Military Review

Stun gun for urban self-defense

23
Stun gun for urban self-defense
Among the newfangled means of self-defense, one can especially note the stun gun - seemingly effective weapon. But is it really effective? What are stun guns? How to choose them, on what grounds, and whether to choose at all? Read the new article in the series "For urban self-defense." So, EShU - electroshock device.



1. Contact or shooting (Desh) stun gun

- Contact: for impact on the aggressor, it is necessary to attach a stun gun with electrodes to its body and hold for at least 3 seconds for a full impact.
- The remote (shooting) stun gun can be used from a distance (which is safer). Such shockers (tasers) are used by American police. When fired, two harpoon electrodes connected to the DESU by wires fall into the aggressor and transfer the discharge. The maximum shot distance is 4,5 m.
- There is a hybrid option: a remote-contact stun gun, which can be used with close contact and from a distance.

2. The size

Most shockers are divided into 2 categories:

- "Flashlight" - stun gun disguised as a large flashlight. Such a device can also repel attacks, especially considering that, as a rule, they have a shock-resistant body. Two in one. But you won't go to the theater with that.

- Shocker standard form (like an electric razor). Such shockers are more suitable for women because of their miniature form, so that they can be carried in a purse. The power of the shocker does not depend on the size.

3. Food

The power supply of the stun gun is a battery or battery.

- Batteries a little more powerful. The battery can be charged only once a year. Full charge takes about 6-8 hours. But this is if you do not use it. After each use, a full charge is required.
- The batteries need to be changed every 8-12 months, if you have not used a stun gun, or after 20 discharges.



4. Models:

In our time replete with technical innovations, each manufacturer is izgalyatsya, not knowing how else to attract buyers. May soon be selling electric shockers with built-in WiFi.

- There are stun guns with built-in flashlights that have several degrees of brightness, which, in theory, will allow not only to shock the attacker, but also to blind him.
- There are stun guns that give a flash and a loud sound when applied, which, apparently, should additionally shock the aggressor.

It is strange why there is still no device that simultaneously gives a discharge of current, a stream of gas, a flash and cotton. And selfie memory.

5. Technical parameters and classes:

- Power - measured in watts (or joules per second).
CAUTION! Many manufacturers overstate the power of shockers, which is actually not true.

- Voltage - measured in volts.

- The frequency of sparking - this is quite an important parameter manufacturers do not always indicate. And sellers do not always know about it. The frequency of sparking stun guns are divided into two types:
- Low Frequency
- high frequency
Low-frequency stun guns (with a frequency of 50-80 Hz) are designed to cause pain in the first fraction of a second. Such a stun gun can only scare, but not neutralize.

The developers of high-frequency stun guns chose a different path. Their products with sparking frequency over 100 Hz are intended for paralyzing the attacker. But these developments are not without flaws. For example, in order to neutralize the enemy with a high-frequency model, you will have to press the shocker against his body for 1-2 seconds. The higher the frequency, the easier it is to increase the voltage.

To distinguish between high-frequency and low-frequency shockers is quite simple. The first publish a characteristic crash when discharging, the second - a loud buzz. There is another way to check. Unlike low-frequency shockers, high-frequency models are capable of burning paper when discharged.

Also, all stun guns are divided into 3 class, depending on the output voltage, power and effects of the application.

1 class: Stunner (for security forces)
Voltage: 70-90 kV
Power: 2-3 W

2 class: Disorienter (for civilians)
Voltage: 45-70 kV
Power: 1-2 W

3 class: Psychological weapon (maximum for scaring dogs)
Voltage: 20-45 kV
Power: 0,3-1 W

6. Presence of a fuse

- Some models of stun guns have fuses, which on the one hand is justified by safety, on the other is another obstacle to self-defense (you need to have time to pull out the shocker, and even "remove from the fuse."

- Models without fuse usually have a cover, which is also a kind of protection of the owner of the ESD.

7. Interesting Facts:

- In the West, stun guns have been used since the beginning of the 20 century. The stun gun was loved by law enforcement officers, as it helps to detain the suspect without causing him injuries. Later, enterprising manufacturers began to produce shockers for "civilians."

8. Zones

- Electrical discharges are best directed to the solar plexus, groin and axillary areas.

ATTENTION - physical contact with the aggressor, to which you have released a discharge, is harmless to you. You do not hit a current.

RESULTS:

Pros:

- Absolutely legal, as a non-lethal weapon. Can stop almost anyone (shooting type - "taser")
- You can use in a closed room, paralyze for a time specific aggressor.
- Can be used in any weather (snow, wind, rain).
- It scares off dogs quite well (especially Chinese-made models that pop out loudly), because when the discharge comes out, ozone forms, which animals do not like.



Cons:

- Poor acting through clothes - contact with bare skin is needed. On stun guns there are spike electrodes, which in theory should pierce the attacker's clothes, but can they pierce a thick winter jacket or sheepskin coat? We do not have Hawaii. (Although, there are shockers with the stated penetration ability of 6, see - but it should be understood that manufacturers like to exaggerate.) In the case of a shooting shocker, again, it is necessary to get into the skin.

- Time limit - contact with the body of the aggressor is necessary for at least 3 seconds (contact version)
- By the way, it is forbidden to beat a person into the head of an aggressor.
- Batteries and accumulators are usually operable at temperatures not lower than -15 ° С. But, let's say, an authorized knife is effective at almost any temperature and does not require recharging at all ... and does not allow any misfires ...

And, finally, the fattest minus:

- Due to restrictions under the laws of the Russian Federation, the effective version is available only to law enforcement officers (for example, 'AIR-107U' (10 watts). As for civilians, however, only low-power versions are allowed, which are more likely to annoy rather than stop a criminal (allowed power is no more than 3 watts (or 3 J / sec.) and voltage is no more than 90000 volts. Figuratively speaking, Saiga instead of AK-74. Some self-made cars risk removing limiters, increasing the power of the shocker, or even making an ESL independently, but we can not recommend this it.
Author:

Электрошокер для городской самозащиты

Электрошокер для городской самозащиты
Среди новомодных средств самозащиты можно особо отметить электрошокер - вроде бы эффективное оружие. Но так ли он эффективен на самом деле? Какие бывают электрошокеры? Как их выбирать, по каким признакам, и стоит ли выбирать вообще? Читайте в новом материале цикла "Для городской самозащиты". Итак, ЭШУ - электрошоковое устройство.



1. Контактный или стреляющий (ДЭШУ) электрошокер

- Контактный: для воздействия на агрессора необходимо приложить электрошокер электродами к его телу и удерживать минимум 3 секунды для полноценного воздействия.
- Дистанционный (стреляющий) электрошокер можно использовать с дистанции (что безопаснее). Такими шокерами (тазерами) пользуются американские полицейские. При выстреле два гарпуна-электрода, соединенных с ДЭШУ проводами, попадают в агрессора и передают разряд. Максимальная дистанция выстрела - 4,5 м.
- Есть и гибридный вариант: дистанционно-контактный электрошокер, который можно использовать и при близком контакте и с дистанции.

2. Размер

В основном шокеры делятся на 2 категории:

- "Фонарь" - электрошокер, замаскированный под большой фонарь. Таким устройством можно также отбивать атаки, особенно учитывая, что, как правило, они имеют ударопрочный корпус. Два в одном. Но в театр с таким не пойдешь.

- Шокер стандартной формы (похожий на электробритву). Такие шокеры больше подходят женщинам из-за своей миниатюрной формы, благодаря чему их можно носить в сумочке. Мощность шокера от размера не зависит.

3. Питание

Источник питания электрошокера - аккумулятор или батарейка.

- Аккумуляторы чуть мощнее. Аккумулятор можно заряжать лишь раз в год. Полная зарядка длится около 6-8 часов. Но это в том случае, если вы его не используете. После каждого использования необходима полная зарядка.
- Батарейки нужно менять раз в 8-12 месяцев, если вы не использовали электрошокер, либо после 20 разрядов.



4. Модели:

В наше пресыщенное техническими новинками время каждый производитель изгаляется, не зная как еще привлечь покупателей. Возможно, скоро будут продавать электрошокеры со встроенным WiFi.

- Есть электрошокеры со встроенными фонарями, имеющими несколько степеней яркости, что по идее позволит не только шокировать злоумышленника, но еще и ослепить его.
- Есть электрошокеры, дающие при применении вспышку и громкий звук, что тоже, видимо, должно дополнительно шокировать агрессора.

Странно, почему еще нет устройства, одновременно дающего разряд тока, струю газа, вспышку и хлопок. И сэлфи на память.

5. Технические параметры и классы:

- Мощность - измеряется в ваттах (или Джоулях в секунду).
ОСТОРОЖНО! Многие производители завышают мощность шокеров, что фактически не соответствует действительности.

- Напряжение - измеряется в вольтах.

- Частота искрообразования - этот достаточно важный параметр производители не всегда указывают. И продавцы не всегда о нем знают. По частоте искрообразования электрошокеры делятся на два типа:
- Низкочастотные
- Высокочастотные
Низкочастотные электрошокеры (с частотой 50-80 Гц) предназначены для причинения боли в первую долю секунды. Такой электрошокер может только напугать, но не обезвредить.

Разработчики высокочастотных электрошокеров пошли по иному пути. Их продукты с частотой искрообразования свыше 100 Гц предназначены для парализации нападающего. Но и эти разработки не лишены недостатков. Например, чтобы обезвредить противника высокочастотной моделью, вам придется прижать шокер к его телу на 1-2 секунды. Чем выше частота, тем проще повысить напряжение.

Отличить высокочастотные шокеры от низкочастотных достаточно просто. Первые издают при разряде характерный треск, вторые – громкое жужжание. Существует и другой способ проверки. В отличие от низкочастотных шокеров, высокочастотные модели при разряде способны поджечь бумагу.

Также все электрошокеры делятся на 3 класса в зависимости от выдаваемого напряжения, мощности и последствий применения.

1-й класс: Парализатор (для силовых структур)
Напряжение: 70-90 кВ
Мощность: 2-3 Вт

2-й класс: Дезориентатор (для "гражданских")
Напряжение: 45-70 кВ
Мощность: 1-2 Вт

3-й класс: Психологическое оружие (максимум для отпугивания собак)
Напряжение: 20-45 кВ
Мощность: 0,3-1 Вт

6. Наличие предохранителя

- Некоторые модели электрошокеров имеют предохранители, что с одной стороны оправдано техникой безопасности, с другой является еще одной помехой самозащите (нужно успеть вытащить шокер, да еще и "снять с предохранителя".

- Модели без предохранителя обычно имеют чехол, который тоже является в своем роде защитой владельца ЭШУ.

7. Интересные факты:

- На Западе электрошокеры используются с начала 20-го века. Электрошокер полюбили сотрудники правоохранительных органов, так как он помогает задержать подозреваемого, не нанося ему травм. Позже предприимчивые производители стали выпускать шокеры и для "гражданских".

8. Зоны

- Электрические разряды лучше всего направлять в солнечное сплетение, паховую и подмышечную области.

ВНИМАНИЕ - физический контакт с агрессором, в которого вы выпустили разряд, для вас безвреден. Вас током не ударит.

ИТОГИ:

Плюсы:

- Абсолютно легален, как нелетальное оружие. Может остановить практически любого человека (стреляющий тип - "тазер")
- Можно использовать в замкнутом помещении, парализовать на время конкретного агрессора.
- Можно использовать при любой погоде (снег, ветер, дождь).
- Довольно хорошо отпугивает собак (особенно модели китайского производства, которые громко трещат), так как при выходе разряда образуется озон, который животные не любят.



Минусы:

- Плохо действует через одежду - нужен контакт с оголенным участком кожи. На электрошокерах бывают электроды-шипы, которые по идее должны протыкать одежду нападающего, но смогут ли они проткнуть толстую зимнюю куртку или дубленку? У нас не Гавайи. (Хотя, есть шокеры с заявленной пробивной способностью 6 см. - но надо понимать, что производители любят преувеличивать.) В случае со стреляющим шокером опять же нужно попасть именно в кожу.

- Временное ограничение - нужен контакт с телом агрессора минимум 3 секунды (контактный вариант)
- Кстати, в голову агрессора бить током запрещено.
- Батарейки и аккумуляторы обычно работоспособны при температурах не ниже -15°С. А вот, скажем, разрешенный нож эффективен при практически любой температуре и перезарядки вообще не требует... и осечек не дает...

И, наконец, самый жирный минус:

- Из-за ограничений по законам РФ эффективная версия доступна только сотрудникам правоохранительных органов (например, 'АИР-107У' (10 ватт). Гражданским же как всегда разрешены только маломощные версии, которые способны, скорее, разозлить, а не остановить преступника (разрешена мощность не более 3 ватт (или 3 Дж/сек.), и напряжение не более 90000 вольт). Образно говоря, Сайга вместо АК-74. Некоторые "самоделкины" рискуют снимать ограничители, повышая мощность шокера, а то и изготавливать ЭШУ самостоятельно, но мы такое рекомендовать никак не можем.
Автор:
Михаил Диденко
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter