.

В Нови Саде помимо других самолетов Лойко летал на одномоторном французском биплане «Бреге-14». Судьба этих машин любопытна. Первый бомбардировщик «Бреге-14» поднялся в воздух 21 ноября 1916 года. Вес пустого самолета – 1086 кг, а заправленного – 1765 кг. Мотор Reno 12 Fox мощностью 300 л.с. позволял самолету развивать максимальную скорость 177 км/ч и крейсерскую 152 км/ч. Дальность полета составляла около 900 км.

Как же бомбардировщик «Бреге-14» попал в КСХС? В конце ноября 1920 года в Константинополь прибыл французский пароход, на борту которого находились 20 бомбардировщиков «Бреге-14», которые следовало доставить в Севастополь в армию Врангеля. Но, увы, барон уже находился в Константинополе на яхте «Лукулл» и ему было не до бомбардировщиков. В итоге самолеты перепродали в КСХС.

НАЗАД В СССР


В Нови Саде Лойко конфликтовал с белыми офицерами и вместе с другим вольнонаемным инструктором Павлом Федоровичем Качаном решил перелететь в СССР. Любопытно, что оба летчика родились в 1892 году и оба в крестьянских семьях. Только Лойко в Белоруссии, а Качан – в Таврической губернии. Летчики по карте проложили 650-километровый маршрут от аэродрома в Нови Сад до советского города Каменец-Подольский. 6 августа 1923 года в 9 часов утра, когда на аэродроме все отправились на завтрак, Лойко и Качан вывели «Бреге-14» из ангара и подняли в воздух.

Позже Лойко рассказывал советским журналистам:

«Погода была безоблачная, только дул значительно сильный встречно-боковой ветер слева.

Сербско-Румынскую границу, в ста километрах от места вылета, прошли на высоте 2700 метров.

Сопоставив пройденное расстояние с протекшим от момента вылета временем, мы решили, что путь наверняка будет пройден. Мотор работал идеально. Но вот впереди открылось сплошное облачное море, скрываясь на горизонте впереди нас. Мы проходим немного левее вблизи горы «Темишвара» (в 130 километрах от места вылета) и идем над облаками, так как высота облачного слоя значительно ниже Карпатского хребта, который мы должны пересечь.

Взяв высоту в 4000 метров, мы увидели, что нигде в облаках не видно разрывов или отверстий, через которые, хоть изредка видя землю, можно было бы ориентироваться.

Слой облаков был толстый и сплошной. Далеко впереди виднелся ярко освещенный громадный вал облаков, лежащих на высоких вершинах Карпатского хребта. Компаса у нас не было, однако мы отлично пользовались часами и солнцем для определения нашего пути. Мотор неизменно работает хорошо. Мы летим вперед, и вот... уже над валом облаков, лежащих на Карпатах. Впереди все то же безбрежное и сплошное облачное море. Решено лететь до тех пор, пока хватит бензина... Идем вперед... Но вот мотор останавливается, вновь забирает, и так повторяется несколько раз, наконец, остановился и больше не забрал. Бензин кончился.

Мы начали на всякий случай, полого планируя, тянуть вперед. Винт скоро остановился, и мы, быстро спускаясь, вошли в облачный слой. Прорезав его, оказались на высоте 500 метров.

Местность незнакомая, глухая и неровная: на узких нивах много лежит снопов, а местами растет высокая густая кукуруза. Только у самой деревни расстилается невспаханный выгон. Здесь решили спуститься и довольно удачно сели с небольшим прокатом. Моментально к нам прибежало человек 30 жителей. Слышим, говорят по-русски. Сначала мы обрадовались, полагая, что сели на русской территории, но, спросив название деревни и найдя ее на карте, убедились, что не долетели километров 50 до границы и сели в Бессарабии…

В овраге, у самого берега Днестра, оказался монастырь, в котором, по рассказам встреченного в овраге пастуха-мальчика, можно было получить хлеба. Заходим во двор монастыря и сразу встречаем попа и просим хлеба».

Ну а поп оперативно «настучал», и летчики оказались в румынской тюрьме. Румыны вернули «Бреге-14» КСХС и собирались то же сделать с обоими летчиками, которым там грозила смертная казнь.

По одной из версий Лойко написал письмо румынскому полковнику Фотеско, которого знал летчиком во время боевых действий на Румынском фронте в 1917 году. Лойко и Качан просили оставить их в Румынии и выразили готовность служить в ее армии.

Фотеско им не ответил, зато в тюрьму прибыл сотрудник румынской разведки. Он взял с обоих летчиков подписку о неразглашении тайны и готовности работать в СССР на Великую Румынию. После этого Лойко и Качана тайно переправили через Днестр. Там летчики заявились в Тираспольское отделение ОГПУ. Они не собирались шпионить в пользу Румынии и о вербовке решили благополучно промолчать.

«СКАЗКИ» ДЛЯ ОРГАНОВ


Органам и советской прессе Лойко и Качан рассказали довольно забавную историю: «Сидим уже два месяца, 6 октября нам неожиданно сообщили, что нас отправляют в Бендеры для отправки через Днестр. Это нас еще не могло обрадовать, так как мы узнали, что желающих отправиться в Россию румыны убивают на Днестре. 7-го вечером нас отправили в Бендеры; ночь провели в смрадной камере гауптвахты. 8 октября отправили в пограничную роту, а оттуда 9 октября в дер. Кауканы на кордон, где было выбрано место переправы. Там оказалось еще 9 человек подлежащих переправе русских беженцев. Мы решили, что если нас поведут к месту переправы отдельно, а не в этой группе, то нужно бежать…

Однако часа в два ночи под сильным конвоем, во главе которого был румынский офицер, повели нас со всеми к берегу. Там офицер разделил нас на две группы для переправы, причем в нашу компанию из четырех человек вошел подозрительного поведения русский, по всему было видно, что румынский агент, и мы боялись, что он посылается с нами, чтобы убить нас на русской стороне, чтобы в случае чего румыны могли приписать преступление русским часовым. К лодке была привязана проволока, чтобы можно было вернуть ее обратно, так как румыны боялись дать своего лодочника. Два раза нас тянули обратно, так как проволока сильно тормозила и дальше середины реки нельзя было продвинуться. Ко всему лодка была дырявая и быстро наполнялась водой, которую мы не успевали отливать полетным шлемом, и чуть не потонули. Только в третий раз, когда мы свернули проволоку в моток и взяли с собой, оставив один конец привязанным на румынском берегу, благополучно достигли русского берега. Подозрительный русский бегом бросился в кусты и скрылся. Его приметы мы описали впоследствии в Тираспольском ГПУ».

Я цитирую данные воспоминания по статье «Развал авиационной эмигрантщины», опубликованной в «Вестнике воздушного флота» № 3 за май 1924 года.

Перелет был широко освещен советской прессой, а вот югославские газеты поначалу утверждали, что оба летчика погибли при выполнении специального задания. Ну а когда Лойко и Качан объявились в Стране Советов, то газета «Застава» («Знамя») заявила, что агенты большевиков предложили Лойко и Качану работать в Москве в Академии воздушного флота им. Жуковского.

Увы, обоим была отведена более скромная роль. Лойко отправили работать авиаинструктором в Бориспольскую военную школу летчиков (2-ю ВШЛ), а Качана – в Серпуховскую военную школу летчиков (3-ю ВШЛ).

РАЗНЫЕ СУДЬБЫ

В 1929 году над Иваном Лойко сгустились тучи. Его отец-кулак отказался вступать в колхоз, брат Николай сорвал красный флаг с сельсовета. Кроме того, ОГПУ припомнило отцу, что поляки во время оккупации назначили его старостой деревни. Брата и отца сослали на 5 лет в Сибирь. Независимо от этого эпизода два курсанта школы накатали на Ивана донос. Так или иначе, но 14 августа 1929 года он был арестован и на первом же допросе рассказал о вербовке их румынской разведкой. Через неделю арестовали и Качана.

4 ноября 1929 года Коллегия ОГПУ вкатила обоим «десять лет по рогам» по статье 58 п. 6 «Шпионаж». Около года Лойко просидел в Бутырке, а затем был отправлен в ЭОН-45 – экспедицию на остров Вайгач. Там расконвоированные заключенные вместе с вольнонаемными трудились на руднике. «Зэка» Лойко неоднократно поощрялся благодарностями и денежно-вещевыми премиями.

20 сентября 1934 года, то есть не отбыв и половины срока, Лойко был освобожден, но остался работать на острове в должности инженера-механика транспортного отдела Вайгачского горнорудного треста. Вместе с «северными» он получал свыше 500 руб. в месяц. Для сравнения, в Москве средняя заработная плата рабочего в середине 1930-х годов равнялась 150–200 руб., а пенсия – 25–50 руб. По одним данным, Лойко скончался на острове в 1936 году, по другим – погиб под Ленинградом в 1942 году.

О Павле Качане известно еще меньше. Судя по всему, он тоже был досрочно освобожден. Доподлинно известно лишь то, что он погиб в 1940 году при испытании нового самолета.

В заключение приведу краткие данные о племянниках Ивана Лойко, сыновьях сосланного брата Николая – Анатолии, Евгении и Аркадии. Один из них стал контр-адмиралом, другой – директором завода, третий – главным инженером НИИ. Неплохая карьера для крестьянских детей в Белоруссии. Могло ли быть такое в панской Польше?
Автор: Александр Широкорад
Первоисточник: http://nvo.ng.ru/history/2015-10-30/15_avia.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 2
  1. parusnik 1 ноября 2015 07:14
    Хороший материал.Спасибо...
  2. Dimon19661 1 ноября 2015 10:40
    Русские асы первой мировой-
    Штабс-капитан А.А.Казаков - 17 побед (неофициально - 32) + 1 в Гражданскую войну

    Капитан французской армии П.В.д'Аргеефф - 15

    Капитан второго ранга А.П.Северский - 13

    Поручик И.В.Смирнов - 12

    Лейтенант М.Сафонов - 11

    Капитан Б.Сергиевский - 11

    Прапорщик Е.М.Томсон - 11

    Штабс-капитан Е.Н.Крутень - 7

    Прапорщик Г.Е.Сук - 7

    Прапорщик И.А.Орлов - 6

    Прапорщик О.И.Тетер - 6

    Прапорщик В.И.Янченко - 6

    Подполковник И.М.Багровников - 5

    Лейтенант французской армии В.Г.Федоров - 5

    Прапорщик Кокорин - 5

    Прапорщик И.М.Махлапуу - 5

    Прапорщик А.М.Пишванов - 5

    Лейтенант французской армии Пульпе - 5

    Капитан второго ранга В.В.Утгофф - нет точных данных

    -----

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня