Military Review

Handshake

6
Negotiations at the highest level of Chinese President Xi Jinping and President of Taiwan Ma Ying-jeou did not bring any tangible political results. In addition to the symbolic handshake, they are generally remarkable more by the fact of their conduct than by any significant results. If you look at the reports “from the field” unbiasedly, then it will become clear that the meeting emphasized the differences more than the commonality of the two states. The leaders treated each other cautiously, and the PRC press in every way avoided calling Ma Ying-jeou head of state.




Geographically close Taiwan is still infinitely far from the continent politically. This is mainly due to the fact that neither the elite of the island nor the population see for themselves a future as part of a friendly family of peoples of the People’s Republic of China. The example of Hong Kong, where autonomy rights are regularly violated, does not inspire anyone in Taiwan, let alone that the memories of the civil war and the three post-war armed crises in the strait lay firmly between the two banks. Despite the relatively conciliatory rhetoric, the island republic continues to drift towards the United States and emphasizes its complete autonomy from the continent at every opportunity. In particular, Taiwan has long shown an interest in the Trans-Pacific Partnership, although it is not at all a fact that the unrecognized republic will be accepted into it. The armed forces continue to modernize, while the pro-independence bloc, the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP), enjoys broad popular support and will undoubtedly win the next elections, while the Kuomintang party, which includes President Ma Ying-jeou, is rapidly losing popularity among the people its propecian position.

As for the USA, the current status quo suits them completely, since even the peaceful accession of Taiwan to mainland China is considered unacceptable. Such an event will radically change the balance of power in the western part of the Pacific Ocean - this is not only a convenient springboard, but also the unification of two very powerful fleets. It makes sense to mention the important Japanese factor. A possible transition of Taiwan under the sovereignty of the PRC immediately puts Tokyo in front of a direct military threat, and Japan will be forced to take retaliatory measures, since its southern islands will be at a range of shots from the Chinese MLRS.

If we talk about today's day, now China is pursuing purely practical goals. Against the backdrop of the dizzying take-off of the American Trans-Pacific Partnership, Beijing seeks to show that its only integration project in the region, “One Country - Two Systems”, is also quite viable. Show first of all to own population, in the second - to the world community. If this is not done, the first unbiased analysis will reveal an unpleasant thing: the United States completely outplayed China from its own shores. A special bitterness to the pill is given by the fact that the Celestial Empire came to such a result under the strict guidance of its own leaders. Economic dictation and unlimited territorial claims turned away many potential allies from China. Beijing can’t give up claims that were voiced during Mao’s time. At the same time, the intensification of border disputes leads to a tightening of the geopolitical blockade around the Celestial Empire. The situation could have been saved by the refusal of at least part of the claims, but obviously, the Chinese leadership does not even consider this option.

The main difference between Taiwan and Hong Kong and Macao (as well as, if you will, from the island of Big Ussuri) is that he decides his own destiny, without giving up such an important question to the mercy of the metropolis. That is, he has subjectivity. Another difference is that possessing subjectivity, Taiwan has geographic and military capabilities to defend this very subjectivity. Hong Kong did not have such a choice from the beginning. In the eighties, when the fate of the colony was decided at the bilateral talks, the British had no opportunity to defend their overseas possession - the Falklands War clearly showed the limits of their forces, and China unequivocally threatened military invasion if the issue was not resolved in his favor.

In relations between the People's Republic of China and the Republic of China (Taiwan), even more antagonism is now traced than between the PRC and Japan. The population of the island, almost a hundred and twenty years separated from the rest of China, does not want to have historical homeland, nothing in common and culturally much closer to Japan and South Korea than to continental counterparts. Taiwanese highly value their standard of living and personal freedoms, so any political force advocating integration into the PRC here is actually doomed to exist as a marginal entity. In such circumstances, the only way to unification is a war with the creation of a thousand-kilometer front from northern Taiwan to the Spratly Islands, some of which control Taipei. But before 2020, such a conflict should not be expected, unless, of course, some event occurs that can break any forecasts.
Author:
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. alex-cn
    alex-cn 11 November 2015 07: 19 New
    +3
    We decided something, didn’t decide ... The main thing is that I have met FIRST TIME, and before the decisions I’ve stomped and stomped ...
  2. Same lech
    Same lech 11 November 2015 07: 30 New
    +2
    As for the United States, the current status quo is quite satisfactory to them, since even the peaceful joining of Taiwan to mainland China is considered unacceptable.


    Well, still ... the principle of divide and conquer works well to this day.

    This is clearly visible after the partition of YUGOSLAVIA and WASHINGTON now reigns in its place.
  3. Blondy
    Blondy 11 November 2015 08: 40 New
    +3
    Lord, what news, yes, they’ve already sniffed for seven years. They make visits to each other, not to mention economic co-operation, which is unraveled to the fullest, especially after the noisy scandal with Japan came out.
    1. Petrol
      Petrol 11 November 2015 09: 21 New
      0
      powerful ideological pressure through the media will do the rest
  4. Buffalo
    Buffalo 11 November 2015 12: 06 New
    +2
    Pecked at jo ... roasted cock! Cancer on the mountain whistled.
    Taiwan, Saudi Arabia, Germany, Japan, France, England, and others, seriously thought about a change of owners.
  5. Amurets
    Amurets 11 November 2015 12: 33 New
    +4
    Nobody is changing anything. Taiwan has been economically together with the PRC for twenty years. Most of Taiwan's industry is either in the hands of the continental Chinese or in joint use. If meetings begin, you need to carefully monitor the situation. Here in the Far East, Asians act by principle, Water sharpens the stone and therefore is in no hurry. The first meetings are not reconnaissance in battle, but reconnaissance at distant approaches. This is only a check of intentions.
    1. Karlovar
      Karlovar 11 November 2015 13: 47 New
      +2
      The volume of trade between China and 20 million Taiwan is 170 billion talers ... It is as if there would be 1,2 trillion trade thalers between China and the Russian Federation or 2,5 trillion trade thalers between China and the USA ... That is, economically de facto unification has already taken place, it’s all left to do-de jure, although it is possible to do without this formality ... As an option, in the future we can conclude a strategic alliance ... But there is nowhere for the Chinese to rush from both banks, time is playing for them , at the current growth rate in 10-11 years, the PRC will double its economic power, but military power will increase 3-4 times, I suppose .... And then the "partners" will not be able to blame anything ... the author of the article gives the desired for valid ...
  6. palm
    palm 13 November 2015 11: 56 New
    0
    it is almost impossible to agree with the author’s claim about Taiwan’s “marginal status”

Рукопожатие

Переговоры на высшем уровне председателя КНР Си Цзиньпина и президента Тайваня Ма Инцзю не принесли никаких ощутимых политических результатов. Кроме символического рукопожатия, они в целом примечательны более самим фактом своего проведения, чем какими-либо значимыми результатами. Если непредвзято посмотреть на сводки «с полей», то станет ясно, что встреча больше подчеркнула различия, чем общность двух государств. Лидеры относились друг к другу осторожно, причём пресса КНР всячески избегала называть Ма Инцзю главой государства.

Рукопожатие


Близкий географически Тайвань по-прежнему остаётся бесконечно далёк от континента в политическом плане. Главным образом это происходит потому, что ни элита острова, ни население не видят для себя будущего в составе дружной семьи народов Китайской Народной Республики. Пример Гонконга, где права автономии регулярно нарушаются, никого на Тайване не вдохновляет, не говоря уже о том, что между двумя берегами прочно пролегли воспоминания о гражданской войне и трёх послевоенных вооружённых кризисах в проливе. Несмотря на относительно примирительную риторику, островная республика продолжает дрейфовать в сторону США и подчёркивает свою полную автономность от континента при каждом удобном случае. В частности, Тайвань давно проявляет интерес к Транстихоокеанскому партнерству, хотя совсем не факт, что непризнанную республику в него примут. Продолжают модернизироваться вооружённые силы, а блок сторонников независимости — Демократическая Прогрессивная Партия (ДПП) — пользуется широкой поддержкой населения и, несомненно, выиграет ближайшие выборы, в то время как партия Гоминьдан, к которой относится и президент Ма Инцзю, стремительно теряет популярность в народе за свою пропекинскую позицию.


Что до США, то нынешний статус-кво их вполне устраивает, поскольку даже мирное присоединение Тайваня к континентальному Китаю считается недопустимым. Такое событие радикально поменяет баланс сил в западной части Тихого океане — речь не только об удобном плацдарме, но и об объединении двух весьма мощных флотов. Есть смысл упомянуть и о важном японском факторе. Возможный переход Тайваня под суверенитет КНР сразу ставит Токио перед прямой военной угрозой, и Япония вынуждена будет принимать ответные меры, так как её южные острова окажутся на дальности выстрела китайских РСЗО.

Если говорить о дне сегодняшнем, то сейчас Китай преследует сугубо практические цели. На фоне головокружительного взлёта американского Транстихоокеанского партнёрства Пекин стремится показать, что единственный его интеграционный проект в регионе, «Одна страна — две системы», тоже вполне жизнеспособен. Показать в первую очередь собственному населению, во вторую — мировому сообществу. Если этого не сделать, то первый же непредвзятый анализ выявит неприятную вещь: США вчистую переиграли Китай у его же берегов. Особую горечь пилюле придаёт тот факт, что к такому результату Поднебесная пришла под чутким руководством своих собственных вождей. Экономический диктат и неумеренные территориальные претензии отвратили от Китая многих потенциальных союзников. Отказаться от претензий, что были озвучены ещё во времена Мао, Пекин не может. В то же время активизация пограничных споров приводит к затягиванию вокруг Поднебесной геополитической блокады. Ситуацию мог бы спасти отказ хотя бы от части претензий, но очевидно, китайское руководство такой вариант даже не рассматривает.

Главное отличие Тайваня от Гонконга и Макао (а также, если угодно, от острова Большой Уссурийский) заключается в том, что он решает свою судьбу сам, не отдавая столь важный вопрос на откуп метрополии. То есть он обладает субъектностью. Другое отличие заключается в том, что обладая субъектностью, Тайвань имеет географические и военные возможности отстоять эту самую субъектность. У Гонконга такого выбора не было изначально. В восьмидесятые годы, когда на двусторонних переговорах решалась судьба колонии, у англичан не было никакой возможности отстоять своё заморское владение — Фолклендская война чётко показала пределы их сил, а Китай однозначно угрожал военным вторжением, если вопрос не будет решён в его пользу.

В отношениях между Китайской Народной Республикой и Китайской Республикой (Тайванем) сейчас прослеживается даже больше антагонизма, чем между КНР и Японией. Население острова, почти на сто двадцать лет отделённое от остального Китая, не желает иметь с исторической родиной ничего общего и культурно куда ближе к Японии и Южной Корее, чем к континентальным собратьям. Тайваньцы высоко ценят свой уровень жизни и личные свободы, поэтому любая политическая сила, выступающая тут за интеграцию в состав КНР, фактически обречена на существование в статусе маргинального образования. В таких условиях единственный путь к объединению — война с созданием тысячекилометрового фронта от севера Тайваня до островов Спратли, часть из которых контролирует Тайбэй. Но раньше 2020 года такого конфликта ждать не стоит, если, конечно, не произойдёт некое событие, способное сломать любые прогнозы.
Автор: Игорь Кабардин


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 6
  1. алекс-сп 11 ноября 2015 07:19
    Решили что-то не решили... Главное, что ВПЕРВЫЕ встретилсь, а до решений еще топать и топать...
  2. Тот же ЛЕХА 11 ноября 2015 07:30
    Что до США, то нынешний статус-кво их вполне устраивает, поскольку даже мирное присоединение Тайваня к континентальному Китаю считается недопустимым.


    Ну еще бы...принцип разделяй и властвуй хорошо работает и по сей день.

    Это хорошо заметно после раздела ЮГОСЛАВИИ и на ее месте теперь властвует ВАШИНГТОН.
  3. Blondy 11 ноября 2015 08:40
    Господи новость то какая, да они лет семь уже как потихоньку снюхались. Друг к другу с визитами ездят, не говоря уже об экономическом сотудничестве, которое без лишнего шума развернуто на всю катушку, особенно после того как вышел шумный скандал с Японией.
    1. Benzin 11 ноября 2015 09:21
      мощное идеологическое давление через СМИ сделает остальное
  4. Бизон 11 ноября 2015 12:06
    Клюнул в жо...жареный петух! Рак на горе свистнул.
    Тайвань, Саудовская Аравия, Германия, Япония, Франция, Англия, и другие, всерьёз задумались о смене хозяев.
  5. амурец 11 ноября 2015 12:33
    Ни кто ни чего не меняет.Тайвань уже лет двадцать экономически вместе с КНР.Большинство промышленности Тайваня находится или в руках континентальных китайцев,или в совместном пользовании.Если начались встречи,то надо внимательно следить за развитием ситуации.Здесь на Дальнем Востоке азиаты действуют по принципу, Вода камень точит и поэтому не спешат.Первые встречи это не разведка боем,а разведка на дальних подступах.Это только проверка намерений.
    1. Karlovar 11 ноября 2015 13:47
      Объём торговли между КНР и 20-мильонным Тайванем 170 миллиардов талеров...Это как если бы между КНР и РФ было бы 1,2 триллиона талеров торговли или между КНР и США-2,5 триллиона талеров торгового оборота...Тоесть,экономически де-факто объединение уже произошло,дело осталось за малым-оформить де-юре,хотя можно и без этой формальности обойтись...Как вариант,в будущем заключить стратегический союз...А торопиться китайцам с обоих берегов некуда,время играет на них,при нынешних темпах роста через 10-11 лет КНР удвоит экономическую мощь,военную же мощь нарастит раза в 3-4,надо полагать....И тогда "партнёры" уже ничего вякнуть против не смогут...автор же статьи выдаёт желаемое за действительное...
  6. палмский 13 ноября 2015 11:56
    практически невозможно согласиться с утверждением автора о "маргинальном статусе" тайваня

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня