Military Review

Pavel Alekseevich Kurochkin (on the 115 anniversary of the birth)

3
Pavel Alekseevich Kurochkin - a prominent military leader, army general (1959), Hero of the Soviet Union. He devoted his whole life to serving the Fatherland. His military talent, organizational skills, decisiveness and courage were especially evident in the Great Patriotic War of the 1941 – 1945 years.


Pavel Alekseevich was born 6 (19) in November 1900 in the village of Gorniewo, now in the Vyazemsky district of the Smolensk region, in a peasant family.

When the boy turned 13 years old, his father identified him as "masterful grub." In St. Petersburg, he worked as a messenger in a pastry shop, and through 3 of the year - in steam repair shops. In the detachment of the Red Guards, railwaymen P.A. Kurochkin participated in the storming of the Winter Palace. It was then that the fate of the peasant lad was determined. To defend the gains of the revolution, in 1918, he joined the ranks of the Red Army.

In the biography of Pavel Alekseevich 3 viewed significant period. These are the Civil War and military intervention, the Soviet-Polish and Finnish wars (1-th period); Great Patriotic War and the postwar period.

During the Civil War, Pyotr Kurochkin participated in battles in repelling the offensive of General P.N. Krasnov near Gatchina, fought with the interventionists in the North, defended Petrograd from the troops of General N.N. Yudenich. In 1920 – 1921 he commanded a platoon, squadron and cavalry regiment. He fought on the Western front with the White Poles, participated in the suppression of the uprising of A.S. Antonov in Tambov. For courage in liquidating the rebellion, he was awarded the Mauser with the dedication of the Revolutionary Military Council of the Republic: “To the stalwart defender of the proletarian revolution.”

Parallel with the fights, Pavel Alekseevich continued his education. I must say that the desire for knowledge of ordinary peasant and working guys was amazing. Having accumulated great combat experience and having gained deep theoretical knowledge in academies, many of them will later become generals, marshals, army and front commanders (AI Antonov and I.Kh. Bagramyan, AM Vasilevsky and NF Vatutin , LA Govorov and MV Zakharov and others - this is a brilliant galaxy of red commanders, students of the Academy of the General Staff, comrades PA Kurochkin). At first, Pavel Alekseevich graduated from the Petrograd cavalry courses (1920), the Higher Cavalry School (1923). From 1924, he is already the head of the regimental school. In 1932, he graduated from the Military Academy named after M.V. Frunze and its adjunct (1934 g.). Since February 1934, P.A. Kurochkin - senior tactical head of the cavalry department at this academy. The young teacher paid special attention to field trips, solving tactical tasks, introducing best practices, infecting the audience with his enthusiasm and enthusiasm.

Having secured military theoretical knowledge, Pavel Alekseevich is again in the army. He is appointed chief of staff, then a brigade commander, and in 1935, the commander of a cavalry division. For the achievement of high results in military and political training is awarded the Order "Badge of Honor." From December 1937 to June 1939. Pavel Alekseevich - head of the training department of cavalry refresher courses for the commanders of the Workers 'and Peasants' Red Army. In the middle of 1939, the Chief of Staff of the Cavalry Corps, since October, the Army Cavalry Group. Participated in the campaign in Western Ukraine.

Looking ahead, let's say that in P.N. 1940 Kurochkin graduated from the Academy of the General Staff (now the Military Academy of the General Staff).

During the Soviet-Finnish War 1939 – 1940. He commanded the 28 rifle corps, which, over the ice of the Gulf of Finland, went into the rear of the enemy's Vyborg group and cut off enemy communications, thereby contributing to the advance of the Red Army on the Karelian Isthmus. From January 1941, P.A. Kurochkin became commander of the Trans-Baikal Military District. And on the eve of World War II (June 19) he was appointed commander of the Oryol Military District.

So, behind Pavel Alekseevich there were three wars. But already the beginning of the Great Patriotic War showed that the German troops, who had lightning speed and subdued almost all of Europe, were perfectly armed and organized, this is a strong and cunning enemy, to fight with which new techniques and methods of military art will be required. How a new combat experience was acquired, especially in the first months of the war, what a high price the fighters and commanders paid while defending every inch of their land — only those who stood in this hell of it knew about it.

On July 5, 1941, Lieutenant General P.A. Kurochkin took command of the 20th Army. The task was difficult: to prevent a breakthrough tank and mechanized divisions of the Nazis in the area between the Western Dvina and the Dnieper. Leading a mobile defense, the 20th Army was able to detain the enemy, who was rushing to Smolensk. In subsequent battles near Senno, Orsha, Smolensk, the 20th Army, with bold counterattacks, inflicted significant damage on the enemy troops, diverting the shock units of the Nazis to itself, which made it possible to create a solid defense in the Smolensk region. The battles went on continuously, around the clock. As a result, the tank and motorized formations of the German Army Group Center had lost up to 23 percent by 50 July, and the infantry ones - up to 20 percent of their strength. And yet the enemy's superiority in men and technology was enormous. On July 22, in the Yartsev area, the Germans managed to close the encirclement ring, in which the troops of the 20th and 16th (Lieutenant General M.F. Lukin) armies found themselves.

The headquarters of the Supreme Command commissioned PA Kurochkina withdraw the troops of these armies from the environment. As a result of the tremendous efforts of the Western Front, and also thanks to the courage and determination of the 20 Army commander, the 20 and 16 Army formations broke through the encirclement, crossed the Dnieper, occupying the defense on the eastern coast and forging a large enemy force there for a long time. For the first time in World War II, German troops were forced to go on the defensive.

Marshal of the Soviet Union S.K. Tymoshenko, the commander in chief of the Western direction, reported in this report: “... Assessing the actions of Kurochkin and Lukin for such a long time against the large forces that violently attacked to encircle and destroy our troops, massaging a large Aviation on the battlefield, Kurochkin and Lukin have to do justice to the heroes. ” On July 27, 1941, the commander of the 20th Army was awarded the Order of the Red Banner for combat skill, courage, and organizational skills. So in the fire of the battle of Smolensk, his talent as a military leader was manifested, his will tempered and his faith in victory grew stronger.

In early August, as a representative of the Stavka, Pavel Alekseevich arrived on the North-Western Front, which suffered heavy losses as a result of a counterstrike under Staraya Russa. For five days he studied the situation, traveled almost all sectors of the front, understood the true state of affairs, and on August 23 1941 was already appointed commander of the troops of this front. Headed by PA Kurochkin North-Western Front held Toropetsko-Kholmsky and Demyansku operations. In 20 January, the Toropets-Kholm operation was fully and successfully completed on the left flank of the front. The cities of Kholm, Toropets, and many settlements were liberated. Soviet troops advanced on the Vitebsk area on 250 km, deeply wedged between Army groups "North" and "Center", making it difficult for their operational interaction. From the west, they bypassed the Rzhev-Vyazma grouping of the enemy, creating favorable conditions for its defeat. The demyan grouping of the enemy (6 divisions) was deeply swept from the north and south. But the elimination of its delayed. And for that there were objective reasons. There were no reserves, the surrounded group was not blocked from the air. Due to the unfavorable terrain conditions (swamps, deep snow, lack of dirt roads), the delivery of ammunition and food, warm clothing to the Red Army was difficult. In addition, the enemy forced to disperse efforts to fight for individual centers, strongly reinforced by him in engineering, gaining time to organize the defense.

Pavel Alekseevich, analyzing the course of hostilities, found the most appropriate way of action. He demanded that commanders of units and formations not to attack strongly fortified settlements from the front, not to surround them, holding down and freezing their large forces, but to bypass them and move forward. It was a true and timely decision. And yet in the middle of March, the Nazis, breaking the encirclement ring, created a ramushevsky corridor, through which replenishment, food, and ammunition were sent to the encircled troops on airplanes (3000 made sorties). In March and May there were unsuccessful attempts to eliminate this corridor. Demyansk operation did not reach its goals, although it held down significant enemy forces.

In the collection "On the North-Western Front" P.A. Kurochkin gave an objective and honest analysis of the fighting of the North-Western Front. "... It should be noted," he wrote, "that the North-Western Front in the first years of the last war did a great deal to reverse the struggle against fascist Germany." “During the defense of Moscow, the North-Western Front, holding down significant forces of the Hitler army, did not allow them to be thrown at the capital. Army Group Center has no divisions in reserve (in the final phase of our battle). ” And a very important conclusion: “The experience we received in the difficult 1942 year, with all its strengths and weaknesses, was invaluable for the future, and in many ways, very much, it made us easier for the victorious 1943 – 1945 campaigns.” It must be said that the Demyansky bridgehead was eliminated in 1943.

How did the further fate of PA. Kurochkina? From November 1942, he led the 11 Army, and from March 1943, the 34 Army, with which he participated in the Starorusskaya operation. From June to November 1943, Mr. P.A. Kurochkin, again the commander of the North-Western Front. 27 August 1943. He was given the rank of colonel-general.

Pavel Alekseevich Kurochkin (on the 115 anniversary of the birth)

Commander of the North-Western Front, PA Kurochkin (right), Commander of the 1 Shock Army V.Z. Romanovsky (center), a member of the Military Council of the Army D.Ye. Kolesnikov. 1942

From December 1943, Col. Gen. P.A. Kurochkin was appointed 1 Deputy Commander of the 1 Ukrainian Front. The commander of the front was N. F. Vatutin, with whom he studied at the Academy of the General Staff and together fought on the North-Western Front (he was the chief of staff of the front). At his post, Deputy PA Kurochkin made a great contribution to the preparation and successful conduct of the operation. Here the previous mistakes were taken into account. By the beginning of the operation on the 1-th Ukrainian Front, an almost two-fold superiority in infantry and three-fold in tanks and artillery had been created. In conditions of mudslides, when tanks got stuck on the broken roads, General P.A. Kurochkin organized the work in such a way that all the tasks of the commander were completed on time and in full. With powerful blows from the troops of the 1 of the Ukrainian Front from the west and the 2 of the Ukrainian Front (Army General I. Konev) from the east, the enemy was surrounded by 28 in January of 1944. The operation to encircle and destroy the enemy was carried out brilliantly, it was characterized by a wide maneuver of troops and massive use of tanks and aircraft. Total in the ring were part of the 10 divisions and one brigade. In battles, the enemy lost 55 thousands of soldiers and officers killed and wounded, and more than 18 thousands lost prisoners. For the skillful command of the troops in this operation, Colonel General P.A. Kurochkin was awarded the Order of Kutuzov of the 1 degree.

Since February 1944, P.A. Kurochkin - the commander of the Belarusian Front 2, who participated in the Polesia offensive operation (March 15 - April 5). The start of the operation was unexpected for the enemy and was successful. But since the operation was being prepared as soon as possible, only 13 divisions from 25 were deployed at the beginning. The Germans began to introduce new forces, and the build-up of the forces of the 2 of the Belarusian Front went slowly. What could the front commander do if there was no air support, troops were poorly supplied because of muddy ground roads? The 70 Army, for example, launched an offensive by two out of seven divisions. Therefore, the front only partially completed the task.

From April 1944 until the end of the war, Pavel Alekseevich - commander of the 60 army. In the summer of 1944, the 1 of the Ukrainian Front (Marshal of the Soviet Union I.S. Konev) was preparing for the Lvov-Sandomir offensive operation. 60 Army P.A. Kurochkina was part of the shock group of the front and struck at Lviv. 14 July, 1944 began a powerful artillery and aviation training. As soon as the fire was moved into the depths, the advanced infantry regiments attacked the enemy throughout the entire breakthrough sector. As a result, the Koltovsky corridor was breached. And as soon as the Koltov corridor was formed, PA Kurochkin moved his forward command post there. Subsequently, he recalled: "... When the soldiers and officers see that here, on the front line, the commander, generals and officers of the army headquarters, they have a feeling of even greater responsibility, the morale becomes even higher." The 6-I Guards and 3-I armies were immediately introduced into the 4-kilometer corridor formed. Bursting into the enemy rear, tankers smashed the reserves of the Germans, helping the 60 Army units to successfully complete the combat mission. July 27 in cooperation with other front associations 60-I army liberated Lviv. Her contribution was highly appreciated by the Motherland. Many warriors received high awards, and Kurochkin PA received the Order of Suvorov 1 degree.

Subsequent operations in which the 60 Army participated were no less heroic and successful. After the capture of Krakow (thanks to the skillful actions of our troops, the ancient city of Poland was taken safe and sound), the troops of the 60 Army participated in the liberation of the Slez industrial region. As a result of the rapid onset of mail, all the mines, mines, and factories of the area were returned to the Polish people intact. And on January 27, 1945, the troops of the 60 Army entered Auschwitz, where they released the surviving prisoners of the concentration camp.


Hero of the Soviet Union
Army General Pavel Alekseevich Kurochkin.
Photo 1982

Under the leadership of P.A. Kurochkina 60-I army participated in the Lviv-Sandomierz, Sandomierz-Silesian, Lower - and Upper Silesian, Moravian-Ostrava and Prague operations. Army troops distinguished themselves in the liberation of cities: Ternopil, Lviv, Debica, Krakow, Katowice, Neisse, Biskau (Poland), Moravska-Ostrava (Czech Republic), Prague. For successful military operations, they 14 times noted in the orders of the Supreme Commander. For the skillful leadership of the troops, personal courage and heroism, Pavel Alekseevich in June 1945 was awarded the title Hero of the Soviet Union.

After the war from July 1945, Colonel-General P.A. Kurochkin - Commander of the Kuban Military District.
Since July, 1946 was the deputy commander-in-chief of the Soviet troops and the commander-in-chief of the Soviet military administration in Germany. Since May, 1947. Assistant Commander-in-Chief of the Far East for combat training. From February 1951, Pavel Alekseevich - Deputy Chief of the Higher Military Academy (Military Academy of the General Staff). From May 1954 to 1968, Mr. Kurochkin, PA - Head of the Military Academy named after MV Frunze, Professor (1962 g.). Possessing a rich combat experience, wide erudition, he made a great contribution to improving the academic process of the academy, training highly qualified officers for the Armed Forces of the country. Under his leadership, the research team developed a series of fundamental works on the theory of combined arms combat. In 1968 – 1970 Pavel Alekseevich was the representative of the General Command of the United Armed Forces of the States parties to the Warsaw Pact in the GDR. Since September 1970 he has been in the Group of Inspectors General of the USSR Ministry of Defense. He was a deputy of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR 2-th convocation. He was awarded the Lenin Prize (1980) for his participation in the creation of the Great Patriotic Film Epopee.

Along with the awards mentioned, Pavel Alekseevich Kurochkin was also awarded the Order of Lenin, the Order of the October Revolution, 5 the Order of the Red Banner, the Order of Kutuzov 3, and the Order of the Patriotic War, 1. , medals, as well as foreign orders. Pavel Alekseevich died on December 1 3 in Moscow. He was buried at the Novodevichy cemetery. May the memory of an outstanding, talented military leader, who led our valiant troops to victory throughout the terrible years of World War II, forever lives in our hearts.
Author:
Originator:
http://encyclopedia.mil.ru/encyclopedia/history/[email protected]
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Koshak
    Koshak 5 December 2015 08: 11 New
    +1
    “May the memory of the outstanding, talented military leader who led our valiant troops to victory throughout all the terrible years of World War II, forever live in our hearts.”

    Thanks to the author for the article!
  2. Predator
    Predator 5 December 2015 13: 01 New
    0
    Well, not everything is so rosy as in the article, forgive me. From July 5, 1041, assuming the post of commander of the 20th army, Kurochkin did not ensure the interaction of the entrusted troops, did not have clear leadership of the units, did not have his own opinion, and if he could not defend him the leadership of the front. It directly hangs the blame for the rout of 5 and 7 mk in insane counterattacks near Senno and Orsha, Krasny, when, having an overwhelming advantage in tanks, artillery and infantry, mediocre allowed the Germans to defeat them in parts and withdraw troops not towards Smolensk, but much north of the Dnieper, which allowed the Wehrmacht to take Smolensk almost on the move, since there were no troops there at all, and the 20 army divisions were in the vicinity of Gusino-Rudaki-Zamoschye (what should they do if Gott is already in the Duhovschina ?!) and the Germans' motorized corps rod along the Bolshoi Red - Smolensk, Repair - Smolensk ?!
    Creative thoughts that it was not necessary to hit the enemy in the forehead, but to go forward, didn’t roll forward without stopping with the Wehrmacht, especially in 1941-1942, as evidenced by the defeat of 39,40,2 UA armies, Kachalov’s army group, Petrovsky, Barvenkovsky and Kharkov pogroms.
    It must be admitted that Kurochkin’s level is an army, he cannot command a larger association, but he proved himself to be a good commander since the end of 1943.
  3. sw6513
    sw6513 5 December 2015 13: 58 New
    +1
    Bright memory to him !!

Павел Алексеевич Курочкин (к 115-летию со дня рождения)

Павел Алексеевич Курочкин (к 115-летию со дня рождения)Павел Алексеевич Курочкин – видный военачальник, генерал армии (1959 г.), Герой Советского Союза. Всю свою жизнь он посвятил служению Отечеству. Его военный талант, организаторские способности, решительность и мужество особенно ярко проявились в Великой Отечественной войне 1941–1945 гг.

Павел Алексеевич родился 6(19) ноября 1900 г. в деревне Горнево ныне Вяземского района Смоленской области в семье крестьянина.

Когда мальчику исполнилось 13 лет, отец определил его на «хозяйские харчи». В Петербурге он работал посыльным в кондитерской, а через 3 года – в паровозоремонтных мастерских. В отряде красногвардейцев-железнодорожников П.А.Курочкин участвовал в штурме Зимнего дворца. Вот тогда-то и определилась судьба крестьянского паренька. Чтобы защищать завоевания революции, в 1918 г. он вступает в ряды Красной армии.


В биографии Павла Алексеевича просматриваются 3 значительных периода. Это – Гражданская война и военная интервенция, советско-польская и финляндская войны (1-й период); Великая Отечественная война и послевоенный период.

Во время Гражданской войны П.А.Курочкин участвовал в боях при отражении наступления войск генерала П.Н. Краснова под Гатчиной, сражался с интервентами на Севере, защищал Петроград от войск генерала Н.Н. Юденича. В 1920–1921 гг. он командовал взводом, эскадроном и кавалерийским полком. Сражался на Западном фронте с белополяками, участвовал в подавлении восстания А.С. Антонова на Тамбовщине. За мужество при ликвидации мятежа награжден маузером с дарственной надписью Реввоенсовета Республики: «Стойкому защитнику пролетарской революции».

Параллельно с боями Павел Алексеевич продолжал свое образование. Надо сказать, что тяга к знаниям у простых крестьянских и рабочих парней была удивительная. Накопив большой боевой опыт и получив глубокие теоретические знания в академиях, многие из них в дальнейшем станут генералами, маршалами, командующими армиями и фронтами (А.И. Антонов и И.Х. Баграмян, А.М. Василевский и Н.Ф. Ватутин, Л.А. Говоров и М.В. Захаров и другие – это блестящая плеяда красных командиров, слушателей Академии Генштаба, товарищей П.А. Курочкина). Вначале Павел Алексеевич окончил Петроградские кавалерийские курсы (1920 г.), Высшую кавалерийскую школу (1923 г.). С 1924 г. он уже начальник полковой школы. В 1932 г. окончил Военную академию имени М.В. Фрунзе и адъюнктуру при ней (1934 г.). С февраля 1934 г. П.А. Курочкин – старший тактический руководитель кафедры конницы в этой академии. Молодой преподаватель особое внимание уделял полевым поездкам, решениям тактических задач, внедрению передового опыта, заражая своим энтузиазмом и увлеченностью слушателей.

Закрепив военно-теоретические знания, Павел Алексеевич снова в войсках. Он назначается начальником штаба, затем командиром бригады, а в 1935 г. – командиром кавалерийской дивизии. За достижение высоких результатов в боевой и политической подготовке награждается орденом «Знак Почета». С декабря 1937 г. по июнь 1939 г. Павел Алексеевич – начальник учебного отдела кавалерийских курсов усовершенствования комсостава Рабоче-крестьянской Красной армии. В середине 1939 г. начальник штаба кавалерийского корпуса, с октября – армейской кавалерийской группы. Участвовал в походе в Западную Украину.

Забегая вперед, скажем, что в 1940 г. П.А. Курочкин окончил Академию Генерального штаба (ныне – Военная академия Генштаба).

Во время советско-финляндской войны 1939–1940 гг. он командовал 28-м стрелковым корпусом, который по льду Финского залива вышел в тыл выборгской группировке противника и перерезал коммуникации врага, чем способствовал наступлению Красной армии на Карельском перешейке. С января 1941 г. П.А. Курочкин стал командующим войсками Забайкальского военного округа. А накануне Великой Отечественной войны (19 июня) назначен командующим войсками Орловского военного округа.

Итак, за плечами Павла Алексеевича было три войны. Но уже начало Великой Отечественной войны показало, что немецкие войска, молниеносно покорившие почти всю Европу, прекрасно вооруженные и организованные, это сильный и коварный враг, для борьбы с которым потребуются новые приемы и способы военного искусства. Как приобретался новый боевой опыт, особенно в первые месяцы войны, какую высокую цену платили бойцы и командиры, отстаивая каждую пядь своей земли, – об этом знают только те, кто выстоял в этом пекле.

5 июля 1941 г. генерал-лейтенант П.А.Курочкин вступил в командование 20-й армией. Задача была трудной: не допустить прорыва танковых и механизированных дивизий гитлеровцев в междуречье Западной Двины и Днепра. Ведя подвижную оборону, 20-я армия сумела задержать противника, рвавшегося к Смоленску. В последующих боях под Сенно, Оршей, Смоленском 20-я армия смелыми контрударами наносила чувствительный урон войскам противника, отвлекая на себя ударные части гитлеровцев, что позволило создать прочную оборону в районе Смоленска. Бои шли непрерывно, круглосуточно. В итоге танковые и моторизованные соединения немецкой группы армий «Центр» к 23 июля потеряли до 50 процентов, а пехотные - до 20 процентов своего состава. И все же превосходство противника в людях и технике было огромным. 22 июля в районе Ярцева немцам удалось замкнуть кольцо окружения, в котором оказались войска 20-й и 16-й (генерал-лейтенанта М.Ф. Лукина) армий.

Ставка ВГК поручила П.А. Курочкину вывести войска этих армий из окружения. В результате огромных усилий Западного фронта, а также благодаря мужеству и решительности командующего 20-й армией соединения 20-й и 16-й армий прорвали окружение, переправились через Днепр, заняв оборону на восточном берегу и надолго сковав здесь крупную группировку противника. Впервые во Второй мировой войне немецкие войска вынуждены были перейти к обороне.

Маршал Советского Союза С.К. Тимошенко, главнокомандующий Западным направлением, в донесении об этом сообщал: «… Оценивая действия Курочкина и Лукина в продолжение такого большого времени против крупных сил, яростно нападавших с целью окружения и уничтожения наших войск, массируя большую авиацию на поле боя, Курочкину и Лукину нужно отдать должное, как героям». 27 июля 1941 г. командарма 20-й армии наградили орденом Красного Знамени за боевое мастерство, мужество, организаторские способности. Так в огне Смоленского сражения проявился его талант военачальника, закалилась воля и окрепла вера в победу.

В начале августа в качестве представителя Ставки Павел Алексеевич прибыл на Северо-Западный фронт, который понес большие потери в результате контрудара под Старой Руссой. В течение пяти дней он изучал обстановку, объехал почти все участки фронта, уяснил истинное положение дел, а 23 августа 1941 г. уже был назначен командующим войсками этого фронта. Возглавляемый П.А. Курочкиным Северо-Западный фронт провел Торопецко-Холмскую и Демянскую операции. В 20-х числах января на левом крыле фронта полностью и успешно завершилась Торопецко-Холмская операция. Были освобождены города Холм, Торопец, многие населенные пункты. Советские войска продвинулись на витебском направлении на 250 км, глубоко вклинились между группами армий «Север» и «Центр», затруднив их оперативное взаимодействие. С запада обошли ржевско-вяземскую группировку противника, создав выгодные условия для ее разгрома. Глубоко охваченной с севера и юга оказалась демянская группировка противника (6 дивизий). Но ликвидация ее затянулась. И на то были объективные причины. Не было резервов, окруженная группировка не была блокирована с воздуха. Из-за неблагоприятных условий местности (болота, глубокий снег, отсутствие грунтовых дорог) подвоз боеприпасов и продовольствия, теплого обмундирования красноармейцам осуществлялся с трудом. Кроме того, противник вынуждал рассредоточивать усилия на борьбу за отдельные, сильно укрепленные им в инженерном отношении очаги, выигрывая время для организации обороны.

Павел Алексеевич, анализируя ход боевых действий, нашел наиболее целесообразный способ действий. Он потребовал от командиров частей и соединений не атаковать с фронта сильно укрепленные населенные пункты, не окружать их, сковывая и замораживая при этом свои крупные силы, а обходить их и двигаться вперед. Это было верное и своевременное решение. И все же в середине марта гитлеровцы, разорвав кольцо окружения, создали рамушевский коридор, по которому перебрасывали окруженным войскам на самолетах пополнение, продовольствие, боеприпасы (было сделано 3000 самолето-вылетов). В марте–мае шли безуспешные попытки ликвидировать этот коридор. Демянская операция не достигла своих целей, хотя и сковала значительные силы противника.

В сборнике «На Северо-Западном фронте» П.А. Курочкин дал объективный и честный анализ боевых действий Северо-Западного фронта. «… Следует отметить, – писал он, – что Северо-Западный фронт в первые годы минувшей войны сделал очень многое для перелома борьбы с фашистской Германией». «Во время обороны Москвы Северо-Западный фронт, сковывая значительные силы гитлеровской армии, не позволял бросить их на столицу. У группы армий «Центр» не осталось в резерве ни одной дивизии (на завершающей фазе нашего сражения)». И очень важный вывод: «Опыт, полученный нами в трудном 1942 году, со всеми достоинствами и недостатками, был неоценим для будущего, и он во многом, очень многом облегчил нам победоносные кампании 1943–1945 гг.». Надо сказать, что демянский плацдарм был ликвидирован в 1943 г.

Как же складывалась дальнейшая судьба П.А. Курочкина? С ноября 1942 г. он возглавлял 11-ю армию, а с марта 1943 г. – 34-ю армию, с которой участвовал в Старорусской операции. С июня по ноябрь 1943 г. П.А.Курочкин вновь командующий Северо-Западным фронтом. 27 августа 1943 г. ему присвоили звание генерал-полковника.

Павел Алексеевич Курочкин (к 115-летию со дня рождения)

Командующий Северо-Западным фронтом П.А. Курочкин (справа), командующий 1-й ударной армией В.З. Романовский (в центре), член Военного совета армии Д.Е. Колесников. 1942 г.

С декабря 1943 г. генерал-полковник П.А. Курочкин назначен на должность 1-го заместителя командующего 1-м Украинским фронтом. Командующим фронтом был Н.Ф.Ватутин, с которым вместе учились в Академии Генерального штаба и вместе воевали на Северо-Западном фронте (он был начальником штаба фронта). На своем посту заместителя П.А. Курочкин внес большой вклад в подготовку и успешное проведение операции. Здесь прежние ошибки были им учтены. К началу операции на 1-м Украинском фронте создано почти двукратное превосходство по пехоте и трехкратное – по танкам и артиллерии. В условиях распутицы, когда на разбитых дорогах застревали танки, генерал П.А. Курочкин так организовал работу, что все задания командующего были выполнены в срок и в полном объеме. Мощными ударами войск 1-го Украинского фронта с запада и 2-го Украинского фронта (генерал армии И.С. Конев) с востока противник к 28 января 1944 г. был окружен. Операция по окружению и уничтожению врага была проведена блестяще, она характеризовалась широким маневром войск и массированным применением танков и авиации. Всего в кольце оказались части 10 дивизий и одной бригады. В боях противник потерял 55 тысяч солдат и офицеров убитыми и ранеными и более 18 тысяч – пленными. За умелое командование войсками в этой операции генерал-полковник П.А.Курочкин был награжден орденом Кутузова 1-й степени.

С февраля 1944 г. П.А. Курочкин – командующий 2-м Белорусским фронтом, который участвовал в Полесской наступательной операции (15 марта – 5 апреля). Начало операции оказалось неожиданным для противника и проходило успешно. Но поскольку операция готовилась в предельно сжатые сроки, к началу ее были развернуты лишь 13 дивизий из 25. Немцы стали вводить свежие силы, а наращивание сил 2-го Белорусского фронта шло медленно. Что мог сделать командующий фронтом, если не было поддержки авиации, войска из-за раскисших грунтовых дорог снабжались плохо? 70-я армия, например, перешла в наступление двумя дивизиями из семи. Поэтому фронт лишь частично выполнил поставленную задачу.

С апреля 1944 г. и до конца войны Павел Алексеевич – командующий 60-й армией. Летом 1944 г. 1-й Украинский фронт (Маршал Советского Союза И.С. Конев) готовился к проведению Львовско-Сандомирской наступательной операции. 60-я армия П.А. Курочкина входила в состав ударной группировки фронта и наносила удар на Львов. 14 июля 1944 г. началась мощная артиллерийская и авиационная подготовка. Едва огонь был перенесен в глубину, как передовые стрелковые полки атаковали врага на всем участке прорыва. В результате была пробита брешь – колтовский коридор. И как только образовался колтовский коридор, П.А. Курочкин перенес туда свой передовой командный пункт. Впоследствии он вспоминал: «… Когда солдаты и офицеры видят, что здесь же, на передовой, командарм, генералы и офицеры штаба армии, то у них появляется чувство еще большей ответственности, моральное состояние становится еще выше». В образовавшийся 6-километровый коридор были немедленно введены 3-я гвардейская и 4-я танковые армии. Ворвавшись во вражеский тыл, танкисты громили резервы немцев, помогая соединениям 60-й армии успешно выполнить боевую задачу. 27 июля во взаимодействии с другими объединениями фронта 60-я армия освободила Львов. Вклад ее был высоко оценен Родиной. Многие воины удостоились высоких наград, а Курочкин П.А. получил орден Суворова 1-й степени.

Последующие операции, в которых участвовала 60-я армия, были не менее героическими и успешными. После овладения Краковом (благодаря умелым действиям наших войск древний город Польши был взят целым и невредимым) войска 60-й армии участвовали в освобождении Селезского промышленного района. В результате стремительного наступления почты все шахты, рудники, заводы района были возвращены польскому народу неразрушенными. А 27 января 1945 г. войска 60-й армии вступили в Освенцим, где освободили оставшихся в живых узников концлагеря.

Павел Алексеевич Курочкин (к 115-летию со дня рождения)

Герой Советского Союза
генерал армии Павел Алексеевич Курочкин.
Фото 1982 г.

Под руководством П.А. Курочкина 60-я армия участвовала в Львовско-Сандомирской, Сандомирско-Силезской, Нижне- и Верхнесилезской, Моравска-Остравской и Пражской операциях. Войска армии отличились при освобождении городов: Тернополь, Львов, Дембица, Краков, Катовице, Нейссе, Бискау (Польша), Моравска-Острава (Чехия), Прага. За успешные боевые действия они 14 раз отмечались в приказах Верховного Главнокомандующего. За умелое руководство войсками, личное мужество и героизм Павлу Алексеевичу в июне 1945 г. было присвоено звание Героя Советского Союза.

После войны с июля 1945 г. генерал-полковник П.А. Курочкин – командующий войсками Кубанского военного округа.
С июля 1946 г. заместитель главнокомандующего советскими войсками и главноначальствующего советской военной администрации в Германии. С мая 1947 г. помощник главнокомандующего войсками Дальнего Востока по боевой подготовке. С февраля 1951 г. Павел Алексеевич – заместитель начальника Высшей военной академии (Военная академия Генштаба). С мая 1954 по 1968 г. Курочкин П.А. – начальник Военной академии имени М.В. Фрунзе, профессор (1962 г.). Обладая богатым боевым опытом, широкой эрудицией, он внес большой вклад в совершенствование учебного процесса академии, подготовку высококвалифицированных офицеров для Вооруженных Сил страны. Под его руководством научным коллективом разработан ряд фундаментальных трудов по теории общевойскового боя. В 1968–1970 гг. Павел Алексеевич являлся представителем Главного командования Объединенных вооруженных сил государств – участников Варшавского договора в ГДР. С сентября 1970 г. он в Группе генеральных инспекторов МО СССР. Был депутатом Верховного Совета СССР 2-го созыва. Удостоился Ленинской премии (1980 г.) за участие в создании киноэпопеи «Великая Отечественная».

Наряду с названными наградами Павел Алексеевич Курочкин был также награжден 5 орденами Ленина, орденом Октябрьской Революции, 3 орденами Красного Знамени, орденом Кутузова 1-й степени, орденами Отечественной войны 1-й степени, «За службу Родине в ВС СССР» 3-й степени, медалями, а также иностранными орденами. Павел Алексеевич умер 29 декабря 1989 г. в Москве. Похоронен на Новодевичьем кладбище. Пусть память о выдающемся, талантливом военачальнике, который вел к победе наши доблестные войска на протяжении всех грозных лет Великой Отечественной войны, вечно живет в наших сердцах.
Автор: Алина Дмитриева
Первоисточник: http://encyclopedia.mil.ru/encyclopedia/history/more.htm?id=12066223@cmsArticle


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. кошак 5 декабря 2015 08:11
    "Пусть память о выдающемся, талантливом военачальнике, который вел к победе наши доблестные войска на протяжении всех грозных лет Великой Отечественной войны, вечно живет в наших сердцах."

    Спасибо автору за статью!
  2. Хищник 5 декабря 2015 13:01
    Ну не все так радужно как в статье,да простит меня автор.С 5 июля 1041 вступив в должность командующего 20 армии,Курочкин не обеспечил взаимодействия вверенных войск,не имел четкого руководства подразделениями,не имел собственного мнения, а имевши не мог отстоять его перед руководством фронта.На нем непосредственно висит вина в разгроме 5 и 7 мк в безумных контрнаступлениях под Сенно и Оршей,Красным, когда имея подавляющее преимущество в танках,арте и пехоте бездарно позволил немцам разгромить их по частям и отвод войск не в сторону Смоленска,а много севернее-за Днепр,что позволило Вермахту почти с ходу взять Смоленск, так войск там вообще не было, а дивизии 20 армии находились в районе ст.Гусино - Рудаки -Замощье (что им там делать если Готт сидит уже в Духовщине?!),а моторизованные корпуса немцев прут по большаку Красный - Смоленск,Починок - Смоленск?!
    Творческие мысли о том,что не нужно бить противника в лоб,а обходить и вперед,вперед без остановки с Вермахтом не прокатывали.особенно в 1941-1942 годах,о чем свидетельствует разгром 39,40,2 УА армий,армейской группы Качалова,группы Петровского,Барвенковский и Харьковский погром.
    Следует признать,что уровень Курочкина - армия,более большим объединением командовать ему не по силам.А вот как командарм с конца 1943 г он проявил себя хорошо.
  3. sw6513 5 декабря 2015 13:58
    Светлая ему память!!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня