Military Review

ASCOD Armored Vehicle Family (Austria / Spain)

14
Not all states have the opportunity to independently create the necessary military equipment. Because of this, they have to either buy ready-made foreign samples, or join forces with other countries, which often leads to interesting projects. ASCOD project can be considered as a good example of fruitful international cooperation, thanks to which the armed forces of Austria and Spain received modern equipment. In addition, at present, work is underway to create a new version of the ASCOD family of armored vehicles, which should enter service with the United Kingdom.


The ASCOD (Austrian Spanish Cooperation Development) project started in the early eighties of the last century and was originally developed only by Austrian specialists. In 1982, the Austrian company Steyr-Daimler-Puch Spezialfahrzeug proactively began research on the appearance of a promising infantry fighting vehicle. Negotiations were held with the Greek, Norwegian and Swiss military to study the needs and requirements of European armies. In addition, in the mid-eighties, the Austrian army presented the requirements for promising infantry fighting vehicles. The authors of the project took into account the views of the military on promising technology and accordingly finalized it.


The first prototype BMP ASCOD. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


Experts Steyr-Daimler-Puch Spezialfahrzeug identified the main features of the appearance of a promising combat vehicle, but over time the work faced financial difficulties. Work on the initiative project led to significant expenses that no longer fit into the company's budget. At the same time, the Austrian armed forces refused to buy the proposed machines being developed, although they needed to replace the outdated Saurer 4K 4FA infantry fighting vehicles.

In connection with a similar situation, the Austrian company had to look for a foreign partner who could incur part of the development costs, as well as perform a certain amount of work. In 1988, Steyr-Daimler-Pooh signed a contract with the Spanish company Santa Barbara Sistemas. The signing of the contract led to the renaming of the project to ASCOD, and also gave him a serious push. Over the next few years, Spanish and Austrian engineers jointly completed the design, and soon began to build experimental equipment. Later, at the beginning of the two thousandth years, both companies that participated in the development of the ASCOD project became part of General Dynamics European Land Systems corporation.

In 1991, the construction of a prototype of a promising machine began. The assembly of the case and the corresponding units was undertaken by the Spanish experts. The Austrian side, in turn, took up the manufacture of a combat module. In order to simplify the project and reduce the cost of finished equipment, BMP ASCOD should have received a modified Pandur reconnaissance vehicle of the type SP-30. In this form, the prototype was first demonstrated to specialists, and then showed to potential customers.

It is interesting that in the course of development the most serious changes were made to the project. For example, during the design work, the combat mass of the prospective BMP increased markedly. The original terms of reference implied that this parameter would be at the level of 18 t. Over time, it was increased to 25 t, and the finished prototype weighed already 29 tons. Later, several other prototypes were built, which differed from the first one by some particular features.


Scheme armored family. Figure The-blueprints.com


The signing of a cooperation agreement between Steyr-Daimler-Puch and Santa Barbara Sistemas facilitated all the necessary work, but did not simplify the search for customers for promising technology. For example, in 1993, the first ASCOD prototype was sent to Norway, where it was tested. According to the results of the checks, the Norwegian Defense Ministry decided to purchase not the Austrian-Spanish development, but the Swedish vehicles of the CV90 family. A little later, the project was presented by the Spanish and Austrian military. This time they showed interest.

In 1994, the Spanish military conducted a test of the proposed prototype, and, convinced of its high performance, demanded that several pre-production machines be presented. According to the results of the trial operation of several new infantry fighting vehicles, a contract appeared for the supply of serial equipment. At the beginning of 1996, the Spanish armed forces ordered the ASCOD 144 units. The new BMP was put into service under its own name Pizarro.

The fate of the Austrian contract for the supply of armored vehicles was more difficult. Over time, the Austrian military leadership came to the conclusion that it was necessary to replace the existing equipment, but financial constraints did not allow ordering for several years. Only in 1999, a contract appeared for the supply of the first 112 machines to ASCOD. In the Austrian army, this technique received the additional designation Ulan.

The variants of the ACSOD machines for Austria and Spain have some differences, however, the same ideas and solutions lie at the heart of Lancer and Pizarro. In addition, two versions of armored vehicles have a very high degree of unification, and the differences relate to some parts, components and assemblies associated with the operation of certain troops, as well as with the standards of the armies.


General view of the Spanish BMP ASCOD Pizarro. Clearly visible dynamic protection on the front sheet. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


ASCOD is a typical modern tracked infantry fighting vehicle. Machines of the family have a similar layout of internal units. The engine and transmission units occupy the front of the case, the driver is located next to them. Behind the power plant and the control department there is a fighting compartment with weapons, as well as with the commander and gunner. Feed given under the troop compartment. It is noteworthy that in the troop compartment of the Austrian "Lancer" eight fighters with personal weaponswhereas the Pizarro has only seven seats.

The body of combat vehicles of all versions is built from steel rolled armor plates. Own armor provides protection against 14,5-mm bullets when attacking from the front and all-view protection against 7,62-mm weapons. Also, the 76-mm smoke grenade launchers, which, if necessary, can be charged with fragmentation ammunition, are a unified protection element of the equipment.

Armored vehicles for the Spanish army received protection, reinforced by additional modules. Part of the surface of the steel hull is covered with SABBLIR dynamic protection blocks. With the help of such blocks, the probability of hitting a frontal projection with cumulative ammunition is reduced. Austrian ASCOD, in turn, received a combined additional armor type MEXAS. With its help, a significant increase in the level of protection is achieved: all-view protection against 14,5-mm weapons is provided, and frontal parts withstand hits of 30 caliber shells.

In front of the hull is the power plant. BMP for different customers differ in engine types. Thus, the Pizarro is equipped with an MTU SV-183 TE22 diesel engine with 600 horsepower, while the Ulan is equipped with an 720-strong MTU 8V-199-TE20 motor. Regardless of the type of engine, the machines are equipped with Renk HSWL 106C hydromechanical transmission.


Austrian BMP Ulan with the engine cover open. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


As part of the chassis provides seven road wheels on each side. Skating rinks have an individual torsion suspension and are also equipped with additional shock absorbers. The drive wheels of the chassis are located in the front of the hull, in the immediate vicinity of the engine compartment. Guides, in turn, are placed in the stern. There are several supporting rollers under the upper branch of the track.

Due to the maximum unification, BMPs of the ASCOD family have similar dimensions and weight, and do not differ in terms of mobility. The total length of the two machines is 6,83 m, width - 3,64 m, height - 2,43 m. The Spanish car, due to some features, is slightly lighter than the Austrian: 26,3 t against 28 t.

Due to the relatively high power density (at least 21-22 hp per ton), ASCOD cars are able to reach speeds up to 70 km / h on the highway. The maximum speed in reverse is stated at the level of 35 km / h. Acceleration from 0 to 50 km / h in 14-15 seconds is provided. There is a possibility of crossing the ditches up to 2,3 m wide and lifting to the 950-mm wall. The machines cannot swim, but they are able to cross a ford to a depth of 1,2 m without preparation.

The BMP ASCOD tower is a further development of the Austrian combat modules of previous models. It is made from a set of armor plates of various sizes and shapes. The level of protection of the tower corresponds to the parameters of the hull. A characteristic feature of the tower is its location. To save a small passage connecting the control compartment and the landing compartment, the tower is shifted to the starboard. It provides two jobs for the commander and the gunner.


The interior of the troop compartment of the Ulan car overlooking the driver’s seat and the fighting compartment. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


The composition of weapons and special equipment of the two variants of the ASCOD machine has some differences. A common element is the automatic Mauser MK-30 / 2 X-gun caliber 30 mm with automatic gas, providing a rate of fire up to 770 shots per minute. The gun is equipped with a two-plane stabilizer with electric drives. The design of the tower provides circular guidance in the horizontal plane and vertical guidance from -10 ° to + 50 °. The gun has a double supply of ammunition, which allows you to quickly select the desired ammunition.

Additional armament depends on the type of BMP. The Spanish "Pizarro" is equipped with a coiled MG3 machine gun, the Austrian "Ulan" - FN MAG. Also, the size of the ammunition depends on the type of vehicle. The Spanish version of ASCOD carries 300 projectiles for an automatic cannon, while the ammunition load of an Austrian machine gun is divided into two parts. Ready for use 200 shells, another 205 are in the layouts inside the case. In addition, ASCOD Ulan has 600 cartridges for machine gun in the turret, and 1290 cartridges are stored in stacks.

The composition of fire control equipment was determined by the client countries in accordance with their requirements. For this reason, the Pizarro BMP is equipped with the Indra Mk-10 fire control system with combined day and night sights, a laser rangefinder and a digital ballistic computer. It was reported plans to introduce into the OMS new equipment with enhanced characteristics.

BMP for Austria received a fire control system from Kollsman, built using the MSA units tank SK-105 Kürassier. For guidance, the car received a combined day and night sight from Elbit. In both modes, this device provides up to 8x magnification. The signal from the optoelectronic system is displayed on the screens of the commander and gunner’s workstations.


Training machine based on the ASCOD chassis, owned by the Austrian army. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


The crew of both versions of the BMP ASCOD consists of three people: the driver, the commander and the gunner. Crew jobs are equipped with their own hatches in the roof of the hull and tower, as well as a set of viewing devices with the ability to use night vision systems. In the troop compartment is located 7 (Pizarro) or 8 (Ulan) seats for soldiers with weapons. For landing troops may use aft door or several hatches in the roof.

It should be noted, the Spanish order 144 armored vehicles meant the delivery of only 123 infantry vehicles. The remaining machines were ordered in the configuration of the command and staff. In 2004, the Spanish Ministry of Defense re-ordered the 212 Pizarro machines in several versions. 170 BMPs, 28 artillery reconnaissance vehicles, 8 repair and evacuation vehicles, 5 command-staff and 1 engineering machines were acquired. In process of preparation for production of new cars the Spanish military faced financial difficulties. Due to budget cuts, the order had to be reduced to all necessary modifications to 117 machines. Deliveries of this technology were carried out in 2011-15.

Until the middle of the last decade, the Austrian armed forces received the 112 BMP ASCOD Ulan in basic and training versions and, as far as we know, no longer placed new orders. Exact information about plans to acquire such equipment in the future is not yet available.

Spanish specialists have developed several modifications of the basic ASCOD Pizarro, which were mass-produced. The main option was the Pizarro VCI / C - combat "cavalry" infantry machine. The Pizarro VCPC command and control vehicle is distinguished by the absence of a complete set of places for paratroopers, instead of which special equipment is installed for communication and control of troops. The VCOAV reconnaissance vehicle is equipped with an expanded set of surveillance tools, and the evacuation and engineering VCREC and VCZ carry a set of special equipment designed for solving certain tasks.

ASCOD Armored Vehicle Family (Austria / Spain)
Upgraded machine ASCOD 2. Photo Military-today.com


There is also a training option "Pizarro", intended for the training of driver-mechanics. In this case, instead of a tower, a large cabin for an instructor with a developed frontal and side glazing is mounted on the hull. A certain amount of such equipment was supplied to both Spain and Austria.

General Dynamics, which included both ASCOD project developers at the beginning of the two thousandth, continued the development of this technology. The result was a BMP project, called ASCOD 2. The upgraded machine differs from the basic version by a more powerful MTU engine V8 199 T21 (805 hp), a modified transmission and new control systems. Due to the use of new protection systems, the normal mass of the machine is increased to 30 t. Additional protection blocks can increase this parameter to 40-42 t. The composition of weapons and fire control systems can be determined in accordance with the wishes of the customer.

Over the past few years, British military experts have been working on a program for the development of the armed forces, which includes several projects to create new armored vehicles. In 2010, the British Department of Defense decided that prospective armored vehicles for infantry should be based on the ASCOD BMP. It is assumed that in the foreseeable future several new armored vehicles for various purposes (Scout SV or Ajax family) will be developed, which will allow the British army to replace the existing equipment of obsolete types. The first cars of the new type are planned to be received in 2017 year, and by the end of the decade the re-equipped units will be fully ready for service.

Work on the project ASCOD started in the early eighties, but, despite the great age, it seems that it still retains its relevance. At the beginning of the last decade, an updated version of the ASCOD 2 project was created, which took into account the peculiarities of recent armed conflicts. According to the results of comparison with other proposals, he was chosen as the basis for promising British technology, which will begin service only at the end of the current decade. Thus, all ASCOD vehicles will maintain their place in the armed forces of several countries over the next decades. It seems that the Austrian and Spanish engineers managed to create a successful project of a universal armored vehicle, the modernization potential of which has not yet been exhausted.


On the materials of the sites:
http://army-technology.com/
http://military-today.com/
http://gdels.com/
http://armyrecognition.com/
http://globalsecurity.org/
Author:
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Razvedka_Boem
    Razvedka_Boem 18 December 2015 09: 08 New
    +3
    A good review of a fairly successful BMP.
    1. Malkor
      Malkor 18 December 2015 22: 46 New
      0
      BMP-3 looks like a terminator compared to Lancer and Pisarro
      1. Razvedka_Boem
        Razvedka_Boem 19 December 2015 08: 41 New
        +1
        With BMP 3, no one compares it.
        1. NIKNN
          NIKNN 19 December 2015 15: 37 New
          +2
          vertical guidance from -10 ° to + 50 °


          Was it developed for the city or against the CC?
          1. Razvedka_Boem
            Razvedka_Boem 19 December 2015 16: 29 New
            0
            Elevation of +50 degrees is not enough for the city and for air purposes, you need at least +60 degrees.
  2. Horst78
    Horst78 18 December 2015 09: 12 New
    +2
    Well, basically simpotyazhki, but no longer pulled by modern standards. Author + for his work
    1. Gomel
      Gomel 18 December 2015 15: 46 New
      0
      Well, yes, after the enchanting cars of the Armat family, but on the other hand, it seems to be better than the 3 BMP
      the author by the way avoids comparison with analogues
      1. Malkor
        Malkor 18 December 2015 22: 48 New
        +1
        which is better?
        weapons worse
        weight distribution (with a side tower) worse
        heavier
        armor is at least no better, and pisarro is clearly worse
        What about the price?
  3. Volga Cossack
    Volga Cossack 18 December 2015 10: 59 New
    +2
    good article! thank . and above the landing squad - the commander’s cupola ?????? interesting solution ..
    1. Razvedka_Boem
      Razvedka_Boem 18 December 2015 14: 24 New
      +1
      Are you talking about the training option? The Israelis have an even more original solution - an instructor's chair right on the tower ..)
      1. corporal
        corporal 18 December 2015 14: 34 New
        +2
        Quote: Razvedka_Boem
        Are you talking about the training option?

        We look at the top view, we find the commander's cupola (this is the one with the triplexes).
        Left on the roof of the stern.
  4. corporal
    corporal 18 December 2015 14: 19 New
    +2
    all-round protection against 14,5-mm weapons is provided, and frontal parts withstand shells of 30 mm caliber.
    Impressive.
    Quote: Volga Cossack
    and above the landing squad - the commander’s cupola ?????? interesting solution ..

    Clever decision. The commanding officer (senior) of the landing should also be aware of the environment.
    1. Volga Cossack
      Volga Cossack 19 December 2015 06: 53 New
      +1
      smart - I agree. but very rare. and the advantages are undeniable ......
  5. Doctor Evil
    Doctor Evil 18 December 2015 16: 43 New
    +1
    Thanks to the author for the article. BMP-2 from the Habsburg dynasty. Interesting.

Семейство бронетехники ASCOD (Австрия/Испания)

Далеко не все государства имеют возможность самостоятельно создавать необходимую военную технику. Из-за этого им приходится либо закупать готовые зарубежные образцы, либо объединять усилия с другими странами, что нередко приводит к появлению интересных проектов. Хорошим примером плодотворного международного сотрудничества можно считать проект ASCOD, благодаря которому современную технику получили вооруженные силы Австрии и Испании. Кроме того, в настоящее время ведется работа над созданием новой версии бронетехники семейства ASCOD, которая должна поступить на вооружение Великобритании.

Проект ASCOD (Austrian Spanish Cooperation Development – «Австрийско-испанская совместная разработка») стартовал в начале восьмидесятых годов прошлого века и изначально разрабатывался только австрийскими специалистами. В 1982 году австрийская компания Steyr-Daimler-Puch Spezialfahrzeug в инициативном порядке начала исследования облика перспективной боевой машины пехоты. Для изучения нужд и требований европейских армий были проведены переговоры с греческими, норвежскими и швейцарскими военными. Кроме того, в середине восьмидесятых австрийская армия представила требования к перспективной БМП. Авторы проекта учли взгляды военных на перспективную технику и соответствующим образом доработали его.

Семейство бронетехники ASCOD (Австрия/Испания)
Первый прототипа БМП ASCOD. Фото Wikimedia Commons



Специалисты Steyr-Daimler-Puch Spezialfahrzeug определили основные черты облика перспективной боевой машины, однако со временем работы столкнулись с финансовыми трудностями. Работы по инициативному проекту привели к значительным тратам, которые уже не вписывались в бюджет компании. При этом вооруженные силы Австрии отказались закупать предлагаемые разрабатываемые машины, хотя и нуждались в замене устаревших БМП Saurer 4K 4FA.

В связи с подобной ситуацией австрийской компании пришлось искать зарубежного партнера, который мог бы взять на себя часть затрат по разработке, а также выполнить некоторую долю работ. В 1988 году «Штайр-Даймлер-Пух» подписала контракт с испанской фирмой Santa Barbara Sistemas. Подписание контракта привело к переименованию проекта в ASCOD, а также дало ему серьезный толчок. За несколько следующих лет испанские и австрийские инженеры совместно завершили проектирование, а вскоре приступили к строительству опытной техники. В дальнейшем, в начале двухтысячных годов, обе компании, участвовавшие в разработке проекта ASCOD, вошли в состав корпорации General Dynamics European Land Systems.

В 1991 году началось строительство опытного образца перспективной машины. Сборку корпуса и соответствующих агрегатов взяли на себя испанские специалисты. Австрийская сторона, в свою очередь, занялась изготовлением боевого модуля. С целью упрощения проекта и удешевления готовой техники БМП ASCOD должна была получить доработанную башню разведывательной машины Pandur типа SP-30. В таком виде опытный образец впервые продемонстрировали специалистам, а затем показывали потенциальным заказчикам.

Интересно, что в ходе разработки в проект неоднократно вносились самые серьезные изменения. К примеру, за время проектных работ заметно увеличилась боевая масса перспективной БМП. Изначальное техническое задание подразумевало, что этот параметр будет на уровне 18 т. Со временем его увеличили до 25 т, а готовый прототип весил уже 29 тонн. В дальнейшем были построены несколько других прототипов, которые отличались от первого теми или иными особенностями.

Семейство бронетехники ASCOD (Австрия/Испания)
Схема бронемашин семейства. Рисунок The-blueprints.com


Подписание контракта о сотрудничестве компаний Steyr-Daimler-Puch и Santa Barbara Sistemas облегчило проведение всех необходимых работ, но не упростило поиск заказчиков перспективной техники. К примеру, в 1993 году первый опытный образец ASCOD был отправлен в Норвегию, где прошел испытания. По результатам проверок норвежское военное ведомство решило закупить не австрийско-испанскую разработку, а шведские машины семейства CV90. Чуть позже проект представили испанским и австрийским военным. На этот раз они проявили интерес.

В 1994 году испанские военные провели испытания предложенного прототипа и, убедившись в его высоких характеристиках, потребовали представить несколько предсерийных машин. По результатам опытной эксплуатации нескольких новых боевых машин пехоты появился контракт на поставку серийной техники. В начале 1996 года вооруженные силы Испании заказали 144 единицы ASCOD. Новая БМП была принята на вооружение под собственным именем Pizarro.

Судьба австрийского контракта на поставку бронетехники оказалась более сложной. Со временем военное руководство Австрии пришло к выводу о необходимости замены имеющейся техники, однако финансовые ограничения несколько лет не позволяли сделать заказ. Только в 1999 году появился контракт на поставку первых 112 машин ASCOD. В австрийской армии эта техника получила дополнительное обозначение Ulan.

Варианты машин ACSOD для Австрии и Испании имеют некоторые отличия, однако в основе «Улана» и «Писарро» лежат одни и те же идеи и решения. Кроме того, два варианта бронетехники имеют весьма высокую степень унификации, а различия касаются некоторых деталей, узлов и агрегатов, связанных с эксплуатацией в тех или иных войсках, а также со стандартами армий.

Семейство бронетехники ASCOD (Австрия/Испания)
Общий вид испанской БМП ASCOD Pizarro. Хорошо видна динамическая защита на лобовом листе. Фото Wikimedia Commons


ASCOD представляет собой типичную современную гусеничную боевую машину пехоты. Машины семейства имеют схожую компоновку внутренних агрегатов. Двигатель и агрегаты трансмиссии занимают переднюю часть корпуса, рядом с ними располагается механик-водитель. Позади силовой установки и отделения управления находится боевое отделение с вооружением, а также с местами командира и наводчика. Корма отдается под десантное отделение. Примечательно, что в десантном отделении австрийского «Улана» могут расположиться восемь бойцов с личным оружием, тогда как Pizarro имеет только семь сидений.

Корпус боевых машин всех версий строится из стальных катаных броневых листов. Собственная броня обеспечивает защиту от 14,5-мм пуль при атаках спереди и всеракурсную защиту от 7,62-мм оружия. Также унифицированным элементом защиты техники являются 76-мм дымовые гранатометы, которые при необходимости могут заряжаться осколочными боеприпасами.

Бронетехника для испанской армии получила защиту, усиленную дополнительными модулями. Часть поверхности стального корпуса покрыта блоками динамической защиты SABBLIR. При помощи таких блоков снижается вероятность поражения лобовой проекции кумулятивными боеприпасами. Австрийские ASCOD, в свою очередь, получили комбинированную дополнительную броню типа MEXAS. С ее помощью достигается значительное повышение уровня защиты: обеспечивается всеракурсная защита от 14,5-мм оружия, а лобовые детали выдерживают попадания снарядов калибра 30 мм.

В передней части корпуса располагается силовая установка. БМП для разных заказчиков отличаются типами двигателей. Так, Pizarro оснащается дизелем MTU SV-183 TE22 мощностью 600 л.с., тогда как Ulan комплектуется 720-сильным мотором MTU 8V-199-TE20. Вне зависимости от типа двигателя машины комплектуются гидромеханической трансмиссией Renk HSWL 106C.

Семейство бронетехники ASCOD (Австрия/Испания)
Австрийская БМП Ulan с открытой крышкой моторного отсека. Фото Wikimedia Commons


В составе ходовой части предусматривается по семь опорных катков на каждый борт. Катки имеют индивидуальную торсионную подвеску, а также оснащаются дополнительными амортизаторами. Ведущие колеса ходовой части располагаются в передней части корпуса, в непосредственной близости от моторно-трансмиссионного отделения. Направляющие, в свою очередь, размещены в корме. Имеются несколько поддерживающих роликов под верхней ветвью гусеницы.

За счет максимальной унификации БМП семейства ASCOD имеют схожие габариты и вес, а также не отличаются с точки зрения подвижности. Общая длина двух машин составляет 6,83 м, ширина – 3,64 м, высота – 2,43 м. Испанская машина, в силу некоторых особенностей, немного легче австрийской: 26,3 т против 28 т.

За счет сравнительно высокой удельной мощности (не менее 21-22 л.с. на тонну) машины ASCOD способны развивать на шоссе скорость до 70 км/ч. Максимальная скорость задним ходом заявлена на уровне 35 км/ч. Обеспечивается разгон от 0 до 50 км/ч за 14-15 с. Имеется возможность пересечения рвов шириной до 2,3 м и подъема на 950-мм стенку. Машины не могут плавать, однако способны преодолевать брод глубиной до 1,2 м без подготовки.

Башня БМП ASCOD является дальнейшим развитием австрийских боевых модулей предыдущих моделей. Она изготавливается из набора броневых листов разных размеров и формы. Уровень защиты башни соответствует параметрам корпуса. Характерной особенностью башни является ее расположение. Для сохранения небольшого прохода, соединяющего отделение управления и отсек для десанта, башня сдвинута к правому борту. В ней предусматриваются два рабочих места для командира и наводчика.

Семейство бронетехники ASCOD (Австрия/Испания)
Интерьер десантного отделения машины Ulan с видом на место водителя и боевое отделение. Фото Wikimedia Commons


Состав вооружения и специального оборудования двух вариантов машины ASCOD имеет некоторые отличия. Общим элементом является автоматическая пушка Mauser MK-30/2 калибра 30 мм с газовой автоматикой, обеспечивающей скорострельность до 770 выстрелов в минуту. Орудие оснащается двухплоскостным стабилизатором с электрическими приводами. Конструкция башни обеспечивает круговое наведение в горизонтальной плоскости и вертикальную наводку от -10° до +50°. Пушка имеет двойную подачу боеприпасов, что позволяет быстро выбирать необходимый боеприпас.

Дополнительное вооружение зависит от типа БМП. Испанский «Писарро» оснащается спаренным пулеметом MG3, австрийский «Улан» – FN MAG. Также от типа машины зависят размеры боекомплекта. Испанский вариант ASCOD несет 300 снарядов для автоматической пушки, тогда как боекомплект орудия австрийской машины разделен на две части. К применению готовы 200 снарядов, еще 205 находятся в укладках внутри корпуса. Кроме того, ASCOD Ulan имеет в башне ящики на 600 патронов для пулемета, еще 1290 патронов хранятся в укладках.

Состав оборудования управления огнем определялся странами-заказчиками в соответствии со своими требованиями. По этой причине БМП Pizarro оснащена системой управления огнем Indra Mk-10 с комбинированными дневными и ночными прицельными приборами, лазерным дальномером и цифровым баллистическим вычислителем. Сообщалось о планах ввести в состав СУО новое оборудование с повышенными характеристиками.

БМП для Австрии получила систему управления огнем от компании Kollsman, построенную с использованием агрегатов СУО танка SK-105 Kürassier. Для наведения машина получила комбинированный дневной и ночной прицел компании Elbit. В обоих режимах это устройство обеспечивает увеличение до 8x. Сигнал с оптико-электронной системы выводится на экраны рабочих мест командира и наводчика.

Семейство бронетехники ASCOD (Австрия/Испания)
Учебная машина на базе шасси ASCOD, принадлежащая австрийской армии. Фото Wikimedia Commons


Экипаж обеих версий БМП ASCOD состоит из трех человек: механика-водителя, командира и наводчика. Рабочие места экипажа оснащаются собственными люками в крыше корпуса и башни, а также набором смотровых приборов с возможностью использования систем ночного видения. В десантном отделении размещается 7 (Pizarro) или 8 (Ulan) кресел для бойцов с оружием. Для высадки десант может использовать кормовую дверь или несколько люков в крыше.

Следует отметить, испанский заказ 144 бронемашин подразумевал поставку только 123 машин пехоты. Остальные машины были заказаны в конфигурации командно-штабных. В 2004 году Минобороны Испании вновь заказало 212 машин Pizarro в нескольких вариантах. Были приобретены 170 БМП, 28 машин артиллерийской разведки, 8 ремонтно-эвакуационных, 5 командно-штабных и 1 инженерная машина. По мере подготовки к производству новых машин испанские военные столкнулись с финансовыми трудностями. Из-за сокращения бюджетов заказ пришлось уменьшить до 117 машин всех нужных модификаций. Поставки этой техники осуществлялись в 2011-15 годах.

Австрийские вооруженные силы до середины прошлого десятилетия получили 112 БМП ASCOD Ulan в базовом и учебном вариантах и, насколько известно, более не размещали новые заказы. Точные сведения о планах по приобретению подобной техники в будущем пока отсутствуют.

Силами испанских специалистов были разработаны несколько модификаций базовой ASCOD Pizarro, производившиеся серийно. Основным вариантом стала Pizarro VCI/C – боевая «кавалерийская» машина пехоты. Командно-штабная машина Pizarro VCPC отличается отсутствием полного комплекта мест для десантников, вместо которых устанавливается специальное оборудование для связи и управления войсками. Разведывательная машина VCOAV оснащается расширенным составом средств наблюдения, а ремонтно-эвакуационная и инженерная VCREC и VCZ несут набор специального оборудования, предназначенного для решения определенных задач.

Семейство бронетехники ASCOD (Австрия/Испания)
Модернизированная машина ASCOD 2. Фото Military-today.com


Также существует учебный вариант «Писарро», предназначенный для подготовки механиков-водителей. В этом случае вместо башни на корпусе монтируется крупная кабина для инструктора с развитым лобовым и боковым остеклением. Некоторое количество такой техники было поставлено и Испании, и Австрии.

Компания General Dynamics, в состав которой в начале двухтысячных вошли оба разработчика проекта ASCOD, продолжила развитие этой техники. Результатом стал проект БМП, получивший название ASCOD 2. От базовой версии модернизированная машина отличается более мощным двигателем MTU V8 199 T21 (805 л.с.), доработанной трансмиссией и новыми системами управления. За счет применения новых систем защиты нормальная масса машины увеличена до 30 т. Дополнительные блоки защиты могут увеличивать этот параметр до 40-42 т. Состав вооружения и систем управления огнем может определяться в соответствии с пожеланиями заказчика.

На протяжении нескольких последних лет британские военные специалисты работают над программой развития вооруженных сил, в которую включены несколько проектов создания новой бронетехники. В 2010 году Минобороны Великобритании решило, что перспективная бронетехника для пехоты должна строиться на основе БМП ASCOD. Предполагается, что в обозримом будущем будет разработано несколько новых бронемашин различного назначения (семейство Scout SV или Ajax), которые позволят английской армии заменить имеющуюся технику устаревших типов. Первые машины нового типа планируется получить в 2017 году, а к концу десятилетия перевооруженные соединения будут полностью готовы к службе.

Работы над проектом ASCOD стартовали еще в начале восьмидесятых годов, но, несмотря на большой возраст, он, похоже, до сих пор сохраняет свою актуальность. В начале прошлого десятилетия был создан обновленный вариант проекта ASCOD 2, в котором были учтены особенности вооруженных конфликтов последнего времени. По результатам сравнения с другими предложениями он был выбран в качестве основы для перспективной британской техники, которая начнет службу только в конце текущего десятилетия. Таким образом, все машины семейства ASCOD будут сохранять свое место в вооруженных силах нескольких стран в течение следующих десятилетий. Похоже, австрийским и испанским инженерам удалось создать удачный проект универсальной бронемашины, модернизационный потенциал которого не исчерпан до сих пор.


По материалам сайтов:
http://army-technology.com/
http://military-today.com/
http://gdels.com/
http://armyrecognition.com/
http://globalsecurity.org/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 14
  1. Razvedka_Boem 18 декабря 2015 09:08
    Неплохой обзор довольно удачной БМП.
    1. Malkor 18 декабря 2015 22:46
      БМП-3 выглядит терминатором по сравнению с уланом и писарро
      1. Razvedka_Boem 19 декабря 2015 08:41
        С БМП 3 ее никто и не сравнивает.
        1. NIKNN 19 декабря 2015 15:37
          вертикальную наводку от -10° до +50°


          Для города разрабатывалась или против ВЦ ?
          1. Razvedka_Boem 19 декабря 2015 16:29
            Возвышение +50 градусов маловато и для города и для воздушных целей, нужно хотя бы от +60 градусов.
  2. Horst78 18 декабря 2015 09:12
    Ну в принципе симпотяжки, но уже не тянут по современным меркам. Автору + за труды
    1. Гомель 18 декабря 2015 15:46
      ну да после феерических машин семейства армат, но с другой стороны вроде бы получше бмп 3
      автор кстати избегает сравнения с аналогами
      1. Malkor 18 декабря 2015 22:48
        чем лучше?
        вооружение хуже
        развесовка (с башней сбоку) хуже
        тяжелее
        броня как минимум не лучше, а у писарро явно хуже
        а цена?
  3. казак волгский 18 декабря 2015 10:59
    хорошая статья! спасибо . а над десантным отделением - командирская башенка?????? интересное решение ..
    1. Razvedka_Boem 18 декабря 2015 14:24
      Вы про учебный вариант? У израильтян еще более оригинальное решение - кресло инструктора прямо на башне..)
      1. капрал 18 декабря 2015 14:34
        Цитата: Razvedka_Boem
        Вы про учебный вариант?

        Смотрим вид сверху,находим командирскую башенку (это которая поворотная с триплексами).
        Слева на крыше кормы.
  4. капрал 18 декабря 2015 14:19
    обеспечивается всеракурсная защита от 14,5-мм оружия, а лобовые детали выдерживают попадания снарядов калибра 30 мм.
    Впечатляет.
    Цитата: казак волгский
    а над десантным отделением - командирская башенка?????? интересное решение ..

    Умное решение.Командир(старший) десанта тоже должен быть осведомлен об окружающей обстановке.
    1. казак волгский 19 декабря 2015 06:53
      умное - согласен . но весьма редкое . а преимущества неоспоримы......
  5. Доктор Зло 18 декабря 2015 16:43
    Спасибо автору за статью. БМП-2 от династии Габсбургов. Интересно.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня