Military Review

Venetian Fortress in Northern Cyprus

9
Any fortification is interesting and instructive in its own way. After all, why did people build them? To protect yourself from enemy attacks, sit behind the high and thick walls and ... after the disgrace of the enemies to continue a peaceful life. As a rule, fortresses clearly demonstrate the ingenuity of our ancestors and their resourcefulness. Many of them were built on a peninsula, surrounded on three sides by water, others - on the contrary, on such high cliffs, that if you look up - the cap falls off. Well, where there was a flat land, ingenuity was replaced by art and the hard work of stonecutters and bricklayers, who built truly remarkable structures. By the way, sometimes they helped not only to defend their lands, but also served as outposts of foreign expansion.



Venetian fortress of the city of Kyrenia, northern Cyprus. View from the sea.

Take for example the island of Cyprus with its thousands of years of rich history. The wealth of its subsoil has always attracted both merchants and conquerors, as well as its strategic position at the crossroads of routes from Europe to Asia. No wonder there are still the British military bases, and by law they will be there forever, for such was the condition for granting Cyprus independence. So it remains to be seen whether the military bases of Russia will appear in Cyprus, but the British bases have been there and will always be. By the way, they look very peaceful. Behind the barbed wire you can see cozy houses, tennis courts, “mail” - everything is as if nothing military was there. Well, there are visible here and there white hemispheres of radar, whole forests of vertical whip antennas and ... everything!


Map of Cyprus with the UN area of ​​responsibility and British military bases.

However, there are many old fortresses in Cyprus. And they are located both on its south side (a small amusing fortress is located right on the embankment of the city of Larnaca, there is a stage and historical performances are held, the benefit of the surroundings allows!), And on the north. This part of the island was annexed by Turkey in 1974, and now the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is located there, which is recognized only by Turkey itself. Well, and since relations with Turkey today have deteriorated seriously and for a long time, it may very well be that our tourists will get there much more difficult than before, although there used to be no particular difficulties with this. Get on the bus and go! And to see this “edge” is very interesting. Well, firstly, when you arrive there, you immediately see that reference books, which say that this is the most militarized state in the world, do not lie: here and there the wire, then there and here the Turkish soldiers with machine guns, behind the wire are Turkish BTR M113 with uncovered machine guns and literally, wherever you look, posters - “No photos! No cameras! "And in addition, they also warn you:" Take away the cameras! Turks will enter - they will see, they will be taken away! ”Here the shooting range of snipers, here is the base of Turkish special forces ... You go and you get a camera, then you will cover it immediately!

As for Kyrenia (Girne), it is rightfully considered the most picturesque city in the eastern Mediterranean. It was founded in the 10th century BC. still Phoenicians, and received his name in honor of the goddess Aphrodite the Brilliant - "Kyrenians". The Kyrenian temple was built in her honor in the city, but despite this, he did not play a special role in the ancient history of the island. Under the Romans, a trade harbor was built here, and under the Byzantine emperors - a fortress. And so she got the name of the Kyrenia fortress, which still exists today. In V - VII centuries. many neighboring cities were destroyed by the Arabs, but Kerenia survived and ... attracted the attention of the British!

In 1191, its storming from land and from the sea was taken by the troops of the victorious English king Richard the Lionheart. Well, when the power of kings from the Louisiana dynasty was established in Cyprus, work began to strengthen it, as a result of which it became almost impregnable. Prisoners were also held there and the Knights of the Knights Templar were executed. During the war for power on the island, which occurred in the first third of the 15th century, Queen Charlotte lasted here for almost four years, besieged by the troops of her illegitimate brother James. Then he did not even try to storm the fortress, but decided to take it into oblivion. And the siege ended only when the cook of the queen began to feed her omelet from pigeon eggs. It was then that she no longer sustained herself and fled to the island of Rhodes, well, and the fortress garrison, of course, immediately surrendered. After perestroika, it was never taken by storm until it surrendered to the Turks in 1570, without a fight.


Cyprus gold bezant XIII century. made in the western style.

When Cyprus became part of the Venetian Republic, the Venetians strengthened it even more (although it would seem so much more ?!), and installed powerful artillery on its walls. Venetian architect Savorniani watched the work, and we can thank him today that despite the heat in the deep casemates of the fortress it is cool - this is the thickness he erected here the walls. At the same time, a long pier was attached to the fortress, making it difficult for the landing directly on the walls of the fortress.

Well, now let's take a short excursion to the fortress and take a good look at everything there. The entrance to it is on the northwestern side and a stone bridge over the moat leads to it. This ditch, covering the entire fortress along the perimeter, was filled with water until the XIV century, and today it is the highway encircling it.

The ticket price for adults is 3,6 euro, but for students the price is reduced to 0,8 euro. The entrance is open from 9 in the morning to 6-30 evenings in the summer and from 9 in the morning and 4-30 evenings in the winter.

Venetian Fortress in Northern Cyprus

Once in the fortress, you will see another gate in front of you, and under the arches on the right there will be a lot of various souvenir shops. Note the wide ramp on the left. Of course, you can climb the walls along the stairs, but the ramps allowed heavy guns to roll in there freely and, moreover, soldiers could quickly climb them.


The courtyard of the fortress is a flat platform bordered by palm trees, bushes and ... marble cores for cannons. To cross it at noon is a test for the Stoics, so there everything is heated by the sun.

In the far left corner of the fortress courtyard is the entrance to the Lusignan Tower - a very unusual place that must be visited by lovers of military history. And it is unusual in that it allows to see the whole tower from the inside, because a wide light well passes from top to bottom through it! Standing on its bottom, you will see a building above your head above a modern five-story building, with numerous casemates in the thickness of the walls. The walls in the tower are just incredible thickness, and you can only imagine what long V-shaped loopholes for the guns in the thickness of the walls are made for them. Here in the rooms sealed with glass, mannequins of soldiers of different times are displayed. Here and a scene with the distribution of salaries to Byzantine soldiers, and the scene of maintenance tools. It must be said that the dummies could have been better picked up, that is, all these “dioramas” are performed according to the principle “for tourists and it will come down so much!” Shooting through the glass without a flash is dark and uncomfortable with a flash. But here it is cool. Here in the dungeon there are figures that demonstrate how in the Middle Ages tortured prisoners (mannequins make-believe everything that happened), but to be honest, looking at “this” is not terrible, but ridiculous!


The walls and towers of the fortress look like this from the outside, and it is not surprising that not a single person in their right mind decided to take them by attack, and did not climb the stairs to them.


View of the approaches to the fortress through an embrasure of artillery. That is, everything was arranged to shoot through them with flanking fire.


A pier that protects the approaches to the fortress from the sea. Below you can see the tourist ship, which regularly takes tourists to the sea on a kebab!


View of the port of Kyrenia and the fortress from a bird's eye view. The amphitheater arranged in her yard and the Lusignan tower (top right) are clearly visible. Look carefully, and you will see in its roof the opening of the light well, which was discussed, and also how thick the wall is.


Well, the enemies tried to break through the walls of the fortress more than once, and its defenders repeatedly fired cannons at the invaders and ... these were the kind of cores they used.


There was nothing to measure the diameter of this stone core, but ... here is a “large-scale child” with a height, as his mother said, exactly 90 cm.


Well, this is a wrought iron gun of small caliber, preserved to our time ...


And the kernel to it!

In the Cyprian fortress there is an interesting “Museum of a single ship”, which we have already told about here. But here is an interesting exposition of the medieval weapons practically absent, but there are many of them in the museums of Nicosia - the capital of Cyprus.


1200 sword of the year from the Municipal Museum in Nicosia.

Well, in conclusion, I would like to wish those who somehow find themselves again in this interesting place to linger longer in it, and still have a portable quadcopter with a camera with them to take pictures of both the fortress and the port from a bird's-eye view. After all, there are so many interesting things!
Author:
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Simple
    Simple 14 December 2015 11: 45 New
    +1
    Quote: from article
    There was nothing to measure the diameter of this stone core ...


    How is it nothing? You have so many measurement tools at your fingertips. laughing

    The Russian system of measures to help you.

    For me - it’s the most convenient way to measure the distance of such a scale by applying the thumb and middle finger

    (In this case, the shadow made on the projection of the core)
    1. kalibr
      14 December 2015 12: 25 New
      +1
      You know, it was so hot there that it was just that brains flowed from the ears and something to figure out how to do it was an impossible task!
    2. a housewife
      a housewife 14 December 2015 12: 44 New
      +2
      It was a joke! It’s just that the child looks more interesting next to the core than any other measuring tool. In general, fortresses were lucky that the Russians did not conquer it. And the thickness of the walls ... Solovtsy, the Pskov Kremlin is not worse, it seems to me. And it's time to free Cyprus from the Turks, and through international organizations - it's good to sleep!
      1. kalibr
        14 December 2015 15: 49 New
        +1
        The EU imposed on Turkey a contribution to the Cypriots = Christians who suffered from the annexation of the northern part. A total of 80 million euros. And Turkey answers - we won’t pay! And do not pay! And how to make them?
      2. kalibr
        14 December 2015 15: 55 New
        0
        I always dreamed of visiting the Pskov Kremlin, but ... just like that, you won’t go there for an assistant professor’s salary. And there will be a good fee for the book ... who knows what will happen then.
  2. datur
    datur 14 December 2015 15: 18 New
    +1
    Thank you!!!! good but I would like more photos !!! yes
    1. kalibr
      14 December 2015 15: 51 New
      +1
      More photos ... I would also like to. But the pictures didn’t come out in the tower, all in a fog. To shoot through the glass - you yourself know. And just removing stones is not interesting. And there was no time to go around the fortress around. There wasn’t even going to the pier!
  3. Bashibuzuk
    Bashibuzuk 14 December 2015 16: 13 New
    +1
    But the top view is awesome.
    Particularly noteworthy is the bay. And the sea behind the pier is crystal clear.
    I wanted to dive right away.
    Ehhhhh, when will I go to Crete again.
    Or Cyprus.
    1. kalibr
      14 December 2015 18: 32 New
      +1
      If you were in Crete, then go to Cyprus. There is its own charm. The abundance of another word does not pick up churches and chapels. Right on the seashore on the beach !!! Among the palm trees! Murals ... just awesome! Well, this is a fairy tale, I have not seen such a thing. And antiquity ... awesome antiquity! 5 century, 6 century, 10 century ... Chandelier donated to the church by Nicholas II in 1902 year ... Monastery of cats. The relics of St. Lazarus, that same. The ghost town of Famagusta ... and the sea ... are so clean and warm. But I can’t get to Crete. We travel only as a family and my wife decided that Cyprus is hot and stuffy, and Crete is even hotter! That's it! Kaput to my dreams!

Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

Любое крепостное сооружение по-своему интересно и поучительно. Ведь для чего люди их строили? Чтобы защитить себя от вражеского нападения, отсидеться за высокими и толстыми стенами и… после посрамления врагов продолжить мирную жизнь. Как правило, крепости наглядно показывают смекалку наших предков и их находчивость. Многие из них возводились на полуострове, с трех сторон окруженном водой, другие – напротив, на таких высоких скалах, что если вверх посмотреть – то шапка спадает. Ну, а там, где была ровная земля, смекалку заменяло искусство и тяжкий труд каменотесов и каменщиков, возводивших поистине замечательные сооружения. Кстати, иной раз они помогали не только защищать свои земли, но и являлись форпостами чужеземной экспансии.

Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

Венецианская крепость города Кирения, северный Кипр. Вид со стороны моря.

Возьмем для примера остров Кипр с его тысячелетней богатой историей. Богатство его недр всегда привлекало и купцов, и завоевателей, равно как и его стратегическое положение – на перекрестке путей из Европы в Азию. Недаром там до сих пор находятся британские военные базы, и по закону будут находиться там вечно, ибо таково было условие предоставления Кипру независимости. Так что еще неизвестно, появятся ли на земле Кипра военные базы России, а вот базы англичан были там и будут всегда. Кстати, внешне выглядят они очень мирно. За колючей проволокой видны уютные домики, теннисные корты, «почта» – все так, как если бы ничего военного там не было. Ну, видны кое-где белые полушария радаров, целые леса вертикальных штыревых антенн и… все!


Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

Карта Кипра с обозначением зоны ответственности ООН и английскими военными базами.

Однако есть на Кипре и много старинных крепостей. И расположены они как на его южной стороне (маленькая забавная крепость находится прямо на набережной города Ларнаки, там есть сцена и проводятся спектакли на исторические темы, благо антураж позволяет!), так и на северной. Эта часть острова была аннексирована Турцией в 1974 году и сейчас там расположена Турецкая Республика Северного Кипра, которая только самой Турцией и признана. Ну, а так как отношения с Турцией у нас сегодня испортились всерьез и надолго, то очень может быть, что нашим туристам попасть туда станет намного труднее, чем раньше, хотя раньше как раз особых-то трудностей с этим и не было. Садись на автобус и поезжай! Причем увидеть этой «край» очень даже интересно. Ну, во-первых, приезжая туда, сразу видишь, что справочники, в которых сообщается, что это самое милитаризованное государство на свете, не врут: то там, то тут проволока, то там, то тут турецкие солдаты с автоматами, за проволокой турецкие БТР М113 с расчехленными пулеметами и буквально, куда не глянь, плакаты – «No photos! No cameras!» И вдобавок тебя еще и предупреждают: «Уберите фотоаппараты! Зайдут турки – увидят, отберут!» Тут стрелковый полигон снайперов, тут база турецкого спецназа… Едешь и то достаешь фотоаппарат, то тут же его зачехляешь!

Что касается Кирении (Гирне), то его по праву считают самым живописным городом восточного Средиземноморья. Он был основан в Х веке до н.э. еще финикийцами, а имя свое получил в честь богини Афродиты Блистательной – «Киренианы». В ее честь в городе был построен и храм «Кирениана», но, несмотря на это, особой роли в древней истории острова он не играл. При римлянах здесь выстроили торговую гавань, а при византийских императорах – крепость. И вот она-то и получила название Киренийской крепости, которая существует и по сей день. В V – VII вв. многие соседние города были разрушены арабами, а вот Керения уцелела и… привлекла к себе внимание англичан!

В 1191 году ее штурмом с суши и с моря взяли войска победоносного английского короля Ричарда Львиное Сердце. Ну, а когда на Кипре утвердилась власть королей из династии де Луизианов, начались работы по ее укреплению, в результате которых она стала практически неприступной. Здесь также держали заключенных и казнили рыцарей ордена Тамплиеров. В ходе войны за власть на острове, случившейся в первой трети XV века, здесь почти четыре года продержалась королева Шарлотта, осажденная войсками своего незаконнорожденного брата Джеймса. Тогда он даже не попытался штурмовать крепость, а решил взять ее измором. И закончилась осада только тогда, когда повар королевы стал кормить ее омлетом из голубиных яиц. Тут-то уж она больше не выдержала и сбежала на остров Родос, ну, а гарнизон крепости, конечно же, сразу сдался. После перестройки она так ни разу и не была взята штурмом, пока в 1570 году не сдалась туркам без боя.

Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

Кипрские золотые безанты XIII в. выполненные в западном стиле.

Когда Кипр вошел в состав Венецианской республики, венецианцы укрепили ее еще больше (хотя, казалось бы, куда уж еще?!), и установили на ее стенах мощную артиллерию. За работами наблюдал венецианский архитектор Саворниани, и это ему мы можем сегодня быть благодарны за то, что несмотря на жару в глубинных казематах крепости прохладно – такой толщины возвел он здесь стены. Тогда же к крепости пристроили и длинный мол, затруднявший высадку десанта непосредственно у стен крепости.

Ну, а теперь давайте совершим небольшую экскурсию в крепость и все там хорошенько рассмотрим. Вход в нее находится на северо-западной стороне и к нему ведет каменный мост через ров. Этот ров, охватывающий всю крепость по периметру, был наполнен водой до XIV века, а сегодня это опоясывающее ее шоссе.

Цена билета для взрослых составляет 3,6 евро, а вот студентам стоимость понижена до 0,8 евро. Вход открыт с 9 утра и до 6-30 вечера в летнее время и с 9 утра и 4-30 вечера зимой.

Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

Оказавшись в крепости, вы увидите перед собой еще одни ворота, а справа под арками будет множество самых разных сувенирных лавок. Обратите внимание на широкий пандус слева. Конечно, на стены можно подняться и по лестницам, но пандусы позволяли свободно закатывать туда тяжелые орудия и к тому же по ним могли быстро подниматься солдаты.

Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

Двор крепости – ровная площадка, окаймленная пальмами, кустарником и… мраморными ядрами для пушек. Пересечь его в полдень испытание для стоиков, настолько там все раскалено солнцем.

В левом дальнем углу крепостного двора находится вход в Лузиньянскую башню – место очень необычное, которое любителям военной истории следует посетить обязательно. А необычно оно тем, что позволяет всю эту башню увидеть изнутри, поскольку через нее сверху донизу проходит широкий световой колодец! Стоя на его дне, вы увидите у себя над головой строение выше современного пятиэтажного дома, с многочисленными казематами в толще стен. Стены в башне просто невероятной толщины, и вы только себе представьте, какие длинные V-образные бойницы для пушек в толще стен для них проделаны. Здесь же в заделанных стеклом комнатках выставлены манекены солдат разного времени. Тут и сценка с раздачей жалованья византийским солдатам, и сцена обслуживания орудия. Надо сказать, что манекены можно было бы подобрать и получше, то есть, выполнены все эти «диорамы» по принципу «для туристов и так сойдет!» Снимать через стекло без вспышки темно, а со вспышкой неудобно. Но зато здесь прохладно. Здесь в подземелье есть фигуры, демонстрирующие, как в средние века истязали узников (манекены инсценируют все происходившее), но если честно, то глядя на «это» становится не страшно, а смешно!

Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

Стена и башни крепости снаружи выглядят вот так, и неудивительно, что ни один человек в здравом рассудке брать их приступом не решился, и по лестнице на них не полез.

Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

Вид на подступы к крепости через артиллерийскую амбразуру. То есть все было устроено так, чтобы простреливать их фланкирующим огнем.

Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

Мол, защищающий подступы к крепости с моря. Внизу виден туристический корабль, которых регулярно вывозит туристов в море на шашлык!

Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

Вид на киренийский порт и крепость с высоты птичьего полета. Хорошо виден устроенный у нее во дворе амфитеатр и Лузиньянскую башню (справа вверху). Посмотрите внимательно, и вы увидите в ее крыше отверстие светового колодца, о котором шла речь, и также какой толщины у нее стены.

Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

Ну, а пробить стены крепости враги пытались не раз, а ее защитники неоднократно палили из пушек по захватчикам и… вот какие ядра они при этом использовали.

Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

Измерить диаметр этого каменного ядра было нечем, но… вот рядом для масштаба стоит «масштабный ребенок» высотой, как сказала его мама, ровно 90 см.

Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

Ну, а это кованое железное орудия малого калибра, сохранившееся до нашего времени…

Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

И ядра к нему!

В киренийской крепости есть интересный «Музей одного корабля», о котором здесь мы уже рассказывали. Но вот интересная экспозиция средневекового оружия практически отсутствует, зато его много в музеях Никосии – столицы Кипра.

Венецианская крепость на Северном Кипре

Меч 1200 года из муниципального музея в Никосии.

Ну, и в завершении хочется пожелать тем, кто так или иначе снова окажется в этом интересном месте, задержаться в нем подольше, а еще иметь при себе портативный квадрокоптер с фотокамерой, чтобы поснимать и крепость, и порт с высоты птичьего полета. Ведь там так много всего интересного!
Автор: Вячеслав Шпаковский


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 9
  1. Простой 14 декабря 2015 11:45
    Цитата: из статьи
    Измерить диаметр этого каменного ядра было нечем...


    Как это нечем? У Вас столько инструментов измерения постоянно под рукой. laughing

    Русская система мер Вам в помошь.

    По мне - так самое удобно мерить расстояния такого маштаба прикладыванием большого и среднего пальцев руки

    (В данном случае выполненную на проекцию ядра -её тень)
    1. kalibr 14 декабря 2015 12:25
      Вы знаете, там так было жарко, что просто мозги текли из ушей и что-то там соображать как это сделать было непосильной задачей!
    2. домохозяйка 14 декабря 2015 12:44
      Это шутка была! Просто ребёнок выглядит рядом с ядром интереснее, чем любой другой измерительный инструмент. А вообще крепости повезло, что её русские не завоёвывали. А толщина стен... Соловцы, Псковский кремль не хуже, мне кажется. А Кипр пора от турок освобождать, причём через международные организации - хорош спать!
      1. kalibr 14 декабря 2015 15:49
        ЕС наложило на Турцию контрибуцию киприотам=христианам пострадавшим от аннексии северной части. В общей сложности 80 млн. евро. А Турция отвечает - платить не будем! И не платят! И как их заставить?
      2. kalibr 14 декабря 2015 15:55
        Я всегда мечтал побывать в Псковском кремле, но... вот так просто на доцентскую зарплату туда не поедешь. А будет хороший гонорар за книгу... кто знает, что будет тогда.
  2. datur 14 декабря 2015 15:18
    спасибо!!!! good но хотелось бы побольше фото!!! yes
    1. kalibr 14 декабря 2015 15:51
      Больше фото... Мне бы тоже хотелось. Но в башне снимки не вышли, все как в тумане. Через стекло снимать - сами знаете. А снимать просто камни - не интересно. А обойти крепость кругом - не было времени. Даже на мол выйти не было!
  3. Башибузук 14 декабря 2015 16:13
    Зато вид сверху обалденный.
    Особо примечательно, что бухточка загажена. А море за молом - кристально чистое.
    Аж понырять сразу захотелось.
    Эххххх, когда ж я опять на Крит поеду.
    Или Кипр.
    1. kalibr 14 декабря 2015 18:32
      Если Вы были на Крите, то поезжайте на Кипр. Там своя прелесть. Обилие иного слова не подберу церквей и часовен. Прямо на берегу моря на пляже!!! Среди пальм! Росписи... просто обалденные! Ну это сказка, я такого у нас не видел. И древность... потрясающая древность! 5 век, 6 век, 10 век... Люстра подаренная церкви Николаем Вторым в 1902 году... Монастырь кошек. Мощи Св.Лазаря, того самого. Город-призрак Фамагуста... и море... такое чистое и теплое. А вот мне на Крит не попасть. Мы ездим только семьей и жена решила, что Кипр -жарко и душно, а Крит - еще жарче! Все!Капут моим мечтам!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня