Military Review

"The Last Führer"

9
"The Last Führer"



November 20 The International Military Tribunal (MW) began its work in Nuremberg in Nuremberg, which sentenced the top leadership of Hitler's Germany. Roman Andreyevich Rudenko, the chief prosecutor from the USSR, in his speech directly called: "May the judgment of the people be done on the Nazi executioners - fair and severe." But to what extent did the MVT's verdict follow up on the results of the Nuremberg Trials, announced 1945 of October 403 of the year? Of the 1 defendants, only 1946 were sentenced to death, three of them were acquitted.
And Hitler’s official successor, Karl Doenitz (1891 - 1980), who took 30 on April 1945 at the head of the German state and armed forces, was sentenced only to years of imprisonment in 10.

Nimitz did not listen

In the infamous 1 17 Order of Laconia, 1942 in September, none other than Doenitz, prohibited submarine commanders to select people from sunken ships - except for captains and mechanics who were considered prisoners of war. This document was interpreted by the judges as an order to shoot sailors who escaped from sunk ships. War crimes were committed against Doenitz - attacking and destroying ships, including civilians, on the high seas. The accused admitted that he had ordered to sink bli neutral countries.

Nevertheless, at a trial in Nuremberg, some lawyers and witnesses tried to challenge Doenitz's guilt. US judge Francis Biddy even argued for his acquittal, citing the fact that the victors in the war also drowned German ships. Giving Written Testimony to the Commander-in-Chief of the Pacific fleet USA Chester William Nimitz noted: “As a rule, American submarines did not rescue sailors from enemy ships if the ships were exposed to unnecessary or additional risk, or if the submarines were forced to distract from this military order.” 2

However, the international court recognized the attacks on German ships as defense against the aggressor, and Doenitz - a criminal against peace and humanity. The representatives of Great Britain and the USSR were united in this. Thousands of innocent people died due to Doenitz. Restoring historical the truth about the "feats" of the grand admiral, the West German press noted that "the damned admiral is personally responsible for the deaths of 27 sailors of the German submarine fleet and many thousands of sailors of the allied fleets" 494.

October 1 1946, after Goering and several other top Nazis were sentenced to death, the Nuremberg Tribunal read the sentence to Doenitz. The grand admiral was convicted of 2 (crime against peace) and 3 (war crimes) counts and sentenced to 10-year imprisonment. However, the death penalty Doenitz, according to the judges, did not deserve it. The Soviet side did not object to the sentence against Hitler’s successor.


At the Nuremberg Court, Karl Doenitz closely followed the process and tried his best to shield himself. Photo: TASS


Leader "wolf packs"


When Hitler came to power, Doenitz served in Wilhelmshaven at the headquarters of the North Sea region, where he was responsible for ensuring the internal security of the fleet. 1 February 1935 of the year Hitler ordered the construction of submarines to begin, and six weeks later he refused to comply with the articles of the Versailles Treaty limiting Germany’s military capabilities. 6 June 1935, Doenitz was assigned to the Führer of Submarines and took charge of the 1 Submarine Flotilla.

By 1938, Doenitz developed the wolf pack tactics - group submarine attacks on enemy ships4. And in October 1939 of the year was promoted to rear admirals. 30 January 1943 Mr. Doenitz was awarded the highest title of Grand Admiral in the German Navy. During Operation Overlord - the landing of Anglo-American troops in France, which began on 6 on June 1944. - Doenitz was last ordered to attack the allies with massive forces. 36 submarines participated in the battle, less than half of them survived. But Doenitz continued to throw all the new boats into battle, apparently hoping in this way to turn the tide of the war. His stubbornness and recklessness caused the death of many: from 820 Germanic submarines participating from 1939 to 1945 in the "Battle of the Atlantic", 781 died; of 39 thousand submariners of the Kriegsmarine, 32 thousand were killed, of which the majority - in the last two years of the war5.

The grand admiral put everything into practice, including the most senseless, of his Fuhrer, who understood nothing about the naval strategy: for him, as Doenitz wrote, “the war at sea was something far and not very clear.” Doenitz did not approve, but he fulfilled Hitler's plans, with the support of the fleet, to hold Tunisia in the spring of 1943, or to defend the Kurland boiler from the Red Army. The Hitlerite grouping in Kurland fought from October 1944 on 15 in May 1945. It only surrendered a week after the surrender of Germany.

All his life the admiral was a loyal and enthusiastic supporter of Hitler. "Heaven sent us the Führer's leadership!" - He exclaimed, speaking to the sailors. One day, turning to a jubilant crowd in Berlin, he said that Hitler had foreseen everything and had not taken a single wrong step. “We are worms compared to him!” 6.

Successor


In April 1945, even Doenitz made it clear that the days of the Third Reich were numbered. On April 19, the Grand Admiral evacuated his headquarters in a suburb of Berlin. A day later, the Soviet burst into it Tanks. On April 20, Doenitz visited Hitler in the bunker of the Reich Chancellery and was present at his 56th and last birthday.

Hitler wrote in "political testament" of 29 in April: "Before I die, I exclude Reichsmarshal Hermann Goering from the party and deprive him of all rights ... Instead of him, I appoint Reich President and Supreme Commander-in-Chief Grand Admiral Denitz."

After 10 hours of the evening 1 in May, when Hitler was already dead, Goebbels and his wife died in the Reich Chancellery's garden, and the inhabitants of the Fuhrer’s bunker sought salvation in the tunnels of the Berlin subway, Hamburg’s radio interrupted the broadcast with the solemn Brukner Seventh Symphony. There was a battle of military drums, and the announcer spoke: "Our Fuhrer, Adolf Hitler, fighting to the last breath against Bolshevism, fell for Germany this afternoon at his operational headquarters in the Reich Chancellery. Grand Admiral and successor to the Fuhrer "30.

After the announcement of the announcer, the voice of Doenitz was heard, which repeated the lie about the “heroic” death of Hitler. “German men and women! Soldiers of the German army!” Called Doenitz on the radio. “My first task is to save the German people from the advancing Bolshevik enemy. Only for this purpose the armed struggle continues. And as long as the British and Americans hinder the achievement this goal, we will be forced to continue to defend against them and fight them. In this case, the British and Americans continue to fight not in the interests of their people, but to spread Bolshevism in Europe "8.

In the order for the troops, Doenitz said that he took command of all the German armed forces and "imbued with the desire to continue the fight against the Bolsheviks until the fighting forces and hundreds of thousands of families living in the eastern regions of German territory were saved from enslavement and destruction" 9.

Agony


At the Nuremberg Trials, Doenitz openly lied, claiming that he allegedly did not even consider himself Hitler's successor and felt that he had been chosen to negotiate peace and prepare for surrender, because only a person far from politics could do it. Ostensibly for this reason, Doenitz accepted his appointment.

2 May 1945. Hitler's successor moved his headquarters to the cadet corps in Murwick near Flensburg, on the border with Denmark. Flensburg, guarded by a battalion of sailors, became the temporary capital of the Reich. In the conditions of the inevitable defeat of Germany, Doenitz tried to achieve a speedy truce with the Western allies and at the same time sought to withdraw as many troops and civilians from the territories that could be occupied by the Red Army. To do this, the grand admiral sent all the ships at his disposal to the Baltic ports, which were still in the hands of the Germans, with orders to take out all the refugees from there. As a result, in the week remaining until the complete and unconditional surrender of Germany, 2 million people were taken to the west by the forces of the fleet.


War criminals Hermann Goering, Alfred Rosenberg, Baldur von Schirach and Karl Doenitz for a portion of the gangs at the Nuremberg process. Photo: AP

Two unconditional surrenders

On 1.30 on the night of May 7, Doenitz made radio on that Colonel General Jodl was given full authority to sign the Act of Unconditional Surrender, which he did on May 7 on 02.41. However, Stalin declared: “The treaty signed in Reims cannot be canceled, but it cannot be recognized. The surrender should be committed as the most important historical act and was adopted not in the territory of the victors, but where the fascist aggression came from - in Berlin, and not unilaterally, and necessarily the supreme command of all countries of the anti-Hitler coalition "10. By agreement between the governments of the USSR, the USA and the UK, an agreement was reached to consider the procedure in Reims provisional. The Allies agreed to hold the ceremony of the second signing of the surrender of Germany in the defeated capital of the Reich.

It happened on May 8 in 22.43 Central European Time (May 9 on Moscow 00.43) in the Karlshorst suburb of Berlin in the building of a former military engineering school. The Act was signed by the Government of Doenitz: the Chief of the Wehrmacht Supreme Command, Field Marshal Keitel, General, Commander of the Luftwaffe, Colonel General Stumpf, and the Commander of Kriegsmarine, Admiral Friedeburg. Unconditional surrender was accepted by Marshal of the Soviet Union Georgy Konstantinovich Zhukov and Deputy Commander of the Allied Expeditionary Forces Marshal Arthur Tedder (Great Britain). General C. Spaats (USA) and General J. de Latre de Tassigny (France) put their signatures as witnesses. The Second World War in Europe ended.

23 in the morning at 9.45 in the morning Doenitz was delivered to the ship "Patria" to Major General of the US Army Lowell V. Rook. Denits announced that he and the members of his government are now prisoners of war. So why did Hitler's successor avoid the death sentence?

A ten-year sentence was handed down on the basis of the peculiarities of the trial. Grand Admiral tried to shield the Americans, whose position can be explained from purely pragmatic considerations: a person who agreed to unconditional surrender should not be punished too harshly. As a result, Dönitz’s predecessor as commander of the German fleet, Roeder received a life sentence (albeit in January 1955 was released from prison for health reasons), and Hitler's changer received a rather symbolic term.

The Soviet side acted including on the basis of information received from Dönitz himself. During the interrogation of 17 June 1945 g. He showed that he was not involved in the planning of hostilities against the USSR, which, indeed, was an important argument. The grand admiral told that he was not a member of the Nazi party - that is, for participating in the ideological design of the Nazi regime, it would be difficult to attract him.

Life after Nuremberg


10-year punishment Doenitz served his time in the Spandau prison in Berlin. In conversations with the American prison psychiatrist, Dr. Leon Goldendensom dreamed: "I will buy a small apartment for myself and will live there with my wife, closing myself from the rest of the world, I will write memoirs. I think I have to do this for the German people. So that they can understand what really happened and how few of us in the country's leadership knew about the atrocities of Hitler and Heinrich Himmler "11.

1 October 1956, after fully serving his sentence, Doenitz was released. In old age, the former grand admiral became a zealous Catholic, attended church every Sunday, prayed earnestly. And he was very offended by the government of Adenauer, who refused to pay him an admiral's pension, limiting himself to the captain, arguing that the pensioner was an accomplice of Hitler.

The former "last Führer" demanded that the government arrange a solemn funeral for him and put him in a coffin in the uniform of a grand admiral. However, when 24 December 1980, Mr. Dönitz died, he was buried in civilian clothes without military honors at the Waldfriedhof cemetery in Aumule.

Notes
1. Denitz K. Ten years and twenty days. Memories of the commander-in-chief of the naval forces of Germany. 1935-1945 M., 2004. Ch. 14 "Laconia".
2. U-Boot-Krieg. Sammelband 2 (1942-1945). Die Zeit der Abrechnung. Augsburg, 2004. S. 1000.
3. Nachruf. Karl Dnitz // Der Spiegel. 1981. N 1.
4. Dnitz K. Deutsche Strategie ... S. 15.
5. Herzog B. 60 Jahre deutsche U-Boote. 1906-1966. Mnchen, 1968.
6. Encyclopedia of the Third Reich. M., 1996. C. 205.
7. Shearer U. The rise and fall of the Third Reich. T. 2, M., 1991. C. 522.
8. The agony and death of Adolf Hitler. M., 2000, p. 141.
9. Ibid. With. 143.
10. Shtemenko S.M. General Staff during the war. M., 1989. C.522.
11. Goldenson L. Decree. cit. C. 42.
Author:
Originator:
http://www.rg.ru/2015/12/09/rodina-denic.html
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vladimirets
    Vladimirets 22 December 2015 15: 28 New
    +3
    In the infamous Laconia Order 1 of September 17, 1942, none other than Doenitz forbade submarine commanders to pick people from sunken ships - excluding captains and mechanics who were considered prisoners of war. This document was interpreted by judges as an order to shoot sailors who escaped from sunken ships.

    In fairness, we must remember WHY this order was born. yes
  2. Denis Obukhov
    Denis Obukhov 22 December 2015 15: 29 New
    +1
    Anyone who executes a criminal order is the same criminal.
    1. Aleksey_K
      Aleksey_K 22 December 2015 16: 39 New
      +3
      Quote: Denis Obukhov
      Anyone who executes a criminal order is the same criminal.

      If you are talking about the order of the "Laconia" 1 from 17 September 1942, then it refers to the commanders of submarines. Now remember that the diesel submarines of that time were not designed to carry "passengers." Any excess number of people on the boat deprived everyone of air, which means the boat needed to float more often. Extra surfacing - the sinking of the boat could end. And you want to tell me that I "compassionate" should spare the enemy, sacrificing my crew and boat, which were also lacking during the war? In addition, there were no cabins on the boats, even the captain, and there were no handcuffs. In general, the enemy could, in moments of complete silence, knock on the hull of the boat and the boat would die or try to capture the submarine.
      And now "compassionate", tell us, VO readers, about cases of rescue of the Nazis at sea by our submariners. Personally, I read in all the stories and novels about our submariners that ours immediately went under water and escaped from the place of drowning as far as possible. So the Nazis were drowning, and ours did not even look back. Well, what’s the difference between shooting and not providing help on the high seas?
      Not only that, I believe that in the USSR there was exactly the same order so that compassionate philanthropists did not die because of their stupidity, because which is more expensive: a rescued enemy or a boat returning from a campaign?
      1. serezhasoldatow
        serezhasoldatow 22 December 2015 18: 28 New
        -1
        We defended our homeland, and they were invaders! That is the only difference.
  3. Altona
    Altona 22 December 2015 16: 01 New
    +1
    Ukrainian Nazis surpassed Dönitz, they do not care about their own and others.
  4. BISMARCK94
    BISMARCK94 22 December 2015 18: 27 New
    +2
    They talked about the order about Laconia, but did not name the motives for its creation.
    In short: Laconia, if my memory serves me, was loaded with English and Italian prisoners of war. The ship was armed, sailing without lights and anti-submarine zigzag. All criteria for torpedo boat are met. Two torpedoes were sent to it, which successfully hit and Laconia sank. Further, the submarine commander Hartenstein decided to conduct a rescue operation. Hartenstein, realizing that he was powerless to help such a mass of people alone, contacted the command and requested instructions. Dönitz approved the decision of the German commander to provide assistance to those in distress and ordered seven boats nearby (the entire Iceberg group and two others returning to base) to sail at full speed to the Laconia drowning site. Hitler, learning about this, became furious (the Africa Corps was already in a sad situation). Imbued with the Fuhrer’s anger, Dönitz canceled the order for the four submarines of the Iceberg group to help Hartenshtein, leaving it in force only for the two closest - U506 and U507, whose patrol period was already running out. Hartenstein himself was supposed to transfer the rescued to any of the two German boats and follow to the Cape Town area for action within the Iceberg group. Dönitz also contacted the Vichy forces command in the region and asked for assistance. The French responded, and the cruiser “Gluar” left Dakar, and from Conakry (French Guinea) and Cotonou (Dahomey) - one guard each.
    The allies during the rescue operation went bombers on boats, Although the Germans built a homemade flag with a red cross on the main Germans and signaled, but this did not help.
    1. Rezident007
      Rezident007 22 December 2015 22: 25 New
      +1
      Everything is correct. It also happened that warships also passed under the guise of "crosses," so they drowned ruthlessly, regardless of the nation. In war as in war ..
    2. Aleksey_K
      Aleksey_K 22 December 2015 23: 11 New
      0
      Quote: BISMARCK94
      The allies during the rescue operation went bombers on boats, Although the Germans built a homemade flag with a red cross on the main Germans and signaled, but this did not help.

      Here she is compassion during the war, although the Nazis are always not villains, they would still send prisoners of war to their death camps.
      I will give an example of the flooding of the German transport Wilhelm Gustloff by our submarine C-13 under the command of Marinesco. Then 4850 people died. But the German ship “Goya”, sunk on the 16 of April 1945 of the year, the submarine “L-3”, is the leader, on the ship, about 6900 people died. After all, they were specially drowned in order to destroy the Germans, and most of them we would now call peaceful citizens, refugees.
      My personal opinion: the enemy must always inflict maximum defeat and not any pity, otherwise they will later shoot you in the back and shoot at any opportunity.
  5. Aleksander
    Aleksander 23 December 2015 07: 47 New
    +2
    On 23 in May at 9.45 in the morning, Doenitz was delivered to the Patria steamer to Major General of the US Army Lowell


    Before the arrest of 23 on May 1945 during 2 weeks after the surrender, the fascist government officially worked-that is the savagery of the situation. And it was arrested precisely at the insistence of the USSR.

"Последний фюрер"

"Последний фюрер"


20 ноября 1945 года в Нюрнберге начал свою работу Международный военный трибунал (МВТ), вынесший приговоры верхушке руководства гитлеровской Германии. Главный обвинитель от СССР Роман Андреевич Руденко в своей речи прямо призвал: "Да свершится же над фашистскими палачами суд народов - справедливый и суровый". Но насколько соответствовал этому приговор МВТ по итогам 403 заседаний Нюрнбергского процесса, оглашенный 1 октября 1946 года? Из 21 обвиняемого к смертной казни были приговорены только 12, трое вообще оправданы.
А официальный преемник Гитлера Карл Дениц (1891 - 1980), вставший 30 апреля 1945 г. во главе германского государства и вооруженных сил, был приговорен всего лишь к 10 годам тюремного заключения.

Нимица не послушались


В печально известном "Приказе о "Лаконии"1 от 17 сентября 1942 г. не кто иной, как Дениц, запрещал командирам подводных лодок подбирать людей с потопленных кораблей - исключая капитанов и механиков, которые рассматривались как военнопленные. Этот документ был истолкован судьями как приказ расстреливать моряков, спасшихся с потопленных кораблей. В вину Деницу ставились военные преступления - нападение и уничтожение кораблей, в том числе мирных, в открытом море. Обвиняемый признал, что приказал топить и оказавшиеся в зоне боевых действий корабли нейтральных стран.

И тем не менее на процессе в Нюрнберге некоторые юристы и свидетели пытались оспорить виновность Деница. Американский судья Фрэнсис Бидди даже выступал за его оправдание, ссылаясь на то, что победители в войне также топили немецкие корабли. Давая письменные показания МВТ, главнокомандующий Тихоокеанским флотом США Честер Уильям Нимиц отметил: "Как правило, американские субмарины не занимались спасением моряков с вражеских кораблей, если при этом корабли подвергались ненужному или дополнительному риску или если субмарины для этого вынуждены были отвлечься от выполнения боевого приказа"2.

Однако международный суд признал удары по кораблям Германии обороной от агрессора, а Деница - преступником против мира и человечности. В этом были едины представители Великобритании и СССР. По вине Деница погибли тысячи ни в чем не повинных людей. Восстанавливая историческую правду о "подвигах" гросс-адмирала, западногерманская печать отмечала, что "чертов адмирал несет личную ответственность за гибель 27 494 моряков германского подводного флота и многих тысяч моряков союзнических флотов"3.

1 октября 1946 г., после того как Геринг и еще несколько высших нацистов были приговорены к смерти, Нюрнбергский трибунал огласил приговор Деницу. Гросс-адмирал был признан виновным по 2-му (преступление против мира) и 3-му (военные преступления) пунктам обвинения и приговорен к 10-летнему заключению. Однако смертной казни Дениц, по мнению судей, не заслужил. Советская сторона против приговора преемнику Гитлера возражать не стала.

"Последний фюрер"

На Нюрнбергском суде Карл Дениц внимательно следил за процессом и всячески старался выгородить себя. Фото: ТАСС


Вожак "волчьих стай"


Когда Гитлер пришел к власти, Дениц служил в Вильгельмсхафене в штабе Североморского района, где занимался обеспечением внутренней безопасности флота. 1 февраля 1935 года Гитлер приказал начать строительство подводных лодок, а шесть недель спустя отказался выполнять статьи Версальского договора, ограничивавшие военные возможности Германии. 6 июня 1935 года Дениц был назначен "фюрером подводных лодок" и возглавил 1-ю подводную флотилию.

К 1938 году Дениц разработал тактику "волчьих стай" - групповых атак подводных лодок на суда противника4. И уже в октябре 1939 года был произведен в контр-адмиралы. 30 января 1943 г. Деницу было присвоено высшее на германском флоте звание гросс-адмирала. Во время операции "Оверлорд" - высадки англо-американских войск во Франции, начавшейся 6 июня 1944 г. - Дениц последний раз приказал атаковать союзников массированными силами. В бою участвовало 36 субмарин, из них уцелело менее половины. Но Дениц продолжал бросать в бой все новые лодки, видимо, надеясь таким образом переломить ход войны. Его упрямство и безрассудность стали причиной гибели многих: из 820 германских подлодок, участвовавших с 1939 по 1945 г. в "битве за Атлантику", 781 погибла; из 39 тыс. моряков-подводников кригсмарине погибли 32 тыс., из них большинство - в последние два года войны5.

Гросс-адмирал претворял в жизнь все, в том числе и самые бессмысленные, затеи своего фюрера, который ничего не смыслил в морской стратегии: для него, как писал Дениц, "война на море была чем-то далеким и не слишком понятным". Дениц не одобрял, но выполнял планы Гитлера при поддержке флота удерживать Тунис весной 1943 г. или защищать от Красной армии Курляндский котел. Гитлеровская группировка в Курляндии сражалась с октября 1944 г. по 15 мая 1945 г. Она сдалась лишь через неделю после капитуляции Германии.

Всю жизнь адмирал был верным и восторженным сторонником Гитлера. "Небеса послали нам лидерство фюрера!" - восклицал он, выступая перед матросами. Однажды, обращаясь к ликующей толпе в Берлине, он сказал, что Гитлер предвидел все и не совершил ни одного неправильного шага. "Мы - черви по сравнению с ним!"6.

Преемник


В апреле 1945 г. даже Деницу было ясно, что дни Третьего рейха сочтены. 19 апреля гросс-адмирал эвакуировал свою штаб-квартиру в пригороде Берлина. Через сутки туда ворвались советские танки. 20 апреля Дениц посетил Гитлера в бункере рейхсканцелярии и присутствовал на его 56м и последнем дне рождения.

В составленном 29 апреля "политическом завещании" Гитлер писал: "Перед смертью я исключаю из партии рейхсмаршала Германа Геринга и лишаю его всех прав... Вместо него я назначаю рейхспрезидентом и верховным главнокомандующим вооруженными силами гросс-адмирала Деница".

После 10 часов вечера 1 мая, когда Гитлер был уже мертв, тела Геббельса и его жены догорали в саду рейхсканцелярии, а обитатели "бункера фюрера" искали спасения в туннелях берлинского метро, радио Гамбурга прервало трансляцию торжественной Седьмой симфонией Брукнера. Раздался бой военных барабанов, и диктор заговорил: "Наш фюрер Адольф Гитлер, сражаясь до последнего дыхания против большевизма, сегодня днем пал за Германию в своем оперативном штабе в рейхсканцелярии. 30 апреля фюрер назначил своим преемником гросс-адмирала Деница. Слушайте обращение к немецкому народу гросс-адмирала и преемника фюрера"7.

После сообщения диктора раздался голос Деница, который повторил ложь о "героической" смерти Гитлера. "Немецкие мужчины и женщины! Солдаты германской армии! - взывал по радио Дениц. - Моя первая задача, - спасти немецких людей от наступающего большевистского врага. Только ради этой цели вооруженная борьба продолжается. И до тех пор, пока британцы и американцы будут препятствовать достижению этой цели, мы будем вынуждены продолжать защищаться от них и бороться с ними. В этом случае англичане и американцы продолжают борьбу не в интересах своих народов, а для распространения большевизма в Европе"8.

В приказе по войскам Дениц сообщил, что он принял командование всеми вооруженными силами Германии и "проникнут желанием продолжать борьбу против большевиков до тех пор, пока сражающиеся войска и сотни тысяч семей, проживающих в восточных районах германской территории, не будут спасены от порабощения и уничтожения"9.

Агония


На Нюрнбергском процессе Дениц откровенно врал, утверждая, что он якобы вообще не считал себя преемником Гитлера и чувствовал, что его выбрали для ведения переговоров о мире и подготовке капитуляции, потому что сделать это мог только далекий от политики человек. Якобы именно по этой причине Дениц принял свое назначение.

2 мая 1945 г. преемник Гитлера перенес свою штаб-квартиру в кадетский корпус в Мюрвике под Фленсбургом, на границе с Данией. Фленсбург, охраняемый батальоном военных моряков, стал временной столицей рейха. В условиях неизбежного поражения Германии Дениц пытался добиться скорейшего перемирия с западными союзниками и одновременно стремился вывести как можно больше войск и гражданского населения с территорий, которые могли быть заняты Красной армией. Для этого гросс-адмирал послал все имевшиеся в его распоряжении суда в балтийские порты, находившиеся еще в руках немцев, с приказом вывезти оттуда всех беженцев. В итоге за неделю, остававшуюся до полной и безоговорочной капитуляции Германии, на запад силами флота было вывезено 2 млн человек.

"Последний фюрер"

Военные преступники Герман Геринг, Альфред Розенберг, Бальдур фон Ширах и Карл Дениц за порцией баланды на Нюрнбергском процессе. Фото: AP

Две безоговорочные капитуляции

В 1.30 ночи 7 мая Дениц радировал, что генерал-полковнику Йодлю даются все полномочия подписать Акт о безоговорочной капитуляции, что тот и сделал 7 мая в 02.41. Однако Сталин заявил: "Договор, подписанный в Реймсе, нельзя отменить, но его нельзя и признать. Капитуляция должна быть учинена как важнейший исторический акт и принята не на территории победителей, а там, откуда пришла фашистская агрессия, - в Берлине, и не в одностороннем порядке, а обязательно верховным командованием всех стран антигитлеровской коалиции"10. По согласованию между правительствами СССР, США и Великобритании была достигнута договоренность считать процедуру в Реймсе предварительной. Союзники согласились провести церемонию вторичного подписания акта о капитуляции Германии в поверженной столице рейха.

Это случилось 8 мая в 22.43 по среднеевропейскому времени (9 мая в 00.43 по московскому) в берлинском предместье Карлсхорст в здании бывшего военно-инженерного училища. От правительства Деница акт подписали: начальник верховного главнокомандования вермахта генерал-фельдмаршал Кейтель, командующий люфтваффе генерал-полковник Штумпф и командующий кригсмарине адмирал Фридебург. Безоговорочную капитуляцию приняли Маршал Советского Союза Георгий Константинович Жуков и заместитель главнокомандующего союзными экспедиционными силами маршал Артур Теддер (Великобритания). В качестве свидетелей свои подписи поставили генерал К. Спаатс (США) и генерал Ж. де Латр де Тассиньи (Франция). Вторая мировая война в Европе завершилась.

23 мая в 9.45 утра Дениц был доставлен на пароход "Патриа" к генерал-майору армии США Лоуэллу В. Руке. Деницу объявили, что он и члены его правительства отныне военнопленные. Так почему же преемник Гитлера избежал смертного приговора?

Десятилетнийсрок приговор был вынесен ему на основании особенностей судебного разбирательства. Гросс-адмирала пытались выгородить американцы, чью позицию можно объяснить из чисто прагматических соображений: человек, давший согласие на безоговорочную капитуляцию, не должен быть наказан слишком строго. В итоге предшественник Дёница на посту командующего германским флотом Рёдер получил пожизненный срок (правда, в январе 1955 г. был освобожден из тюрьмы по состоянию здоровья), а сменщик Гитлера получил срок скорее символический.

Советская же сторона действовала в том числе и на основании сведений, полученных от самого Дёница. На допросе 17 июня 1945 г.. тот показал, что не участвовал в планировании боевых действий против СССР, что, действительно, было важным аргументом. Рассказал гросс-адмирал и о том, что он не был членом нацистской партии - то есть и за участие в идеологическом конструировании нацистского режима его привлечь было бы затруднительно.

Жизнь после Нюрнберга


10-летнее наказание Дениц отбывал в берлинской тюрьме Шпандау. В беседах с американским тюремным психиатром доктором Леоном Голденсоном мечтал: "Я куплю себе небольшую квартиру и буду жить там вместе с женой, закрывшись от остального мира, буду писать мемуары. Думаю, я должен сделать это для немецкого народа. Чтобы они сами могли понять, что происходило на самом деле и как мало кто из нас в руководстве страны знал о зверствах Гитлера и Генриха Гиммлера"11.

1 октября 1956 г., полностью отбыв срок заключения, Дениц вышел на свободу. В старости бывший гросс-адмирал стал ревностным католиком, каждое воскресенье посещал церковь, истово молился. И очень обижался на правительство Аденауэра, которое отказывалось выплачивать ему адмиральскую пенсию, ограничившись капитанской, мотивируя это тем, что пенсионер был пособником Гитлера.

Бывший "последний фюрер" требовал от правительства устроить ему торжественные похороны и положить в гроб в униформе гросс-адмирала. Однако, когда 24 декабря 1980 г. Дениц скончался, он был похоронен в штатском костюме без воинских почестей на кладбище "Вальдфридхоф" в Аумюле.

Примечания
1. Дениц К. Десять лет и двадцать дней. Воспоминания главнокомандующего военно-морскими силами Германии. 1935-1945 гг. М., 2004. Гл. 14 "Лакония".
2. U-Boot-Krieg. Sammelband 2 (1942-1945). Die Zeit der Abrechnung. Augsburg, 2004. S. 1000.
3. Nachruf. Karl Dnitz // Der Spiegel. 1981. N 1.
4. Dnitz K. Deutsche Strategie... S. 15.
5. Herzog B. 60 Jahre deutsche U-Boote. 1906-1966. Mnchen, 1968.
6. Энциклопедия Третьего рейха. М., 1996. С. 205.
7. Ширер У. Взлет и падение Третьего рейха. Т. 2, М., 1991. С. 522.
8. Агония и смерть Адольфа Гитлера. М., 2000, с. 141.
9. Там же, с. 143.
10. Штеменко С.М. Генеральный штаб в годы войны. М., 1989. С.522.
11. Голденсон Л. Указ. соч. С. 42.
Автор: Борис Хавкин
Первоисточник: http://www.rg.ru/2015/12/09/rodina-denic.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 9
  1. Владимирец 22 декабря 2015 15:28
    В печально известном "Приказе о "Лаконии"1 от 17 сентября 1942 г. не кто иной, как Дениц, запрещал командирам подводных лодок подбирать людей с потопленных кораблей - исключая капитанов и механиков, которые рассматривались как военнопленные. Этот документ был истолкован судьями как приказ расстреливать моряков, спасшихся с потопленных кораблей.

    Справедливости ради, надо вспомнить ПОЧЕМУ родился этот приказ. yes
  2. Denis Obukhov 22 декабря 2015 15:29
    Любой, кто исполняет преступный приказ- такой же преступник.
    1. Алексей_К 22 декабря 2015 16:39
      Цитата: Denis Obukhov
      Любой, кто исполняет преступный приказ- такой же преступник.

      Если Вы говорите о приказе о "Лаконии"1 от 17 сентября 1942 г., то он касается командиров подводных лодок. А теперь вспомните о том, что дизельные подлодки того времени не были предназначены для перевозки "пассажиров". Любое лишнее количество людей на лодке лишало всех воздуха и значит лодке нужно было чаще всплывать. Лишнее всплытие - могло закончиться потопление лодки. И Вы хотите мне сказать, что я "сердобольный" должен жалеть врага, жертвуя своим экипажем и лодкой, которых тоже не хватало во время войны? Кроме того на лодках не было кают, даже у капитана, и не было наручников. И вообще враг мог бы в минуты полного молчания постучать по корпусу лодки и лодка бы погибла или попробовать захватить подлодку.
      А теперь "сердобольный", расскажите нам, читателям ВО, о случаях спасения фашистов на море нашими подводниками. Лично я во всех рассказах и романах о наших подводниках читал, что наши уходили тут же под воду и удирали от места потопления как можно дальше. Так что фашисты тонули, а наши даже не оглядывались. Ну, и какая разница, между расстрелом и неоказанием помощи в открытом море?
      Мало того, я считаю, что в СССР был точно такой же приказ, чтобы сердобольные человеколюбы не гибли по своей глупости, т.к. что же дороже: спасённый враг или вернувшаяся из похода лодка?
      1. serezhasoldatow 22 декабря 2015 18:28
        Мы защищали свою Родину, а они были захватчиками! Только в этом и разница.
  3. Altona 22 декабря 2015 16:01
    Украинские нацисты переплюнули Дёница, им наплевать и на своих и на чужих.
  4. BISMARCK94 22 декабря 2015 18:27
    Рассказали про приказ о Лаконии, но не назвали мотивов его создания.
    Если в кратце: Лакония, если мне не изменяет память, была загружена англичанами и итальянскими военнопленными. Судно было вооружено, шло без огней и противолодочным зигзагом. Все критерии для торпедирования лодкой соблюдены. В него отправили две торпеды, которые успешно попали и Лакония затонула. Дальше, командир подводной лодки Хартенштейн принял решение проводить спасательную операцию. Хартенштейн, поняв, что бессилен в одиночку оказать помощь такой массе людей, связался с командованием и запросил инструкций. Дёниц одобрил решение немецкого командира об оказании помощи терпящим бедствие и приказал семи лодкам, находящимся поблизости (всей группе «Айсбёр» и еще двум возвращавшимся на базу) идти на полной скорости к месту потопления «Лаконии». Гитлер, узнав об этом впал в ярость (Корпус "Африка" находился в печальном уже положении). Проникнувшись гневом фюрера, Дёниц отменил приказ для четырех подводных лодок группы «Айсбёр», идущих на помощь Хартенштейну, оставив в силе его только для двух, находившихся наиболее близко – U506 и U507, срок патрулирования которых уже заканчивался. Сам Хартенштейн должен был передать спасенных на любую из двух немецких лодок и следовать в район Кейптауна для действий в рамках группы «Айсбёр». Дёниц также связался с командованием сил Виши в данном регионе и попросил оказать содействие. Французы откликнулись, и из Дакара вышел крейсер «Глуар», из Конакри (Французская Гвинея) и Котону (Дагомея) – по одному сторожевику.
    Союзники во время спасательной операции прошлись бомбардировщиками по лодкам, Хотя на головной немцы соорудили самодельный флаг с красным крестом и сигнализировали, но это не помогло.
    1. Rezident007 22 декабря 2015 22:25
      Всё правильно. Бывало и то, что под видом "крестов" проходили и военные корабли, поэтому топили безжалостно, независимо от нации. На войне как на войне..
    2. Алексей_К 22 декабря 2015 23:11
      Цитата: BISMARCK94
      Союзники во время спасательной операции прошлись бомбардировщиками по лодкам, Хотя на головной немцы соорудили самодельный флаг с красным крестом и сигнализировали, но это не помогло.

      Вот она сердобольность во время войны, хотя фашисты - они всегда нелюди, они бы военнопленных всё равно бы отправили в свои лагеря смерти.
      Приведу пример затопления немецкого транспорта «Вильгельм Густлофф» нашей подводной лодкой "С-13" под командованием Маринеско. Тогда погибло 4850 человек. Но лидирует немецкий теплоход «Гойя», потопленный 16 апреля 1945 года, подводной лодкой «Л-3», на теплоходе погибло около 6900 человек. Их ведь специально топили, чтобы уничтожить немцев, причём большинство из них мы бы сейчас назвали мирными гражданами, беженцами.
      Моё личное мнение: врагу необходимо наносить всегда максимальное поражение и ни какой жалости, иначе они потом тебе же в спину и выстрелят при всяком удобном случае.
  5. Aleksander 23 декабря 2015 07:47
    23 мая в 9.45 утра Дениц был доставлен на пароход "Патриа" к генерал-майору армии США Лоуэллу


    До ареста 23 мая 1945 в течении 2 недель после капитуляции фашистское правительство официально работало-вот в чем дикость ситуации. И было арестовано именно по настоянию СССР.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня